From the weekend market of Salamanca Place to cute colonial Battery Point, the call of the sea and colonial history are never far from mind in the yachties’ haven of Hobart. The Georgian warehouses lining Sullivans Cove form the focus of Hobart’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 415 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jet
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I highly recommend this tour as it is a great way to appreciate the variety that a trip to Hobart has to offer. Driving out of Hobart and passing the beautiful suburbs of Hobart and listening to the commentary of Tim, our very knowledgeable driver/guide, one can feel the pride that residents have on their island and community. Learning about the history and prominent features of the small towns even before experiencing the ferry ride was already a treat. The ferry trip itself was orderly, short and picturesque.

Then we get to the island and we learn of the indigenous people that used to occupy the twin islands. Interesting story but sad as well. A lot of lessons for visitors.

The relatively flat North Island contrasted with the rugged South Island. The isthmus connecting them is something to behold and the lookout point is worth the many steps it takes to reach it. Be prepared for windy and chilly conditions. Take the iconic pictures and move on. There are more treats to follow.

Driving on the gravel and sandy roads of the islands was not really as expected. There were no potholes and it was as smooth as driving on paved roads. Going over the mountain from the East to the West side of the island was interesting. No signs of civilisation for many kilometres on single lane gravel roads could be unnerving but it was exciting and expertly and safely managed by Tim. Along the way, we spied wallabies, including the albino ones.

Continuing the trip, we were treated to fantastic bays and coves, picturesque towns and, of course the old light station. All worth taking out the big cameras for wide and tele shots. We were lucky with the weather, but in poor conditions, it would probably be very windy and chilly.

After the feast for the eyes, it was time for the feast for the stomach, and the tour did not disappoint. The lunch at the Bruny Hotel was superb and the various tasting stops in the afternoon, particularly the oysters, completed the tour. Excellent!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

Hev
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was great, lovely day and wonderful views of Hobart, a very enjoyable experience..

Doing what: Seaplane Tour over Hobart and River Derwent

Anthony
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We took this trip on 7th Feb 2015 in the afternoon. Our guide looked after our group during the tour of the Chapel well and provided plenty of information about the Prison, the staff and the inmates. Again we considered that we had good value for money. When we arrived the place was shut but it did open on time and our small group were given a splendid walk round the site.

Doing what: The Tench: Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site Guided Walking Tour

Jet
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This is a good introductory tour of Perth, something to do immediately upon arrival. Sit close to the driver/guide and listen to the commentaries. Ask as many questions as you can. If you have not read up on Hobart, ask about the history, how it was established, named, defining moments, etc. Quite interesting. There are only a few stops in the tour, so be ready with your camera and shoot on auto and quickly. If you need more time on each stop, for exploring or taking pictures, you may opt for the hop-on, hop-off tour. That of course will be on a big double decker bus with tons of people. This tour is small, more intimate and compact and can navigate the smaller roads. We enjoyed our introduction to Hobart.

Doing what: Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic day!
My only frustration was all the 'reminder emails' from Viator, which I could not process/print (I was travelling in the days immediately ahead of this day trip). After I made telephone contact with the operator, there was no further need for these frustrating emails.

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was an amazing experience, chasing Syd-Hob Yachts up the Derwent and landing on the race finish line was incredible I would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Seaplane Tour over Hobart and River Derwent

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Andy, was really friendly and helpful. The tour was well planned and went very smoothly. The places are all worth visiting and we love Bruny Island

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

OMG! Was the most amazing trip, Phil and the other guides were Superb! I can't imagine not having done this trip! Trust me the views, the aquatic life and the guides made this trip one I will cherish for the rest of my life!

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great day, very nice tourguide, perfect organisation, wonderful island and awesome food!! We definitely recommend the tour!

Doing what: Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This Viator tour was excellent and definitely value for money.

Doing what: Moorilla Estate Winery Tour Including Wine Tasting, Lunch and MONA Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Although there was some confusion initially with the buses, the tour was very enjoyable and informative. The ideal way to spend a very wet morning in Hobart.

Doing what: Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My husband and I went over to Mona for the day on the ferry and it was perfect! We started early in the morning and spent all day enjoying the whole experience. We loved the gallery and all the diversity it had to offer. The wine tasting session was so enlightening and our guide was extraordinary. Lunch was so tasty and the staff were completely welcoming and accommodating. We recommend anyone go to Mona on this package. It's one we will cherish.

Doing what: Moorilla Estate Winery Tour Including Wine Tasting, Lunch and MONA Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was really good, there's lots to see and are given ample time to fit it all in.

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour driver excellent communicator and very pleasant personality.

Doing what: Hobart Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was extremely enjoyable. Unfortunately we were only in Hobart for the day, due to the fact that we were on a cruise ship. The weather was wet all day so the tour was great as it kept us dry whilst we enjoyed the city sites.

Doing what: Hobart Half-Day Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message