• USD ($)
  • English
The best place to capture the mystery and magic of Crete’s ancient Minoan civilization is the ruins of Knossos, just outside Heraklion. The secrets of this enigmatic civilization were only unraveled in the 20th century, by the man who would go on to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable and thorough, and she led us around the site expertly. I found some of what she said repetitious, but as a teacher, I realize it may have been intentional; some people just don't listen very well! Our travel schedule posed some difficulties for us (our flight was to leave only an hour after the proposed end of the afternoon segment at the Archaeological Museum), but our guide helpfully explained what highlights to see and let us skip lunch to visit the museum on our own ahead of the group. Despite this personal glitch, the tour was informative, enjoyable, and well conducted.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The visit to Spinalonga was good, I would have liked to spend more time on the island than was given. Other than that it was a nice tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour started with an 7:30 pick-up at our hotel. After 2.5 hours later and countless other hotel pick-ups, we made it to Knossos. There must have been a couple thousand people at the site (cruise ship tours) and i estimate Knossos can comfortably accommodate 500 people. We had a bi-lingual tour guide that gave half the tour in English, and half in German which was very difficult to follow/understand. She took a couple cell phone calls in the middle of the tour - I got the impression she was in a rush to finish and get back to the air conditioned bus.
We then went to a small co-op winery that was more of a plug for local business and farmers - waste of time. Following the winery, we went back to Heraklion for some free time, shopping, or museum visit. I was in no mood for more crowds and German/English doublespeak, so I opted for a small cafe and several cold beers.
Traffic was worse in the afternoon, meaning it took us over three hours to make it back to our hotel after all of the stops at other hotels. All said, the tour was close to 12 hours long, 2 hours being at the Knossos site.
This tour needs to be streamlined to make the customer hotel pick-up more efficient. I was told tat we could have hired a local cab company to drive me around in a Mercedes to see Knossos in four hours, skipping the wine and Heraklion side trips.
I went on other Viator tours on this vacation that were fantastic with great tour guides and efficient operation. Unfortunately, this one was a complete dud.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour, you need 2 euro pp to pay for entry on spinalonga. The barbecue and swim at lunch were great , luckily we had good weather highly recommend

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I really loved Santorini but I would prefer to go there and stay for a few days as we spent too many hours traveling (bus+boat+bus). The guide was really kind and funny, we could see that she knows a lot about her island (she lives there), unfortunately I don't remember her name but she said that we could call her "mama" :) also she recommended a good restaurant by the beach!

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Very beautiful and interesting Tour!! Our Guide Mrs. Maria was very expert. We thank the organization also because the tour was in italian Language. Tour was organized very very well. After Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour, we have had also time to see Heraklion City.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Interesting tour with a very knowledgeable guide, but the group was quite large so we couldn't hear her all the time. This tour also included a trip to Heraklion with 1.5hrs of free time to explore, plus a 45-minute visit to Peza, where we had a complimentary glass of local wine and sampled olive oil. This wasn't included on the itinerary so would've been nice to know beforehand, but was still enjoyable.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I liked the tour, and visiting Santorini. However, there was almost no guidance, we had short free time of 1 hour or 1.5 hours in the major cities which was too crowded and left us with the wish to see more. The ferry was 2.75 hours to each direction, which left us less time than we expected.

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Santorini itself is the most beautiful
Of islands. However the tour tries too hard to fit too much in. The result is that you hardly have time to look round before being moved on to the next location. My advice get the ferry yourself and take your time maybe just concentrate on Thira or one location

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This is one of many well-organised and well maintained sites across Greece. We skipped the queue by joining this tour. The guide was excellent, an expert and qualified archaeologist.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A fantastic tour. Not only is the scenery stunning, the history of Spinalonga likewise. Do not go to Heraklion and miss this tour. Well worth the day. Well organised and everything ran smoothly.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We are very satisfied. Your staff was wonderful. We had one problem with the change in the museum hours. It greatly limited our time at the museum.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

SHONA S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I really enjoyed the day and pleased I did the tour. A good way to see more of Crete after a week walking in Western Crete. The local taxi pick up from my hotel to connect with the bus was on time as was the taxi waiting to meet the bus to return to my hotel at the end of the day. Excellent driving by the bus driver ( he managed so well in the narrow streets with the way the Greeks park) and the tour guide was excellent. Overall an excellent tour. However I did expect/ would have liked to have quite a bit longer on Spinalonga Island which was my reason for booking the tour.
Tour Wednesday 15 May 2013. No photos as my camera jammed and I am waiting for some from some one I met up with on the bus.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We were collected on time and the rep was (Anraka )very friendly .we enjoyed spectacular scenery on the drive .
The boat trip to the small island was enjoyable however I wouldn't recommend it for any one with mobility problems ! The BBQ lunch was very tasty, washed own with wine or juice .
Spinalonga was fabulous , I was disappointed that we only had one hour on the island , no where near enough time !
On the return coach journey the Russian rep NEVER stopped talking over the intercom in Russian , the English people aboard and a lot of the Russians got feb up of her non stop jabbering , we all were saying sushhhhhh !
I would recommend that longer was spent on spinalona, and less time on a very rocky beach !

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The half day tour I booked for was on a Monday, but I was contacted to be told that the date was to be changed to Saturday, which was not suitable and so I was scheduled for a Tuesday tour. Although no one told us so, it turned out that we had been put on a full day tour with a Russian group which also included a visit to a winery/olive pressing plant and an hour or so in Heraklion. Luckily, we had the time to accommodate this change, but I think we should have been told about it. Having said that, our English speaking guide at Knossos was excellent and we enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message