Heraklion ATTRACTIONS See all

Palace of Knossos

The best place to capture the mystery and magic of Crete’s ancient Minoan civilization is the ruins of Knossos, just outside Heraklion. The secrets of this enigmatic civilization were only unraveled in the 20th century, by the man who would go on to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

davidjciardi

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

shocking tour
shame that the tour of the museum you have to do by yourself!!!

plus you have to pay entry for the museum for yourself on top of the 100 aud

worst tour guide ever only concerned about being able to have her cigarette!!!!

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

ozcat

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was along day for me as I got picked up from Heraklion, other than that it was quite enjoyable. The island was interesting and I enjoyed lunch. It was too cold for swimming but some people did go in. The only drawback for me was that the entire tour bus had only German tourists on it and I was the only english speaker so I couldn't chat to my fellow travellers. Other than that I enjoyed it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Robyn S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The boat trip itself and tour of spinalonga were lovely, as was the lunch. The two and a half hour coach journey to get there and two more hours to get back made me question whether this was really worth the money, probably could have booked something better through my hotel to be honest.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Aparna J United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Knossos is not a very interesting artifact and our tour was horrible! Tour was in German and English. She seemed annoyed at questions and sounded like she was reciting from a memorize script. We left early to make better use of the day.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Nany

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

We paid a high price for this tour of the Palace at Knossos and a tour of the city of Heraklion. This tour consisted of a bus trip to the site as short 6 km trip we could have taken by taxi or bus from next to our hotel and a TERRIBLE guided tour of the palace. The guide was absolutely awful. All she was worried about was her next cigarette. She forgot her photographs of the palace and simply went through the motions of the guided tour. We had studied the site quite a bit before the tour or we would have not gotten anything out of it. The tour of Heraklion was just to drop us off in the middle of town. A TAXI to Knossos is 8 Euros. We could have hired a private guide for so much less than we paid. We have traveled a lot in Europe and have taken this type of tour before, but this one was the worst ever.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Linda B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

They say on the websit you can use an E-Ticket, it was a real problem for us at the port! Do not go for lunch at the first stop, which was the beautiful town of Oia! You WILL NOT have enough time to shop or see anything! I was VERY upset being hearded to The Blue Sky restaurant, the food was just okay and slow. We were not left with enough time, only 25 mins to see what we came for which was Oia not a Greek salad!!!. There is time to eat at Fira! I would recommend this trip but heed my warnings and you'll have a great time!

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Barbara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Book the morning tour and avoid some of the crowds and heat. A great start to our vacation. Tour included wine and olive oil tasting at a nearby town. Delicious and informative.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Kevin K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We have been booking with Viator for many years but have never been so disappointed with one of their tours. This was not the tour as advertised by Viator. Specifically -
- the tour lasted some 8 hours even ignoring the pickup time etc of which only 1.5 hours was at Knossos - we didn't even get to see the full site.
- we spent an hour and a half at a winery which isn't mentioned by Viator - we had no desire to pay money to see a film about wine making!
- there was no bus tour of Heraklion - we were escorted into the city centre and then left to our own devices.
In addition, the coach was very old with almost no air conditioning. It was genuinely unpleasantly hot. Also worth noting the tour was bilingual with half the tour being Russian. Many of the English speaking folks just wandered off at Knossos because they lost interest waiting for the guide to finish talking to the Russian guests.
Overall, it seems Viator just haven't done their due diligence here. Would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

mindasemail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a great one day excursion. I was skeptical about the leper colony island, but it was a lot of fun. You can hike wherever to the very top to see the ruins, or stick at the bottom with the tour guide. Then for lunch they stop at a private island where people swim while the crew grills up lunch.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

edsyfalcon2 Taiwan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

satisfactory. barbecue lunch, the amount is too small. both tour guide is nice and helpful

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Thomas J F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The guided tour to Knossos was very good. We could have spent more time there and there were a few too many people on the tour.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Kara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an excellent trip. The guide was friendly and informative and the visit to Spinalonga was interesting and enjoyable although the time on the island is quite short and by the time you have had the tour you do not have much time to explore on your own - if you already know the history of Spinalonga you should probably just leave the tour and spend the time exploring on your own. The bay swim and bbq was absolutely wonderful. We would definitely recommend this tour and will definitely do it again next time we are in Crete.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Kristofer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and very fun and informative. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Vicki F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was very well organized and fun and easy to purchase and negotiate. I have no complaints other than more time in a day! The tour company worked with our resort to arrange for pick-up.

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Charlotte Turner

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Was picked up on time and the trip was well worth it. I would have given five stars but from our hotel in Elounds to Knossos took over two hours due to picks ups along the way and back. Seeing history in the making when you discover the palace was built over 400 years ago only to be discovered by an Englishmen in the 1900's

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

cruiser2005

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The guide let us spend too much time shopping, otherwise, the trip is ok.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Joseph O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

had a great time on this tour, the guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and informative. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Margaret M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Pick ups pro-longed length of time. Would have preferred option to have lunch in Elounda instead of boat/barbecue. Would be good to have option. Spinalonga guide was very informative.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Margaret M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Pick up process too long (over 2 hours). When arrived at Knossos guide did not wait for people to go to toilet after being on coach for 2.5hrs. Also did not have time to purchase tickets or water. She disappeared into the site and we never found her. Went around on our own in the end. Would have preferred to skip wine tasting and have more time in Heraklion to go to musum etc.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Jamie S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Our tour suppose to include Ag.Nikholas, but were picked up and drop at Elounda port without visiting the city. What a scam!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Reece K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Perfect amount of time and very great your guides! Highly recommend and I'm not a big tour/history person;)

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

sha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Super, a well organised day. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, the day well organised

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Jessica M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Very well organised and knowledgeable tour guide. Would have preferred to independently explore museum but was fantastic at knossos.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

HARSHAD P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Went on this tour on the 26th, coach was prompt collected us on time, although almost immediately after we were moved onto another coach, we then picked up seemingly many other visitors from other hotels, this took up another hour and then it was finally onto the tour, the first thing you'll notice is you will get a english/german speaking guide, I was hoping to be in English, the actual tour of Knossos was informative, but being an English/German speaking guide it took double the amount of time to see and in the immense heat as well was not too good i thought. After this we went to Peza to try out the wine sampling this strangely isnt documented at all on Viator but it is in the local iternarys over there in Crete, I actually enjoyed this and we actually got a bottle back home, the guide mentions we were meant to be taken to a factory but this definitely didn't happen, instead we were shown a 10 minute DVD. The Heraklion tour was literally a coach ride into the city, and then from the fountain we were left to roam around on our own for a hour and a bit, I expected this to be guided but this didnt happen hence we only located the church and by the time we found the archelogical museum it was time to get back on the coach, all in all we felt the tour could have been better and because of the lack of guiding at Heraklion, we felt the tour was incomplete.

Improvements they got to streamline the amount of people they collect at hotel, if we specify an english guide, you expect an english guide, the speaker was ok but it just felt like a school lesson and i swear some people got frustrated by this, mention the tour goes to Peza on Viator for wine sampling, get an enthusiastic english only speaker and if you say you will get a guided tour of Heraklion from the air condition coach, then please make it happen!

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I signed up very last minute and the local operator did a good job being in touch and helping me get on the tour. The Spinalonga guide also did a nice job with the tour, on a very hot day. Overall, the experience was a good one. I found Spinalonga very interesting. I also enjoyed the swimming area and the town of Agios Nicolaus. The BBQ lunch was good, though it was challenging eating it on a crowded boat. One negative was that I felt unprepared for the late hour of the lunch (3:30) and therefore needed to find an ATM and get food in Agios Nicolaus. Since I joined the tour late, it's possible that information would have come to me if I'd had more time.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message