The Mekong Delta covers an area of approximately 15,000 square miles (40,000 square kilometers) to the west of Ho Chi Minh City. The Mekong Delta is where the mighty Mekong river completes its 2,700 mile (4,300 km) journey from the Tibetan plateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

WILLIAM R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome experience and a must do if able to put on your itinerary. We went to the floating market on the Mekong Delta and our guide, Jay Jay, gave us a detailed historical overview of the whole area plus much about the current and past culture of the Vietnamese people. Very interesting on how the rice farmers operate, and then seeing the different businesses in the floating market area including candy making all topped off with a lunch we assisted in cooking and then the 2-3 man boat excursion through the forest on a narrrow river.....paddled by a guide.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Day Trip with Cooking Class and Cai Be Floating Market Tour

Sabina Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A fantastic tour! Pick up was on time and vehicle was very comfortable. We loved stopping at the Mekong Delta rest stop for amazing coffee and breakfast. Frank the tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. He was pleasant to get to know and made us feel comfortable in his country. The tour itself was fun and we really enjoyed the itinerary, especially the Mekong Delta bike tour. Thank you for a great time!

Doing what: Mekong Delta Day Trip with Cooking Class and Cai Be Floating Market Tour

Tyrone G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Our guide was a hoot. A good way to learn about Vietnamese culture and the importance of the Mekong delta to the region and its peoples and #39; way of life.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Jolanta J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My husband and I visited Vietnam a few years back, and we've done the Mekong Delta before. This time we opted for something a little different. Instead of spending some hours getting to the Mekong and back by bus interesting in itself we opted to try out the speedboat. We weren't disappointed.
We were picked up by our guide at our hotel and driven down to the wharf where we boarded our speedboat.
From the moment we boarded to the time we returned we were treated like VIP.
The English speaking tour guide was excellent. The commentary was informative and entertaining.
The 200hp outboard motor gave a comfortable but thrilling ride along the Saigon River giving a great view of the Ho Chi Minh skyline. Before long we were travelling parts of Ho Chi Minh City's extensive waterways network.
It wasn't all high speed as we negotiated through narrow waterways. The views are completely different than that seen from a bus. If you enjoy watching the busy water traffic then you'll need to take along an extra card for yur camera. Rice fields, Sugar cane, a huge variety of barges and boats, Villages. So much to see.

You can't fault the tour organisers for the abundance of food and drink supplied during the day. No complaints of being hungry or thirsty.

The off boat tours through temples and villages were great as well.

Highly recommended. 5 star definitely.

Doing what: Small-Group Authentic Mekong Delta Experience by Speedboat

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

a fantastic day out, we were taken by air conditioned mini bus , to the Mekong delta
where we were then taken by boat to one of the islands on the Mekong delta,
you are shown around the island by tuk tuk , seeing how the local people live , first stop we were given a number of local fruits to try and listen to the local Cambodians sing a few traditional songs
second stop was a coconut farm , where you see how the locals make candy from coconuts tastes really nice you also have the chance to buy some coconut candy !!!!
third stop you are taken to a beautiful restaurant where the food was fantastic !!!
after all three stops we were taken by three small rowing boats 7 in are group up one off the small rivers to meet up with are boat, a twenty minute journey to take us back to the mainland
this is a brilliant day out and i would recommend it .

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

howard r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was a lot of fun and well worth the seemingly high price. The highlights for me were the wild tuk-tuk ride through one of the islands and the oar powered boat ride on an offshoot of the Mekong which goes through some dense jungle. The guide Linda Huong Le was great, explaining everything clearly and answering all questions. A small quibble is that the bee farm is not a farm at all but rather a place that sells bee products with onky a few token bees on hand.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

acedave55

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We loved our tour guide Tan from the moment we saw him. A streigth look in the eye and a serious face asking us if we are ready for the day followed by a profoundly happy and honest laugh made us feel welcome immediately.

Tan started the tour by telling us about Ho Chi Minh City and the Mekong Delta on our way to the Delta in the air conditioned bus. He was so motivated and always smelling that it was a joy to listen to his stories and all the information he provided us with.

Being in the Mekong Delta river he always took care about us watching our steps for us and being just on of the most polite, funny and motivated guides I have ever seen.
The whole tour was very very well organized in terms of what we saw, the people we met, lunch timings, EVERYTHING. We got picked up and were brought back as promised.

If you have a chance to take a tour with TAN I hope you will enjoy it as much as we did and I promise you will fall in love with the country and it's people

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Cecelia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic tour!!! Had so much fun! Our tour guide was brilliant, great sense of humour and very witty! She kept us all entertained : Really enjoyed this amazing cultural experience! Great insight into Vietnamese life on the Mekong Delta. Definitely a must-do tour! Lots of food too, so you're never hungry I love eating so this is important for me!

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

jackieblue5197

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This Mekong Delta tour was one of the highlights of our vacation. The tour guide was very knowledgable and had a great personality. Everything from the boat ride to the coconut candy demonstration was first rate. I would also like to add that the lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Christina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour of the mighty Mekong. We were picked up at our hotel promptly, and the boat ride was interesting and informative. I enjoyed going into the small villages to see how people lived along the river. Our lunch stop at the orphanage was delicious - and some of the tour fee goes toward the orphanage. We were able to hold a heavy python at one stop and try honey Mekong whiskey at another. I was fascinating to see a local Buddhist temple and a Cao Dai temple during the Tet holiday season. Great guide as well!

Doing what: Small-Group Authentic Mekong Delta Experience by Speedboat

Riquelmy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Unlike any other tour I've taken before. Riding a banana boat through the Mekong delta was an interesting experience. I especially enjoyed visiting the different islands and seeing what life was like in the countryside.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Christopher J I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this tour! Our tour guide Yen was very informative and allowed us to enjoy the sights and smells of the Mekong. The coconut candy factory was great, it allowed us to sample their product before buying if we wanted to. No pressure. We didn't arrive early enough so we didn't see the hectic sights of the floating market but we were able to sample some fruits from a boat. We really enjoyed the boat ride through the canal, very peaceful and lush. The cooking class was fun. Really liked the bike ride through the small village. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mekong Delta Day Trip with Cooking Class and Cai Be Floating Market Tour

speakpop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour! Visited many locations on the Mekong Delta by boat, bus, motored bike and paddle boat!! Great food and a taste of local culture. Anna, our guide, did a fantastic job giving us insight to Vietnamese history and fun facts about each of our locations.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour!! Amazing Value - you get to experience a full day of fun on the mekong delta. The cooking demo was great and yummy.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Day Trip with Cooking Class and Cai Be Floating Market Tour

Glenn David O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This two day trip was the absolute highlight of our time in Vietnam. Highly recommended! Our guide Phuong was the best we've ever had, and the home stay family was fantastic as well. Don't miss out on this unique opportunity to see and experience life in rural Mekong Delta.

Doing what: 2-Day Mekong Delta Farmstay from Ho Chi Minh City

Melissa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide Queenie was fantastic, and other tourists in our group had been with her on different tours and also agreed. The trip offered more than we anticipated with lots of sampling of local foods, snacks and fruits, and a great opportunity for little afternoon siesta in a hammock after lunch. It was lovely in the long boat paddling down the Mekong and we only wished it was longer. All in all the trip was well organised, relaxed, informative and well worth the money.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Jason P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed the Mekong delta. Our tour guide was really good and professional. The whole day was wonderful

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Crystal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was my favorite tour in Vietnam! Our tour guide and his crew were very knowledgeable. You have the opportunity to visit so many places on the Mekong Delta, such as temples, a local family, and market. We also enjoyed a very tasty lunch. Also, the boat was fully stocked with drinks and snacks.

Doing what: Small-Group Authentic Mekong Delta Experience by Speedboat

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I had the most amazing time, spent with a very helpful and truly passionate guide. The family stay was a great experience to be with the local people and also watch the sunrise and set over the Mekong river.

Doing what: 2-Day Mekong Delta Farmstay from Ho Chi Minh City

Bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

All aspects of this tour were outstanding. Our tour bus was new, well appointed and comfortable. Our Guide went by the name Mary and she was superb. Her English was faultless and her knowledge was awesome. After only a brief introduction she remember all of our first names throughout the entire trip. The tour gave an excellent cross-section of life in the Mekong Delta. Mary pointed out various edible plants and fruit trees as well as explained village life. Our lunch was very good in an interesting location. Our travels on a tour boat, sampan and 3-wheeled scooter were exciting as well as interesting. This tour is a must if you visit Ho Chi Minh City.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Aubrey O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour was a wonderful experience for us 7 ladies. We enjoyed every bit of boat rides and Tuktuk Rides. As explained on the website, the details were exactly what happened. This trip was also a food trip!... every stop, there was food to offer for tasting. Lunch was sumptuous too. Mr.Quang, our tour guide definitely provided us with information about Mekong history that we never knew before. We love this trip.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

L_R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Everything was perfect as from the beginning. Distribution of information was very professional: confirmation and reminder via email and the day before an elegant envelop in our room to remind us of the trip. Our guide Anh was professional, competent and really sympathique. He did do everything for the success of the trip. He arrived at the time indicated the day before in the letter, then after having collected everybody we were 8 altogether he started to give us some detailed information about the life of the Mekong people. We stopped for a coffee in an oasis, and a bit later arrived to the peer of Cài Bè where we took the boat. The trip was very well organized: floating market, candy factory, bees far, bicycle ride and cooking class ended up with a very tasty lunch. Ending the tour we had a 30 minutes water trip with a traditional wooden boat. It was fantastic in the green delta, palm trees, banana trees and also small houses or villas where people are living. I definitely would recommend the travel agency and if you have the chance, your guide will be Anh!!

Doing what: Mekong Delta Day Trip with Cooking Class and Cai Be Floating Market Tour

Eva L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We met at Saigon Opera House, and it was easy to find and meet up with Linda (our guide). From there we went to My Tho to catch the boat to start our tour on the Mekong Delta. It was a fun and relaxing day trip. We tried fresh honey, coconut candy, local fruit, and "elephant ear" fish. My favorite part was the end where we rode the row boat in the water coconut trees. We finished the tour with fresh coconut water on the boat ride to catch our minivan back to Saigon. It was a great trip!

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

elizabeth l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best tour out of Ho Chi Minh city, Mekong Delta was very interesting lunch fantastic to eat fish and prawn from river. Mary our guide was friendly and an expert on Life and area. Most reasonable price compared to what hotel was going to charge most important the tour company has a small bus

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Sharan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Totally recommend this tour, for the beautiful views of the Mekong Delta and an understanding of life on the tiny islands within the delta.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message