From Richmond to Eaglehawk Neck and Port Arthur, take the Convict Trail from Hobart to get a real feel for Tasmania’s history and natural beauty. To get the most out of your visit, take a leisurely approach and spread your tour over a couple of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Things worked out very well

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A very good tour, very informative driver. A must do if your in Hobart.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a memorable day with a couple of surprise stops on our way to Port Arthur. Our driver was informative and did a good job. The Port Arthur precinct is certainly a must do for a visit to Tasmania. Great day!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour combined just the right amount of flexibility so that people could go and explore at their own pace while offering a suggested timetable for activities. The coach driver was very knowledgeable and friendly. Well organised and fun outing.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

An interesting and loud coach tour/commentary on the way there and back, and some free-roaming self-guided hours in this fascinating and strange place. It's what you make of it because you have a lot of freedom once you're there.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great day out. Not to long or short.Great bus driver and very informative. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was great. Very knowledgable. Great historic site to visit. Thoroughly enjoyed the day.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Port Arthur is a wonderful place, well worth seeing. Disappointed there were major construction works being undertaken when I visited but that's life. The Derwent River Cruise was a selling point for this tour but didn't deliver. The twenty minute circle out from the jetty didn't allow me to see anything I couldn't have seen from dry land. Would go on the tour again for Port Arthur but I wouldn't waste my time with the cruise.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The pick-up arrangements on the day I took this tour were very disorganised. I was picked up from Sandy Bay at 8.30am and the bus then went and picked up a couple of other people and we were left at Salamanca to wait 40minutes for the next bus. After 50 minutes we were told we were waiting in the wrong place and walked back to the wharf to board the second bus. This bus was nearly full and it went to pick up more people at the same hotel we picked up at an hour earlier. This hotel that I visited twice was a 2 minute walk from where the bus departed from!! I arrived at Port Arthur at 11.30am, 3 hours after being picked up. Because the bus was full and there were many different types of ticket, it then took another 15 minutes to get off the bus. By the time I got through the very long queue to get some food, I was left with little time to explore and decided to forego the boat trip. We were told to be on the bus at 10 to 3 for a 3pm departure. However, the time got changed at some point and the bus departed at about 3.30pm - not everyone was told of the later departure time. On the way back the bus had some electrical trouble and we were required to change to another bus to be dropped back at our hotels. Despite all this, Port Arthur is an amazing tourist attraction. It is very well maintained and I loved the English style of gardens. The bus driver was very knowledgeable about the history of the area and his commentary was entertaining.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Most enjoyable full day. Thae coach was small and comfortable and Graeme the driver was very knowledgable of local history and events. Port Arthur was fabulous as always, although the main buikding is in scaffold and not open to the public(you can still see it and they offered us a free photo/postcard )As my friend has a disability walking we made use of the Wombat Buggie service. Both drivers were attentive and full of knowledge and really made our day.I've been to Port Arthur many times and found the storie s facinting and also went to some sites I haven't seen before. My friend loved it. PA is must for any one going to Tassie and if you have limited time I strongly suggest you take this tour(if you had several dys spare its a must to spwend 3-4days on the pennisula as they is alot to see).

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Brilliant!. There were a couple of stops along the way that were a complete surprise, probably places we would never have visited ourselves. The commentary on the way to Port Arthur was very informative and there was ample time to look around at all the sites. There were no hiccups with our booking at all.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our "steering wheel attendant and guide for the day" (in his words) was Ian and his local knowledge and sense of humour added greatly to the trip. A descendant of a Port Arthur convict, he had researched widely and could answer any questions. Coach was modern and comfortable, weather perfect for photo opportunity sight seeing stops on the way and the 3-4 hours spent at Port Arthur allowed us to take in all the sights, including a cruise to the Isle of the Dead. Highly recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow! This tour was fantastic. Got picked up at our hotel. From the moment we left Hobart, the driver gave us a running commentary of what we were passing along the way. Tour included a guided walk and a boat cruise. Delivered back to our hotel at night. I had thought about hiring a car and driving to Port Arthur - glad I didn't because I would have missed so much. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The bus driver was wonderful and had a great knowledge of the area. Be warned though - this tour doesn't give you enough time to see all of Port Arthur. You arrive about 11am and a walking tour starts at 11.45 - don't miss it, it is brilliant! There is a cruise around the bay at 1.00pm with an optional (and is an additional payment) for the Isle of the Dead Tour (40 mins). Then you need to be on the bus at 3pm. Obviously, you need to eat lunch sometime between 11-3. All that said though, I would go again.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an amazing journey through time, a must for anyone going to Tasmania.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message