Hobart ATTRACTIONS See all

Mt. Wellington

Standing sentinel over Hobart, Mt. Wellington is known by locals simply as ‘the Mountain.’ A visit to the Pinnacle is an essential Hobart experience. At the Pinnacle you’ll find a glass lookout building and boardwalks. In every direction the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kristy L Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Unfortunately we had a cloudy day which is out of anyones control. Our driver was very knowledgeable. Would have preferred less time to look through the Female Factory. Was not a lot to look at for the time we had there and would have loved to be able to go into the Cascade Brewery rather than just an opportunity to get out and take a picture with the sign.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Veronica W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

A fun experience but the organisation and safety left a bit to be desired.
The starting point was different to the one on the confirmation email. We had to make a series of frantic phone calls when our tour was due to start to find the new starting point. Our phone calls earlier in the day to confirm were not returned.
Everyone was handed a helmet but they were not checked for a correct fit. The front brake on my bike was not great and there were no spares which is not good enough when you are travelling at speeds up to 60km ph on open roads. Once we finished the descent I also discovered that my bike would not shift to the larger cog. My husband had a similar problem. I was amazed the leader did not notice, until he was told half way down, that one rider was wearing rubber thongs. We are regular bike riders and were appalled by the lack of regard to riders safety.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Vanja Radisic Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great views, great driver, but too short. It is very windy and cold even in January, so make sure you bring a jacket and a scarf.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Luningning C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

it was a beautiful day when we were there and our coach driver /tour guide was very informative and also provided some little trivia information which livened the trip. there was enough time to take photos and walk a round a little bit at the top of mount wellington. a great tour.
it also included a short tour of the cascade female factory and passing thru the Cascade Brewery. a little more detail to the Cascade female factory would have been appreciated. overall a good tour

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was most enjoyable and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and amicable. We were blessed with a picture perfect view from the summit of Mt Wellington. I would recommend this tour to anyone with limited time, it gives you a nice 'snapshot' of Hobart.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Alexa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this tour. The tour guide was fantastic. It was quite a wet and windy day, so visibility wasn't good. However, she knew all the right spots to stop at in order to ensure we got some great photos. She was also exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable!

Doing what: Mt Wellington Tour and MONA Admission

Christine Bryson Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

GREAT MORNING TRIP UP A REALLY HIGH ALPINE MOUNTAIN THAT IS CLOSE TO THE CBD!
DEFINITELY WEAR WARM COATS AS THE TEMP WAS FREEZING. IT WAS APPROX 1 DEGREES CELSIUS CONSTANT WIND CHILL FACTOR WHEN IT WAS 11 DEGREES IN THE CITY. SPECTACULAR SCENERY! CHRIS and SCOTT BRYSON

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Jack C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a fun trip. The guides were very personalable. I would recommend this activity to others.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Roy G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Guide just a bit too enthusiastic.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

andrew k

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

An awesome trip down mt. Wellington. Good guide. Not for the casual biker.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Rein B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Although the weather was cold and cloudy, Mt Wellington was still beautiful and the ride up was an opportunity to see what a beautiful city Hobart really is.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

MEI LING H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

It would be nice if the weather is good. Only a short drive from the pier then we could enjoy the top view of Hobart. We were unlucky to have a really foggy morning that day. Shall go again if have chance.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Darcy F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

This would have been a great tour if only it were an hour longer. The bus ride up to the mountain was nerve racking because the driver was going very fast. Also, we were sitting in the last row, and could not hear any of his commentary. At the top, we could not see much of anything because of the overcast conditions, so we only spent 15 minutes up there just as well as it was very cold! On the way down, we assumed we would stop at an incredible vista spot to take in the views from there, but no, the driver was busy barreling down the mountain and didn't stop. We then went to the Female Factory, which was interesting to us, but again, the driver did not give us much time there. Then onto shopping for 20 minutes- they should cut that part out- not enough time!

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Jill E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well, when we reached the end of the bike ride my 16 year old son said, Mom, that was great! Can we do it again? Right now. Doesn't get much better from a 16 year old after spending a few hours with his mom.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Rodney S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Friendly guides, spectacular views. Suitable for most fitness levels.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

MICHELLE W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic experience taint was well supported and led by tour providers.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Sarah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guides were very enthusiastic and willing to cater to all levels of adventurousness. The guide took us on an off road path which really made the trip for us. Would definitely recommend!!!

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Kunwer V

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

James Elrond L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The views at the top were awesome but there's just too little time to explore and take it all in.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Norizan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The views from Mt Welllington was beautiful. And having the clouds go through you was surreal. Thank you to the Driver Guide for arranging the additional trip to see the Tasmanian Devils and the city tour.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Sharon B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Magnificent views......when the mist doesn't come over. You do take your chances with the weather on this one. It also gets very cold on top of the mountain so take warmer clothes. The rest of the tour was very good and the tour guide was interesting.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Barry J United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tour was good - taking us to the top of Mount Wellington - unfortunately the weather didn't play ball and we had no view. The star was lost because we later found that the tour guide hadn't really bothered much with any information.

Doing what: Mount Wellington Tour from Hobart

Sunny H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great experience, terrific views from the top. Definitly recommend it as one of must dos for Hobart!

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Lauren B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our whole family (ages 27 to 72) had a blast! The guides were so personable and truly accommodating of all skill levels and paces. We had a wonderful time and are still talking about it! Just a wonderful adventure. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Mount Wellington Descent Cycling Tour departs Hobart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message