• USD ($)
  • English
The fifth-biggest city in Greece, Crete’s capital buzzes with energy, mixing ancient origins and modern-day big-city bustle. Away from Heraklion there are beaches for relaxing, ancient ruins to explore, lovely villages and one of the world’s most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

From the bus pickup in front of our hotel to the very professional and skilled guides, this was a great way to do this hike.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

amazing scenery to admire, and a feeling of freedom and being in the middle of nature. the gorge is really a tour for those who like the outdoors and who can handle a 5/6 hour hike. during the hike people will go at different speeds so likely the group will disperse

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable and thorough, and she led us around the site expertly. I found some of what she said repetitious, but as a teacher, I realize it may have been intentional; some people just don't listen very well! Our travel schedule posed some difficulties for us (our flight was to leave only an hour after the proposed end of the afternoon segment at the Archaeological Museum), but our guide helpfully explained what highlights to see and let us skip lunch to visit the museum on our own ahead of the group. Despite this personal glitch, the tour was informative, enjoyable, and well conducted.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The visit to Spinalonga was good, I would have liked to spend more time on the island than was given. Other than that it was a nice tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour started with an 7:30 pick-up at our hotel. After 2.5 hours later and countless other hotel pick-ups, we made it to Knossos. There must have been a couple thousand people at the site (cruise ship tours) and i estimate Knossos can comfortably accommodate 500 people. We had a bi-lingual tour guide that gave half the tour in English, and half in German which was very difficult to follow/understand. She took a couple cell phone calls in the middle of the tour - I got the impression she was in a rush to finish and get back to the air conditioned bus.
We then went to a small co-op winery that was more of a plug for local business and farmers - waste of time. Following the winery, we went back to Heraklion for some free time, shopping, or museum visit. I was in no mood for more crowds and German/English doublespeak, so I opted for a small cafe and several cold beers.
Traffic was worse in the afternoon, meaning it took us over three hours to make it back to our hotel after all of the stops at other hotels. All said, the tour was close to 12 hours long, 2 hours being at the Knossos site.
This tour needs to be streamlined to make the customer hotel pick-up more efficient. I was told tat we could have hired a local cab company to drive me around in a Mercedes to see Knossos in four hours, skipping the wine and Heraklion side trips.
I went on other Viator tours on this vacation that were fantastic with great tour guides and efficient operation. Unfortunately, this one was a complete dud.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We enjoyed it greatly and encourage everyone pondering this idea to go ahead. You won't regret it! Our guide Thomas was very helpful, giving us valuable advice and at the same time, amusing us greatly.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour, you need 2 euro pp to pay for entry on spinalonga. The barbecue and swim at lunch were great , luckily we had good weather highly recommend

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I really loved Santorini but I would prefer to go there and stay for a few days as we spent too many hours traveling (bus+boat+bus). The guide was really kind and funny, we could see that she knows a lot about her island (she lives there), unfortunately I don't remember her name but she said that we could call her "mama" :) also she recommended a good restaurant by the beach!

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

Cab picked us up in the morning and dropped us off at the bus. The bus dropped us back off at the same meeting point after the tour but the cab never came back to pick us up leaving us stranded in the cold after a long day. I was very disappointed in the traveled arrangements.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I had a great experience hiking in Samaria Gorge! My guide, Barbara, was excellent. She gave us plenty of information on the bus ride, then we hiked at our on pace throught the gorge and met up at the end for the boat trip. Samaria Gorge is absolutely beautiful. I think it is a must-see for any interested hiker. It is mostly all downhill, so it will burn the legs a bit!
The only thing I would suggest to improve would be to have told me to bring hiking boots when I booked the tour months ago. I got that information the night before, which was a week after I had left home for the trip to Crete.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Very beautiful and interesting Tour!! Our Guide Mrs. Maria was very expert. We thank the organization also because the tour was in italian Language. Tour was organized very very well. After Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour, we have had also time to see Heraklion City.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Interesting tour with a very knowledgeable guide, but the group was quite large so we couldn't hear her all the time. This tour also included a trip to Heraklion with 1.5hrs of free time to explore, plus a 45-minute visit to Peza, where we had a complimentary glass of local wine and sampled olive oil. This wasn't included on the itinerary so would've been nice to know beforehand, but was still enjoyable.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The Gorge was nice, but not worthy if you come from hotels that is situated far away (i.e: hersonissos). driving in bus 3.5 hours at lease for each direction. the view was nice, but lack of total guidance and explanations from the guide. he just spoke 4 languages and gave short directions about what to do and what not to do, besides that nothing.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

I liked the tour, and visiting Santorini. However, there was almost no guidance, we had short free time of 1 hour or 1.5 hours in the major cities which was too crowded and left us with the wish to see more. The ferry was 2.75 hours to each direction, which left us less time than we expected.

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Santorini itself is the most beautiful
Of islands. However the tour tries too hard to fit too much in. The result is that you hardly have time to look round before being moved on to the next location. My advice get the ferry yourself and take your time maybe just concentrate on Thira or one location

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message