The Cu Chi Tunnels are a network of underground passageways that run to more than 120 miles (200 kilometers) in total length in this area alone. Work by the Viet Cong commenced in 1948 as a means of shelter from the French air attacks during the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was awesome. Our guide, Long, was very friendly. He's also quite knowledgeable and provided a lot of historical context on Vietnam, Cu Chi, it's people, and the tunnels.
The tour started out with a trip to a local family's home where we were able to watch the making of rice paper, then afterwards, to try our hand at it. The matriarch also showed us how they raised livestock and extracted sap from rubber trees, which grow abundantly in Cu Chi.
We spent the rest of the morning going around the tunnels, learning of its history, architecture, and its importance during the Vietnam War. We got a chance to "drop" into a tunnel access, then later try to traverse one that's been enlarged for tourist access. Our group didn't get to finish the whole 100 m stretch, exiting at around 40 m because the tunnel is claustrophobia inducing, but it was still great fun. We learned about the various traps they used during the war as well. For gun enthusiasts, there is a firing range at the Cu Chi tunnels, though for non-gun enthusiasts, it can get a bit noisy.
At the end of the tour, our guides took us back to our hotels, which was very convenient, and even provided us with general tourist tips for Saigon. All in all, a great way to spend your morning. :)

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour of the Cu chi tunnels was fantastic, We had a lot of fun and would highly recommend the tour

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

As a history enthusiast, I found the Cu Chi Tunnels an exceptionally interesting Vietnam War battle ground. The story of The Tunnels is being told from the perspective of the North Vietnamese and Vietcong fighters. In short, fascinating.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good. We enjoyed every minute of it right from the hotel collection to the motorboat ride to the Cu Chi tunnels, the visit to the cricket farm and then for a nice meal in a restaurant and back to the hotel. The travel guide was really friendly and helpful and so were the people at the cricket farm.
Recommend that no one opts for the paper making rather than the cricket farm as it is included within the Cu Chi tunnels site anyhow. A memorable day!

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Tour with Saigon River Speedboat Cruise from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a must tour when in Ho Chi Minh. The Cu Chi tunnels are a real insight into the lives of Vietnamese people during the war. Very thought provoking. We had the brilliant Luc as our guide, he is so knowledgeable, great fun and speaks excellent English.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Really fascinating tour. The Cu Chi Tunnels were really remarkable, and showed the true horror of the American War. The temple was really beautiful. Well worth a visit. Altogether, a splendid day out.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Cao Dai Temple and Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The whole trip was well worth it. We were picked up from hotel, short drive to the river and taken on an amazing trip down the river into the heart of Vietnam by speedboat. It gave a totally different view of Vietnam that you don't get in the city. We got to the cu chi tunnels and had a good look around. You can even have a go at firing an AK47 !
We were then taken to a cricket farm where after seeing the various stages of their growth you then get the chance to taste the end result. Deep fried in rice paper with salads. I did not do the sampling but my husband was daft enough to try. One gentleman in the group was thoroughly enjoying them though I think he was hungry.
We were then driven back into Saigon where we were taken to a beautiful restaurant for lunch. I have to admit that after 2 weeks in Vietnam it is the best meal we have ever had.
Drop off back at hotel.
Would definatly recommend. The only downside we found was the guide didn't speak very good English and was difficult to understand and I felt we were a little rushed at the tunnels.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Tour with Saigon River Speedboat Cruise from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This trip was so enjoyable, our guide Huong (Ms Linda) was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. We found it really easy to ask her questions throughout the day, and she was happy to answer. We had an amazing experience at both the Cao Dai Temple and the Cu Chi tunnels and would definitely book through this operator again, we would request Huong again too!
Thanks for making our trip so enjoyable
Laura and Patrick

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Cao Dai Temple and Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My visit to the Cu Chi Tunnels was an amazing experience. The tour begins with an introductory film, maps, and other visuals to give you an overall idea of the extensive organization of and purpose for the tunnels. It was interesting to see the actual tunnel entrances, the weapons, and the still functioning underground kitchen. A highlight was a crawl through the tunnel for tourists. The person leading me through this tunnel even offered to take some photos of me while in there (nice touch). The visit to the Cao Dai Temple was even more spectacular! The colors and details of the temple building both inside and out were beyond belief. I was so fortunate to arrive at the noon prayer service where there was a huge amount of worshipers seated on the temple floor. It was great to view the service and, in my own way, participate with the worshipers from where I stood. It was an awesome and reverent experience.

My tour guide, Long Huynh, made the day's activities so memorable with his extensive knowledge and familiarity of the places that we visited. It was an excellent day trip with an excellent guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Cao Dai Temple and Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I think that if you are visiting HCMC, you must visit the Cu Chi tunnels. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, the trip to the small holding was ok, but the crawl down the tunnel gave me a feeling how important this place is !!
Book this trip !!!!!

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

When booking through in internet from a long way away...one does get slightly wary. BUT! With Viator...NO PROBLEM! We booked to go on the Cu Chi Tunnel small group and it was fantastic.....we had only arrived in Saigon from the United Kingdom the night before but were up and running at 7.30am. The mini bus arrived very promptly and the guide (Vinh) was SUPER! After an amazing drive out of the city missing the motorbikes !!!!! Passing rubber trees, rice fields etc. with arrived at the tunnels. The tour was excellent. Vinh was very knowledgeable and explained everything slowly and in detail so we could understand! We were not rushed at all. I am glad VIATOR chose this tour to go early in the day because, as we left there were many many tourists and I do not think we would have seen as much as we did! An amazing insight into the Vietnam War with an amazing, thoroughly professional tour company and guide. We have no hesitation whatsoever the recommending Viator!

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Excellent trip. Informative guide, the lunch was very good, and trip to/in the Cu Chi tunnels awesome.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Cao Dai Temple and Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

That was my third trip to the Cu Chi Tunnels. This trip, I brought along my two children to this tour and they love it. It was really an open eye trip for them and I knew it they they have enjoyed the tour from starting till the end.
The Tour guide was very good, joyful, friend, helpful and very informative person.
There was a bit of bonus because before we went back to the city, they stopped at a typical Vietnamese home for us to witness the making of rice paper and the owner's pigs sly.. Over all, we love the tour.. Thanks

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Peter C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Our guide was simply terrific and extremely informative. We had a wonderful time albeit not the happiest of places to visit given its history. But the trip and the whole Cu Chi Tunnels experience is done in a very honorable way with no bitterness to how the Vietnamese were treated. A truly memorable and humble experience. Thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Me and my colleague were really enjoyed the tour. Ms Ngoc the tour guide told us everything about the history of Cu Chi Tunnel. she was very pleasant. The trip was fascinating and well managed. Great experience. Thanks for the hospitality. Very recommended

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message