The fifth-biggest city in Greece, Crete’s capital buzzes with energy, mixing ancient origins and modern-day big-city bustle. Away from Heraklion there are beaches for relaxing, ancient ruins to explore, lovely villages and one of the world’s most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

pity it was raining off and on but well worth doing and marathi beach was very nice

Doing what: Crete Coastline Sightseeing Cruise Including Marathi Beach

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

satisfactory. barbecue lunch, the amount is too small. both tour guide is nice and helpful

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

On-time clean informative Excellent Tour!!!!

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an excellent trip. The guide was friendly and informative and the visit to Spinalonga was interesting and enjoyable although the time on the island is quite short and by the time you have had the tour you do not have much time to explore on your own - if you already know the history of Spinalonga you should probably just leave the tour and spend the time exploring on your own. The bay swim and bbq was absolutely wonderful. We would definitely recommend this tour and will definitely do it again next time we are in Crete.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great! The tour guide was nice and informative and the tour pick-up and drop-off ran smoothly.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience but one must be in really good condition and hiking shoes would be best. Our tour guide Thomas was terrific and informative. Everything went smoothly and we had plenty of time.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Small bus picked us up, took us where we needed to go, and got us home quickly. Tour guy was funny and informative and had a great Austrian accent. This was more like a concierge service than anything else - would highly recommend over a large tour.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and very fun and informative. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent day! Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was very well organized and fun and easy to purchase and negotiate. I have no complaints other than more time in a day! The tour company worked with our resort to arrange for pick-up.

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was our favorite day of the whole trip. The crew was very nice and the scenery is unbeatable. These were the most clear, bright turquoise waters we saw in Greece! It was like a dream. One discrepancy is in the description it says there is snorkel gear you can use, but when we asked for it, they said they didn't have any, not because other people were using it, just because they had none, so make sure to bring your own, even if it says that in the description. The water was so clear anyway, we weren't really that disappointed, but we had left ours at home thinking there would be some to use and there wasn't. If you're looking for a way to see some different waters and beaches on Crete, I'd say this is the way to go!

Doing what: Crete Coastline Sightseeing Cruise Including Marathi Beach

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Was picked up on time and the trip was well worth it. I would have given five stars but from our hotel in Elounds to Knossos took over two hours due to picks ups along the way and back. Seeing history in the making when you discover the palace was built over 400 years ago only to be discovered by an Englishmen in the 1900's

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very informative guide, I felt very safe with our bus driver, the logistics all worked out very well. Very good value for money and a worthwhile destination.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

Rhonda W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Bus was on time and in the nominated location. Crowds made sticking to a schedule difficult.

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The stop times did not match with actual times, but fine otherwise

Doing what: Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Date changed but all organization went smoothly. Would have like some history or information about the gorge on transit. Times suggested were underestimated by guide which encouraged us to rush and yet had 2 hours spare at beach.
Advertising said boat went to east, but went west

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The guide let us spend too much time shopping, otherwise, the trip is ok.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The tour was late starting. When the tour set off it rained heavily. We took the bus to a cafe close to the gorge and were offered a cheese pancake with honey. The organizer announced the gorge walk would not happen but not to worry because there was a plan b. Plan b was a trip to a ruined castle...

Doing what: Imbros Gorge Hiking Day Trip Including Traditional Cretan Snack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

had a great time on this tour, the guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and informative. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was the highlight of my visit to Crete. The gorge itself was amazing due to its sheer height and beauty. The herbal smells particularly over the first few Km were amazing. The guide was helpful providing some background to the gorge and the small number of buildings in the valley. The history of those who lived in the gorge is fascinating. This is a trip that I would highly recommend.The only negative that I would say about the day was the very poor quality of the coffee / food rest stop, which the bus stopped at the half-way stage on travelling too and from the gorge. Better to be well planned and bring your own food!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Pick ups pro-longed length of time. Would have preferred option to have lunch in Elounda instead of boat/barbecue. Would be good to have option. Spinalonga guide was very informative.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Pick up process too long (over 2 hours). When arrived at Knossos guide did not wait for people to go to toilet after being on coach for 2.5hrs. Also did not have time to purchase tickets or water. She disappeared into the site and we never found her. Went around on our own in the end. Would have preferred to skip wine tasting and have more time in Heraklion to go to musum etc.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Our tour suppose to include Ag.Nikholas, but were picked up and drop at Elounda port without visiting the city. What a scam!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A stunning hike. The early start meant we were ahead of most other people which was appreciated. Our tour guide was knowledgeable about the area, friendly and approachable. However, there is no need to rush the hike; take time to enjoy the scenery. My hiking pace is brisk so I had 4.5 hours to wait for the ferry to leave from the village at the end. Bring swimming shorts and a towel for a swim in the Libyan Sea and also a book to read.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Perfect amount of time and very great your guides! Highly recommend and I'm not a big tour/history person;)

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message