The Mekong Delta covers an area of approximately 15,000 square miles (40,000 square kilometers) to the west of Ho Chi Minh City. The Mekong Delta is where the mighty Mekong river completes its 2,700 mile (4,300 km) journey from the Tibetan plateau ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My partner and I had a fabulous time during our 'Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City'. We bought our tour through www.viator.com.

Linda our tour guide greeted us at our meeting point (Saigon Opera House), and almost immediately we were shown to our little tour van. During our drive towards the Mekong river, Linda talked to us about Ho Chi Minh and Vietnam.

Throughout the tour, Linda was very professional telling us all we needed to know about the Mekong River. The lunch provided was delicious!

After our tour, Linda gave us some tips on getting around in HCM - which taxi's to take, what to do on a taxi (remember the driver and number plate of the taxi just in case we left something behind). We were treated so well on the tour and Linda made us feel very special!

Thank you Linda and driver Thong (I might have gotten his name wrong!)

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was very well organized and full of activities of interest. We definetly would recomend this tour as Mekong Delta experience: we only wanted a little bit more of cooking class: the guide was great, the information provided, the cycling, the boat and the deep insight information about life on Mekong comunities was a must.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Day Trip with Cooking Class and Cai Be Floating Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Had a great trip to the Mekong Delta. We were picked up at our hotel promptly at 6:30 a.m. We were then transferred to a bus. There was a group of 12 people all totaled. It took 2hours to get to,the delta. We did have a coffee/bathroom stop along the way. Once we arrived, then transferred to a boat. Went off to find the floating market. Not many boats at the market though. From there proceeded to a stop to see honey/tea sales. Then off to the coconut factory. We walked from one locale to the next. Very interesting. Lots of things for sale, plus tastings. Next on to the small boat to go up a side stream. Arrived, then walked to the restaurant where we would be rolling spring rolls for lunch. Delicious lunch and so much food. Afterwards a bike ride through the villages. About one hour on bikes on a concrete path. Lots of fun passing homes, people, scooters, animals, you name it. Back by boat to our original point, then back to HCMC. Great day and very interesting people on the tour.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Day Trip with Cooking Class and Cai Be Floating Market Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip to Mekong Delta was fantastic. Winnie our tour guide was wonderful. Was very glad we did this trip. Winnie really knew the history of the country, the area and the vegetation which was wonderful.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We would have liked to spend longer in the Mekong Delta but our schedule would only permit one day. This tour gave us the opportunity to experience a little of the delta. A map citing the locations we visited would have been helpful to understand where we had been but this is only a suggestion. The lunch was good, typically local food provided in a nice setting. We loved the little boat trip through the canals. I think we travelled at a good time of year - no mosquitoes. Also if you were interested you had the opportunity to taste snake wine/liqueur.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This particular tour was the highlight of our 7 day stay in Saigon. There was only 4 of us on this tour and we had the most amazing guide for the day, [ Thomas, who treated us like family]. We were picked up promptly at our hotel in our air condition mini bus and headed off towards the Mekong. The floating markets, seeing the local confectionary being made, [and sampling it of course], tasting the snake wine, the 5 mile trip across the Mekong to the island where we had a fabulous Vietnamese lunch and a few beers, and our sampan experience along a small canal all made for a truly enjoyable day, and an insight into the Vietnamese culture. The tour lasted approximately 10 hours but can be longer depending on the tides on the river and the traffic back. A very well priced tour for a great day out.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mekong River Cruise Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour was amazing! Visiting several villages along the Mekong Delta we were able to experience making reed mats, rice paper and coconut candy making. Once we boarded the larger boat it was time for a lesson in vegetable sculpting and making spring rolls. We were then treated with a 5 course meal of Asian delights. Following our meal we were left to relax while cruising along the Delta. We also were given a ride in a Tuk Tuk through the countryside. A bit bumpy but lots of fun. Our tour guide, Minh I think his name was, offered a lot of information which was useful during the tour.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Cruise Including Village Tour and Tuk Tuk Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I love this tour! Gem the guide was fantastic and very informative. I was pleased to learn a lot about the Mekong community, thrilled to have tried the banana and snake wines, stoked to have taken my picture with a snake around my neck, and I really enjoyed the lunch that was served!

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

great tour, excellent guide, Linda. A very good way to see the Mekong, either because you haven't much time to do a longer tour, or as a taster in anticipation of considering a longer tour.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Kevin C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Absolutely fantastic ... Loved it :) Linda (tour guide) was very professional, knowledgeable and funny... lots of food and drinks on the way... Tuk tuk ride on the island and small boat cruising through Mekong was the highlight... so much fun... Just be aware that it s about two hours drive from Saigon city...

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time exploring the Mekong river and the villages that we visited. Nothing like being on the ground to really get soaked in the local colour. The tour was made more enjoyable courtesy of a very friendly and competent tour guide by the name of Huung Nguyen. She was very good.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time exploring the Mekong river and the villages that we visited. Nothing like being on the ground to really get soaked in the local colour. The tour was made more enjoyable courtesy of a very friendly and competent tour guide by the name of Huung Nguyen. She was very good.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Aida
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The trip was very informative. The guide was very knowledgeable and attentive to our needs, especially when there was a heavy rain while we were crossing the Mekong river, he had ready raincoats for all of us.
The only hitch there was, as the lead traveller, i thought we would missed the trip because it took us a while before we found him at the Saigon Opera House. We approached the driver of the same bus we took and showed the voucher, and was given a "NO" answer, maybe because of language barrier. It could have been easy if the mobile phone of the guide was provided to us and vice versa for easy access.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Had a great time visiting the Mekong Delta with our tourguide Tham. The fact that she herself was from the Delta really added value as she had great insights. From the boat rides to the fruit tastings to being driven around in Tuk Tuks, everything about this trip was a lot of fun. The coconut candy factory was interesting as well. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This Tour really exceeded my expectations by a long way as I thought we were just doing a boat trip down the Mekong River but in fact we did far more . Apart from the really enjoyable experience of going down the River on the Boat it was great to stop and meet the locals on our tour and see how they live their lives . Meeting the locals and travelling on the MotorBike around the local villages and having lunch with was so beautifully prepared by the locals was very heartwarming . In fact I am hoping to return to Ho Chi Minh next year and plan to do the Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure tour again . I love Vietnam and the people are so friendly and helpful .Our Guide called Long was fantastic .I very strongly reccomend this tour to everybody . Best Wishes from Norman .

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message