• USD ($)
  • English
Opened in 1975, just a few months after the liberation, the War Remnants Museum is one of the most popular attractions in the city. Laid out in 8 themed rooms are different aspects of the war from imprisonment, to chemical warfare and military ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour took us to the significant tourist spots in Ho Chi Minh City. When you visit the War Remnants Museum be prepared for the anti American sentiment. This was my least preferred location. We had a typical Vietnamese lunch (Pho) which our guide joined us for. He was very personable and always full of interesting information. Fortunately we had an unscheduled visit to a lacquer factory/shop which we found very interesting. There was no pressure to buy but it was clear the products produced there (though more expensive) were better quality than in most markets.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Day Tour of Ho Chi Minh City is an outstanding way to get an idea of the many rich and cultural aspects of the city, especially for someone who has never been there before. As a solo traveler, I can tell you that I was deeply moved by the many images and displays in the War Remnants Museum. The experience evoked a myriad of profound emotions within me. The visits to the majestic Reunification Palace, Post Office, Notre Dame Cathedral, and the BenThanh Market were additional highlights of a well organized city tour. My visit to Chinatown (Cholon) was an unexpected treat as I was amazed by the historical and cultural sights of the area. Giac Lam Pagoda is an exceptional masterpiece that is not to be missed.

All of these experiences could not have been fully developed if it were not for my excellent tour guide, Luc Dinh. Luc was most capable and knowledgeable of all the important facts on all the places that we visited. He explained events, clarified issues, fully discussed my questions, and engaged in meaningful dialogues on a variety of subjects related to our tour. He was accommodating, charming, witty, and ever so focused on providing me the best tour. He asked me about my lunch preferences and ordered for me a quite delicious spicy seafood pho that was just to my likings! Yummy!!

Overall, the HCM City Tour was a very memorable experience. The places visited were a superb representation of the city, There was adequate time for everything and there was no rush. The sites were beautiful and my tour guide was outstanding!

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour gave us an excellent overview of central Ho Chi Minh City with focus on the War Remnants Museum, a collection of weapons and pictures based on the Vietnamese beating both the French and American armies, and the Reunification Palace, the home and office of the former president of South Vietnam which was captured by North Vietnamese troops in April 1975. The Palace is seen as it was when the president fled. We also visited the Post Office designed by M. Eiffel who also built the Eiffel Tower in Paris; the French colonial style city hall, the Opera House and other buildings. A speedboat your up the Saigon River showed us the poorer side of Saigon with thousands of shacks on stilts built along the river bank, and at one place on the river the most expensive housing in Ho Chi Minh City.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Sightseeing Tour with Saigon River Speedboat Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

I would like to give five star to our tour operator "Gem". I have very good time in Vietman, I like war Museum most.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Tour was exceptional because our guide was so terrific. Hong was so kind and well informed. Did not like the war museum. It is over the top anti american. Time to move on.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

A worthwhile tour. Do it early after your arrival and then visit some of the spots again on your own, like spending more time at the War Museum.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

Robert M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Tour guide (Thi) was delightful. We travelled with a family with two young boys who despite a long day maintained their interest through out. The war remnants museum was particularly confronting and contained much history that put apects of the war into perspective. Visit to the church, post office and market was also a good cultural experience. Lunch was enjoyable. Tour of temples and commentary was also very good. The palace tour and history was also very interesting.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Had a very interesting day. Our guide Huong was excellent - helpful and really looked after us. Nothing was too much trouble for her. The war museum is a must-see.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

Kevin D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Guide was very good. beware the American war museum is not for the faint hearted. Lunch was very good if you like Vietnamese food.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

A very good possibility to explore a lot of important places in one day. Tour guide was representing a huge knowledge and spoke in easy to understand English. War Remnants Museum, Reunification Palace, and the Ben Thanh market were worth the visit. I recommend this trip for everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

This was a wonderful tour that we enjoyed a lot. We would recommend this. Our advice would be to take charge a little more, we spent considerable time at the Pagodas and Chinese Temples, (all really interesting) and much less time at the markets. In hind sight, we should have asked the tour guide to lessen the time at the temples and increase time at the markets. The guide had many skills and asked if we were sure we wanted to go to such places as the war museum and he prepared us for the graphic nature of it ( though, really nothing can prepare you for what we saw) It was very professional of him to ask us though and we were impressed. We spent a whole day and it was great being on a private tour. Lunch was wonderful and included in the price which was great. The tour guide left us alone for lunch which was also nice to have some time to ourselves. We saw a lot and learned a lot, it was a great full day. Very happy :-)

Doing what: Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour

Michael S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Buffalo tours were the suppliiersubcontractor for this tour and as a coincidence had provided numerous transfers for us during our travels round Vietnam providing a stand out service. Tour guide was absolutley charming and fluent and as it was a personal tour just 2 of us flexible with our itineray after 3 days In Hue how many more pagodas do you want to see!. Renification Palace was interesting, war remnants Museum was haunting very graphic displays and photos! Post office and Cathedral worth the visit . We skipped the rest and went to Ben Thanh Markets for 3 hours great shopping althougth persistence of the stall holders gets a bit overwhelming especially when its 38 degrees!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The post office was a bust - just a post office and no history, but the palace and war museum were great.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

Paprika
Hong Kong

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Tour covered basic spot like Notre Dame Cathedral. General Post Office, War Remnants Museum and Reunification Palace, Thien hau temple and Giac.. Pagoda. Lunch included was good choice from our young lady guide. I would have preferred less temple though. not much to see (We have lots in HK already) One thing I MUST say is that the guide is very good at helping you to take good photos. We were lucky as well as there are only 2 on our group tour. But i would have love to learn more about Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City's information, history etc more. I think there should be more explanation by the guide at the Museum, we were just left to walk around ourselves. I would conclude that trip as OK but not as good as one expect. For those travellign during the weekend, this 48 hours before confirmation request will drive you VERY MAD as the so called hotline is ALWAYS engaged and you can hardly get through. I did not get confirmation and have to call many times long distance. The end is I just have to wait at the Lobby and hoping that they will come.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

David C
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Not bad but you could do this by walking around yourself. Not enough time at the war museum. Guide was good and tried to include local experience into the tour as well.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message