• USD ($)
  • English
Tasmania’s number one visitor attraction is the former convict settlement of Port Arthur, a ghostly and eerie heritage area just outside Hobart. Built to reform and rehabilitate convicts, Port Arthur was a key part of convict discipline within ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is one of the best tours I have taken. The scenery and wildlife of the Tasman Peninsula speak for themselves, but what made this tour so good were the knowledgable, capable, and friendly staff, especially on the boat portion. One got the idea that the boat crew were truly interested in the subject themselves, and wanted to share their passion with the visitors, making sure to enter the most interesting caves and pointing out the tiniest of wildlife. The Port Arthur site is very interesting and worth a visit; any suggestions I have are for the PA folks themselves, as we were left to the PA guides for the walk-around; there were 70 people in our group at that point and we didn't stay with them. However, we found that on our own, the historical site itself suffers from very poor signage (OK once a person reaches a building, but it's very hard to keep checkiing the rough sketch map instead of reading road signs, even when one knows where one wants to go). This is not viator's fault, but perhaps could pass this on to PA. The PA museum is great; overall, the PA portion was also worth the visit.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Schirelle A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Mum and I had wonderful time. The bus driver Mark was very good, full of useful information on our way to Port Arthur.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Had a great time, both the city tour and Port Arthur tour were great. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. Great value, definitely recommend this company and tour.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A wonderful experience,a very informative driver on the Tour Bus made the day.
Port Arthur was a superb place to visit, the Australian and British penal
system being quite confronting at times. Would be foolish to miss if you are
lucky enough to be visiting Hobart.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Both my tours were excellent. Everything happened when it should have. THe tram tour was lovely as there were only a few of us on the bus so it felt very personal. The driver's (Kevin) knowledge was very in depth, so I learnt a lot in a short time.

The driver on the Port Arthur tour (Kim) was also very good. I like the fact that we were left to our own devices to look wherever we wanted. Hope to come back to Hobart again one day to do more sightseeing. Thank you for a lovely time.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

My trip to the Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site was an excellent introduction to my time in Tasmania. The staff were very friendly and efficient and helped immensely in making the day a very memorable one for me to start my Tasmanian experience.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Had a great day out. Our driver was friendly and informative, and a great sense of humor thrown in which made for a most enjoyable trip. Port Arthur is an amazing place which exceeded my expectations, the buildings, history, landscape are all fascinating. Enjoyed the film on the way home about the ghosts of Port Arthur, great way to round off the whole experience. If youre in Hobart do not miss a day trip to Port Arthur.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

An excellent tour, with great tour commentary, around a lovely city. A great way to get a sense of Hobart. Port Arthur Tour was also excellent. Great commentary, plenty of time at the site to explore and understand the history. Port Arthur is a beautiful spot, contrasted with some serious and grim history. A lovely bus tour there and back, with some stops along the way at points of interest. A gret tour for those on a short time frame, or wanting to get a quick sense of what else to see in Hobart.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour with Eco focused company. Went out into the Southern Ocean to visit the Tasman peninsula. Also was lucky enough to see dolphins and seals! The guides were knowledgeable and allowed plenty of time to capture photo's. Combining this with Port Arthur is a great way to maximise the day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I really enjoyed this tour, it's a great way to see Port Arthur. The bus driver was informative on the drive down and gave advice on the 'must sees' which helped to work out where to go first. Don't miss the Separate Prison and the Commandants House which have restored and give a good example the life at Port Arthur. The walking tour of the Isle of the Dead was also a great way to hear more about the convicts and their lives.

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Day trip to Tasman Peninsula was absolutely killing. Cruise was a highlight. It was a real magic to see all those fantastic rocks from the sea, beautiful seals in their natural habitat and whales with calves migrating to Antarctic. The captain of a vessel and his beautiful assistant Yanni were very nice and knowledgeable, it was a real pleasure to travel with them. Thank you, guys, for this unforgettable experience!
The second part - lunch (hot soupe plus huge sandwich plus cookies plus fruit) and port Arthur was very good too. Also, our tour guide was super kind to bring us directly to the airport (as it was on our way back to Hobart) and save us time and money.
All in all, fantastic tour I strongly recommend to everyone. The only advice is to take some seasickness pills if you suffer from it, as the speed boat can be quite tough on a high waves.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Both my Mother and I had a very enjoyable day at Port Arthur. The bus left promptly and the journey down very informative and pleasant. Tour of Port Arthur very interesting as was the short trip on the ferry. There was enough time to wander about and I can highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The Port Arthur Tour was my second visit and one highly recommended. It's a place that's very special and you feel the history and presence of 'convicts past' as you walk around the very large site. There's too much to do in one day (hence my return visit after many years). The drive from Hobart showed the effects of the Summer's bushfires and the devastation caused but nature was already re-establishing itself and many houses were in the process of being re-built. The tour was very good value and if you're interested in Social History (like myself), a 'must' to have an insight into Tasmania's past.
The Coach Tram Tour of Hobart was an extra and, although a novel experience, a bit disappointing. The tram was 'off-road' which meant having a minibus alternative, but the advantage of this is, we had access to the narrow streets of Battery Point, a significant historical part of the city. A visit to the Botanical Gardens was wonderful. Overall the tour was fine as an introduction to the sights and sounds of Hobart!

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Fantastic tour, very informative tour guide, Port Arthur well worth the trip, amazing history, definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Combines the highlights of Hobart and the history of Port Arthur and Tasmania. Tour guides were fun and gave excellent commentaries along the way. Recommend this value for money tour.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message