• USD ($)
  • English
The Big Buddha (Tian Tan Buddha), located on Lantau Island, has the very specific distinction of being the largest outdoor seated bronze Buddha on earth. Including its podium and lotus flower, the entire statue stands 112 feet (34 meters) tall. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 134 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour! we were taken by boat across to Lantau Island then in a very nice air conditioned comfortable bus to see the HUGE Buddha - we also visited the Po Lin Monastery and had a vegetarian lunch there included in the tour - went to the Pass Tai O fishing village and saw traditional houses on stilts - we loved the 25-minute sky rail cable car to Tung Chung town- one of the highlights of the trip - awesome view so high up! In all a really good tour
•Enjoy a vegetarian lunch at the monastery

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing. I highly recommend the tour. They were in our hotel on time to pick us up. The bus was great and comfortable. We truly enjoyed the tour guide. She was very professional and knowledgeable of the area and gave us a great deal of information. The big buddha is really impressive. The lunch at the Monastery was delicious. The cable car drive back was beautiful. This is a great tour and we were very impressed with Viator. all the tours we took were great. I highly recommend Viator. Thank you for doing such a good job.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was well run. After hotel pickups we had to transfer to another bus which was late arriving but no big deal. We enjoyed the ferry ride to the island. Our guide was very knowledgable. My only criticism of thr day is that we had to rush a couple of times, for example at the fishing village and viewing the Big Buddha. That said, we were on a fairly tight schedule to fit everything in. Our escort on the final bus back from the cable car (which by the way was excellent,) to our hotel showed us how to use the underground. This was very helpful as we became very proficient at using public transport following her instructions. Would definitely recommend the tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great experience. Island is so very different to Hong Kong yet right next door! Our guide lived on Lantau and he had great pride in his community. Everyone was picked up at their hotels in Kowloon and put on one bus. You cross over to the Hong Kong side and take a nice short ferry ride over to Lantau. Once you arrive you get on a smaller bus. The highlight of the trip was stopping at the small fishing village to see and understand how people still live a simple life like their ancestors. The trip to the Big Buddha was outstanding. The Chinese government has made a beautiful shrine and grounds for locals and visitors alike. The vegetarian meal was fresh and acceptable. Those who didn't want to eat it were directed to a couple of fast foods available - Subway and Starbucks. The grand finale on the cable car back to Hong Kong had an amazing view. Even though we had a foggy overcast day it was an experience! You really see how big the new airport is and get a great view descending into Hong Kong. The whole trip was not exerting and was very relaxing and informative. NOTE: there is NO shopping unless you want to buy dried fish!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour of island, the monastery and Buddha , nice mix of by land and by sea , our guide very knowledgable and genuine and warm- and cable car ride perfect end with great views and a thrilling ride- highly recommend

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We only had two days in Hong Kong we did this trip and went on the Peak Tram, also highly recommend. This trip was well organised with pick up from our hotel, very professional. The guide was well informed and local person from Lantau. He was full of information and knowledge. The first stop at the beach is just break really, quick drink and an Ice Cream. Then on to the fishing village, to a European some of the food on sale looks very weird, not something I would eat. Then there was a short trip on the boat to wooden houses, interesting,how do people live on them. Then back the village for some interesting history and visit to the court house that is a bit like a temple, lots of photo opportunities there. Then of to the the Big Buddha, you have to see the amazing structure to believe it, worth the cost of the trip on its own. All I can say is WoW. Then there was the vegetarian meal, I kids you not if I could make food like that I'd be veggie tomorrow loads of it and delicious. You then have time to stroll around the site before the wonderful chair lift, great day, if there is one thing you do in Hong Kong do this,I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a superb trip which met and even exceeded our expectations. It offered a great variety of experiences, from the fishing village of Tai O, with its quaint houses on stilts, to the magnificent Giant Buddha and Po Lin monastery. We also enjoyed spectacular views both from the peaks and also from the cable car- the longest such ride we have ever experienced. The trip was enhanced by a knowledgeable local guide (Ben) who brought a personal flavour to the outing. A very memorable outing, well worth the money.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Really enjoyed this tour, especially since I've visited Hong Kong many times. The knowledge that our tour guide, Ben, had was very educational. I did not know the history or current conditions of Lantau Island. The cable car was amazing and appreciated that we did not have to climb the 284 steps to the Buddha in the heat!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

great day out, Buddha was huge, just like photo. meal served was excellent .

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Loved it. Big Buddha was a great sight. Enjoyed the veggie meal at monastery . Cable car was amazing.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fantastic tour. Our guide and driver were locals from the Tai O Fishing Village,and were known by everyone. Their passion for the island and their ability to tell its story was enthralling . The day we were there the Giant Buddha was shrouded in cloud which made this amazing idol even more mystical. The island is covered with lush vegetation and a large population of cows abandoned by previous farmers,deer and water buffalo, they roam freely, all protected. The island is a paradise, and just across the water from Hong Kong, it's a "must do".

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour, shame it was rainy on the day but nothing could dampen the raw beauty of Lantau island. Excellent vegetarian lunch and visit to the Buddha. Loved visiting Tai O fishing village - very interesting market and gorgeous scenery. Magical ride on the gondola at the end of the tour. Highly recommended - so different from Hong Kong Island and Kowloon.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

After a stunning cable car ride (approx 6.5 Km) across Hong Kong harbour and two mountain peaks you arrive at Po Lin monastery and the sight of the second largest outdoor Buddha in the world, standing 34 mtr high and weighing 250 tonnes, surrounded at the base by the Buddist Temple at the mountain top . Please remember this is a religeous shrine and it begs respect and reverence for the numerous pilgrims at this holy shrine. Peace and serenity abound .

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This tour which is run by a local tour company, Lantau Tours, was really excellent. Ryan, our guide, is a Lantau native and has a real passion for his island. The narrative was both informative and, at times hilarious, Ryan really is entertaining and knowledgable. The tour starts with a relaxing ferry trip to one end of Lantau then a bus drive to a beachside pit stop then on to one of the few remaining traditional fishing villages. This stop included a short boat ride through the village, this was particularly poingnant as we passed some of the stilt houses that had burnt down only a couple of nights before. Back on the bus and a very scenic drive over the island to the Giant Buddha. Instead of walking up to the Buddha the bus dropped the group off at the top allowing for a more leisurely walk down to the Ning Ping Monastery for lunch (Ryan even organised for the bus to wait at the top car park to drive one passenger with a baby and another two with mobility problems back down after touring the Buddha, since he considered the walk down too difficult). The vegetarian lunch was delicious and very filling. The final highlight of the tour was the cable car ride down from the Giant Buddha site to North Lantau. This was fantastic, the ride is about 5 kms long up and down over peaks and valleys with a fantastic view of the new Hong Kong airport at the end. This is a great tour, Ryan is a wonderful guide and made the trip a highlight of my Hong Kong holiday.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

J S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Met at Hotel and taken to transfer point to meet up with local rep from Lantau, Ryan. Ryan was fabulous full of interesting facts and information about the local area aswell as Hong Kong as a whole. Highlight was the fishing village with short boat trip to view around houses on stilts (see how the 'real' people live) The Buddha is impressive and Ryan explained fully the religious significance so we could appreciate the history and impact this has on their culture. Cablecar ride rounded the day off nicely - magnificent views. The trip was well thought through and is definitely worth experiencing.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message