Outdoor activities, fishing and relaxing are your reasons for coming to Bruny Island, off Tasmania’s south-east coast. Two north and south islands joined by a long narrow isthmus, Bruny is a favorite destination for weekending Hobart residents ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thank you Ben for your guidance around Bruny Island. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic day at Bruny Island the tour was excellent saw lots of dolphins loved the boat coming in close to birds ans seals the crew were great informative and lots of fun - recommend this tour for all ages

Doing what: Full-Day Bruny Island Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a wonderful tour led by our amazingly knowledgeable and friendly guide Tim. There was a good mix of sightseeing and food, The day started with an early morning ferry crossing followed by morning tea at Berry Farm. A couple of hours sightseeing included a lot of historical interest a well as the natural beauty of Bruny Island. The gourmet part started around 11.30 with a wine tasting, followed by a delicious lunch and visits to local specialists - chocolate and fudge, cheeses, oysters, ice cream, relishes and pates, more chocolate and whisky. I couldn't have managed another morsel. This tour really is a must

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Jet
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend this tour as it is a great way to appreciate the variety that a trip to Hobart has to offer. Driving out of Hobart and passing the beautiful suburbs of Hobart and listening to the commentary of Tim, our very knowledgeable driver/guide, one can feel the pride that residents have on their island and community. Learning about the history and prominent features of the small towns even before experiencing the ferry ride was already a treat. The ferry trip itself was orderly, short and picturesque.

Then we get to the island and we learn of the indigenous people that used to occupy the twin islands. Interesting story but sad as well. A lot of lessons for visitors.

The relatively flat North Island contrasted with the rugged South Island. The isthmus connecting them is something to behold and the lookout point is worth the many steps it takes to reach it. Be prepared for windy and chilly conditions. Take the iconic pictures and move on. There are more treats to follow.

Driving on the gravel and sandy roads of the islands was not really as expected. There were no potholes and it was as smooth as driving on paved roads. Going over the mountain from the East to the West side of the island was interesting. No signs of civilisation for many kilometres on single lane gravel roads could be unnerving but it was exciting and expertly and safely managed by Tim. Along the way, we spied wallabies, including the albino ones.

Continuing the trip, we were treated to fantastic bays and coves, picturesque towns and, of course the old light station. All worth taking out the big cameras for wide and tele shots. We were lucky with the weather, but in poor conditions, it would probably be very windy and chilly.

After the feast for the eyes, it was time for the feast for the stomach, and the tour did not disappoint. The lunch at the Bruny Hotel was superb and the various tasting stops in the afternoon, particularly the oysters, completed the tour. Excellent!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

excellent organisation and fabulous stops taking in breathtaking sights and amazing food. Our guide Ben was a wealth of knowledge and his passion for Bruny Island was contagious. I thoroughly recommend this day out for everyone.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Andy, was really friendly and helpful. The tour was well planned and went very smoothly. The places are all worth visiting and we love Bruny Island

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Having previously lived in Tasmania for fifty years we had never been to Bruny Is. The tour was first on our list of to do's in Hobart after celebrating my wife's 70 th birthday. Our pick up was on time and everything went like clockwork. Our fellow passengers were all on time which helped make everything so memorable. Rick our guide was very informative which was helped by his residency on Bruny. The gourmet tour visited lots of foody places even had a few beautiful fresh oysters. Certainly a tour to be highly recommended. Was a little disappointed we didn't spend much time in Adventure Bay but it is a long day and guess you can't see everything.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

What a wonderful tour and visit of Bruny Island. This made for a truly delightful day. Our guide/driver Tim was wonderful and truly made the tour. The small group also let people get to know one another throughout the day. Lunch was excellent and all the tastings during the day were a great treat. Don't miss this tour if your are in Hobart.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an outstanding tour covering the gourmet highlights of Bruny Island. The trip was well organised and timed. We learned a lot from our brilliant tour guide who by the end of the trip was nicknamed St Gino!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We would highly recommend this tour definitely. The tour of Bruny Island was absolutely fantastic mainly due to our wonderful tour guide Tim, his knowledge of the island, commentary and jokes throughout the day were well received (and returned)!!!! Visiting Giovanni the chocolatier was an absolute highlight, what an interesting, passionate man!!!
Our expectations of this tour were well exceeded. Thank you so much!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

My wife and I recently did the Bruny Island sightseeing and gourmet tour which we just loved. It was the most awesome day. we were picked up promptly and early from our acommodation and off we went. The tour guide was excellent - very knowledgeable and easy to listen to.The drive to the island was pleasant and the ferry ride over to Bruny very interesting. We visited the cheese factory ( great ) ,the lighthouse (fantastic scenery ) the Get Schucked oyster barn (beautiful if you like oysters) the Bruny pub for lunch ( very good) the causeway between North and South Bruny (climb the stairs for a fabulous view) the smoked salmon shop (very nice) the morning tea place which I cannot think of its name but the scones cream and jam are to die for and last but not least back in Kettering is the very small but impressive chocolate factory which is must.A long day but well worth it. highly recommended.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Perfect tour on Bruny Island for those who don't want to take cruise!!

Very good arrangement throughout the day! The food was lovely and the tour guide was professional and helpful! The guide even took the extra mile to return a lost property to my hotel after the tour even without me knowing that it was lost on the coach! All in all highly recommended!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really enjoyed this tour- provided a taste of Bruny Island's best spots to visit, both food and views. Our guide was fabulous! Really engaging and knowledgable about Bruny. Nice small group. A fair bit of driving, but to be expected with how many places you see/go to.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic! It has everything - food, nature, good service (picked up from our hotel) and interesting local history/information. Due to late cancellations we ended up being the only couple on the tour and the company still went ahead with the tour. The guides were great, as were the sights and local food venues. Visiting Bruny Island is a must tourist activity when in Hobart and I strongly recommend this company. Terrific value for money!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour of Bruny Island was the highlight of my trip to Hobart. from the moment we were picked up from our hotel by our tour guides I knew it was going to be a great tour. The guys were very knowledgeable and obviously LOVED their island and were proud to show it off. We were a small group of 10 and everyone got along. We visited different places of interest including a cheese factory and an oyster farm and the oysters were the freshest I've ever tasted. The stop at the chocolate factory at the end of the tour was worth the wait. It was a long day from 8am to 6pm but well worth it. Highly recommend it!!

Kettering was starting from the picturesque coastal town of Kettering. ht took their time and didn't rush us.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Really good

Craig was the best tour guide with heaps of local knowledge about Bruny Island

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great day out lots of different sights, smells and tastes to enjoy. Driver/guide knew the area and history of Bruny and was able to answer our questions (or find out the answer). Not too much walking so tour coped with all ages and fitness. Love that was a small group so we could chat and mingle and just enjoy the experience.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It is the only way to see and explore the rugged coastline of Bruny Island. From the happy bus drivers driving you to the cruise start, to the very knowledgeable boat skippers, to the morning tea and lunch...everything was better than expected...we did have a lovely day for our cruise weather wise, so that was a bonus. We saw lots of seals swimming, playing and sleeping. Saw plenty of birdlife, and learnt so much about the area.
A fantastic days trip, a must do if you are visiting Hobart.

Doing what: Full-Day Bruny Island Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An outstanding excursion due to the guide, Scotty, who was a wealth of information, and the gastronomic tastes we enjoyed from morning tea at the Berry Farm, the fattest and freshest oysters at the Get Shucked oyster farm, the amazing cheeses from the Cheese Company, terrific lunch and wine at the Bruny pub and culminating in the taste sensations and information session offered at the 3 hat (internationally recognised) chocolate factory (the Nutpatch). The scenery was a photographer's dream and I rate Bruny Island Safaris as 5 star: both as an experience and value for money. Ask for Scotty.
Geoff and Paula – Canberra

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

In very challenging circumstances our guide went well above what was expected to ensure that we had a brilliant day on the Island. Unfortunately most of the little businesses were not open this day due to the massive storm the day before knocking out all power on the island. Despite this, our guide still managed to source some local produce for us to try due to the strong network that Scotty has on the island, our day did not go to waste. Highly recommended and I will be back to get the full tour again one day!! Bruny Island now occupies a very special place in my heart. Thanks Scotty, and thanks Bruny Island Safaris!!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the trip to Bruny Island. Hugh made our day with his informative commentary and friendliness . He has a high level of communication skills.
The staff of Peregrine adventures all were of a very high standard.
Thankyou

Doing what: Full-Day Bruny Island Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Super! Chris and Huw (spelling?) were tops. As with Bruny this was exhilarating and educational.

Doing what: Full-Day Bruny Island Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My friend and I had a really lovely day. The trip lived up to expectation. Our tour driver Murray was fantastic, as were the other guests. Door to door made this a perfectly easy and stress free day. The gourmet aspects very well done - all up, very impressive on beautiful Bruny.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was cloudy and rainy in the morning but sun shine in the afternoon so we were able to see how beautiful Bruny island is. The driver also tour guide was friendly and he took us to see every thing as the tour scheduled. Wonderful lunch included. Hotel pick up and drop off. Everything went smoothly.
Thanks to Viator.com.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic tour, a mix of sights and food, great combination. We loved the visit to the Oyster stand and the visit to the chocolate shop was a definite highlight, the owner was so passionate about his craft. We took in some great views of Bruny island too. I did feel the drive to the lighthouse was a little long and the road was not great.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message