Heraklion on Crete is the perfect holiday base, with soft golden beaches, miniscule coves, buzzing towns, archaeological treasures, majestic mountains and deep gorges all within easy reach. The Minoans at Knossos The fascinating Minoan site of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

From the bus pickup in front of our hotel to the very professional and skilled guides, this was a great way to do this hike.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed it greatly and encourage everyone pondering this idea to go ahead. You won't regret it! Our guide Thomas was very helpful, giving us valuable advice and at the same time, amusing us greatly.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I had a great experience hiking in Samaria Gorge! My guide, Barbara, was excellent. She gave us plenty of information on the bus ride, then we hiked at our on pace throught the gorge and met up at the end for the boat trip. Samaria Gorge is absolutely beautiful. I think it is a must-see for any interested hiker. It is mostly all downhill, so it will burn the legs a bit!
The only thing I would suggest to improve would be to have told me to bring hiking boots when I booked the tour months ago. I got that information the night before, which was a week after I had left home for the trip to Crete.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

SHONA S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I really enjoyed the day and pleased I did the tour. A good way to see more of Crete after a week walking in Western Crete. The local taxi pick up from my hotel to connect with the bus was on time as was the taxi waiting to meet the bus to return to my hotel at the end of the day. Excellent driving by the bus driver ( he managed so well in the narrow streets with the way the Greeks park) and the tour guide was excellent. Overall an excellent tour. However I did expect/ would have liked to have quite a bit longer on Spinalonga Island which was my reason for booking the tour.
Tour Wednesday 15 May 2013. No photos as my camera jammed and I am waiting for some from some one I met up with on the bus.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Fantastic day out. Spectacular scenery a walkers delight.
Tour is well organised, getting you there and back, but leaving you to enjoy walk at your own pace.
It's an early start and late back, but always interesting with nice views across the island.
With rest/food stops along the way to break the journey.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Samaria Gorge was one of the most spectacular hikes I have had in some time now. I highly recommend this for people who do not mid a long and tiring hike through a wonderful and one-of-its-kind landscape. The towering heights of the gorge simply dwarf you and leave you awestruck!. The tour was so well arranged, that I couldn't have asked for more. Sufficient stops for toilets, coffee etc., we were even offered free Tea service at one stop in the morning ( a surprise- didn't know this!). The tour operators were well organized (hats off to viator for teaming with them). The Guide Rithi was absolutely amazing, she was so fluent in so many languages. I really appreciate the punctuality of the tour operators and to my surprise also other tourists on-board. All-in-all a must-to-do activity for anyone in Crete. Of course, the activity calls for a lot of fitness!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Kathleen Z
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Amazing day of relaxed sailing, swimming and seeing a wonderful island with an unusual history.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Okay so I've read The Island By Victoria Hislop and thats the reason I wanted to visit. I actually think having read the book it made the trip more real. I would have loved to have seen the inside of the hospital but this was having work done. We went out of main season so got chance to explore without the crowds. Would recommend reading the book before you go, Horrifying to think how lepers were treated in the past. Perhaps the cretan government would consider donating some of this tourist monies

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Brian V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Extremely well organised. Scenery breathtaking. Exceeded all expectations.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

amazing scenery to admire, and a feeling of freedom and being in the middle of nature. the gorge is really a tour for those who like the outdoors and who can handle a 5/6 hour hike. during the hike people will go at different speeds so likely the group will disperse

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I really loved Santorini but I would prefer to go there and stay for a few days as we spent too many hours traveling (bus+boat+bus). The guide was really kind and funny, we could see that she knows a lot about her island (she lives there), unfortunately I don't remember her name but she said that we could call her "mama" :) also she recommended a good restaurant by the beach!

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour, you need 2 euro pp to pay for entry on spinalonga. The barbecue and swim at lunch were great , luckily we had good weather highly recommend

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The Gorge was nice, but not worthy if you come from hotels that is situated far away (i.e: hersonissos). driving in bus 3.5 hours at lease for each direction. the view was nice, but lack of total guidance and explanations from the guide. he just spoke 4 languages and gave short directions about what to do and what not to do, besides that nothing.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great Guide!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Well worth the effort. Be warned though, the walk is almost totally downhill in rocky and somewhat slippery rock paths. The river bed views do not arrive until well into half way of the 18km walk so if you do not like walking for its own sake, you may be frustrated. Also, don't do what some do: try to prove how fast you are by pushing ahead of others. This is not the place for that sort of nonsense. Stick to a flat course if you have something to prove. A really lovey experience. Wear good walking shoes.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message