The fifth-biggest city in Greece, Crete’s capital buzzes with energy, mixing ancient origins and modern-day big-city bustle. Away from Heraklion there are beaches for relaxing, ancient ruins to explore, lovely villages and one of the world’s most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheila G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really enjoyable day. The tour was well organized and efficiently run. The cruise was lovely and our barbecue meal was delicious. The area is stunningly beautiful.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Katherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

really interesting tour, beautiful island with a very sad past, the tour guide was really good and the bbq and swim afterwards was lovely.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Rodger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

our guide was excellent...she was able to highlight the best in a museum filled with artifacts and then bring it all the together as we explored the old ruins of the palace...well done

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Gerald F

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Very punctual and pickup points easy to find. Driver was helpful,knowlegeable, and pleasant! All of the people were using the ear buds for touring information however, many of the seat positions were not operating at all! Frustrating as my husband walked around trying to find one that worked! This needs to be corrected! We enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Sal M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Trip was well organized and the tour operator worked closely with us to make sure and pick us up and dropped off at a convenient location and on schedule.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Daro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great experience, nicely organised. recommend while in Heraklion

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

davidjciardi

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

shocking tour
shame that the tour of the museum you have to do by yourself!!!

plus you have to pay entry for the museum for yourself on top of the 100 aud

worst tour guide ever only concerned about being able to have her cigarette!!!!

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Susilowati B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The best tour in Heraklion , we were really enjoyed with this tour and you can just get off anywhere and get on back anytime on bus schedule .

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

ozcat

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

It was along day for me as I got picked up from Heraklion, other than that it was quite enjoyable. The island was interesting and I enjoyed lunch. It was too cold for swimming but some people did go in. The only drawback for me was that the entire tour bus had only German tourists on it and I was the only english speaker so I couldn't chat to my fellow travellers. Other than that I enjoyed it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Robyn S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The boat trip itself and tour of spinalonga were lovely, as was the lunch. The two and a half hour coach journey to get there and two more hours to get back made me question whether this was really worth the money, probably could have booked something better through my hotel to be honest.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

Aparna J United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Knossos is not a very interesting artifact and our tour was horrible! Tour was in German and English. She seemed annoyed at questions and sounded like she was reciting from a memorize script. We left early to make better use of the day.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Nany

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

We paid a high price for this tour of the Palace at Knossos and a tour of the city of Heraklion. This tour consisted of a bus trip to the site as short 6 km trip we could have taken by taxi or bus from next to our hotel and a TERRIBLE guided tour of the palace. The guide was absolutely awful. All she was worried about was her next cigarette. She forgot her photographs of the palace and simply went through the motions of the guided tour. We had studied the site quite a bit before the tour or we would have not gotten anything out of it. The tour of Heraklion was just to drop us off in the middle of town. A TAXI to Knossos is 8 Euros. We could have hired a private guide for so much less than we paid. We have traveled a lot in Europe and have taken this type of tour before, but this one was the worst ever.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Jennifer Z W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Amazing natural environment! Really appreciated the opportunity to sit back and enjoy the ride without driving the steep, narrow switchbacks. Coffee and biological stops along the way were great especially on the return, the soulvaki cooked on the outdoor grill was delicious.

Barbara, our guide was nice and provided enjoyable information about the history of the area as we drove up the mountain. Altough she verbally told us a couple times about the hike and the important timing benchmarks it would have been helpful to have them written out or at least a recommendation for us to make note of them. She said she did the hike 58 times already for the season but for those whose first time it was there was alot to remember, one certainly does not want to miss the boat back.

Bit confusing as to where to go at the end but we figured it out. There was a shuttle bus to town at the second place that offered refreshments but this was not included in our tour. The walk into town is short and flat after this but we just weren't sure where to go. A sign or remindern of this would have been comforting. Again, didn't want to miss boat. Take into consideration the phenomonon of the vacation brain

Wearing hiking shoes with stiff soles makes the walk more enjoyable-6 hrs for us as you ate constantly walking over rocks of various shapes and sizes. My knees tend to hurt going down so my walking sticks were a savior. In order to make the ferry we needed to keep walking, stopping often for photos of the spectacular scenery.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

stacey h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

learned many interesting facts about the city

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Cindy C R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The hike was extremely well organized, and the sites were beautiful!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Lindsay P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Good way to get around Heraklion and out to Knossos.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Caitlin

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great way to see Heraklion and the surrounding area with some commentary and a convenient way to get to the Palace of Knossos. The secondary route could be skipped though as it seems to mainly be a pick up / drop off route for hotels near the beach.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

stacey h

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

the museum told us alot about the history of crete

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Linda B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

They say on the websit you can use an E-Ticket, it was a real problem for us at the port! Do not go for lunch at the first stop, which was the beautiful town of Oia! You WILL NOT have enough time to shop or see anything! I was VERY upset being hearded to The Blue Sky restaurant, the food was just okay and slow. We were not left with enough time, only 25 mins to see what we came for which was Oia not a Greek salad!!!. There is time to eat at Fira! I would recommend this trip but heed my warnings and you'll have a great time!

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

Raphael B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

The city is quite small, by walk it would have been OK for the central part. Also, the bus was late or went too early in Knossos, we had to take the public bus for 2 euros to come back around 4pm. I recommend to use the public bus at 2 euros instead of 30 to go in Knossos and walk the downtown of Heraklion which is really small.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Barbara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great way to get a lay of the land when arriving in a new place. The drivers and workers were all very helpful!

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Barbara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Book the morning tour and avoid some of the crowds and heat. A great start to our vacation. Tour included wine and olive oil tasting at a nearby town. Delicious and informative.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Kenneth L W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Heraklion was a lovely place to visit. HOHO bus was very good and frequent.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Christopher S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Well worth doing - great achievement to complete the walk and great views along the way

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Anne B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

If you are only in Heraklion for a imited time I would advise you to take a taxi or local bus up to the Knossos Palace and then back down to the museum. The port is an easy work from the museum/town. There are not any other real sights to be seen in Heraklion and we wasted a lot of time driving around the streets and then waiting for a bus back from the palace.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message