To understand Vietnam’s present, you must look to the past, and that includes the tragic period of the Vietnam War, or the American War as it was called in Vietnam. The region surrounding Ho Chi Minh City sat at the heart of the conflict, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was awesome. Our guide, Long, was very friendly. He's also quite knowledgeable and provided a lot of historical context on Vietnam, Cu Chi, it's people, and the tunnels.
The tour started out with a trip to a local family's home where we were able to watch the making of rice paper, then afterwards, to try our hand at it. The matriarch also showed us how they raised livestock and extracted sap from rubber trees, which grow abundantly in Cu Chi.
We spent the rest of the morning going around the tunnels, learning of its history, architecture, and its importance during the Vietnam War. We got a chance to "drop" into a tunnel access, then later try to traverse one that's been enlarged for tourist access. Our group didn't get to finish the whole 100 m stretch, exiting at around 40 m because the tunnel is claustrophobia inducing, but it was still great fun. We learned about the various traps they used during the war as well. For gun enthusiasts, there is a firing range at the Cu Chi tunnels, though for non-gun enthusiasts, it can get a bit noisy.
At the end of the tour, our guides took us back to our hotels, which was very convenient, and even provided us with general tourist tips for Saigon. All in all, a great way to spend your morning. :)

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were the only 2 on this tour with a delightful guide named Tham. The walking part of the tour was very interesting with Tham giving us good insight into the history of Vietnam. We walked to the Reunification Palace and the War Remnants Museum which was extremely interesting. Tham all took us to the local market where she taught us some Vietnamese in the attempt to try to buy green onions and garlic. I'm sure the stall holders found it very amusing when we tried to speak to them in Vietnamese. I don't think we got the local price but it was a lot of fun. Then we took the Cyclo Tour and played in the traffic. Tham was always near us on a motorcycle and we found this a great way to see some of Ho Chi Minh and too feel part of the bustle of the city. I can thoroughly recommend this tour if you want to get up close and personal with the sights of the city. Tham was an excellent guide and looked after us very well. It was a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh Cyclo and Walking Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a very nice trip. Linda our guide did a wonderful job of answering our questions. The tunnels were sobering providing some insight into the sad experiences of the Vietnamese during the war. The highlight for me was the meal with a local family.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Cao Dai Temple and Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was very informative and her English was very good. Very friendly driver even though there is not much interaction with the driver.
We had heard mixed reviews for this tour, but it was well worth it. I visit countries to find out about their history and this was amazing to see and hear about how the Vietnamese survived the war. Climing through the tunnels was something else. As I'm 6ft I dropped down into the tunnel opening and then chickened out, however there was a bigger tunnel at the end of the tour which I went in and I'm glad I did.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

As someone who as studied the Vietnam War over many years this was a fascinating insight into the Vietnamese take on things, although naturally heavily biased towards their view of the war, it was for me, a one off experience to be able to experience and see some of the aspects of the war I had read about in the past.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Tom was awesome, really recommend him and this trip. Was absolutely insane to see how the tunnels were used and lived in during the war. Try out walking the enlarged tunnels if you are brave - we only made it 20 meters!!

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

As a history enthusiast, I found the Cu Chi Tunnels an exceptionally interesting Vietnam War battle ground. The story of The Tunnels is being told from the perspective of the North Vietnamese and Vietcong fighters. In short, fascinating.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very good and it was just what I hoped it would be. However be warned. The place is packed out with tourists constantly being herded in groups from one item of interest to the next so your experience will definitely be affected by how large a group you are in and how interesting - or world weary - your guide is. Some reviews elsewhere tend to bear this out by saying they felt rushed or herded or the guide was just going through the motions. Here we had a group of thirteen which was about right and Long, our guide was very interesting, explaining everything well. Definitely worth going down into the tourist part of the tunnels because although enlarged from the impossibly tiny originals, it still tightens down enough to convey the atmosphere and you have to crawl along in semi darkness. It's 100 metres long and you can bottle out every 20 metres but try and stay for the last sloping section into "a field hospital" which is most rewarding. The whole thing is pro Vietcong and anti American but the original scenario must have been hell for all concerned. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour took us to the significant tourist spots in Ho Chi Minh City. When you visit the War Remnants Museum be prepared for the anti American sentiment. This was my least preferred location. We had a typical Vietnamese lunch (Pho) which our guide joined us for. He was very personable and always full of interesting information. Fortunately we had an unscheduled visit to a lacquer factory/shop which we found very interesting. There was no pressure to buy but it was clear the products produced there (though more expensive) were better quality than in most markets.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An excellent half day tour, we had 12 people on our mini bus and a very informative English speaking guide. A truly amazing insight to the Vietnam war and the displays on show there are incredible. You can even fire a number of assault weapons there at the rifle range if you wish, [which I did and also recommend as its certainly not an every day practice]. The tunnels are extremely tight in places but the exits are about 20 meters apart, so it is up to the individual on how far you go according to your durability. You can choose not to go down at all if you like and I can still assure you that you will enjoy the tour regardless.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a must tour when in Ho Chi Minh. The Cu Chi tunnels are a real insight into the lives of Vietnamese people during the war. Very thought provoking. We had the brilliant Luc as our guide, he is so knowledgeable, great fun and speaks excellent English.

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City

Barbara H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We took the morning speedboat from Saigon to the tunnels and visited the cricket farm. Our guide was excellent. The tunnel tour is very interesting and is a must when visiting the area. The cricket farm was brilliant. Only a small place but afterwards you have the opportunity to make a spring roll with deep fried crickets and taste the. I found them rather tasty, a little like beef crisps. The lunch on this tour was out of this world, we ate so much good food in a lovely restaurant, beautifully clean and well presented

Doing what: Cu Chi Tunnels Tour with Saigon River Speedboat Cruise from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Really fascinating tour. The Cu Chi Tunnels were really remarkable, and showed the true horror of the American War. The temple was really beautiful. Well worth a visit. Altogether, a splendid day out.

Doing what: Small-Group Day Trip to Cao Dai Temple and Cu Chi Tunnels from Ho Chi Minh City

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Day Tour of Ho Chi Minh City is an outstanding way to get an idea of the many rich and cultural aspects of the city, especially for someone who has never been there before. As a solo traveler, I can tell you that I was deeply moved by the many images and displays in the War Remnants Museum. The experience evoked a myriad of profound emotions within me. The visits to the majestic Reunification Palace, Post Office, Notre Dame Cathedral, and the BenThanh Market were additional highlights of a well organized city tour. My visit to Chinatown (Cholon) was an unexpected treat as I was amazed by the historical and cultural sights of the area. Giac Lam Pagoda is an exceptional masterpiece that is not to be missed.

All of these experiences could not have been fully developed if it were not for my excellent tour guide, Luc Dinh. Luc was most capable and knowledgeable of all the important facts on all the places that we visited. He explained events, clarified issues, fully discussed my questions, and engaged in meaningful dialogues on a variety of subjects related to our tour. He was accommodating, charming, witty, and ever so focused on providing me the best tour. He asked me about my lunch preferences and ordered for me a quite delicious spicy seafood pho that was just to my likings! Yummy!!

Overall, the HCM City Tour was a very memorable experience. The places visited were a superb representation of the city, There was adequate time for everything and there was no rush. The sites were beautiful and my tour guide was outstanding!

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Discovery Small Group Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour gave us an excellent overview of central Ho Chi Minh City with focus on the War Remnants Museum, a collection of weapons and pictures based on the Vietnamese beating both the French and American armies, and the Reunification Palace, the home and office of the former president of South Vietnam which was captured by North Vietnamese troops in April 1975. The Palace is seen as it was when the president fled. We also visited the Post Office designed by M. Eiffel who also built the Eiffel Tower in Paris; the French colonial style city hall, the Opera House and other buildings. A speedboat your up the Saigon River showed us the poorer side of Saigon with thousands of shacks on stilts built along the river bank, and at one place on the river the most expensive housing in Ho Chi Minh City.

Doing what: Ho Chi Minh City Sightseeing Tour with Saigon River Speedboat Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message