Hong Kong ATTRACTIONS See all

Cheung Chau Island

One of Hong Kong’s many charms is the variety of experiences in the immediate vicinity of a major international metropolis. As you’re wandering through the sleepy fishing villages or lazing the day away on the sandy beaches of Cheung Chau Island, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Very good tour, the tour guide Ming, was excellent.

Doing what: Cheung Chau (Long Island) Tour with Dim Sum lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour was really good, we were a family of three who had the guide to ourselves. Ming told us more than we could find in a book about the history and culture of the people on the island and other relevant facts about the Chinese in general. I would recomend this to anyone who wants to see the real deal in a small village not the tourist hot spots that dont let you experience anothers way of life.

Doing what: Cheung Chau (Long Island) Tour with Dim Sum lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Excellent tour we were the only ones on the trip so received excellent service throughout

Doing what: Cheung Chau (Long Island) Tour with Dim Sum lunch

Miwa K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I highly recommend this tour. The local guide was friendly, efficient and good hearted. I enjoyed the sampan ride very much. The only downside was that the lunch was not very appetizing but you can buy buns at bakeries on the back streets.

Doing what: Cheung Chau (Long Island) Tour with Dim Sum lunch

Malcolm P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

We had a great time on this trip. Got some great pointers about shopping and way of life in Hong Kong and China. We had a great guide.

Doing what: Kowloon and New Territories Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent trip around Cheung Chau Island. Lunch was delicious and the guide was very informative.

Doing what: Cheung Chau (Long Island) Tour with Dim Sum lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Good and knowledable guide, interesting sites,my teenage children found it all very interesting.

I would highly recommend for those who like asking questions

Doing what: Kowloon and New Territories Tour

Jim
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Very informative. The local staff were great

Doing what: Kowloon and New Territories Tour

Christopher B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Had a local tour guide from Cheung Chau who was very proud of his small part of the world. Easy to understand with a lovely demeanour. Our guide took us to a small cramped 2 storey restaurant, where he asked us what we wanted to try and then had it ordered. The food was served quickly. It was tasty, but we were all very conscious of the fact we didn't want to get ill, so we all used the hot green tea (supplied free) to wash our small bowls before putting the food into it. It was an experience one must try, and we can happily report, no-one out of the 4 in our group were ill. The place was also full of locals, which is a good sign.

Doing what: Cheung Chau (Long Island) Tour with Dim Sum lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Very interesting experience-good guide.

Doing what: Kowloon and New Territories Tour

Allan S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

I've spent a lot of time in Hong Kong over the years, but never visited some smaller islands. So I took an organized tour. In this case there were only three people on this tour myself, my partner, and another Australian woman, plus our tour guide. Well organized, punctual, and interesting history given of the island by our very friendly and pleasant tour guide. It was absolutely no fault of the tour guide, but it was very humid always at this time of year, so the tour could not be enjoyed to its fullest, simply because it's a walking tour of the island. I would recommend that it would be better to take this tour in the cooler months of maybe October November, or February March, unless you enjoy walking in high humidity. The included Dim Sum lunch was pleasant but don't expect 5-Star at a regular and fortunately air conditioned local restaurant. It seemed a pity and somewhat sad that our tour guide was not able, maybe not allowed ,to join the three of us for lunch. We almost felt somewhat embarrassed that he apparently although he did not indicate so, it's my assumption he was not supposed to eat with his guests. Seemed a bit strange to the three of us, and would have been a more pleasant lunch had he been able to join us. Never-the-less, it was a worthwhile and interesting 6 hour trip, we could have stayed longer on the island had we wished, but we all just wanted to get back into the air conditioned ferry back to Hong Kong, to a car-less island, where bicycles seem to be the main means of transport.

Doing what: Cheung Chau (Long Island) Tour with Dim Sum lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

Nice tour and nice guide. Interesting stops - including a viewpoint to see Mainland China. Good commentary including a lot of information on everyday life in Hong Kong past and present.

Doing what: Kowloon and New Territories Tour

Raymond B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

As there was nobody else booked on this trip we had our own tour guide! He was extremely helpful and informative and we enjoyed seeing a different part of Hong Kong.

Doing what: Kowloon and New Territories Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Excellent tour. Interesting and informative guide. Lunch was great.

Doing what: Cheung Chau (Long Island) Tour with Dim Sum lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message