Tasmania's No. 1 visitor attraction is the former convict settlement of Port Arthur, a ghostly and eerie heritage area just outside Hobart. Built to reform and rehabilitate convicts, Port Arthur was a key part of convict discipline within the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

PB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent. Half day Hobart tram tour was a little rushed. Having said this we saw and learned much more of Hobart than expected if we had done on our own. We returned to several sites later in our own time. Port Arthur tour is a full day. We didn't rush around, visiting only half the site before sitting down for an awesome lunch in the cafe before boat and Isle of the dead tours. Looking forward to return visit to complete tour.
Both drivers were also our tour guides and where knowledgeable and informative with both history and local topics providing excellent commentary. Both captains cannot praise enough. Highly recommend both bus tours.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

Mrs Coral A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I am sure I have already rated this trio! However to repeat, it was excellent. A great day tour of Port Arthur, the isle of the dead and the Tasman Gorge. Very good driver full of both information and jokes. A great day out.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

LYNDA J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent, could have done with more time at Port Arthur

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

anne-marie s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

a wonderful day. boat trip very exciting. saw a couple of pods of dolphins. port arthur has so much to see. will be definitely going back there.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Anne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Hobart half day sightseeing tour was very good value. We had enough time at each sight to see everything that the tour director/bus driver had mentioned in his preview.
Port Arthur Tour was a great day trip. Sue our tour director was very friendly and helpful with lots of information, this added to our enjoyment of the day. AG

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

Jo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was fantatstic. Started off with hr bus trip, simple m/tea at quiet local shop, back in the bus and off to the boat. Boat only held 33 people, was open air speed boat type of thing and full length rain coats were supplied given you are going to get slightly wet. Was freezing out on water - rug up - even on a 25 degree day. Lots of kodak moments so take the camera. 3hr boat trip ended with very substantial lunch at Port Arthur. Guided walking tour followed about 40mins and then fee time to roam around Port Arthur before return bus trip where the driver kindly dropped off everyone to their accommodation. Long day, really worth it.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely incredible. Great boat team and we were lucky with the weather which allowed us to see parts of the coast that you cant normally get to owing to large ocean swells. Informative, fun and Port Arthur was also great in the afternoon.
Book now!

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Tanya L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Beautiful scenery,speed ride on the boat was fun good information about the site during our trip. A must to do activity. Port Arthur was very interesting site to see.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Vanja Radisic Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wow! That's all I am going to say. Best boat ride we were on - it felt like going back in time, surrounded by those ancient caves and rocks. Port Arthur is impressive, and much larger than we thought. An hour longer would be ideal. Guided walk wasn't great - don't wait for it, just go your own way info is everywhere, read it yourself. Very happy with lunch arrangements.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Rein B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Port Arthur was bigger and better than we expected. John, our bus driver, was one of the best tour guides we've had.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Trisha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really enjoyed both of these tours, the Tram Tour gave a great insight to what Hobart has to offer and the Port Arthur Tour was very educational and a 'must see' tour for all visitors to Tasmania

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

Tracey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

this trip was fantastic, everything was organised to a 't''. The boat trip was informative and very interesting, We went on a really cold day and it was fine with the extra rain suits that the staff gave us. They have beanies and gloves on hand for anyone who needs them as well. The boat staff are lovely and very approachable. So Don't let the weather put you off. Port Arthur was so interesting and the included lunch was really yummy, fudge included! The bus driver was helpful and really knew his local history.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

israel125 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The most fun of the trip! I could not fault the cruise. We had cold and wet weather on our cruise with rain, hail and even snow! But we were prepared, with thermals. But regardless - we were well catered for with the offer of gloves, beanies and the full length rain jackets. Damo, the guide, seemed rough around the edges at first. But as soon as we started he was an absolute champion, with a power of information about the geology, geography and widlife. He delievered it with the perfect amount of dry humour - which kept the moral high considering the conditions.

A good tip is to sit up the front. They do warn you that you may get seasick, with the waves being more pronounced up front, but with seasick tablets, and the offer of ginger tablets it's worth the risk. We had 4/5 meter swells, and normally this would be fairly hairy to contend with, but the 3 x 200hp motor power speedboat it handles the whole thing with ease and confort. They get in really close to the cliffs and even go into a couple of caves, in the boat!

The second part of the trip was not as thrilling as the speedboat cruise, but it was equally as interesting. We arrived at Port Arthur at 1pm, with our lunch waiting. The food was more than enough, with a great salmon roll we had the choice of chicken, vegetarian or salmon, along with several other bit and bites.

Port Arthur was essentilly self-guided, but you can join a walking tour which we did, and a boat cruise. We only made the walking tour, which was enough to get a good history of the place. We finished that and wandered around. I though the silent 'ward' was the coolest. Inlcuding the building and it's history.

I can highly recommend this tour to everyone! It's a must do! And it will give you the best impression of Tasmania! Especially Eaglehawk. I now want to move there!

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Mrs J W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The Tram trip was interesting and showed far more of Hobart than we expected. The driver was knowledgeable and fun and we enjoyed the experience.
Port Arthur was also a really interesting day out. We had an initial talk by a Guide before being let loose to make our own way round the larger than anticipated site. A bit spooky in places but certainly worth a visit with lots of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

jonathan s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Port Arthur was awesome. So tranquil and serene now in contrast to its turbulent past, quite surreal. Tour was amazing, and we did some great sightseeing on the way. Bus driver was very knowledgeable on the local history so the bus trip was interesting and enjoyable. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a fantastic opportunity to experience the history of a place like Port Arthur. The tour from the moment of pickup through to delivery back to the hotel was professional and courteous. The tour driver was A being both knowledgeable and friendly.
Port Arthur itself is wonderful. So much to see and experience. If history is your thing then this is the one tour you must take

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

Debbrae O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a memorable day with a couple of surprise stops on our way to Port Arthur. Our driver was informative and did a good job. The Port Arthur precinct is certainly a must do for a visit to Tasmania. Great day!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Albert Angelo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I love this trip! It's intimate and exciting; the Tasman Peninsula and Island are amazing!!! We also had a close encounter with the dolphins, albatross and fur seals, including the Comanche - sailboat from Sydney. Port Arthur is interesting. Definitely this is a lot better than Milford Sound!!!

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Happybird

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fantastic day. The group was small being a Saturday due to the usual attraction of the Salamanca markets. Morning tea and lunch were both provided and beyond what was expected. The driver for the day 'Phil' was friendly and warm. The boat ride is the best experience and port Arthur beautiful.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Lesley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our "steering wheel attendant and guide for the day" (in his words) was Ian and his local knowledge and sense of humour added greatly to the trip. A descendant of a Port Arthur convict, he had researched widely and could answer any questions. Coach was modern and comfortable, weather perfect for photo opportunity sight seeing stops on the way and the 3-4 hours spent at Port Arthur allowed us to take in all the sights, including a cruise to the Isle of the Dead. Highly recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Labish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Brilliant!. There were a couple of stops along the way that were a complete surprise, probably places we would never have visited ourselves. The commentary on the way to Port Arthur was very informative and there was ample time to look around at all the sites. There were no hiccups with our booking at all.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Noelene A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Most enjoyable full day. Thae coach was small and comfortable and Graeme the driver was very knowledgable of local history and events. Port Arthur was fabulous as always, although the main buikding is in scaffold and not open to the public(you can still see it and they offered us a free photo/postcard )As my friend has a disability walking we made use of the Wombat Buggie service. Both drivers were attentive and full of knowledge and really made our day.I've been to Port Arthur many times and found the storie s facinting and also went to some sites I haven't seen before. My friend loved it. PA is must for any one going to Tassie and if you have limited time I strongly suggest you take this tour(if you had several dys spare its a must to spwend 3-4days on the pennisula as they is alot to see).

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Sue Retallick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow! This tour was fantastic. Got picked up at our hotel. From the moment we left Hobart, the driver gave us a running commentary of what we were passing along the way. Tour included a guided walk and a boat cruise. Delivered back to our hotel at night. I had thought about hiring a car and driving to Port Arthur - glad I didn't because I would have missed so much. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Samantha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I loved this trip. The company running the tour was very professional, and provided good general information and a good history of Tasmania whilst travelling form Hobart to Port Arthur, which wa really interesting.
The tour itself was great. The staff at the historical site were all friendly, and provided a 40 minute tour outlining a brief history of the site and the significant buildings. There was time to explore the site before a 20-30 minute cruise around the harbour, and a bit more exploring time before heading back to Hobart. This is definately a fabulous tour, and I would recommend it to anybody heading to Tasmania. I am a huge history nut, and loved this site, despite the sad history of it, but it was great to learn more about our nations history, and actually seeing where things were happening.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is one of the best tours I have taken. The scenery and wildlife of the Tasman Peninsula speak for themselves, but what made this tour so good were the knowledgable, capable, and friendly staff, especially on the boat portion. One got the idea that the boat crew were truly interested in the subject themselves, and wanted to share their passion with the visitors, making sure to enter the most interesting caves and pointing out the tiniest of wildlife. The Port Arthur site is very interesting and worth a visit; any suggestions I have are for the PA folks themselves, as we were left to the PA guides for the walk-around; there were 70 people in our group at that point and we didn't stay with them. However, we found that on our own, the historical site itself suffers from very poor signage (OK once a person reaches a building, but it's very hard to keep checkiing the rough sketch map instead of reading road signs, even when one knows where one wants to go). This is not viator's fault, but perhaps could pass this on to PA. The PA museum is great; overall, the PA portion was also worth the visit.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message