Outdoor activities, fishing and relaxing are your reasons for coming to Bruny Island, off Tasmania’s south-east coast. Two north and south islands joined by a long narrow isthmus, Bruny is a favorite destination for weekending Hobart residents ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sharon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Terrific day, especially for foodies!! Started with oysters so fresh you could taste the briny ocean, then followed with a great visit to Bruny Island Cheese Company. Morning tea of a fresh yummy blueberry muffin was followed by an excellent lunch at Australia's most southern winery. Must say I find the cold climate whites a bit dry for my taste, but the reds were terrific. As if we weren't full enough, we ate delicious fudge and choccies at the local choc shop, and finished at a gin and whisky distillery. That last visit I think needs a bit of rethinking, as we really didn't get to sample more than one of either the gin or whisky, so not really a tasting. Our driver Hugh was funny, friendly and kind one woman got bus-sick, and he had lots of terrific knowledge to impart. This is really a worthwhile day trip.

Doing what: Bruny Island 6-Course Gourmet Day Trip from Hobart

Miss Stefanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our Bruny Island Tour was fantastic! Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. The day was packed with fun and food. We travelled in a group of 6 and had 9 people on our tour. We found a smaller group to be a much more intimate and enjoyable experience compared to other tours. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Sean B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great guide and some really good food stops. The cider tasting, cheese tasting and oysters were the the highlights. The oysters are amazing! Bruny Island is lovely and this was a very pleasant way to spend the day.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Jeremy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our day. The bus trip to Bruny Island was accompanied by a great driver with excellent local knowledge and charming sense of humour. The three hour boat cruise - adventure was all we could possibly hope for with sightings of seals and dolphins and magnificent geological formations. Well worth dedicating a day to this trip when visiting Hobart area. ps it will get very chilly on boat ride so bring warm clothing

Doing what: Full-Day Bruny Island Tour from Hobart

Barbara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful cheery Tour Guide in Fran. The group size was perfect with all of us communicating well with each other. Fran's knowledge of Bruny Island was impressive and I felt I learnt a lot from the Tour. Perfect in every way. Fabulous lunch too.

Doing what: Bruny Island 6-Course Gourmet Day Trip from Hobart

Sean B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great guide and some really good food stops. The cider tasting, cheese tasting and oysters were the the highlights. The oysters are amazing! Bruny Island is lovely and this was a very pleasant way to spend the day.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

G.M P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A special tour which begins with a leisurely coach ride from Hobart to Kettering where your coach will board a car-ferry for the short hop across to Bruny Island. Heading south, you'll cross The Neck which joins North Bruny to South Bruny Island. On arrival at Adventure Bay, board one of the high speed boats for a thrilling ride down the coastline to what is essentially the bottom of Australia, where the Tasman Sea becomes The Great Southern Ocean taking in some breathtaking scenery including rugged cliffs, sea caves and a wealth of wild life. Be prepared for a bit of a roller coaster ride at times and also be sure you wear more than one layer of clothing as any southerly Antarctic winds can be biting. Highly recommend this special Eco-tour

Doing what: Full-Day Bruny Island Tour from Hobart

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic day on Bruny Island. Well catered for and organised. Great value for what we did and received.
Highly recommend it anyone visiting Tassie.

Doing what: Bruny Island 6-Course Gourmet Day Trip from Hobart

Sarah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great day out where we saw all the best bits of Bruny Island. Would thoroughly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Bruny Island 6-Course Gourmet Day Trip from Hobart

Helen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great tour i am recommending to friends. Loved the variety of different food tastes, walking up
the lookout and lighthouse, and fabulous lunch at Bruny Hotel.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Anne Jeanette E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour of Bruny Island was brilliant. Our guide was so passionate and informative, he made it a great day for all. Tasmania is a beautiful state, and Bruny Island is another Jewell in its Crown.
Thanks for a great day, could not recommend your tour highly enough.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Joseph G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great tour of the Island. Picked up and dropped off at our Motel. The driver was very friendly and quiet informative. The meal at Bruny Pub was first class.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Miriam L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We set out on a gorgeous day. There were 9 people altogether in the tour. Our amazing tour guide Rick was very friendly and gave us informative interpretation of everything we saw and visited by his over 30 years of actually living on Bruny Island.
Stunning views from Cape Bruny Lighthouse and the hearty lunch were highlights of the tour. Rick was also very meticulous in taking care of the timing and arrangement e.g. meal orders and we just felt so pampered!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

ann g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

a much anticipated trip did not disappoint - a fabulous experience which should not be missed by any traveller to Tasmania. Well orchestrated from Hobart town to Bruny Island. Humourous and informative commentary by the boat's captain and a good introduction to the trip from the bus driver also. afive star experience!

Doing what: Full-Day Bruny Island Tour from Hobart

Sharon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great way to get to Bruny Island and try all the gourmet delights on offer. Tour was well organised and we saw the highlights of the Island including a trip to the top of the lighthouse and a walk up the stairs at the isthmus.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Tracy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Callum was a great host for the day, and in between driving us around the sights and tastes of the island he also had lots of interesting stories and local history to share with us. He made sure the group was comfortable with the travelling pace and selection of places to see. The island has some spectacular scenery, and the lunch at Hotel Bruny was the highlight out of a range of excellent food options. I would have liked to stop a bit longer at a couple of places particularly at the Bruny Island Cheese Company, when all three of the bus groups arrived at the same time and it was crowded, but it was a long day already and there's a lot of distance to cover so I will have to revisit them in my own time on a future visit.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

SOFIA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Bruny Island was a great day trip. Rick our driver really made the day with his local knowledge and humour. The island feels untouched. Lots of rainforests and dirt roads. The light house vantage point and the inlet made for spectacular views. The food experience overall was excellent.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

MEI LING H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I had a great day on Bruny Island, enjoying the beautiful views, food and wine tasting. A very nice lunch was included too. Keegan was the guide accompanying us that day. He was informative, humorous and very friendly. He took good care of each of us, making the tour delightful and comfortable. Thank you so much! :

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great day on Bruny Island with a wonderful guide. We really enjoyed our tour and all of the food samples. Our Guide, Ben was very passionate and knowledgeable about this special part of Australia. Was a relatively small tour with only a group of 10. We got lucky with the weather and got some beautiful views from the lighthouse in particular. Each of our food stops appears to have been carefully chosen as each of them was very proud of their produce and eager to share it with our group. Would definitely recommend to fellow travellers.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Aileen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a wonderful way to see Bruny Island. Thank you Aaron for your amazing knowledge and delightful way of imparting that to us. We loved every minute of it.We would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking about visiting Bruny Island.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Sophia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thank you Ben for your guidance around Bruny Island. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Barry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic day at Bruny Island the tour was excellent saw lots of dolphins loved the boat coming in close to birds ans seals the crew were great informative and lots of fun - recommend this tour for all ages

Doing what: Full-Day Bruny Island Tour from Hobart

Linda N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a wonderful tour led by our amazingly knowledgeable and friendly guide Tim. There was a good mix of sightseeing and food, The day started with an early morning ferry crossing followed by morning tea at Berry Farm. A couple of hours sightseeing included a lot of historical interest a well as the natural beauty of Bruny Island. The gourmet part started around 11.30 with a wine tasting, followed by a delicious lunch and visits to local specialists - chocolate and fudge, cheeses, oysters, ice cream, relishes and pates, more chocolate and whisky. I couldn't have managed another morsel. This tour really is a must

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Jet Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend this tour as it is a great way to appreciate the variety that a trip to Hobart has to offer. Driving out of Hobart and passing the beautiful suburbs of Hobart and listening to the commentary of Tim, our very knowledgeable driver/guide, one can feel the pride that residents have on their island and community. Learning about the history and prominent features of the small towns even before experiencing the ferry ride was already a treat. The ferry trip itself was orderly, short and picturesque.

Then we get to the island and we learn of the indigenous people that used to occupy the twin islands. Interesting story but sad as well. A lot of lessons for visitors.

The relatively flat North Island contrasted with the rugged South Island. The isthmus connecting them is something to behold and the lookout point is worth the many steps it takes to reach it. Be prepared for windy and chilly conditions. Take the iconic pictures and move on. There are more treats to follow.

Driving on the gravel and sandy roads of the islands was not really as expected. There were no potholes and it was as smooth as driving on paved roads. Going over the mountain from the East to the West side of the island was interesting. No signs of civilisation for many kilometres on single lane gravel roads could be unnerving but it was exciting and expertly and safely managed by Tim. Along the way, we spied wallabies, including the albino ones.

Continuing the trip, we were treated to fantastic bays and coves, picturesque towns and, of course the old light station. All worth taking out the big cameras for wide and tele shots. We were lucky with the weather, but in poor conditions, it would probably be very windy and chilly.

After the feast for the eyes, it was time for the feast for the stomach, and the tour did not disappoint. The lunch at the Bruny Hotel was superb and the various tasting stops in the afternoon, particularly the oysters, completed the tour. Excellent!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Sheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

excellent organisation and fabulous stops taking in breathtaking sights and amazing food. Our guide Ben was a wealth of knowledge and his passion for Bruny Island was contagious. I thoroughly recommend this day out for everyone.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message