Hobart ATTRACTIONS See all

Mt. Wellington

Standing sentinel over Hobart, Mt. Wellington is known by locals simply as ‘the Mountain.’ A visit to the Pinnacle is an essential Hobart experience. At the Pinnacle you’ll find a glass lookout building and boardwalks. In every direction the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 125 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leonie B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a lovely morning driving to and from Hobart up to Mt Wellington. We had the perfect weather, clear blue sky and -1 on top of the mountain. Sue was our driver and guide and a lovely lady and excellent driver, would recommend this trip but you would need to take your chances on the weather, we were so lucky

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Kim C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We all loved it. A great way to experience mt wellington and the awesome views,

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Ken C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Excellent trip and luckily the weather was clear although very cold! and the view was good.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Paul S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Overall a good experience and descent with knowledgeable and friendly staff. The pickup point, however, was two blocks away and not at the indicated Elizabeth St. wharf indicated on the confirmation notice. Please update this information for future travelers.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Bethany G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was super fun, and id say a must do if you and #39;re visiting Hobart. The instructors were great and broke the descend down for us so we knew what to expect along the way down the mountain.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

jduckworth7797

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent half-day tour. We were lucky to have an exceptionally clear day, with relatively little wind and warm temperature. The guide was excellent, the mini-bus comfortable, thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Philip M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing views from Mount Wellington and very friendly driver. MONA is one of those must see places and it did not disappoint. You may not like everything in there but there is enough to keep you interested and amazed by some of the work on show. Probably the biggest Gilbert and George exhibition ever - not my scene but it was compelling.

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Helen R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

A great day out led by a very proficient guide.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Andy

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

This tour was short but the tour guide/driver is fantastic, she is full of great stories. Unfortunately due to the heavy rain I couldn't see much from the summit. The rest of the tour was really fine.

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Norm N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The people running the tour where ok, but it rained the whole time and was cold. We got soaked before we left the top of the mountain and couldn't see a thing. It was cloudy and very poor visiability. They should have canceled the trip. My husband and I where so wet and cold we couldn't finish the ride and rode down in the van.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

steve

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great guide, was cloudy and cold at the top but still an experience! Stopped for photos part way down where it was clear, so we still got good views.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Kristy L Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Unfortunately we had a cloudy day which is out of anyones control. Our driver was very knowledgeable. Would have preferred less time to look through the Female Factory. Was not a lot to look at for the time we had there and would have loved to be able to go into the Cascade Brewery rather than just an opportunity to get out and take a picture with the sign.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Keith T

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Mt Wellington tour was excellent. MONA... pass

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Veronica W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

A fun experience but the organisation and safety left a bit to be desired.
The starting point was different to the one on the confirmation email. We had to make a series of frantic phone calls when our tour was due to start to find the new starting point. Our phone calls earlier in the day to confirm were not returned.
Everyone was handed a helmet but they were not checked for a correct fit. The front brake on my bike was not great and there were no spares which is not good enough when you are travelling at speeds up to 60km ph on open roads. Once we finished the descent I also discovered that my bike would not shift to the larger cog. My husband had a similar problem. I was amazed the leader did not notice, until he was told half way down, that one rider was wearing rubber thongs. We are regular bike riders and were appalled by the lack of regard to riders safety.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Vanja Radisic Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great views, great driver, but too short. It is very windy and cold even in January, so make sure you bring a jacket and a scarf.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Luningning C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

it was a beautiful day when we were there and our coach driver /tour guide was very informative and also provided some little trivia information which livened the trip. there was enough time to take photos and walk a round a little bit at the top of mount wellington. a great tour.
it also included a short tour of the cascade female factory and passing thru the Cascade Brewery. a little more detail to the Cascade female factory would have been appreciated. overall a good tour

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was most enjoyable and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and amicable. We were blessed with a picture perfect view from the summit of Mt Wellington. I would recommend this tour to anyone with limited time, it gives you a nice 'snapshot' of Hobart.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Alexa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this tour. The tour guide was fantastic. It was quite a wet and windy day, so visibility wasn't good. However, she knew all the right spots to stop at in order to ensure we got some great photos. She was also exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable!

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Christine Bryson Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

GREAT MORNING TRIP UP A REALLY HIGH ALPINE MOUNTAIN THAT IS CLOSE TO THE CBD!
DEFINITELY WEAR WARM COATS AS THE TEMP WAS FREEZING. IT WAS APPROX 1 DEGREES CELSIUS CONSTANT WIND CHILL FACTOR WHEN IT WAS 11 DEGREES IN THE CITY. SPECTACULAR SCENERY! CHRIS and SCOTT BRYSON

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Jack C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a fun trip. The guides were very personalable. I would recommend this activity to others.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Roy G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Guide just a bit too enthusiastic.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

andrew k

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

An awesome trip down mt. Wellington. Good guide. Not for the casual biker.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Rein B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Although the weather was cold and cloudy, Mt Wellington was still beautiful and the ride up was an opportunity to see what a beautiful city Hobart really is.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

MEI LING H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

It would be nice if the weather is good. Only a short drive from the pier then we could enjoy the top view of Hobart. We were unlucky to have a really foggy morning that day. Shall go again if have chance.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Darcy F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

This would have been a great tour if only it were an hour longer. The bus ride up to the mountain was nerve racking because the driver was going very fast. Also, we were sitting in the last row, and could not hear any of his commentary. At the top, we could not see much of anything because of the overcast conditions, so we only spent 15 minutes up there just as well as it was very cold! On the way down, we assumed we would stop at an incredible vista spot to take in the views from there, but no, the driver was busy barreling down the mountain and didn't stop. We then went to the Female Factory, which was interesting to us, but again, the driver did not give us much time there. Then onto shopping for 20 minutes- they should cut that part out- not enough time!

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message