Insider's Guide to Hiroshima

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Hiroshima ATTRACTIONS See all

Hiroshima Peace Memorial

Also called Genbaku Dome, this landmark was the only building left standing after the Enola Gay dropped an atom bomb on the city of Hiroshima, Japan on August 6, 1945, eventually killing 140,000 people. Genbaku is the Japanese word for “atomic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Mariko was excellent. She was extremely knowledgeable and made the tour very rewarding especially in regards to the Peace Park and Museum.

We were very moved in going through the Peace Museum. This was the highlight of the tour.

The transport to and from Osaka and Hiroshima was very organised. Including taxis from the meeting point to the Osaka Shinkansen Station and when we arrived back to Osaka at 8:00 pm we were given 2000 yen to cover the taxi back to our hotel.

Doing what: Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had a fabulous tour leader, Akiko, who did not waste a moment of time, gave us great information and stories, yet gave us sufficient free exploring time. The day is well planned, and very full, since you see the Island of Miyajima and the Peace Park. Yes, you could do both on your own, but the price, convenience, and tour guide made it worth doing it with a group. Dont miss the grilled oysters on the island, and the ritzy ryokan where we saw a bride and groom being taken by rickshaw

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I really loved Miyajima. The red tori gate in the blue sea in front of green hills is just beautiful. Special thanks to our tour guide who showed us another Buddhist temple a bit away from the tourist spots and provided lots of information.
Hiroshima was very impressive. I was moved by the storys of atomic bomb victims presented at the Peace Memorial Museum.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Miyajima tour was good. For us the highlight was a wedding ceremony which was happening during our tour. The food experience was great. We ate there the best okonomiyaki. The Hiroshima trip was sublime. It brought horrors of a war very close. The peace message was very strong.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent tour thank you, we thoroughly enjoyed the visit to Miyajima Island and also found the Peace Memorial Park deeply moving and were inspired by the courage and determination of the people to rebid and move on so quickly after the bombing. Our guide Akiko was delightful.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We started the morning by taking a bus, then a pleasant ferry ride across to Miyajima Island. The Itsukushima torii gate is worth the visit alone! In our 'free time', I took a leisurely walk to the Daisho-in temple - very serene and beautiful setting with great views over the towards the shrine below. We then headed to the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park. Our guide was very knowledgeable and sensitive to the history of Hiroshima. You can't help but be affected by this part of the tour - what more can be said, apart from you hope that it never happens again!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We missed our morning pickup but Sunshine Tours got us to the venue all the same and we had a fantastic day at Miyajima. It would have been a great place to stay overnight. Very serene and beautiful. The Horishima Peace Park was moving. Our guide for the day, Miwa, was informative and humorous. She even gave us all a origami crane she had made herself. Incredible hospitality!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This was a great tour. The guide, Amy, was very knowledgeable and helpful. There was plenty of time at Miyajima and at the Peace Memorial Museum, which has some really excellent displays Highly recommended!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour and tour guide were the greatest! I'm planning to do this again next March with my wife. If everyone would visit Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park the world would be a much better place. It is a shame that only one American President has visited Hiroshima! Charlie from Pennsylvania USA

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The full day Miyajima Island and Peace Memorial Park tour was very good. We enjoyed ourselves, learned a lot and our tour guide spoke good English and she was knowledgeable. We had a great day in Hiroshima even though it was pouring rain!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Another fantastic tour with Viator. We met our guide at a Hiroshima hotel and everything about the day went exactly as described. We had a fantastic few hours at Miyajima, what a gem of a place! Then we continued onto Peace Memorial Park. I can't say enough wonderful things about our tour guide, she has such passion for what she does, she's full of interesting history and personal experience, and she really brought both these places to life for us. I can't rate her and Viator highly enough!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Kevin C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A well organized and informative tour. The tour guide was excellent! She had a genuine passion for these sites and was accessible, thoughtful and spoke very good English. The contrast of the beauty of Miyajima and the sadness of the Hiroshima Peace Memorial provides a lasting memory. The legacy of atomic warfare is a tragic graphic lesson that the world should never forget!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I really enjoyed the trip. Our guide was informative, spoke decent English, and was humorous also. Later I took another Viator tour in Osaka, and the company is very consistent with quality of guides. The Miyajima Island tour was of a Buddhist or Shinto temple, and all would enjoy it. The Peace Park and A-bomb museum is serious but a must see for the impact of the A-bomb on Hiroshima. Good tour at a decent price. I definitely recommend this company.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Susan H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

A very interesting and well-balanced tour sensitively guided by a well-informed guide. We fell in love with Miyajima and were very impressed with and moved by the Peace Memorial Park.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour was well organized and the guide was super friendly. It was nice to have someone do the planning for us. Miyajima was beautiful and peaceful. Hiroshima was moving. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2007

This is an excellent tour for people who want to capture the essentials of both places in a day. Miyajima is serene and beautiful despite its inevitable tourist paraphernalia, and the tour of Hiroshima's atomic legacy was shattering and unforgettable. Do not visit Japan without coming here. Our guide was informative and also knew the best place to eat the local version of Okonomiyaki for lunch. If we'd had more time, it would have been good to do some climbing and meet the monkeys on Miyajima and also see more of modern-day Hiroshima, but as a day-trip this can't be faulted.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Karen B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

The whole tour more than exceeded my expectations. I found the tour to Miyajima Island very interesting, relaxing and pleasurable. The visit to the Peace Memorial Park was informative, sad and thought-provoking. The visit heightened my awareness of the history relating to the dropping of the atomic bomb on Hiroshima and the long-term effects. It also strengthened my belief that the world should abolish all nuclear weapons in every country.
The one-day tour was the only reason for my visit to Japan as part of my four-country world tour. However after visiting Japan I now wish to return for a longer period.
The Tour Guide for the day was very professional, informative and friendly and I would like to have my thanks passed onto her. The driver for the day was also friendly and assisted in every way possible.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide Kuniko was great, she had a good grasp of English so was easy to understand. We found Miyajima Island pleasant enough but felt would not return, however the Peace Memorial Park was very moving and Kunki explained everything we came across so well. We went back the next day for a slower visit by ourselves and were so grateful for everything we had learned from her the day before.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Catherine C
Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour lived up to my expectations with a good tour guide Fumiko who even sent a letter to me in my hotel to remind me of the tour the following day. Miyajima esp the iconic red torii gate was really amazing and we learned of the Hiroshima bombing thru our visit to the A-Bomb Dome and Peace Memorial

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Worth the $s. Full program day tour with journey to Miyajima Island to start the day but only 1hr of free time including lunch which can be difficult if many tourists visiting. Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park- very emotional and heart wrenching - incredible experience.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour covered all items intended and was very enjoyable. Our guide was well informed and communicated in English without any issues. My only critisism was the time spent at the Peace Park and museum was too short. I believe more time needs to be allocated to this part of the tour and less to Miyajima Island.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

The weather was lousy.....But the tour was very good .Amy is a very special guide and what will happen when she retires? her knowledge of all the places we visited was amazing and we were lucky to share lunch with her and discuss more about Japan and it's people.
We would have liked more time at the Peace park but weather was not permitting .
Thank you .
We would certainly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This tour was awesome!!! Our guide, Marika, did a wonderful job guiding it! Considering that it was just me and another Australian couple that went along, the tour became more of a personal tour than anything else. That being said, Marika took the time to show us a great part of Miyajima Island, its shrine, and some of its traditions. We were lucky enough to witness a traditional Japanese wedding while at the shrine! The visit to the Peace Memorial Park was also great, although I wish we'd had more time to spend at the museum--which was fascinating--instead of the park. The reason I'm not giving this tour 5 stars is because we had to rely on public transportation instead of having our own--from Viator. However, given the choice between using public transportation and having to cancel the tour due to low enrollment, I choose the former, of course. In addition, the time we spent at the Peace Memorial Museum was extremely limited because we arrived almost at closing time. All in all, however, I highly recommend this tour for those of you who want to learn a bit more about the Japanese culture--and a whole lot more about the aftermath of the atomic bomb.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Amazing tour, beautiful Miyajima and eye opening tour of the atomic bomb memorials, very knowledgeable tour guide

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This tour gave is Great insigjt into Hiroshima and had a nice focus on the peace park.

Doing what: Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message