East meets west at this stunning example of French Colonial architecture in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City. The gleaming white municipal theater, which is home the Ho Chi Minh City Ballet and Symphony Orchestra, was built in 1897. Its well-lit ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We met at Saigon Opera House, and it was easy to find and meet up with Linda (our guide). From there we went to My Tho to catch the boat to start our tour on the Mekong Delta. It was a fun and relaxing day trip. We tried fresh honey, coconut candy, local fruit, and "elephant ear" fish. My favorite part was the end where we rode the row boat in the water coconut trees. We finished the tour with fresh coconut water on the boat ride to catch our minivan back to Saigon. It was a great trip!

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

an amazing performance by a troop of young dancers in the cities'Opera House
Very unique dancing based on local lifestyle and activities.
A must if available.

Doing what: A O Show in Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic show in a beautiful old opera house. Balcony seats offer the best view of the show.

Doing what: A O Show in Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our morning tour was great! Bravo the tour operator and Huang(?). He was so knowledgable, and it was a great introduction to the city! We loved the Imperial Palace, early morning in the park, and he even bought us breakfast because we hadn't eaten yet. We had coffee at a great chain in HCMC, an amazing lunch, and a nice cyclo to the market! Definitely our best tour we had the entire trip! Our night tour was so fun to ride the the back of scooters with the girls from Ao Dai tours, and they were all SO nice. We do wish we had stopped at more food stalls with them. (We only went to 1).. But overall this tour is so worth the money and a great day in HCMC!!

Doing what: Saigon in a Day: Ho Chi Minh City Sightseeing and Night Food Tour

Bing
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A magnificent show, with very talented acrobatic performers. The show takes place in Opera House, which you get to enjoy its architecture design before the show. If you book the ground floor (OOH) or mid-level balcony(WOW) tickets, you also get to enjoy a cup of complimentary hot/Iced tea before you enter the theater. The storyline was touching and choreography was beautiful. It gave us a perfect ending for this one-week trip to Vietnam. I'd definitely recommend to anyone visiting Saigon!

Doing what: A O Show in Ho Chi Minh City

Rodjack
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this show and highly recommend it to everyone of all ages! It is an excellent show depicting life of the Vietnamese through the ages in Cirque de Soleil style. Do yourself a favour and go and see it. It is an hour long performance in the Saigon Opera House which has been restored and worth the look as well.

Doing what: A O Show in Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My partner and I had a fabulous time during our 'Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City'. We bought our tour through www.viator.com.

Linda our tour guide greeted us at our meeting point (Saigon Opera House), and almost immediately we were shown to our little tour van. During our drive towards the Mekong river, Linda talked to us about Ho Chi Minh and Vietnam.

Throughout the tour, Linda was very professional telling us all we needed to know about the Mekong River. The lunch provided was delicious!

After our tour, Linda gave us some tips on getting around in HCM - which taxi's to take, what to do on a taxi (remember the driver and number plate of the taxi just in case we left something behind). We were treated so well on the tour and Linda made us feel very special!

Thank you Linda and driver Thong (I might have gotten his name wrong!)

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Aida
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The trip was very informative. The guide was very knowledgeable and attentive to our needs, especially when there was a heavy rain while we were crossing the Mekong river, he had ready raincoats for all of us.
The only hitch there was, as the lead traveller, i thought we would missed the trip because it took us a while before we found him at the Saigon Opera House. We approached the driver of the same bus we took and showed the voucher, and was given a "NO" answer, maybe because of language barrier. It could have been easy if the mobile phone of the guide was provided to us and vice versa for easy access.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour gave us an excellent overview of central Ho Chi Minh City with focus on the War Remnants Museum, a collection of weapons and pictures based on the Vietnamese beating both the French and American armies, and the Reunification Palace, the home and office of the former president of South Vietnam which was captured by North Vietnamese troops in April 1975. The Palace is seen as it was when the president fled. We also visited the Post Office designed by M. Eiffel who also built the Eiffel Tower in Paris; the French colonial style city hall, the Opera House and other buildings. A speedboat your up the Saigon River showed us the poorer side of Saigon with thousands of shacks on stilts built along the river bank, and at one place on the river the most expensive housing in Ho Chi Minh City.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Sightseeing Tour with Saigon River Speedboat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The trip commenced from the Opera House, the guide was there and we were taken the 21/2 hour trip to the Mekong Delta. Our guide spoke very good English and told us about the Mekong Delta and life around it on the coach trip. We stopped at a 'motorway cafe' equivalent in England which was very pleasant with a large lake and toilet/food facilities. We had a great time on the boats, motorcarts and a really nice lunch. Saw how coconut sweets are made and tasted the tripical fruits which are grown there. All in all an excellent trip and well worth it.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fabulous — Love the trip.

Started off from the Opera House in HCMC, where we met Thanth, our very knowledgeable guide {took me some time to figure out what he was actually saying due to the accent, but once I got the hang of it, it was a breeze}; crossed the Mekong … my what a huge river. No crocodiles seen so its pretty safe in case one decides to get adventurous; the trip through the paddy fields were humbling, knowing that Vietnam is a world exporter of good rice — and the trip to the Coconut candy cottage industry was worth the trip seeing how these maidens worked their nimble fingers packing these sweets fast and precise in rice paper; took the TutTut to an island to savour Elephant Ear fish, wrapped up in rice paper dipped in Tamarind sauce, and the mushroom soup was yummy without {what major cities in Asia like to add in their meals} monosodium glutamate — fresh, earthy and light. Finished with a refreshing energy drink of honey tea.

Our group of eight international travellers were fun to be with — definitely recommend if you have time to learn how the other end of the world lives. The tour ends with you being sent back to your hotel. Fabulous !!

Booked this trip — Mekong Delta via Viator

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

I would like to give five star to our tour operator "Gem". I have very good time in Vietman, I like war Museum most.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Really enjoyed my day trip to the Mekong Delta. My group was small with total of 9 people. Our guide "Linda" was excellent, starting off the trip by saying we were her "family" for that day, and she wanted us to be happy. Trip was well organized from start to finish. Met at the Opera House on time, and Linda made sure that we stayed on course and on time throughout the entire day. Food at lunch was very good, with options being made to tour members who were vegetarian or did not like fish, with ample quantity of food provided. Linda checked to be sure that we had enough to eat, as she wanted us to be happy with the meal provided. At the end of the tour, on return to HCMC we were dropped off at our individual hotels. This tour was an excellent opportunity to see sights outside the teeming big city of HCMC, and I enjoyed the entire experience throughout the day. You could not have a better guide than Linda!

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

An enjoyable and interesting tour. We were a little dismayed at the staged large scale tourism, I had thought with the tour operators it would've been more intimate with the locals, perhaps offering more local families a piece of the tourism pie ( we did experience this up north)

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Departure from the Opera House was right on time; transportation out to the country was on a van; comfortable and good air conditionsing (95*F day !). We had about 12 people on the tour. We transitiioned to watercraft and travelled out to some islands in the river delta and also took Tuk-Tuks between some of the highlights of the island. Tourguide spoke very good english; made sure we tried many of the local offerings - both in the gift shops and at the restaurant. Very interesting and insightful day. Recommended if you're in the city and want to see some of the counryside; even the van transport to the river was interesting for the sights seen while traveling.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message