From the weekend market of Salamanca Place to cute colonial Battery Point, the call of the sea and colonial history are never far from mind in the yachties’ haven of Hobart. The Georgian warehouses lining Sullivans Cove form the focus of Hobart’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 496 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour was great with a really friendly, informative guide. Rob I think his name was. We also saw some cool wildlife on the drive there and also at Port Arthur itself. Concentrates solely on the convict past of PA and the way the building are lit is a bit eerie. Great night.

Doing what: Best Port Arthur Ghost Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a wonderful way to see Bruny Island. Thank you Aaron for your amazing knowledge and delightful way of imparting that to us. We loved every minute of it.We would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking about visiting Bruny Island.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A delightful day with a small group of fellow tourists and an enthusiastic and knowledgable guide. Difficult to imagine how it could be bettered.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you only do one tour in Hobart this is the tour to do. Highly recommend could not fault it at all . We will be doing this again on our next visit to Hobart.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour as a shore excursion, we got to see most of this lovely town in a few hours.

Doing what: Best Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour, well worth the money, guide excellent

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

israel125
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The most fun of the trip! I could not fault the cruise. We had cold and wet weather on our cruise with rain, hail and even snow! But we were prepared, with thermals. But regardless - we were well catered for with the offer of gloves, beanies and the full length rain jackets. Damo, the guide, seemed rough around the edges at first. But as soon as we started he was an absolute champion, with a power of information about the geology, geography and widlife. He delievered it with the perfect amount of dry humour - which kept the moral high considering the conditions.

A good tip is to sit up the front. They do warn you that you may get seasick, with the waves being more pronounced up front, but with seasick tablets, and the offer of ginger tablets it's worth the risk. We had 4/5 meter swells, and normally this would be fairly hairy to contend with, but the 3 x 200hp motor power speedboat it handles the whole thing with ease and confort. They get in really close to the cliffs and even go into a couple of caves, in the boat!

The second part of the trip was not as thrilling as the speedboat cruise, but it was equally as interesting. We arrived at Port Arthur at 1pm, with our lunch waiting. The food was more than enough, with a great salmon roll we had the choice of chicken, vegetarian or salmon, along with several other bit and bites.

Port Arthur was essentilly self-guided, but you can join a walking tour which we did, and a boat cruise. We only made the walking tour, which was enough to get a good history of the place. We finished that and wandered around. I though the silent 'ward' was the coolest. Inlcuding the building and it's history.

I can highly recommend this tour to everyone! It's a must do! And it will give you the best impression of Tasmania! Especially Eaglehawk. I now want to move there!

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent! Friendly, informative and comprehensive. Far more than i could have seen on my own and a great way to see Hobart and orientate yourself quickly. Well worth it.

Doing what: Best Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Simply Amazing tour, I would recommend this

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic - Great scenery on cruise. Fantastic staff.
Port Arthur was very interesting.
Recommend this trip

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Lovely day. MONA was very interesting. Lunch was tasty. Winery tour very informative.

Doing what: Moorilla Estate Winery Tour Including Wine Tasting, Lunch and MONA Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Person who have sea sickness must be aware depending on weather

Doing what: Full-Day Tasman Peninsula Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Such a great introduction to our holiday and to Hobart! 'Captain Nigel' was a font of knowledge and several cheesy jokes but that just added to the experience : Got to see some lovely architecture, the Female Factory, Cascades and the Botanic Gardens to name a few spots. Well worth it and highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Judy, our guide, was fabulous! Wealth of knowledge, great humour but also displayed sensitivity to both children and adults in the tour group. Learned a great deal about the site and about the 'justice' that was handed out during the time it was operational.

If you are uneasy with confined spaces and steep stairs, this may not be for you but if you can get past those feelings, you will not regret taking this tour. Tip - make sure you have warm clothing if you take the tour during Winter as some parts of the tour are rather chilly.

Well worth the entry fee and highly recommended!

Doing what: The Tench: Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site Guided Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent! One of the highlights of our trip.

Doing what: Full-Day Tasman Peninsula Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour and a must-do for first time visitors to Hobart. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the area and the history. Plenty of stops along the way for photos and a walk around.

Doing what: Best Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I didn't expect the weather to hold up for us, but it did. It started magnificently with a view of the sunrise from the departing feery wharf. The tour guide Ben was awesome, so enthusiastic and chilled out at the same time. He gave us great stories along the way and made the experience amazing!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thank you Ben for your guidance around Bruny Island. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Friendliness of tour driver

Doing what: Best Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, both drivers/guides we had were very knowledgeable about the areas we visited great tours.

Doing what: Best Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message