As a main water supply, the Saigon River is critically important to the residents of Ho Chi Minh City. Spend a few days in Ho Chi Minh, and you’ll discover it’s a young, modern city on the move. In contrast, cruising along the Saigon River gives you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 314 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dianne E USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was exactly as advertised and the company, The trip up and back by speedboat is the way to go. Les Rives was very professional and organized. Our tour guide, River was very knowledgeable and friendly. I would definitely recommend this company.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

susan e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day out. Our guide was Kah.Cold drinks and fresh fruit were on hand the whole day. Lunch was superb. Stopped off at several places along the river and Kah was very knowledgable and witty. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Authentic Mekong Delta Experience by Speedboat

Laura G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Drivers were excellent, they were friendly, spoke very good English and were extremely knowledgeable about the city. Although there are not as many stops as other tours this is reflected in the price and what you get is more than enough. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Saigon by Night Food Tour by Motorbike

Cris Lauranne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Super convenient and the driver was courteous.

Doing what: Private Ho Chi Minh City Departure Transfer: Hotel to Airport

Cris Lauranne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Driver arrived at our hotel on the dot. Very convenient. I highly recommend to anyone who wishes to travel to Ho Chi Minh.

Doing what: Private Ho Chi Minh City Arrival Transfer: Airport to Hotel

diddlywank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lucy and Ann were great guides and the food was plentiful and authentic. Motorbike tours are the best tours in Vietnam because they are fun and you get to more places quickly. And most importantly you basically get a guide/driver to yourself. You can even (kind of) chat on the way to stops.

Doing what: Night Saigon Street Food Tour of Ho Chi Minh City by Bike

WILLIAM R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome experience and a must do if able to put on your itinerary. We went to the floating market on the Mekong Delta and our guide, Jay Jay, gave us a detailed historical overview of the whole area plus much about the current and past culture of the Vietnamese people. Very interesting on how the rice farmers operate, and then seeing the different businesses in the floating market area including candy making all topped off with a lunch we assisted in cooking and then the 2-3 man boat excursion through the forest on a narrrow river.....paddled by a guide.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Day Trip with Cooking Class and Cai Be Floating Market Tour

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Arriving in Ho Chi Minh City at 6 o'clock in the morning, I was keen to arrange transport to the city centre hotel without being 'ripped off' by a taxi driver or arriving without the correct currency. Booking the transfer in advance, and paying by card seemed like the ideal answer. The driver was waiting for me as I came out of the Arrivals hall and the comfortable journey to the hotel was completed with a minimum of delay.

Doing what: Private Ho Chi Minh City Arrival Transfer: Airport to Hotel

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Small Group consisted of myself, the guide and driver! I was collected promptly from the hotel by a friendly and very informative guide who took me first to the War Remnants Museum - in many ways this brought home the futility of war, particularly the exhibition on 'Agent Orange' as the guide's sister had died as a result of the poisonous effects of the chemicals. We continued to the Reunification Palace, Notre Dame Cathedral from the outside and the Post Office building before going to lunch in a local restaurant and sampling Vietnamese food. After lunch we walked through the Ben Thanh market before visiting a Chinese temple and a Chinese market. From there we returned to the centre and I was dropped off at my hotel. As I had only limited time in Ho Chi Minh City, I felt this was a good way to see the highlights.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I was keen to see as much as possible in the limited time I had available in Ho Chi Minh City, so decided on the late morning visit to the tunnels by speedboat on the day of my 0555 arrival. We were collected promptly from the hotel and driven to the pier to board the speedboat. After approximately an hour's journey up the river we landed at Cu Chi where an excellent selection of Vietnamese food was served for lunch, before we made the short walk to the tunnels and exhibits. The exhibits showed the reality of the horrors endured by both sides during the war and the suffering and waste of life involved.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Mike Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was without doubt the highlight of our trip to HCMC. The guides were pleasant, friendly girls who spoke excellent English and were very knowledgeable about the city - and excellent drivers!!. I went on the trip with my wife and 11 year old daughter. We felt very safe despite the chaos of the traffic around the city. A scooter is definitely the way to get around.
This tour is a must for visitors - highly recommended.

Doing what: Half-Day Private Scooter Tour Including Light Meal

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Guide and driver both knew their stuff, very professionally conducted and would recommend it to anyone who wanted to get a quick familiarisation fix!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

a fantastic experience. wonderful guides and a perfectly organized trip. the river trip was beautiful. the tunnels were fascinating, and the visit to a local farm, cricket farm, and the lacquer factory were extraordinary.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels and Countryside Tour by Luxury Speedboat

Nicola T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour, run by an experienced team with a very knowledgeable guide. Our hotel had a direct mooring onto the river, so the boat picked us up directly, without the need for us to travel into central Saigon. The boat was in excellent condition and was crewed by a captain, an engineer and a steward in addition to the guide. On boarding we were offered an excellent selection of fresh fruits, breakfast sandwiches, Vietnamese coffee and a selection of soft drinks, which were topped up throughout the trip. The actual tour around the tunnels site was superb - highly informative with all questions answered. A hot lunch at the site was also included in the price, which was really good - a wide selection of local food, including vegetable soup, battered fish and spring rolls. I would really recommend this tour as excellent value for money and superb quality.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Jolanta J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My husband and I visited Vietnam a few years back, and we've done the Mekong Delta before. This time we opted for something a little different. Instead of spending some hours getting to the Mekong and back by bus interesting in itself we opted to try out the speedboat. We weren't disappointed.
We were picked up by our guide at our hotel and driven down to the wharf where we boarded our speedboat.
From the moment we boarded to the time we returned we were treated like VIP.
The English speaking tour guide was excellent. The commentary was informative and entertaining.
The 200hp outboard motor gave a comfortable but thrilling ride along the Saigon River giving a great view of the Ho Chi Minh skyline. Before long we were travelling parts of Ho Chi Minh City's extensive waterways network.
It wasn't all high speed as we negotiated through narrow waterways. The views are completely different than that seen from a bus. If you enjoy watching the busy water traffic then you'll need to take along an extra card for yur camera. Rice fields, Sugar cane, a huge variety of barges and boats, Villages. So much to see.

You can't fault the tour organisers for the abundance of food and drink supplied during the day. No complaints of being hungry or thirsty.

The off boat tours through temples and villages were great as well.

Highly recommended. 5 star definitely.

Doing what: Small-Group Authentic Mekong Delta Experience by Speedboat

Marek L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An experience never to forget. The bravery and expertise of the driver was amazing.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Shore Excursion: Private City Tour Including Cyclo Ride

Bruce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful day. We enjoyed seeing the area from our mini-bus enroute to the river, and then we had a great look at floating markets and a beautiful town. The shop visit and other activities were just great, and kept the day moving along. Our guide was knowledgeable and very pleasant. This was a terrific value and a full and exciting day.

Doing what: Mekong Delta Day Trip with Cooking Class and Cai Be Floating Market Tour

Cameron M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent trip and the speed boat transfer was excellent. Saw a lot of local activity on the river and it was lovely and cool travelling to the tunnels. Lunch was excellent if not too much. Plenty of drinks on the boat for everyone. Our guide was local and very knowledgable and spoke very good English. I would recommend this trip and it was excellent value for money

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

R G H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Well organised trip. Staff were informative and helpful. We were in a party of 10 so received a personal service unlike some of the other parties we saw at the site. The boat trip up the river was also a great way to see a different side to Ho Chi Minh City and the countryside

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

kenneth c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellant Tour, speedboat great as it was a very hot day and you are seeing HCM on riverside. Tunnels very informative.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

was picked up on time from my hotel , then taken to the beautiful old boat
the food was amazing , with loads to go around , while going down the saigon river there are plenty of brilliant photo shots to take,
would also say thanks to the brilliant staff on board the boat who were all very friendly and helpful
a great way to spend a few hours one evening while in ho chi minh city

Doing what: Lady Hau Saigon River Dinner Cruise with Round-Trip Transfer

kevin m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

a fantastic day out, we were taken by air conditioned mini bus , to the Mekong delta
where we were then taken by boat to one of the islands on the Mekong delta,
you are shown around the island by tuk tuk , seeing how the local people live , first stop we were given a number of local fruits to try and listen to the local Cambodians sing a few traditional songs
second stop was a coconut farm , where you see how the locals make candy from coconuts tastes really nice you also have the chance to buy some coconut candy !!!!
third stop you are taken to a beautiful restaurant where the food was fantastic !!!
after all three stops we were taken by three small rowing boats 7 in are group up one off the small rivers to meet up with are boat, a twenty minute journey to take us back to the mainland
this is a brilliant day out and i would recommend it .

Doing what: Mekong Delta Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Although we had to chase up the company to find out the pick up time the whole tour was a great experience. Seeing the countryside by speed boat, a great lunch in a riverside restaurant and then the tunnels themselves with an informative guide made the trip highly recommended.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Chuck United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was great! Our guide and driver took excellent care of us and provided informative commentary. This tour was well pacednot too fast and not too slowand showed us a great deal of the city and its people.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Shore Excursion: Private City Tour Including Cyclo Ride

Ross T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent tour with informative guide and ample time at the tunnels. There was a good breakfast and a very good lunch with water and soft drinks available throughout the meals and speed boat journeys. the river journey was very good.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message