Just outside Hobart, Australia’s second-oldest city and farthest south capital, sits the historic convict settlement of Port Arthur. Chances are, if your travels bring you to Tasmania, you’ll want to visit this top attraction. The open air museum, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Port Arthur was awesome. So tranquil and serene now in contrast to its turbulent past, quite surreal. Tour was amazing, and we did some great sightseeing on the way. Bus driver was very knowledgeable on the local history so the bus trip was interesting and enjoyable. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a fantastic opportunity to experience the history of a place like Port Arthur. The tour from the moment of pickup through to delivery back to the hotel was professional and courteous. The tour driver was A being both knowledgeable and friendly.
Port Arthur itself is wonderful. So much to see and experience. If history is your thing then this is the one tour you must take

Doing what: Grand Historical Port Arthur Walking Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a memorable day with a couple of surprise stops on our way to Port Arthur. Our driver was informative and did a good job. The Port Arthur precinct is certainly a must do for a visit to Tasmania. Great day!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I love this trip! It's intimate and exciting; the Tasman Peninsula and Island are amazing!!! We also had a close encounter with the dolphins, albatross and fur seals, including the Comanche - sailboat from Sydney. Port Arthur is interesting. Definitely this is a lot better than Milford Sound!!!

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fantastic day. The group was small being a Saturday due to the usual attraction of the Salamanca markets. Morning tea and lunch were both provided and beyond what was expected. The driver for the day 'Phil' was friendly and warm. The boat ride is the best experience and port Arthur beautiful.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our "steering wheel attendant and guide for the day" (in his words) was Ian and his local knowledge and sense of humour added greatly to the trip. A descendant of a Port Arthur convict, he had researched widely and could answer any questions. Coach was modern and comfortable, weather perfect for photo opportunity sight seeing stops on the way and the 3-4 hours spent at Port Arthur allowed us to take in all the sights, including a cruise to the Isle of the Dead. Highly recommend this day trip!

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Brilliant!. There were a couple of stops along the way that were a complete surprise, probably places we would never have visited ourselves. The commentary on the way to Port Arthur was very informative and there was ample time to look around at all the sites. There were no hiccups with our booking at all.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Most enjoyable full day. Thae coach was small and comfortable and Graeme the driver was very knowledgable of local history and events. Port Arthur was fabulous as always, although the main buikding is in scaffold and not open to the public(you can still see it and they offered us a free photo/postcard )As my friend has a disability walking we made use of the Wombat Buggie service. Both drivers were attentive and full of knowledge and really made our day.I've been to Port Arthur many times and found the storie s facinting and also went to some sites I haven't seen before. My friend loved it. PA is must for any one going to Tassie and if you have limited time I strongly suggest you take this tour(if you had several dys spare its a must to spwend 3-4days on the pennisula as they is alot to see).

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow! This tour was fantastic. Got picked up at our hotel. From the moment we left Hobart, the driver gave us a running commentary of what we were passing along the way. Tour included a guided walk and a boat cruise. Delivered back to our hotel at night. I had thought about hiring a car and driving to Port Arthur - glad I didn't because I would have missed so much. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I loved this trip. The company running the tour was very professional, and provided good general information and a good history of Tasmania whilst travelling form Hobart to Port Arthur, which wa really interesting.
The tour itself was great. The staff at the historical site were all friendly, and provided a 40 minute tour outlining a brief history of the site and the significant buildings. There was time to explore the site before a 20-30 minute cruise around the harbour, and a bit more exploring time before heading back to Hobart. This is definately a fabulous tour, and I would recommend it to anybody heading to Tasmania. I am a huge history nut, and loved this site, despite the sad history of it, but it was great to learn more about our nations history, and actually seeing where things were happening.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is one of the best tours I have taken. The scenery and wildlife of the Tasman Peninsula speak for themselves, but what made this tour so good were the knowledgable, capable, and friendly staff, especially on the boat portion. One got the idea that the boat crew were truly interested in the subject themselves, and wanted to share their passion with the visitors, making sure to enter the most interesting caves and pointing out the tiniest of wildlife. The Port Arthur site is very interesting and worth a visit; any suggestions I have are for the PA folks themselves, as we were left to the PA guides for the walk-around; there were 70 people in our group at that point and we didn't stay with them. However, we found that on our own, the historical site itself suffers from very poor signage (OK once a person reaches a building, but it's very hard to keep checkiing the rough sketch map instead of reading road signs, even when one knows where one wants to go). This is not viator's fault, but perhaps could pass this on to PA. The PA museum is great; overall, the PA portion was also worth the visit.

Doing what: Day Trip to Tasman Peninsula and Port Arthur Historic Site from Hobart

Schirelle A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Mum and I had wonderful time. The bus driver Mark was very good, full of useful information on our way to Port Arthur.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Had a great time, both the city tour and Port Arthur tour were great. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. Great value, definitely recommend this company and tour.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A wonderful experience,a very informative driver on the Tour Bus made the day.
Port Arthur was a superb place to visit, the Australian and British penal
system being quite confronting at times. Would be foolish to miss if you are
lucky enough to be visiting Hobart.

Doing what: Port Arthur Tour from Hobart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Both my tours were excellent. Everything happened when it should have. THe tram tour was lovely as there were only a few of us on the bus so it felt very personal. The driver's (Kevin) knowledge was very in depth, so I learnt a lot in a short time.

The driver on the Port Arthur tour (Kim) was also very good. I like the fact that we were left to our own devices to look wherever we wanted. Hope to come back to Hobart again one day to do more sightseeing. Thank you for a lovely time.

Doing what: Tasmania Super Saver: Hobart Sightseeing Coach Tram Tour plus Port Arthur Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message