Hobart ATTRACTIONS See all

Cadbury Chocolate Factory

Kids and chocoholics make a beeline for the Cadbury Chocolate Factory outside Hobart. For a real-life Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory experience, drop into the visitor center, tour the souvenir shop and pick up some discounted samples ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Good price on Cadbury chocolate in factory. Plenty of time in Mona and ferry time flexible. Easy and worth going.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Tasting Tour from Hobart with MONA Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very Happy with the whole experience , have done the Cadbury factory before, when u used to tour through,
but though this was a resonable insight into it. Also enjoyed the River Cruise back great food and Coffee and great service.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Brilliant!. The commentary on the way to Cadbury's was very informative and there was plenty of time to purchase loads and loads of chocolate!. We decided to change our return ferry time back from Mona and that was a simple as asking the lady at the Mona reception desk to make the arrangements. Very, very easy way to organise a day trip.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Tasting Tour from Hobart with MONA Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My autistic son - who is nicknamed 'The Chocolate Thief' absolutely loved this. He was in heaven! Don't miss getting a hot chocolate...I recommend the mixed hot chocolate - 2 scoops dark, 2 scoops milk and 1 scoop white. It was delicious! The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend Cadbury! We were then dropped off at the Mona Centre. It was not quite my thing (I'm more of a traditionalist) but it was interesting. There is a Starbucks there for coffee/lunch. Also included is a ferry ride back to Hobart. I changed the time with ease. I'd recommend both the Mona and ferry.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Tasting Tour from Hobart with MONA Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Hobart is such a beautiful city. A visit to Cadbury was another great way of seeing Hobart. The cruise back down the Derwent River was great.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I was extremely happy with every aspect of this tour. Right from the pick up at my hotel (Graeme) and the tour guide to Cadbury and Mona (Peter). Everything ran on time and the guides were extremely courteous and their commentary most informative. The only thing I would comment on is that the location for pick up from the hotel should have been mentioned somewhere on the itinerary or when I confirmed the booking. I just assumed that pick up would be at the front of the hotel and it was out of sight around the corner. Nonetheless, the driver went out of his way to contact and then collect me so everything worked out well.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Tasting Tour from Hobart with MONA Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to Bonorong Wildlife Park. It was an awesome day with the Cadbury chocolate factory and cruise being the highlight.

Doing what: Bonorong Wildlife Park , Derwent River Cruise and Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A great day out with such variety. The Cadbury representative delivering the presentation was very informative and interesting to listen to. Bonorong Wildlife Park was excellent - the people working there all very helpful and friendly

Doing what: Bonorong Wildlife Park , Derwent River Cruise and Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Had a terrific day. Our coach driver was absolutely fantastic. He gave a running commentary all the way out to the factory which was valuable for us as we hadn't seen much of Hobart. Once we were at Cadbury the tour included a good run down of the making of chocolate and plenty of time to buy things at really good prices. Half a day well spent.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

Jenefer P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Bonorong staff were knowledgeable and respected the animals. The animals were beautiful and great to see. The Cadbury factory was an interesting tour, as well as yummy!

Doing what: Bonorong Wildlife Park , Derwent River Cruise and Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour from Hobart

Patricia L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The Cadbury staff guide were friendly and informative. I loved it from the first whiff of chocolate as only a chocoholic could.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The cruise was lovely. The bus driver was friendly and courteous. The Cadbury tour is not really a tour but a talk about chocolate as tours are not permitted through the factory anymore. However, the half price chocolate shop was great!!!

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

The trip was organised and as promised. Just curious why Cadbury charges to tour when there is no tour but a movie and display. After all a lot of money is being earned by their off sales.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

Andrea W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

This was a great tour by bus and river cruise, and all questions were answered. They both had lots of knowledge of Hobart. It was a bit disappointing that at Cadburys we weren't able to walk through the Factory while they were making chocolate. However, apparently they are looking at reopening it so that we can walk through the factory again when safety measures have been implemented. When this happens I will definitely rebook. The bus tour guide very friendly and helpful, and the cruise staff were very friendly also.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

Sheena B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

This was most enjoyable. Unfortunately workplace health and safety laws forbade us from seeing the process, but we were shown an informative video with a live presenter on hand to answer any questions. The staff at Cadbury were friendly and helpful which added to the enjoyment.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

Robyn J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

The trip was well worth doing. Coaches were very reliable and comfortable. We were well informed along the way on all the highlights of Hobart and the history behind the attractions. The Cadbury factory was interesting.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

All aspects of this Tour were greatly enjoyed, especially the Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary.

A couple of suggestions however:
1. We are amazed that a Company the size of Cadbury cannot provide an Auditorium in their Visitor centre with more seats for the presentation of the Factory Processes. Ours was what must be a relatively small Tour Group (about 40) yet there were only twelve (12) seats provided for the group, which comprised quite a few elderly attendees and a few mothers nursing children. Come on Cadbury! Surely you can be more professional and provide an auditorium with seating for say, about 100 or more, especially when a lot of your Visitors are probably coming from overseas. It certainly doesn't create a very good impression.

2. The Guided Tour at Bonorong was excellent, with very informative and useful information being provided by the Guide. However, it was a very windy day when we toured, and a lot of the Guide's words were lost on the wind. A microphone and a small PA system would be a very worthwhile addition. [NOTE: We understand that Bonorong has this matter 'in hand', so this comment is just to remind them how important it is.

Peter and Judy Yates

Doing what: Bonorong Wildlife Park , Derwent River Cruise and Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour from Hobart

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Sadly Cadbury Chocolate Factory display and shop looks a bit dated. River cruise boat named Mr I was really nice. Great food on board.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

I thought the Cadbury tour was very disappointing as you only got to watch a video you didn't get to see them actually making any of the chocolate. A good idea to overcome all the Work Health and Safety aspects would be to have tours but with viewing windows at least that way it is safe and you can still see the chocolate being made and probably have a sample bin where everyone could have one sample of either "seconds" or broken chocolate that they cannot sell. Other than that all our bookings were great. Thank you for your assistance. Will definitely use you again next time, just have to save up some more money.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Cadbury was not as good as I had expected, however, trip to Mona more than made up for it, and it ended up being an amazing day

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Tasting Tour from Hobart with MONA Admission

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

We were under the impression that we were going to go to the Cadbury factory both ways by boat. By the time we boarded the boat to return to Hobart it was a little late for morning tea. In your tour title you mention '.... and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart'.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

The tour was great, very informative. Cadbury needs to give away more chocolate.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Cadbury stop a little dissapointing. Not much to see. Cruise was nice. Maybe a little rushed. Did not get to spend enough time at the wildlife park. it was cut short by the bus driver. I think maybe too much is squeezed in to one day, or too much time spent at Cadburys. Stop at Richmond was nice.

Doing what: Bonorong Wildlife Park , Derwent River Cruise and Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour from Hobart

DAVID L
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

The Cadbury Tour was great. Great presentation and demos from the Cadbury's staff. We got a block of chocolate as we walked through the door. The Cruise was not very impressive. It was more like a ferry service instead of a sightseeing cruise.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

The tour of the Cadbury Chocolate Factory was a bit of a disappointment. However, the Derwent River Cruise was excellent and now affords an opportunity to visit the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA) as well.

Doing what: Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message