• USD ($)
  • English
Heraklion on Crete is the perfect holiday base, with soft golden beaches, miniscule coves, buzzing towns, archaeological treasures, majestic mountains and deep gorges all within easy reach. The Minoans at Knossos The fascinating Minoan site of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

SHONA S
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I really enjoyed the day and pleased I did the tour. A good way to see more of Crete after a week walking in Western Crete. The local taxi pick up from my hotel to connect with the bus was on time as was the taxi waiting to meet the bus to return to my hotel at the end of the day. Excellent driving by the bus driver ( he managed so well in the narrow streets with the way the Greeks park) and the tour guide was excellent. Overall an excellent tour. However I did expect/ would have liked to have quite a bit longer on Spinalonga Island which was my reason for booking the tour.
Tour Wednesday 15 May 2013. No photos as my camera jammed and I am waiting for some from some one I met up with on the bus.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Fantastic day out. Spectacular scenery a walkers delight.
Tour is well organised, getting you there and back, but leaving you to enjoy walk at your own pace.
It's an early start and late back, but always interesting with nice views across the island.
With rest/food stops along the way to break the journey.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Samaria Gorge was one of the most spectacular hikes I have had in some time now. I highly recommend this for people who do not mid a long and tiring hike through a wonderful and one-of-its-kind landscape. The towering heights of the gorge simply dwarf you and leave you awestruck!. The tour was so well arranged, that I couldn't have asked for more. Sufficient stops for toilets, coffee etc., we were even offered free Tea service at one stop in the morning ( a surprise- didn't know this!). The tour operators were well organized (hats off to viator for teaming with them). The Guide Rithi was absolutely amazing, she was so fluent in so many languages. I really appreciate the punctuality of the tour operators and to my surprise also other tourists on-board. All-in-all a must-to-do activity for anyone in Crete. Of course, the activity calls for a lot of fitness!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Kathleen Z
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Amazing day of relaxed sailing, swimming and seeing a wonderful island with an unusual history.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Okay so I've read The Island By Victoria Hislop and thats the reason I wanted to visit. I actually think having read the book it made the trip more real. I would have loved to have seen the inside of the hospital but this was having work done. We went out of main season so got chance to explore without the crowds. Would recommend reading the book before you go, Horrifying to think how lepers were treated in the past. Perhaps the cretan government would consider donating some of this tourist monies

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Brian V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2009

Extremely well organised. Scenery breathtaking. Exceeded all expectations.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The Gorge was nice, but not worthy if you come from hotels that is situated far away (i.e: hersonissos). driving in bus 3.5 hours at lease for each direction. the view was nice, but lack of total guidance and explanations from the guide. he just spoke 4 languages and gave short directions about what to do and what not to do, besides that nothing.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great Guide!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Well worth the effort. Be warned though, the walk is almost totally downhill in rocky and somewhat slippery rock paths. The river bed views do not arrive until well into half way of the 18km walk so if you do not like walking for its own sake, you may be frustrated. Also, don't do what some do: try to prove how fast you are by pushing ahead of others. This is not the place for that sort of nonsense. Stick to a flat course if you have something to prove. A really lovey experience. Wear good walking shoes.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A fantastic tour. Not only is the scenery stunning, the history of Spinalonga likewise. Do not go to Heraklion and miss this tour. Well worth the day. Well organised and everything ran smoothly.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We were collected on time and the rep was (Anraka )very friendly .we enjoyed spectacular scenery on the drive .
The boat trip to the small island was enjoyable however I wouldn't recommend it for any one with mobility problems ! The BBQ lunch was very tasty, washed own with wine or juice .
Spinalonga was fabulous , I was disappointed that we only had one hour on the island , no where near enough time !
On the return coach journey the Russian rep NEVER stopped talking over the intercom in Russian , the English people aboard and a lot of the Russians got feb up of her non stop jabbering , we all were saying sushhhhhh !
I would recommend that longer was spent on spinalona, and less time on a very rocky beach !

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Great service being picked up directly from my hotel. Slight confusion as you book with viator but the trip is run by another company. Lovely day out with really well informed tour guides. Shame that you only have 30mins to explore Spinalonga on your own, also be prepared for the masses of other tourists doing the same thing.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The trip and everthing was great, not commenting on the views here which were amazing, since this not the point of the review. What really annoyed us was that we "ran" through the gorge in 6 hourse since we were given targets as to when to leave the stops on the way, just to find out that we had 2 and a half hours left at the other end where we just sat around and waited for the stupid ferry. We would have loved to spend more time taking in the scenary and take photos.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Julia G
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

We had a great day out and enjoyed the BBQ and swimming from the boat. The day was well planned.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Santorini is stunning.

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message