From the weekend market of Salamanca Place to cute colonial Battery Point, the call of the sea and colonial history are never far from mind in the yachties’ haven of Hobart. The Georgian warehouses lining Sullivans Cove form the focus of Hobart’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 437 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jet
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend this tour as it is a great way to appreciate the variety that a trip to Hobart has to offer. Driving out of Hobart and passing the beautiful suburbs of Hobart and listening to the commentary of Tim, our very knowledgeable driver/guide, one can feel the pride that residents have on their island and community. Learning about the history and prominent features of the small towns even before experiencing the ferry ride was already a treat. The ferry trip itself was orderly, short and picturesque.

Then we get to the island and we learn of the indigenous people that used to occupy the twin islands. Interesting story but sad as well. A lot of lessons for visitors.

The relatively flat North Island contrasted with the rugged South Island. The isthmus connecting them is something to behold and the lookout point is worth the many steps it takes to reach it. Be prepared for windy and chilly conditions. Take the iconic pictures and move on. There are more treats to follow.

Driving on the gravel and sandy roads of the islands was not really as expected. There were no potholes and it was as smooth as driving on paved roads. Going over the mountain from the East to the West side of the island was interesting. No signs of civilisation for many kilometres on single lane gravel roads could be unnerving but it was exciting and expertly and safely managed by Tim. Along the way, we spied wallabies, including the albino ones.

Continuing the trip, we were treated to fantastic bays and coves, picturesque towns and, of course the old light station. All worth taking out the big cameras for wide and tele shots. We were lucky with the weather, but in poor conditions, it would probably be very windy and chilly.

After the feast for the eyes, it was time for the feast for the stomach, and the tour did not disappoint. The lunch at the Bruny Hotel was superb and the various tasting stops in the afternoon, particularly the oysters, completed the tour. Excellent!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic trip the gallery, food and wine great fun. Staff helpful, knowledgable.

Doing what: Moorilla Estate Winery Tour Including Wine Tasting, Lunch and MONA Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a fun day and the driver was very informative and knew the history well. He was on time to collect us in a very clean small bus.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great day. The pick up was easy to arrange and on time, it was a small group of 9. The places visited were interesting and the food sampled on the trip was first rate.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Hev
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was great, lovely day and wonderful views of Hobart, a very enjoyable experience..

Doing what: Seaplane Tour over Hobart and River Derwent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A very professionally organised tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a wonderful tour led by our amazingly knowledgeable and friendly guide Tim. There was a good mix of sightseeing and food, The day started with an early morning ferry crossing followed by morning tea at Berry Farm. A couple of hours sightseeing included a lot of historical interest a well as the natural beauty of Bruny Island. The gourmet part started around 11.30 with a wine tasting, followed by a delicious lunch and visits to local specialists - chocolate and fudge, cheeses, oysters, ice cream, relishes and pates, more chocolate and whisky. I couldn't have managed another morsel. This tour really is a must

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The your was fantastic and that was because Ben our tour guide was so informative. I was amazed at how much he knew and how interesting it made the tour.
Thanks Ben

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day, sight seeing, a great tour guide and local produce combined to make this a must do tour

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Value for money - excellent. Our tour guide was excellent, knowledgeable, had a clear speaking voice, polite, friendly, all one would wish for from a guide. The tastings were interesting, lunch at the hotel tasty, and loved the chocolate tasting to finish the tour. A very pleasant day for our group.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I enjoyed this tour. Desk staff and driver was very friendly and knowledgeable. Thank you so much lovely time in Hobar.

Doing what: Hobart City Sightseeing Tour Including MONA Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Ian was the tour guide and knew absolutely everything about the history of Hobart. The tour exceeded my expectations. Loved the tram bus and thoroughly enjoyed every site visited. Highly recommend this tour. Thanks. Carol

Doing what: Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The Tram trip was interesting and showed far more of Hobart than we expected. The driver was knowledgeable and fun and we enjoyed the experience.
Port Arthur was also a really interesting day out. We had an initial talk by a Guide before being let loose to make our own way round the larger than anticipated site. A bit spooky in places but certainly worth a visit with lots of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Runnymede Historic House and Garden Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message