Hong Kong ATTRACTIONS See all

Hong Kong Island

The focus for shopping, eating and sightseeing on Hong Kong Island is Central and Causeway Bay.  Away from Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong Island retains a surprising amount of greenery on the Peak and its mountainous interior, and its coastline is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vincent T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Was able to knock out seeing most of Hong Kong Island in a half day.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Jean T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour provided a good overview of various parts of Hong Kong Island. The trip in the sampan around Aberdeen was enlightening. The time at the jewelry factory could be shortened or eliminated to provide more time in Stanley, allowing time to both shop and have lunch. The views from various roads around the island were stunning, as was the trip to Victoria Peak.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a wonderful morning exploring and eating our way around part of Hong Kong Island. Nathan ran the tour and was both fun and informative. We ate things We would never have tried on our own and were taken places we would never have found. We learnt things about Hong Kong and the locals and we throughly enjoyed ourselves. Would love to do another tour with this guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Hong Kong Island Food Tour

ElizabethD United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An excellent tour covering a lot in half a day. The tour took us all around Hong Kong Island, including a sampan extra but worth it! trip in Aberdeen Harbour, an hour in Stanley overlooking the South China Sea and the iconic tram down from Victoria Peak. The guide was very good and gave us lots of information about Hong Kong and Hong Kong Island throughout the tour. I think this trip is very good value and I recommend it.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Diane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed Dino and the Mongkok Market Tour and Biddy with the Hong Kong Island Tour. They both spoke very good English and took us on a great tour of Hong Kong.

Doing what: Hong Kong Super Saver: Hong Kong Island Tour, Mongkok Market Tour plus Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Day Pass

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A lot of interesting information is given on this tour and a lot is packed in to the 3 hours! You get to see a lot of the city on Hong Kong Island. I had a very vague understanding of Hong Kong's history before I took this tour and afterwards the city becomes even more interesting because of what you learn which enriched my holiday experience. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Historical Walking Tour of Hong Kong

Jonathan Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day! Hong Kong Island is a very beautiful place with lots to do and see.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

DONALD C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A very good way to cover Hong Kong island. Guide was very good and informative. Recommend this one.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

betsy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really interesting to learn about the history of Hong Kong. Hong Kong island is both historically fascinating and beautiful with all the wonderful parks and gorgeous buildings. Great day with Danny--a very interesting and well informed guide who treated us to a fabulous day seeing the city..

Doing what: Small-Group Historical Walking Tour of Hong Kong

Richard P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had an excellent tour and first class tour guide and driver. They were punctual, efficient and informative. This tour represented very good value for money and was an excellent way to see Hong Kong Island in a short space of time.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Ronald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We had a great 1/2 day tour of Hong Kong Island with Viator. Our tour guide Biddy? did a great job, and offered things for us to do after the tour. We usually do not take guided tours, but this was a great opportunity to see what would be difficult for us to do on our own. We got off the bus early, and her suggestions for markets to see in Central HK were great, together with restaurant recommendations, and directions to the Star Ferry that took us back to our hotel that made for a terrific day.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Joyce W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

A wonderful trip around Hong Kong Island with Alex a very interesting and knowledgeable guide .There were only six of us on the tour so it was very personalised. How quickly five hours went!! Highly recommended.Thank you.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Alvin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Our tour guide, Wendy, did a great job intriducing to us the Hong Kong Island. They also picked us up on time at the Kowloon Hotel in Tsim Sha Tsui. Being on time is always good! :) The view at The Peak isn't as great, though, as it was really foggy when we were up there (I think it was a rainy season when we visited Hong Kong). The tour was really fun, laidback and educational. We learned a lot about Hong Kong Island in just a few hours. I would recommend this to all those who would like to learn about its history and culture and if you want to know where to shop. :)

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Allen G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Danny Fung was a great guide. Showed us older portions of Hong Kong island and the new sites.

Doing what: Small-Group Historical Walking Tour of Hong Kong

Andrew M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Very good tour of Hong Kong Island. Our tour guide Steven gave us lots of info on the trip. Stanley market was definitely a good place to visit

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Geoffrey H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was an excellent trip giving a good insight to the Hong Kong Island.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Great overview of Hong Kong Island. The guide was excellent and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Laura H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Good way to see the highlights of Hong Kong island and note where to go back to later when you have more time.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The Hong Kong Island tour was very interesting and provided a variety of things to do. Our tour guide was very informative and gave us lots of good advice about what to do and where to go in Hong Kong.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

roppm

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Convenient way to see sites on Hong Kong Island. Tour guide was interesting and knowledgeable, though at times his accent made him a little hard to understand. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

BOB USA

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

really nice tour to give you an orientation of hong kong island. good starting point to help you decide what you want to do in depth !

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Bill604

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour provided a good introduction to some of the main sites of Hong Kong Island. The trip itinerary was quite accurate. The optional sampan ride for HK60 was worth the price. You ride past the Jumbo Floating Restaurant and see some large yachts moored in the harbour. You also get your photo taken at the end of the sampan ride where you later have the option of buying a souvenir photo package for HK250 which included a china plate and a photo booklet.

The other stops were at a jewelry factory, Stanley Market, and Victoria Peak. The bus took us up to Victoria Peak and afterwards we rode the tram back down to our bus.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Renee L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Pretty good overview of Hong Kong island. Only downside was the visit to a jewelry factory... which was more a visit to a jewelry store where we spent half an hour being encouraged to shop. Also wasn't a fan of the tourist souvenirs we were pushed to buy that the tour group produced... but that is my own fault for being a push-over :-/

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

sjgreen303

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very enjoyable trip around Hong Kong Island. Funny and entertaining guide.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

BethanieKay USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a really great half-day overview of Hong Kong Island, and especially worth it if you have limited time. The tour was very well organized, and the tour guide was informative and funny. I found it to be a great value because the tour takes you to various places around HK island, which saves you from trying to navigate all of those places on your own with the various types of transportation you'd need. It was very smart of the tour-guide to run this tour 'backwards' (so, ending at The Peak vs. starting there), so we didn't have to wait in long lines for the Peak tram. Overall highlights of the tour were the view from the top of Victoria Peak, and the beautiful drive to Stanley on the south side (sit on the right side of the bus to get the best views). The low point of the tour was the jewelry factory "tour", which isn't a tour at all - it's a ploy to get you to buy jewelry at a local jewelry maker's showroom, which is pretty annoying, but oh well. Considering how inexpensive this tour is, I felt it was okay to suffer through 30 minutes inside an air conditioned jewelry showroom with complimentary refreshments. The 'tour' of Aberdeen harbor also includes an optional sampan boat tour, which I'd recommend doing because it's cheap and fun to ride in the boat, and get a view of the harbor while you're at it. It was just a little disappointing that the sampan captain (who is NOT part of the tour - just a local merchant), didn't give any real commentary about what we were seeing around the harbor. Again, oh well. All in all, this was a great quick overview of HK island, and I'm glad I did it!

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message