The Cu Chi Tunnels are a network of underground passageways that run to more than 120 miles (200 kilometers) in total length in this area alone. Work by the Viet Cong commenced in 1948 as a means of shelter from the French air attacks during the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Had a great trip definitely would recommend traveling by speedboat to the Cu Chi tunnels. Our guide was very knowledgable and friendly. Lunch was authentic Vietnamese, fresh and very tasty. The speedboat was comfortable with just the right number of people on the trip fresh fruit and refreshments provided on the boat were more than sufficient. Would do this trip again.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Brigitte J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a most amazing tour, from the time we were picked up at our hotel until our return. The driver was very good and our guide was wonderful. Very knowledgeable. The boat trip was a great way to get to the Cu Chi Tunnels. Highly recommend the early departure, we got there before all the tour buses which made the experience even better. Also a great lunch.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Aaron T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Guide was knowledgeable and kept things interesting. I would highly recommend this tour for people interested in a long bike ride through more undiscovered parts of Vietnam as well as a less touristy experience at the Cu Chi Tunnels.

Doing what: Small-Group Cu Chi Tunnels Boat and Bike Tour

Elaine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was fantastic on this trip and very knowledgable ! We went on a speedboat and served cool drinks and fresh fruit throughout the journey. The Cu Chi tunnels were amazing and really brought alive the war and what that entailed! Lunch was fantastic! I would recommend this trip as one not to be missed!

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour guide, amazing food, and a must see historical site. The Cu Chi tunnel visit really changed how we viewed the struggles of the Viet Cong during the war. This was one of the highlights of our time in Ho Chi Minh.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was great to travel by boat to Cu Chi tunnels, we beat the crowds. So made it easy getting around the tunnels. Our guide Kha was great.
Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Amy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was excellent. It was a very busy day but it included everything that we most wanted to see in and around Ho Chi Minh, from the Cu Chi tunnels and War Museum to the French architecture.
Our tour guide, NT, was extremely knowledgable about all of Vietnam's ancient and more present history and was extremely lovely and happy to have us ask him all of our questions. It was so great to have such an enthusiastic tour guide.

Additionally, NT took us to an incredible Vietnamese Restaurant for lunch, which was included in the price of the tour and the best Vietnamese food we had throughout our whole trip.

I would highly recommend that you book this tour ASAP, it was such an easy way of seeing all the important places, in a great amount of time and for such good value for money!

We love NT!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Ho Chi Minh City Including Cu Chi Tunnels

nicoleannan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Totally enjoyed this half day tour. Loved the boat trip up the river to the Cu Chi Tunnels, very relaxing. A great lunch is provided at the end of the tour before heading back to Ho Chi Minh. Well worth a visit.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour of the Cu Chi Tunnels in combination with a tour of the Cao Dai Temple is a must if you visit Ho Chi Minh City. Our transportation was modern and comfortable. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and his English was outstanding. The tunnel tour outlined the amazing feats of the Vietnamese soldiers during the wars with France and US. The Cao Dai Temple is an amazing sight and gives an interesting glimpse into a unique culture. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cu Chi Tunnels and Cao Dai Temple Full-Day Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Aubrey O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I and my 6 other lady friends availed of the Small Group Ho Chi Minh City and Cu Chi Tunnel Day Tour. It was a day filled with excitement and fun. The tour details were exactly how it was described on TripAdvisor/Viator website. The van that was provided for our use was very new with strong a/c that provided comfort in the heat of summer. The best part of the tour was the young tour guide, Mr.Wang, who was very knowledgeable in Vietnam War and Heritage, very fluent in English and also humorous. He made the entire day memorable for us. Lunch was amazing!! The price for this trip is very reasonable for whole tour experience. We are greatly satisfied and happy. I recommend this tour to those who plan to see Saigon and CuChi Tunnel.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Ho Chi Minh City Including Cu Chi Tunnels

Colmcb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good. We enjoyed every minute of it right from the hotel collection to the motorboat ride to the Cu Chi tunnels, the visit to the cricket farm and then for a nice meal in a restaurant and back to the hotel. The travel guide was really friendly and helpful and so were the people at the cricket farm.
Recommend that no one opts for the paper making rather than the cricket farm as it is included within the Cu Chi tunnels site anyhow. A memorable day!

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Tour with Saigon River Speedboat Cruise from Ho Chi Minh City

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The whole trip was well worth it. We were picked up from hotel, short drive to the river and taken on an amazing trip down the river into the heart of Vietnam by speedboat. It gave a totally different view of Vietnam that you don't get in the city. We got to the cu chi tunnels and had a good look around. You can even have a go at firing an AK47 !
We were then taken to a cricket farm where after seeing the various stages of their growth you then get the chance to taste the end result. Deep fried in rice paper with salads. I did not do the sampling but my husband was daft enough to try. One gentleman in the group was thoroughly enjoying them though I think he was hungry.
We were then driven back into Saigon where we were taken to a beautiful restaurant for lunch. I have to admit that after 2 weeks in Vietnam it is the best meal we have ever had.
Drop off back at hotel.
Would definatly recommend. The only downside we found was the guide didn't speak very good English and was difficult to understand and I felt we were a little rushed at the tunnels.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Tour with Saigon River Speedboat Cruise from Ho Chi Minh City

Mark W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Although the itinerary states the Cao Dai Temple is the first stop before lunch and then the Cu Chi Tunnels, the Guide showed great foresight and took us to the Cu Chi Tunnels first to beat the crowds and the heat of the day. we practically had the place to ourselves which was great We then went to the Temple and arrived in time to see the prayer ceremony which was a memorable experience. From here we went to lunch. Make sure you bring your appetite as the food just keeps coming and is delicious. We then made the long trip back to HCMC. A great day and would recommend the tour itinerary be done this way.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cu Chi Tunnels and Cao Dai Temple Full-Day Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

phiex

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We went for the morning tour. Our guide, Hang I'm sorry if I got the spelling wrong! Its the cheerful lady with a big sunny smile! was very knowledgeable and kept us intrigued throughout the boat ride with Vietnam's war history and interesting information about the sights we saw along the way. The service was great and with so many fruits and drinks on board the boat the lovely lunch thereafter, my stomach was kept happy too. And of course, Cu Chi Tunnels was an amazing experience and gave much insight into the history of the war. Highly recommended trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Carol H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour was excellent. Good communication with organisers. Tour guide very helpful and his assistant Din was fantastic looking after us all the time. Would recommend. It was great not having to travel through all the traffic to get to Cu Chi tunnels.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Anthony B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The small-group tour was as about as small as it gets...me, the driver and the guide. Tien the guide english was excellent which made the information on the trip easier to comprehend. The Cu Chi tunnels were really interesting and if I were in a larger group I don't think that I would have found the tour as beneficial.
The sites back in town were great and I was largely left to my own devices to tour them at my own pace. The Independence Palace, the impressive War Museum and the Post Office all gave a great cross sebction of history and architecture to admire.
All in all, a great way to spend a day.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Ho Chi Minh City Including Cu Chi Tunnels

Justine H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Great experience. Speedboat was not "luxury" but we still preferred it over bus. Cu Chi Tunnels was eye-opening and extremely interesting.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Jacquelyn C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Cu Chi Tunnels was amazing and well worth the visit. Loved it very much. The Ho Chi Minh City Sightseeing tour did not live up to expectations and was just ok. I highly recommend the tunnels (that's the 4 stars) tour but do not recommend the city tour.(2 star)

Doing what: Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Sightseeing Tour and Cu Chi Tunnels

Christine G Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

The Cu Chi tunnel Tour was well worth the 2 hour drive! It showed us the ingenuity and resilience of the Vietnamese during the war. Cao Dai temple was ok. It was extremely hot when we arrived, but we were there just in time for the noon time worship. Lunch was exquisite! Hefty servings and fresh ingredients! The drinks were not inclusive though. For this long drive, we were glad we had a private vehicle all to ourselves.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cu Chi Tunnels and Cao Dai Temple Full-Day Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Ben B

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The Cu Chi Tunnels where very interesting, however, our tour guide was very rushed, hurried us along and we flew past other tour groups. I wish we had more time to explore and learn more about the tunnels.

Doing what: Half Day Cu Chi Tunnels Tour from Ho Chi Minh

masuoka97

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgeable. A bit rushed at the Cu Chi Tunnels in order to make the 1:00 service at the temple. Had I known, I would have just booked the Cu Chi Tunnels. Good tour, though.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cu Chi Tunnels and Cao Dai Temple Full-Day Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Shane G Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Great day out. Excellent experience at the Cu Chi Tunnels. Wonderful guide that seemed to know the story to some detail - quite informative. Amazing tour to show a little of what the people endured for many years. Cao Dai Temple was amazingly colourful. Interesting part of the tour showing how other religions worship and live.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cu Chi Tunnels and Cao Dai Temple Full-Day Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Mark S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

If you only have time for one tour I would definitely pass this one up for the Mekong River Cruise. We both enjoyed this tour but the Cu Chi Tunnels was a little bit of a let down for me. We had the same tour guide for both tours and he was excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cu Chi Tunnels and Cao Dai Temple Full-Day Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Mark D USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2010

Recommend if you are interested in seeing the country side of Vietnam. It is a long trip from Ho Chi Minh City to Tay Ninh but gives you a perspective of how people live in the villages. The Cu Chi tunnels are OK if you enjoy learning about the Vietnam War. But the accuracy of information provided was questionable. The Cao Dai temple was one strange place.

Doing what: Private Tour: Cu Chi Tunnels and Cao Dai Temple Full-Day Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Katherine M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Unfortunately, our guides English wasn't good so we struggled on this trip. The Cu Chi tunnels are a must see but the rest of the city can be seen on foot just as easily.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Ho Chi Minh City Including Cu Chi Tunnels

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message