• USD ($)
  • English

Hong Kong ATTRACTIONS See all

Happy Valley Racecourse

The British handed over sovereignty of Hong Kong in 1997, but cultural vestiges remain. One of the most prevalent is horse racing, and the best place to see it in Hong Kong is at the Happy Valley Racecourse on Hong Kong Island. The sport has a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Would give this tour 6 stars if we could! We had a fantastic day and were treated like royalty from start to finish. We were in a corporate box with a delicious buffet and unlimited drinks. Even if you know nothing about horses you will have lots of fun and our very friendly guide, Shoo, was always on hand to help with placing bets. This is one of the best Viator tours that we have ever done!

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

To finish our trip with this tour was absolutely perfect. I will recommend this trip to anyone, well organised and tremendous value for money. Stunning experience. We met people from where my wife and I were born and to top it off, one played golf with my brother every week. Don't miss out, do this tour.

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great night out ... very well arranged from pick up to drop off. The vistors area and buffet dinner was fantastic ... getting the opportunity to be close to the track and horses was also very enjoyable. A must do when visiting Hong Kong

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide picked us up promptly, and gave us lots of useful information on the way to the race track. We were expecting lunch and one free drink when we arrived but actually it was free beer and wine the whole time we were there. The food was really nice, a mix of Chinese and Western type food in a self service buffet - eat as much as you like. The race course itself was fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed our day. It was great value for money.

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were in Hong Kong for 8 nights and this was certainly one of the highlights of our holiday. Not being into gambling or even horse racing we had seen this on T.V. in the past and thought we would give it a go. How pleased we were that we did. The evening went like clockwork from the pick up to the drop off and the hospitality we enjoyed was second to none. The food was an excellent standard and the drinks never stopped flowing. We were fortunate to be seated on a table where everyone was there to enjoy themselves and we made some friends whom we will never forget. The horse racing is a spectacle not to be missed even if it's not your cup of tea...it's a flood lit race course in the middle of a metropolis....the photograph's you take alone are worth it. The trip even included a walk around the paddock before a race and a standing position right on the finishing post for the same race.To cap it all off we had winners from 5 of the 8 races....not bad to say we weren't into horse racing or gambling. if you don't want to gamble that's fine...there's no pressure at all. go for the experience....you won't be disappointed !

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great night. The dinner was buffet style and the red wine flowed. We met some great people. Loved going down near the horses. Had a few successful flutters.

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A wonderful night and an amazing experience, we had a great time with a great table of people.

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Well worth a visit to happy Valley, enjoyable evening well organised . Food and drink excellent. Great fun had by all in our party.

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was the best tour, Sha tin races, I would suggest to any one wanting to go the races GO ON A TOUR. We were taken by bus to the racecourse ,we drank and ate all included in the price taken back home by bus Best day ever

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

An excellent event. Was well organised and we were well informed of the happenings of the evening. Would highly recommend the tour and Viator to all.

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour started from our hotel with Shu explaining the finer points of Hong Kong racing, we enjoyed a trip through Kowloon and picked up others for the tours. Upon arrival at Sha Tin we were greeted by staff of the jockey club who escorted us to our visitor box. We thoroughly enjoyed wide variety of food available including dessert and unlimited wine and beer. We also took a tour of the Sha Tin complex. On conclusion of the races we were coached back to our hotel. The tour guide was informative and considerate of all guests. We loved it so much we booked for Happy Valley on the Wednesday!

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

What a brilliant night out. Had a great time, buffet was lovely and the company was terrific. Even won some $ on the races.

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

Myles K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Magnificent night, great company, plenty to eat and drink. Excellent value for money

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

better than expected
been with viator in hong kong and rome will use them again
first class

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Excellent value for money. The buffet meal was 5 star. The view from our balcony was exceptional and the excursion to the parade ring and finishing line was a real treat.

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message