Outdoor activities, fishing and relaxing are your reasons for coming to Bruny Island, off Tasmania’s south-east coast. Two north and south islands joined by a long narrow isthmus, Bruny is a favorite destination for weekending Hobart residents ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sharon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great way to get to Bruny Island and try all the gourmet delights on offer. Tour was well organised and we saw the highlights of the Island including a trip to the top of the lighthouse and a walk up the stairs at the isthmus.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Tracy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Callum was a great host for the day, and in between driving us around the sights and tastes of the island he also had lots of interesting stories and local history to share with us. He made sure the group was comfortable with the travelling pace and selection of places to see. The island has some spectacular scenery, and the lunch at Hotel Bruny was the highlight out of a range of excellent food options. I would have liked to stop a bit longer at a couple of places particularly at the Bruny Island Cheese Company, when all three of the bus groups arrived at the same time and it was crowded, but it was a long day already and there's a lot of distance to cover so I will have to revisit them in my own time on a future visit.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Howard01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A very pleasant but long day from start to finish. You have to drive about 30 minutes plus just to get to the ferry and back which makes the day long. While I the Ferry we spotted several seals both on the outbound and inbound trips. On the outbound trip two members of our group saw two dolphins but we did not see any dolphins. First stop was the cheese factory where we were supposed to sit down and be served samples of cheese. That did not happen because the regular Bruny Island Tour arrived at the same time. Second stop was the berry farm where we told we could order up to 15 dollars worth of food at the tour companies cost. I spent 16 but was not charged additional which means they are flexible. I had the salmon sandwich with brie cheese and a cup of tea. My wife ordered Meragane and Jam. You might ask way I did not order something with berries. The answer is simple fresh berries it was to early in the season. All Food was excellent ! Third Stop was at the Lighthouse. Lot of steps here. views from the top are well worth it. All of Tasmania can be seen from atop. Fourth Stop was lunch and Island Wine Tasting Restaurant. Since I can not drink alcohol I did not have any. But many in the group had samples. My wife had a Whuly Jumper Burger which consisted of Lamb and Wallabee meat and a salad. I had Huon Salmon. The apple juice tasted like apple cider and lemonade is what in the USA is called Sprite.
Our Guide Gino had Mushrooms and Cheese which I was debating. So he kindly gave me one to try. I am glad he did because the Cheese was too salty for my taste and I would not have liked it. The food was again excellent. Fifth Stop was the Wildlife Refuge and Jurassic Gardens. The man who guided us really knew his plants and trees. But the highlight of my wifes day was holding a baby Joey in an artificial pouch rescued as his mother was in a car crash. The baby was still in the mothers pouch and had to be removed. The baby Joey is fed three times a day.

Doing what: Small-Group Bruny Island Gourmet Safari from Hobart

SOFIA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Bruny Island was a great day trip. Rick our driver really made the day with his local knowledge and humour. The island feels untouched. Lots of rainforests and dirt roads. The light house vantage point and the inlet made for spectacular views. The food experience overall was excellent.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

MEI LING H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I had a great day on Bruny Island, enjoying the beautiful views, food and wine tasting. A very nice lunch was included too. Keegan was the guide accompanying us that day. He was informative, humorous and very friendly. He took good care of each of us, making the tour delightful and comfortable. Thank you so much! :

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great day on Bruny Island with a wonderful guide. We really enjoyed our tour and all of the food samples. Our Guide, Ben was very passionate and knowledgeable about this special part of Australia. Was a relatively small tour with only a group of 10. We got lucky with the weather and got some beautiful views from the lighthouse in particular. Each of our food stops appears to have been carefully chosen as each of them was very proud of their produce and eager to share it with our group. Would definitely recommend to fellow travellers.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Aileen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a wonderful way to see Bruny Island. Thank you Aaron for your amazing knowledge and delightful way of imparting that to us. We loved every minute of it.We would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking about visiting Bruny Island.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Sophia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thank you Ben for your guidance around Bruny Island. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Barry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic day at Bruny Island the tour was excellent saw lots of dolphins loved the boat coming in close to birds ans seals the crew were great informative and lots of fun - recommend this tour for all ages

Doing what: Full-Day Bruny Island Tour from Hobart

Linda N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a wonderful tour led by our amazingly knowledgeable and friendly guide Tim. There was a good mix of sightseeing and food, The day started with an early morning ferry crossing followed by morning tea at Berry Farm. A couple of hours sightseeing included a lot of historical interest a well as the natural beauty of Bruny Island. The gourmet part started around 11.30 with a wine tasting, followed by a delicious lunch and visits to local specialists - chocolate and fudge, cheeses, oysters, ice cream, relishes and pates, more chocolate and whisky. I couldn't have managed another morsel. This tour really is a must

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Jet Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend this tour as it is a great way to appreciate the variety that a trip to Hobart has to offer. Driving out of Hobart and passing the beautiful suburbs of Hobart and listening to the commentary of Tim, our very knowledgeable driver/guide, one can feel the pride that residents have on their island and community. Learning about the history and prominent features of the small towns even before experiencing the ferry ride was already a treat. The ferry trip itself was orderly, short and picturesque.

Then we get to the island and we learn of the indigenous people that used to occupy the twin islands. Interesting story but sad as well. A lot of lessons for visitors.

The relatively flat North Island contrasted with the rugged South Island. The isthmus connecting them is something to behold and the lookout point is worth the many steps it takes to reach it. Be prepared for windy and chilly conditions. Take the iconic pictures and move on. There are more treats to follow.

Driving on the gravel and sandy roads of the islands was not really as expected. There were no potholes and it was as smooth as driving on paved roads. Going over the mountain from the East to the West side of the island was interesting. No signs of civilisation for many kilometres on single lane gravel roads could be unnerving but it was exciting and expertly and safely managed by Tim. Along the way, we spied wallabies, including the albino ones.

Continuing the trip, we were treated to fantastic bays and coves, picturesque towns and, of course the old light station. All worth taking out the big cameras for wide and tele shots. We were lucky with the weather, but in poor conditions, it would probably be very windy and chilly.

After the feast for the eyes, it was time for the feast for the stomach, and the tour did not disappoint. The lunch at the Bruny Hotel was superb and the various tasting stops in the afternoon, particularly the oysters, completed the tour. Excellent!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Sheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

excellent organisation and fabulous stops taking in breathtaking sights and amazing food. Our guide Ben was a wealth of knowledge and his passion for Bruny Island was contagious. I thoroughly recommend this day out for everyone.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Joseph W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Andy, was really friendly and helpful. The tour was well planned and went very smoothly. The places are all worth visiting and we love Bruny Island

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Having previously lived in Tasmania for fifty years we had never been to Bruny Is. The tour was first on our list of to do's in Hobart after celebrating my wife's 70 th birthday. Our pick up was on time and everything went like clockwork. Our fellow passengers were all on time which helped make everything so memorable. Rick our guide was very informative which was helped by his residency on Bruny. The gourmet tour visited lots of foody places even had a few beautiful fresh oysters. Certainly a tour to be highly recommended. Was a little disappointed we didn't spend much time in Adventure Bay but it is a long day and guess you can't see everything.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Lynn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

What a wonderful tour and visit of Bruny Island. This made for a truly delightful day. Our guide/driver Tim was wonderful and truly made the tour. The small group also let people get to know one another throughout the day. Lunch was excellent and all the tastings during the day were a great treat. Don't miss this tour if your are in Hobart.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an outstanding tour covering the gourmet highlights of Bruny Island. The trip was well organised and timed. We learned a lot from our brilliant tour guide who by the end of the trip was nicknamed St Gino!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

tania r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We would highly recommend this tour definitely. The tour of Bruny Island was absolutely fantastic mainly due to our wonderful tour guide Tim, his knowledge of the island, commentary and jokes throughout the day were well received (and returned)!!!! Visiting Giovanni the chocolatier was an absolute highlight, what an interesting, passionate man!!!
Our expectations of this tour were well exceeded. Thank you so much!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

peternewie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My wife and I recently did the Bruny Island sightseeing and gourmet tour which we just loved. It was the most awesome day. we were picked up promptly and early from our acommodation and off we went. The tour guide was excellent - very knowledgeable and easy to listen to.The drive to the island was pleasant and the ferry ride over to Bruny very interesting. We visited the cheese factory ( great ) ,the lighthouse (fantastic scenery ) the Get Schucked oyster barn (beautiful if you like oysters) the Bruny pub for lunch ( very good) the causeway between North and South Bruny (climb the stairs for a fabulous view) the smoked salmon shop (very nice) the morning tea place which I cannot think of its name but the scones cream and jam are to die for and last but not least back in Kettering is the very small but impressive chocolate factory which is must.A long day but well worth it. highly recommended.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Edmond Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Perfect tour on Bruny Island for those who don't want to take cruise!!

Very good arrangement throughout the day! The food was lovely and the tour guide was professional and helpful! The guide even took the extra mile to return a lost property to my hotel after the tour even without me knowing that it was lost on the coach! All in all highly recommended!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

shellnewton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really enjoyed this tour- provided a taste of Bruny Island's best spots to visit, both food and views. Our guide was fabulous! Really engaging and knowledgable about Bruny. Nice small group. A fair bit of driving, but to be expected with how many places you see/go to.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Zoe K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic! It has everything - food, nature, good service (picked up from our hotel) and interesting local history/information. Due to late cancellations we ended up being the only couple on the tour and the company still went ahead with the tour. The guides were great, as were the sights and local food venues. Visiting Bruny Island is a must tourist activity when in Hobart and I strongly recommend this company. Terrific value for money!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Maria V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour of Bruny Island was the highlight of my trip to Hobart. from the moment we were picked up from our hotel by our tour guides I knew it was going to be a great tour. The guys were very knowledgeable and obviously LOVED their island and were proud to show it off. We were a small group of 10 and everyone got along. We visited different places of interest including a cheese factory and an oyster farm and the oysters were the freshest I've ever tasted. The stop at the chocolate factory at the end of the tour was worth the wait. It was a long day from 8am to 6pm but well worth it. Highly recommend it!!

Kettering was starting from the picturesque coastal town of Kettering. ht took their time and didn't rush us.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

John M Sanders S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Really good

Craig was the best tour guide with heaps of local knowledge about Bruny Island

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Janne N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great day out lots of different sights, smells and tastes to enjoy. Driver/guide knew the area and history of Bruny and was able to answer our questions (or find out the answer). Not too much walking so tour coped with all ages and fitness. Love that was a small group so we could chat and mingle and just enjoy the experience.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Howard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It is the only way to see and explore the rugged coastline of Bruny Island. From the happy bus drivers driving you to the cruise start, to the very knowledgeable boat skippers, to the morning tea and lunch...everything was better than expected...we did have a lovely day for our cruise weather wise, so that was a bonus. We saw lots of seals swimming, playing and sleeping. Saw plenty of birdlife, and learnt so much about the area.
A fantastic days trip, a must do if you are visiting Hobart.

Doing what: Full-Day Bruny Island Tour from Hobart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message