Heraklion on Crete is the perfect holiday base, with soft golden beaches, miniscule coves, buzzing towns, archaeological treasures, majestic mountains and deep gorges all within easy reach. The Minoans at Knossos The fascinating Minoan site of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a great one day excursion. I was skeptical about the leper colony island, but it was a lot of fun. You can hike wherever to the very top to see the ruins, or stick at the bottom with the tour guide. Then for lunch they stop at a private island where people swim while the crew grills up lunch.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pros: We were very impressed with this tour. Tour company was very organized, had on-time arrival to morning pick-up, a well-informed tour guide, and comfortable transportation. Tour had a great pace through the gorge, finishing with 2 hours at the end to enjoy swimming in the Libyan Sea and lunch in the beautiful and remote Agios Roumeli.
        Cons: If youre looking to stroll through the gorge at your own/slower pace, this tour moves a little more briskly than that. Some reviews noted pace was quicker than desired, however, we did not feel that way and, at 6 hours, we were tired from our journey so glad to for its pace, and did not feel rushed.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent day! Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and very fun and informative. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was very well organized and fun and easy to purchase and negotiate. I have no complaints other than more time in a day! The tour company worked with our resort to arrange for pick-up.

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Small bus picked us up, took us where we needed to go, and got us home quickly. Tour guy was funny and informative and had a great Austrian accent. This was more like a concierge service than anything else - would highly recommend over a large tour.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience but one must be in really good condition and hiking shoes would be best. Our tour guide Thomas was terrific and informative. Everything went smoothly and we had plenty of time.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great! The tour guide was nice and informative and the tour pick-up and drop-off ran smoothly.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an excellent trip. The guide was friendly and informative and the visit to Spinalonga was interesting and enjoyable although the time on the island is quite short and by the time you have had the tour you do not have much time to explore on your own - if you already know the history of Spinalonga you should probably just leave the tour and spend the time exploring on your own. The bay swim and bbq was absolutely wonderful. We would definitely recommend this tour and will definitely do it again next time we are in Crete.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the highlight of my visit to Crete. The gorge itself was amazing due to its sheer height and beauty. The herbal smells particularly over the first few Km were amazing. The guide was helpful providing some background to the gorge and the small number of buildings in the valley. The history of those who lived in the gorge is fascinating. This is a trip that I would highly recommend.The only negative that I would say about the day was the very poor quality of the coffee / food rest stop, which the bus stopped at the half-way stage on travelling too and from the gorge. Better to be well planned and bring your own food!

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An awesome experience. The guide was great very helpful if how the walk was structured and the gear and food we needed to take with us, The walk was amazing and the transport arrangements were very organised.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A stunning hike. The early start meant we were ahead of most other people which was appreciated. Our tour guide was knowledgeable about the area, friendly and approachable. However, there is no need to rush the hike; take time to enjoy the scenery. My hiking pace is brisk so I had 4.5 hours to wait for the ferry to leave from the village at the end. Bring swimming shorts and a towel for a swim in the Libyan Sea and also a book to read.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

From the bus pickup in front of our hotel to the very professional and skilled guides, this was a great way to do this hike.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed it greatly and encourage everyone pondering this idea to go ahead. You won't regret it! Our guide Thomas was very helpful, giving us valuable advice and at the same time, amusing us greatly.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I had a great experience hiking in Samaria Gorge! My guide, Barbara, was excellent. She gave us plenty of information on the bus ride, then we hiked at our on pace throught the gorge and met up at the end for the boat trip. Samaria Gorge is absolutely beautiful. I think it is a must-see for any interested hiker. It is mostly all downhill, so it will burn the legs a bit!
The only thing I would suggest to improve would be to have told me to bring hiking boots when I booked the tour months ago. I got that information the night before, which was a week after I had left home for the trip to Crete.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

SHONA S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I really enjoyed the day and pleased I did the tour. A good way to see more of Crete after a week walking in Western Crete. The local taxi pick up from my hotel to connect with the bus was on time as was the taxi waiting to meet the bus to return to my hotel at the end of the day. Excellent driving by the bus driver ( he managed so well in the narrow streets with the way the Greeks park) and the tour guide was excellent. Overall an excellent tour. However I did expect/ would have liked to have quite a bit longer on Spinalonga Island which was my reason for booking the tour.
Tour Wednesday 15 May 2013. No photos as my camera jammed and I am waiting for some from some one I met up with on the bus.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Fantastic day out. Spectacular scenery a walkers delight.
Tour is well organised, getting you there and back, but leaving you to enjoy walk at your own pace.
It's an early start and late back, but always interesting with nice views across the island.
With rest/food stops along the way to break the journey.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Samaria Gorge was one of the most spectacular hikes I have had in some time now. I highly recommend this for people who do not mid a long and tiring hike through a wonderful and one-of-its-kind landscape. The towering heights of the gorge simply dwarf you and leave you awestruck!. The tour was so well arranged, that I couldn't have asked for more. Sufficient stops for toilets, coffee etc., we were even offered free Tea service at one stop in the morning ( a surprise- didn't know this!). The tour operators were well organized (hats off to viator for teaming with them). The Guide Rithi was absolutely amazing, she was so fluent in so many languages. I really appreciate the punctuality of the tour operators and to my surprise also other tourists on-board. All-in-all a must-to-do activity for anyone in Crete. Of course, the activity calls for a lot of fitness!

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Kathleen Z
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Amazing day of relaxed sailing, swimming and seeing a wonderful island with an unusual history.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Okay so I've read The Island By Victoria Hislop and thats the reason I wanted to visit. I actually think having read the book it made the trip more real. I would have loved to have seen the inside of the hospital but this was having work done. We went out of main season so got chance to explore without the crowds. Would recommend reading the book before you go, Horrifying to think how lepers were treated in the past. Perhaps the cretan government would consider donating some of this tourist monies

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Brian V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Extremely well organised. Scenery breathtaking. Exceeded all expectations.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Well worth doing - great achievement to complete the walk and great views along the way

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

satisfactory. barbecue lunch, the amount is too small. both tour guide is nice and helpful

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Ali
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Date changed but all organization went smoothly. Would have like some history or information about the gorge on transit. Times suggested were underestimated by guide which encouraged us to rush and yet had 2 hours spare at beach.
Advertising said boat went to east, but went west

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very informative guide, I felt very safe with our bus driver, the logistics all worked out very well. Very good value for money and a worthwhile destination.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message