Ho Chi Minh is the largest city in Vietnam, and is populated by more than 9 million people. Located on the Saigon River, it is the economic center and cultural trendsetter for the rest of the country. Formerly known, and still referred to by many as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 710 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was great to travel by boat to Cu Chi tunnels, we beat the crowds. So made it easy getting around the tunnels. Our guide Kha was great.
Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We had Tom who was the best guide we've met. His English was very good and he gave us a lot of tips about Vietnam. I was a little disappointed with the fakery on display. Very little was original.
I was worried that we'd booked so late that they wouldn't have us on the list, but this wasn't a problem.
I think that you could possibly have another little stop on the way back to show people another facet of local life.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

a wnderful tour of the city. Our guide knew so much detail, it was really interesting to see a different side of the story, having been familiar with the war stories in movies etc.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly informative tour. A small group of only 12 gave us all time to ask questions if we wished. Our guide, Tam, was excellent. He had great local and historical knowledge and was extremely helpful on the tour and with giving us recommendations for other activities, places to go to, eat, shop etc for the rest of our stay in Ho Chi Minh City.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide was knowledgeable and interesting to listen to. The trip exceeded my expectations, boat ride so interesting and such a wonderful way to travel as opposed to the roads. Delicious lunch and plenty of time for exploring the tunnels. Wonderful morning.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was fruitful and my tour guide acquired the knowledge to explain all the historical parts of Ho Chin Minh. indeed enjoy ourselves throughout the tour and our tour guide, Tom was very friendly and showed great hospitality. The lunch was decent, but overall the tour is fun and we got to experience all the tourist spots.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly enjoyable tour from the beginning to the end. Our tourguide, Queenie was fabulous. She was very knowledgeable and interesting, and always willing to go the extra mile. The hour and half long journey to the tunnels were filled with lots of interesting facts and history. The tunnels itself blew me away, but what really made the trip special was the guide who brought the history and stories to life. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

gerry
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting day out, discovered many things about the innovative and resourceful VC, the way they eluded capture and eventually won that war. The various ingenious terrifying traps they built for killing and more importantly to them, maiming the Americans. Plenty of original contraptions available to view. The tunnels, even though widened for tourists, were still quite claustrophobic, though they are only a small part of the tour. You also have the option to use the firing range and let off some rounds from various guns, including M16s and AK47s. Our guide stressed there was no animosity towards the USA now, but he did seem quite proud and enthusiastic about the killing and injuring of Americans.
All in all a great educational and enjoyable day out in the jungle. Recommended.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fascinating tour. Hang was a great guide. She turned up on time to collect me from my hotel and chatted away while we picked up others on the tour. The boat ride was interesting and Hang pointed out things of interest during the trip. She was a gem of information. On arrival Hang stayed with our group and let everyone take as much time as needed while looking at the different displays. This tour really gave you a sense of what it would have been like for those people during the war. The whole time you could hear blasts from the gun range, making it seem even more realistic. We had an opportunity to shoot some of the guns if we wanted. After the tour of the area, we were given a lovely lunch and then taken back to the start point via the boat. There was always ample bottled water and fresh fruit available for us on the trip and was were even given a filled roll for breakfast on the outset. I highly recommend this tour as it was the highlight of my time in Saigon.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Interesting way to find out a little about the city and find your way around. Great guide, full of information. We especially enjoyed the cyclo part where you felt you were playing with death in the traffic at times. The market was interesting as was the war museum. Worth doing.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh Cyclo and Walking Small Group Adventure Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The small-group tour was as about as small as it gets...me, the driver and the guide. Tien the guide english was excellent which made the information on the trip easier to comprehend. The Cu Chi tunnels were really interesting and if I were in a larger group I don't think that I would have found the tour as beneficial.
The sites back in town were great and I was largely left to my own devices to tour them at my own pace. The Independence Palace, the impressive War Museum and the Post Office all gave a great cross sebction of history and architecture to admire.
All in all, a great way to spend a day.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour of Ho Chi Minh City Including Cu Chi Tunnels

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour was excellent. Good communication with organisers. Tour guide very helpful and his assistant Din was fantastic looking after us all the time. Would recommend. It was great not having to travel through all the traffic to get to Cu Chi tunnels.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was a great trip. The tunnels are really fascinating, and you do get a feel for both the area and the tunnels themselves. The tunnels you try for yourself are not actual war remnants, but made for tourists. They are larger, have more air, light and safety features than original ones. And less stench, blood and fair. Good thing. Crawling along for a 100 metre strech still felt authentic, and was kind of exiting end exhausting!. Secondary activities, visiting a family where we could try our hand at making rice paper and feeding pigs, was fun as well. Recommend the trip if you have the time to take it.

All the practicalities worked great: No problems ordering and paying via the site, picked up at the right time and place, AC in minibus working etc.

At times, I find Vietnamese pronounciation a bit hard to understand. That's a problem for me all over the country though, and our guides here where really better than most. Especially the local guide at Cu Chi was excellent.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The boat trip rather than road was very pleasant. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. The timing was just right.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

gerry
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

This was our third street food tour in the last 2 weeks. We were met at the opera house by Anna probably the wrong spelling a charming young lady who referred to us as our family
The tour itself was pretty standard, though it didn't contain any of the specialist foods that our other tours contained. After trying a couple of street dishes, Anna was called to meet a couple of latecomers and she returned quickly with them.
At the end of these tours, there is usually a meal, we went to a restaurant, ordered drinks and the table was set with chopsticks, bowls and nuts. We had our drinks and everything was taken away. I'm not sure weather we were supposed to have a meal, though it did say on the itinerary that it was included. It was an ok, not outstanding tour like the previous Hanoi an Siem Reap tour.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Street Food Tour with Dinner

Marge
United States of America

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Didn't actually learn much from this tour so I was honestly disappointed. The bus was on time and air conditioned. The locations themselves were definitely worth a visit. The guide Queenie was uninformed and hard to understand. She made a point of singling out the American tourists on the tour. Extremely pushy and unprofessional during the tour itself. She was constantly making immature jokes about very serious content. She basically forced us down the holes even though many tourists said they were claustrophobic or uncomfortable. I would have preferred a more mature, intelligent guide. On the way back in the bus she repeatedly told us we must write her a good Trip Advisor review. Very unprofessional and childish.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

They did not pick us up from the hotel! After calling them they turned up an hour late and it was going dark.
So on the trip we saw very little !

Doing what: Best Cocktail Cruise on the Saigon River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Lam was very frienly and knowlegeable about the history of Vietnam. We enjoyed all the sites at our own leasure pace. Lunch was at an excellent restuarant with great food and ambiance! Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour

khsmithk
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was such a highlight of our trip. The speedboat trip to the Tunnels was excellent, great company of 8 people, breakfast and drinks and fruit provided for us and collected us on time at 7am. The tunnel experience was everything I had hoped for and more. It was amazing to learn how they lived and survived in the jungle and their survival techniques. We also had a shoot on the rifle range which was a first for us! Going in the tunnels was excellent, a big chlostaphobic but totally worth it. Our group was great, not too big and finished off with a beautiful lunch on the river. We all slept on the boat on the way back. I would highly recommend this trip, especially going by boat, this was cool and relaxing and a great way to see the sights as well. Kristine and Ron Smith

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience. Excellent tour guide and staff. Really enjoyed the morning.

Doing what: Half-Day Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City by Luxury Speedboat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had great fun!
The tour guide, Quang, spoke very good English and provide a lot of information and history not only of the tunnel, but the city also. We highly recommend it!

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message