Hobart ATTRACTIONS See all

Derwent River

Hobart is set on the Derwent River estuary, which sets it apart as one of the world’s great sailing cities and harbors. Take a cruise by jet boat or ferry on the Derwent, or cross the water by water-taxi. Cruises go upriver to Moorilla Winery ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 55 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

DANIEL

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Agradable y placentero. Momentos excitantes cuando el viento soplaba fuerte. Muy buena atención a bordo, desde el trato y la experiencia del Capitán y su personal, hasta los apetiziers servidos durante las 3 horas. Muy recomendable.

Doing what: Half-Day Sailing on the Derwent River from Hobart

Robert C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

City tour on the 'tram' was well worth it. Good to see so much of early Hobart preserved, places we would never have seen if not on this tour. The MONA museum was a building to behold with many worthy exhibits. However the major exhibition was a big disappointment,. extensive but vulgar and disgusting not worthy of being called art. The place is worth a visit nonetheless.

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

Philip M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing views from Mount Wellington and very friendly driver. MONA is one of those must see places and it did not disappoint. You may not like everything in there but there is enough to keep you interested and amazed by some of the work on show. Probably the biggest Gilbert and George exhibition ever - not my scene but it was compelling.

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

stephen w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent, this tour was well planned, informative and a very enjoyable way to see Hobart.

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

Regina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The trip was wonderful. We had the opportunity to spend Christmas day cruising. It was the most memorable Christmas. The food was excellent, weather was great and the crew was exceptional.

Doing what: Full-Day Sailing Cruise from Hobart

Kerry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Exceptional afternoon. Great commentary and the opportunity to be at the helm was awesome. Thank you for a wonderful few hours. Very relaxing.

Doing what: Half-Day Sailing on the Derwent River from Hobart

Andy

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

This tour was short but the tour guide/driver is fantastic, she is full of great stories. Unfortunately due to the heavy rain I couldn't see much from the summit. The rest of the tour was really fine.

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Alun J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful Day. Excellent Guided tour of the city. Brilliant cruise up and down the river. Gobsmacked by Mona, both the incredible building itself plus the mind blowing exhibits of modern art. Will undoubtedly return another time as it is just not possible to take it all in in a short stay.

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

Keith T

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Mt Wellington tour was excellent. MONA... pass

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Camille F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you've only got a day to spend in Hobart this is a great tour that covers all the key sites.

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

Steve K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Good introduction to Hobart and MONA is a must. Touch expensive all up but MONA ticket worth every cent.

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

Alexa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this tour. The tour guide was fantastic. It was quite a wet and windy day, so visibility wasn't good. However, she knew all the right spots to stop at in order to ensure we got some great photos. She was also exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable!

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Karen Bauer M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Ferry trip was lovely, beautiful building but vulgar art.

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

bgbeaudoin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Boat trip to Mona and museum unique and interesting. Well worth the trip.
Our sightseeing in Hobart. Outstanding guide and very knowledgeable

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

Domenica V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour guide knows his stuff. MONA great experience

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

sue_turner61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent visit to a selection of key points of interest in Hobart -some of which we revisited for a second look.
MONA ferry ride good - the 99 steps a bit daunting at the end of a long day however.
Interesting informed guide -a few hassles with the vehicle but no big deal.

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

Karen M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

The tour was boring and not informative. The commentary was staged and rehearsed. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

Kazumi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I enjoyed this tour. Desk staff and driver was very friendly and knowledgeable. Thank you so much lovely time in Hobar.

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

Barbara D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I had an amazing time out on the Derwent River with the crew on this yacht. As the holder of the world's weakest stomach I was petrified that I would suffer from motion sickness, but it was smooth sailing all the way through to the end. Fabulous food, amazing views, and an exceptional crew make this an experience you won't want to miss. This at the top of my 'to-do' list the next time that I am in Hobart.

Doing what: Half-Day Sailing on the Derwent River from Hobart

Kylie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Annette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great afternoon. Harbour was overcast when we left but we had a great afternoon chasing the sun. So relaxing,Great crew and afternoon tea Thanks mum for scones and cream.
Enjoyed by all aboard local and visitors

Doing what: Half-Day Sailing on the Derwent River from Hobart

Suzette S. B. N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing!
Loved the Mount Wellington!

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Frederick D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

How lucky were we as we had the 3 crew members all to ourselves. Being under sail was just so magical. Scones and coffee to start with then smoked salmon and crackers. To finish we were served various cheeses and fruit. 3 hours went by so quickly. So, everyone book today and have a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Half-Day Sailing on the Derwent River from Hobart

novist58

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

3hour city tour was great when you have a limited amount of time. Mona a spectacular building and location the modern art not my favourite.

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

killinchy.browns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A great way to see Hobart and the bus driver was witty and informative.

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message