From Richmond to Eaglehawk Neck and Port Arthur, take the Convict Trail from Hobart to get a real feel for Tasmania’s history and natural beauty. To get the most out of your visit, take a leisurely approach and spread your tour over a couple of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great day out. Not to long or short.Great bus driver and very informative. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was great. Very knowledgable. Great historic site to visit. Thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Port Arthur is a wonderful place, well worth seeing. Disappointed there were major construction works being undertaken when I visited but that's life. The Derwent River Cruise was a selling point for this tour but didn't deliver. The twenty minute circle out from the jetty didn't allow me to see anything I couldn't have seen from dry land. Would go on the tour again for Port Arthur but I wouldn't waste my time with the cruise.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The pick-up arrangements on the day I took this tour were very disorganised. I was picked up from Sandy Bay at 8.30am and the bus then went and picked up a couple of other people and we were left at Salamanca to wait 40minutes for the next bus. After 50 minutes we were told we were waiting in the wrong place and walked back to the wharf to board the second bus. This bus was nearly full and it went to pick up more people at the same hotel we picked up at an hour earlier. This hotel that I visited twice was a 2 minute walk from where the bus departed from!! I arrived at Port Arthur at 11.30am, 3 hours after being picked up. Because the bus was full and there were many different types of ticket, it then took another 15 minutes to get off the bus. By the time I got through the very long queue to get some food, I was left with little time to explore and decided to forego the boat trip. We were told to be on the bus at 10 to 3 for a 3pm departure. However, the time got changed at some point and the bus departed at about 3.30pm - not everyone was told of the later departure time. On the way back the bus had some electrical trouble and we were required to change to another bus to be dropped back at our hotels. Despite all this, Port Arthur is an amazing tourist attraction. It is very well maintained and I loved the English style of gardens. The bus driver was very knowledgeable about the history of the area and his commentary was entertaining.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Most enjoyable full day. Thae coach was small and comfortable and Graeme the driver was very knowledgable of local history and events. Port Arthur was fabulous as always, although the main buikding is in scaffold and not open to the public(you can still see it and they offered us a free photo/postcard )As my friend has a disability walking we made use of the Wombat Buggie service. Both drivers were attentive and full of knowledge and really made our day.I've been to Port Arthur many times and found the storie s facinting and also went to some sites I haven't seen before. My friend loved it. PA is must for any one going to Tassie and if you have limited time I strongly suggest you take this tour(if you had several dys spare its a must to spwend 3-4days on the pennisula as they is alot to see).

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Brilliant!. There were a couple of stops along the way that were a complete surprise, probably places we would never have visited ourselves. The commentary on the way to Port Arthur was very informative and there was ample time to look around at all the sites. There were no hiccups with our booking at all.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our "steering wheel attendant and guide for the day" (in his words) was Ian and his local knowledge and sense of humour added greatly to the trip. A descendant of a Port Arthur convict, he had researched widely and could answer any questions. Coach was modern and comfortable, weather perfect for photo opportunity sight seeing stops on the way and the 3-4 hours spent at Port Arthur allowed us to take in all the sights, including a cruise to the Isle of the Dead. Highly recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow! This tour was fantastic. Got picked up at our hotel. From the moment we left Hobart, the driver gave us a running commentary of what we were passing along the way. Tour included a guided walk and a boat cruise. Delivered back to our hotel at night. I had thought about hiring a car and driving to Port Arthur - glad I didn't because I would have missed so much. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The bus driver was wonderful and had a great knowledge of the area. Be warned though - this tour doesn't give you enough time to see all of Port Arthur. You arrive about 11am and a walking tour starts at 11.45 - don't miss it, it is brilliant! There is a cruise around the bay at 1.00pm with an optional (and is an additional payment) for the Isle of the Dead Tour (40 mins). Then you need to be on the bus at 3pm. Obviously, you need to eat lunch sometime between 11-3. All that said though, I would go again.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an amazing journey through time, a must for anyone going to Tasmania.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

was a great tour ,the guide was fun and gave lots of information , efficient and affordable trip

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I loved this trip. The company running the tour was very professional, and provided good general information and a good history of Tasmania whilst travelling form Hobart to Port Arthur, which wa really interesting.
The tour itself was great. The staff at the historical site were all friendly, and provided a 40 minute tour outlining a brief history of the site and the significant buildings. There was time to explore the site before a 20-30 minute cruise around the harbour, and a bit more exploring time before heading back to Hobart. This is definately a fabulous tour, and I would recommend it to anybody heading to Tasmania. I am a huge history nut, and loved this site, despite the sad history of it, but it was great to learn more about our nations history, and actually seeing where things were happening.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide very informative. Port Arthur was amazing. Devil's Kitchen and Tasman Arch were beautiful. Would have like to have seen a bit more along the way but time didn't permit.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Loved every minute !!!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Very beautiful sceneries, unique place but it's quite long for full day trip.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message