Picton ATTRACTIONS See all

Picton Cruise Port

Small but lively, Picton may be one of the sunniest ports in New Zealand. Located at the head of Queen Charlotte Sound, it links the country’s South Island with the north, making it a hub for inter-island ferries across the Cook Strait. It is also a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Outstanding! Lots of snow and gale force winds at the summit which was not entirely expected. It was quite an experience! Calling in at the beautiful Cascade Brewery on the way back to Hobart in bright sun, was a real contrast.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

I really enjoyed this. Our guide showed us lots of sights on the way, and it was a beautiful day at the top of Mt Wellington. On the way back to Hobart, our guide showed us more points of interest, including the Cascade Brewery and the Women's Prison. It was a great morning.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Had a lovely time getting an overview of Hobart, seeing areas I would not otherwise have seen....like Battery Point, the Cascade brewery and gardens, and the women's gaol, the Botannical Gardens. Went back later to wander around Salamanca to shop, and have coffee. Love Hobart....will be back with my van!

Doing what: Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great tour guide- he grew up in Hobart so had a lot of personal anecdotes to share, which made the commentary most enjoyable. Wish we had longer at the Botanic Gardens and actually visited/drove past Belrieve Oval and Cascade Brewery. Bus was a little squishy as our tour was fully booked.

Doing what: Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

This tour does not cater for people who for example have Arthritus which was my case. Dropping you at the bottom of the Cascade Brewery Gardens and telling you that you can walk to the top of the 45 degree slope, get a sample in the brewery and then return to the bus in a total of 15minutes is totally irresponsible and stressful, and destroyed my enjoyment of the whole tour. Peter our guide was very good after that and did drop us at the top of the Botanic Gardens to walk down, rather than up and down in the half an hour allowed for this activity. It was not the guide's fault that these aspects WERE NOT CLEARLY ADVERTISED ON THE WEBSITE INFORMATION. We also had to wait for nearly half an hour for people that did not turn up, which meant that every site we went to was pressured for time. If I had my choice again I would not take the Viator tour of Hobart and use another firm.

Doing what: Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

We had the unfortunate experience of the summit of Mt Wellington being in cloud and raining not the fault of the guide who gave us a good running commentary on the drive up the mount. The only improvement to this tour that I could recommend would be to cut short the visit to the Cascade Brewery Garden ,which is only a photo opportunity and have more time around Battery Point architecture and history.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Joseph W
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Although the ticket was for 2 days, anything other than the 45 mins city tour cost extra. Since i wasnt prepared to pay extra for the Cascade Brewery or Mt Wellington, enough was seen in a half day so we never used the second day! I dont think this was clear when i made the booking. I think we had more fun just walking around the shops at Salamanca, which like the shops is only a ten minute walk from the docks.

Doing what: Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

The driver/tour guide was fantastic, very informative. Very interesting and pleasant afternoon. Peter Cundall's garden was closed, ver disappointing. Longer at Botanical garden would be good, getting out and walking up to Cascade brewery was a waste of time, as not enough time to see inside. Thanks.

Doing what: Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

I enjoyed the panoramic tour of Hobart. A sample at the Cascade Brewery should be included--it was not nice to tease the group by taking them to the outside of the building and not taking them inside for a short tour and tasting. What can I say about the MONA--it is definitely an acquired taste as it is a VERY different and strange museum!

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message