The fifth-biggest city in Greece, Crete’s capital buzzes with energy, mixing ancient origins and modern-day big-city bustle. Away from Heraklion there are beaches for relaxing, ancient ruins to explore, lovely villages and one of the world’s most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great way to get a lay of the land when arriving in a new place. The drivers and workers were all very helpful!

Doing what: Best Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Book the morning tour and avoid some of the crowds and heat. A great start to our vacation. Tour included wine and olive oil tasting at a nearby town. Delicious and informative.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Heraklion was a lovely place to visit. HOHO bus was very good and frequent.

Doing what: Best Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Well worth doing - great achievement to complete the walk and great views along the way

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

If you are only in Heraklion for a imited time I would advise you to take a taxi or local bus up to the Knossos Palace and then back down to the museum. The port is an easy work from the museum/town. There are not any other real sights to be seen in Heraklion and we wasted a lot of time driving around the streets and then waiting for a bus back from the palace.

Doing what: Best Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Drivers failed to give clear details of the stopping points. They often failed to stop and instead just slowed down, as a result we missed the stop we wanted. First bus had a canopy on the upper deck, it was over 40 degrees and this was essential, the other buses had no canopy and it was far too hot to sit on thr top deck when stopped in traffic. Ther wer just 10 seats downstairs these were generally full.

Doing what: Best Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

We have been booking with Viator for many years but have never been so disappointed with one of their tours. This was not the tour as advertised by Viator. Specifically -
- the tour lasted some 8 hours even ignoring the pickup time etc of which only 1.5 hours was at Knossos - we didn't even get to see the full site.
- we spent an hour and a half at a winery which isn't mentioned by Viator - we had no desire to pay money to see a film about wine making!
- there was no bus tour of Heraklion - we were escorted into the city centre and then left to our own devices.
In addition, the coach was very old with almost no air conditioning. It was genuinely unpleasantly hot. Also worth noting the tour was bilingual with half the tour being Russian. Many of the English speaking folks just wandered off at Knossos because they lost interest waiting for the guide to finish talking to the Russian guests.
Overall, it seems Viator just haven't done their due diligence here. Would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

pity it was raining off and on but well worth doing and marathi beach was very nice

Doing what: Crete Coastline Sightseeing Cruise Including Marathi Beach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pros: We were very impressed with this tour. Tour company was very organized, had on-time arrival to morning pick-up, a well-informed tour guide, and comfortable transportation. Tour had a great pace through the gorge, finishing with 2 hours at the end to enjoy swimming in the Libyan Sea and lunch in the beautiful and remote Agios Roumeli.
        Cons: If youre looking to stroll through the gorge at your own/slower pace, this tour moves a little more briskly than that. Some reviews noted pace was quicker than desired, however, we did not feel that way and, at 6 hours, we were tired from our journey so glad to for its pace, and did not feel rushed.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

7 KM didn't sound far, but when walking on soooo many rocks, it is! Good thing that we had over 2 hours to do this! I didn't know we were going to stop by the beach for over an hour or else I would have brought my bathing suit too. Other than that, I definitely would do this again!

Doing what: Best Imbros Gorge Hiking Day Trip Including Traditional Cretan Snack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a great one day excursion. I was skeptical about the leper colony island, but it was a lot of fun. You can hike wherever to the very top to see the ruins, or stick at the bottom with the tour guide. Then for lunch they stop at a private island where people swim while the crew grills up lunch.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

satisfactory. barbecue lunch, the amount is too small. both tour guide is nice and helpful

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The guided tour to Knossos was very good. We could have spent more time there and there were a few too many people on the tour.

Doing what: Ancient Palace of Knossos Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The hop-on, hop-off bus tour was fine and relaxing and reasonably priced.

Doing what: Best Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

My review is not based on the Gorge itself, the Gorge was amazing and the tour guide was brilliant. My review is based on the service that Viator provide. We stayed in Elounda and despite the very early start we decided to go ahead and book based on the timings provided by Viator and were happy to accept that it may be around a 16 hour day all round. However this was not the case, if you stay in the Elounda area you will be going for just shy of 24 hours. It was too much for us in terms of exhaustion, we didn't think that the day would be that long. Having experienced this I would say that either Viator should offer a more direct travel service to those who pay extra and are further out, or they should not offer this day tour to people who are that far out if they can't be accommodated for within a reasonable timescale. We felt that 16 hours was a reasonable time. 24 is not.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

There are something's that can't be helped with tour guides and groups. However, the tour company Viator used for the tour of Samaria Gorge was abstract and lacked information provided. In addition, the stand that ALL the buses stopped at were sub-par. Make sure you pack food BEFORE the trip. All the places they stop to pick up food have no real options for food unless you like moldy bread.

Also, pack water. The tour guide will say bring a refillable water bottle and that there are spring on the way, but all the springs have algae accumulating around in the spring. Pack enough water to last the full 17 hour day. To help all the places you have to pay for additional things, have small bills and coins ready. Many of the small vendors have limited change and can't handle large bills.

You should listen closely to all the directions and instructions. There is no hand out, which would be better, of the information on the tour and where to meet back after the hike.

The hike is breath taking. No matter what people say, boots will help. Its all rocks and down hill. I'm a pretty fit guy and my knees were killing me at the end. It's about 16k all together, so be prepared.

That said, it's worth it.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

On-time clean informative Excellent Tour!!!!

Doing what: Best Heraklion Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an excellent trip. The guide was friendly and informative and the visit to Spinalonga was interesting and enjoyable although the time on the island is quite short and by the time you have had the tour you do not have much time to explore on your own - if you already know the history of Spinalonga you should probably just leave the tour and spend the time exploring on your own. The bay swim and bbq was absolutely wonderful. We would definitely recommend this tour and will definitely do it again next time we are in Crete.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was great! The tour guide was nice and informative and the tour pick-up and drop-off ran smoothly.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience but one must be in really good condition and hiking shoes would be best. Our tour guide Thomas was terrific and informative. Everything went smoothly and we had plenty of time.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Small bus picked us up, took us where we needed to go, and got us home quickly. Tour guy was funny and informative and had a great Austrian accent. This was more like a concierge service than anything else - would highly recommend over a large tour.

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and very fun and informative. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent day! Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Best Full Day Tour to Samaria Gorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was very well organized and fun and easy to purchase and negotiate. I have no complaints other than more time in a day! The tour company worked with our resort to arrange for pick-up.

Doing what: Santorini Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was our favorite day of the whole trip. The crew was very nice and the scenery is unbeatable. These were the most clear, bright turquoise waters we saw in Greece! It was like a dream. One discrepancy is in the description it says there is snorkel gear you can use, but when we asked for it, they said they didn't have any, not because other people were using it, just because they had none, so make sure to bring your own, even if it says that in the description. The water was so clear anyway, we weren't really that disappointed, but we had left ours at home thinking there would be some to use and there wasn't. If you're looking for a way to see some different waters and beaches on Crete, I'd say this is the way to go!

Doing what: Crete Coastline Sightseeing Cruise Including Marathi Beach

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message