Samaria Gorge is legendary amongst hikers, with more than 1,000 walkers hitting the rugged river valley trail daily in summer. Europe’s longest gorge offers a wildflower-bedecked river trail with cliff-top views of Crete’s endangered wild goat, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip is really recommended. Fantastic views and a pretty tough and varying walk. Do it!!

Doing what: Samaria Gorge Small-Group Hiking Day Trip from Chania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Was so much fun! Tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful throughout the day! Had a great time.

Doing what: Samaria Gorge Small-Group Hiking Day Trip from Chania

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Well worth doing - great achievement to complete the walk and great views along the way

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pros: We were very impressed with this tour. Tour company was very organized, had on-time arrival to morning pick-up, a well-informed tour guide, and comfortable transportation. Tour had a great pace through the gorge, finishing with 2 hours at the end to enjoy swimming in the Libyan Sea and lunch in the beautiful and remote Agios Roumeli.
        Cons: If youre looking to stroll through the gorge at your own/slower pace, this tour moves a little more briskly than that. Some reviews noted pace was quicker than desired, however, we did not feel that way and, at 6 hours, we were tired from our journey so glad to for its pace, and did not feel rushed.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

My review is not based on the Gorge itself, the Gorge was amazing and the tour guide was brilliant. My review is based on the service that Viator provide. We stayed in Elounda and despite the very early start we decided to go ahead and book based on the timings provided by Viator and were happy to accept that it may be around a 16 hour day all round. However this was not the case, if you stay in the Elounda area you will be going for just shy of 24 hours. It was too much for us in terms of exhaustion, we didn't think that the day would be that long. Having experienced this I would say that either Viator should offer a more direct travel service to those who pay extra and are further out, or they should not offer this day tour to people who are that far out if they can't be accommodated for within a reasonable timescale. We felt that 16 hours was a reasonable time. 24 is not.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

There are something's that can't be helped with tour guides and groups. However, the tour company Viator used for the tour of Samaria Gorge was abstract and lacked information provided. In addition, the stand that ALL the buses stopped at were sub-par. Make sure you pack food BEFORE the trip. All the places they stop to pick up food have no real options for food unless you like moldy bread.

Also, pack water. The tour guide will say bring a refillable water bottle and that there are spring on the way, but all the springs have algae accumulating around in the spring. Pack enough water to last the full 17 hour day. To help all the places you have to pay for additional things, have small bills and coins ready. Many of the small vendors have limited change and can't handle large bills.

You should listen closely to all the directions and instructions. There is no hand out, which would be better, of the information on the tour and where to meet back after the hike.

The hike is breath taking. No matter what people say, boots will help. Its all rocks and down hill. I'm a pretty fit guy and my knees were killing me at the end. It's about 16k all together, so be prepared.

That said, it's worth it.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great! The tour guide was nice and informative and the tour pick-up and drop-off ran smoothly.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience but one must be in really good condition and hiking shoes would be best. Our tour guide Thomas was terrific and informative. Everything went smoothly and we had plenty of time.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Small bus picked us up, took us where we needed to go, and got us home quickly. Tour guy was funny and informative and had a great Austrian accent. This was more like a concierge service than anything else - would highly recommend over a large tour.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent day! Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very informative guide, I felt very safe with our bus driver, the logistics all worked out very well. Very good value for money and a worthwhile destination.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Ali
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Date changed but all organization went smoothly. Would have like some history or information about the gorge on transit. Times suggested were underestimated by guide which encouraged us to rush and yet had 2 hours spare at beach.
Advertising said boat went to east, but went west

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

I thought it was going to be more informative. But it basically served as transportation.

Doing what: Samaria Gorge Small-Group Hiking Day Trip from Chania

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the highlight of my visit to Crete. The gorge itself was amazing due to its sheer height and beauty. The herbal smells particularly over the first few Km were amazing. The guide was helpful providing some background to the gorge and the small number of buildings in the valley. The history of those who lived in the gorge is fascinating. This is a trip that I would highly recommend.The only negative that I would say about the day was the very poor quality of the coffee / food rest stop, which the bus stopped at the half-way stage on travelling too and from the gorge. Better to be well planned and bring your own food!

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A stunning hike. The early start meant we were ahead of most other people which was appreciated. Our tour guide was knowledgeable about the area, friendly and approachable. However, there is no need to rush the hike; take time to enjoy the scenery. My hiking pace is brisk so I had 4.5 hours to wait for the ferry to leave from the village at the end. Bring swimming shorts and a towel for a swim in the Libyan Sea and also a book to read.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An awesome experience. The guide was great very helpful if how the walk was structured and the gear and food we needed to take with us, The walk was amazing and the transport arrangements were very organised.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The Samaria Gorge and National Park is beautiful and a great experience. Wearing the proper shoes is a must, as this is an 11 mile hike along very rocky trails. Only downside was that its a longer day that perhaps it needs to be. Because the tour included 50 other people, my pick up from the hotel in Kolymbari was 515 and I didn't get dropped off until 2130. After finishing the hike, we had to stay the afternoon (about 4 add'l hours) in Agio Roumeli, and then ferry back to get a 1-2 hour bus ride back to the hotel. Due to ferry schedule, it's possible that cannot be helped. Also, I'm under the impression from talking with several other individuals on the bus that if you purchase your tour tickets in Chania, the price for the trip is less than half the price of what I paid through Viator. All in all, a great experience, but it's a very long day, even before and after the hike. Not sure that Viator is the way to go.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

From the bus pickup in front of our hotel to the very professional and skilled guides, this was a great way to do this hike.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

amazing scenery to admire, and a feeling of freedom and being in the middle of nature. the gorge is really a tour for those who like the outdoors and who can handle a 5/6 hour hike. during the hike people will go at different speeds so likely the group will disperse

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed it greatly and encourage everyone pondering this idea to go ahead. You won't regret it! Our guide Thomas was very helpful, giving us valuable advice and at the same time, amusing us greatly.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Cab picked us up in the morning and dropped us off at the bus. The bus dropped us back off at the same meeting point after the tour but the cab never came back to pick us up leaving us stranded in the cold after a long day. I was very disappointed in the traveled arrangements.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I had a great experience hiking in Samaria Gorge! My guide, Barbara, was excellent. She gave us plenty of information on the bus ride, then we hiked at our on pace throught the gorge and met up at the end for the boat trip. Samaria Gorge is absolutely beautiful. I think it is a must-see for any interested hiker. It is mostly all downhill, so it will burn the legs a bit!
The only thing I would suggest to improve would be to have told me to bring hiking boots when I booked the tour months ago. I got that information the night before, which was a week after I had left home for the trip to Crete.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The Gorge was nice, but not worthy if you come from hotels that is situated far away (i.e: hersonissos). driving in bus 3.5 hours at lease for each direction. the view was nice, but lack of total guidance and explanations from the guide. he just spoke 4 languages and gave short directions about what to do and what not to do, besides that nothing.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Well worth the effort. Be warned though, the walk is almost totally downhill in rocky and somewhat slippery rock paths. The river bed views do not arrive until well into half way of the 18km walk so if you do not like walking for its own sake, you may be frustrated. Also, don't do what some do: try to prove how fast you are by pushing ahead of others. This is not the place for that sort of nonsense. Stick to a flat course if you have something to prove. A really lovey experience. Wear good walking shoes.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message