The focus for shopping, eating and sightseeing on Hong Kong Island is Central and Causeway Bay.  Away from Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong Island retains a surprising amount of greenery on the Peak and its mountainous interior, and its coastline is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a wonderful morning exploring and eating our way around part of Hong Kong Island. Nathan ran the tour and was both fun and informative. We ate things We would never have tried on our own and were taken places we would never have found. We learnt things about Hong Kong and the locals and we throughly enjoyed ourselves. Would love to do another tour with this guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Hong Kong Island Food Tour

ElizabethD
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An excellent tour covering a lot in half a day. The tour took us all around Hong Kong Island, including a sampan extra but worth it! trip in Aberdeen Harbour, an hour in Stanley overlooking the South China Sea and the iconic tram down from Victoria Peak. The guide was very good and gave us lots of information about Hong Kong and Hong Kong Island throughout the tour. I think this trip is very good value and I recommend it.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed Dino and the Mongkok Market Tour and Biddy with the Hong Kong Island Tour. They both spoke very good English and took us on a great tour of Hong Kong.

Doing what: Hong Kong Super Saver: Hong Kong Island Tour, Mongkok Market Tour plus Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Day Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A lot of interesting information is given on this tour and a lot is packed in to the 3 hours! You get to see a lot of the city on Hong Kong Island. I had a very vague understanding of Hong Kong's history before I took this tour and afterwards the city becomes even more interesting because of what you learn which enriched my holiday experience. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Historical Walking Tour of Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day! Hong Kong Island is a very beautiful place with lots to do and see.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A very good way to cover Hong Kong island. Guide was very good and informative. Recommend this one.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really interesting to learn about the history of Hong Kong. Hong Kong island is both historically fascinating and beautiful with all the wonderful parks and gorgeous buildings. Great day with Danny--a very interesting and well informed guide who treated us to a fabulous day seeing the city..

Doing what: Small-Group Historical Walking Tour of Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had an excellent tour and first class tour guide and driver. They were punctual, efficient and informative. This tour represented very good value for money and was an excellent way to see Hong Kong Island in a short space of time.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We had a great 1/2 day tour of Hong Kong Island with Viator. Our tour guide Biddy? did a great job, and offered things for us to do after the tour. We usually do not take guided tours, but this was a great opportunity to see what would be difficult for us to do on our own. We got off the bus early, and her suggestions for markets to see in Central HK were great, together with restaurant recommendations, and directions to the Star Ferry that took us back to our hotel that made for a terrific day.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

A wonderful trip around Hong Kong Island with Alex a very interesting and knowledgeable guide .There were only six of us on the tour so it was very personalised. How quickly five hours went!! Highly recommended.Thank you.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Our tour guide, Wendy, did a great job intriducing to us the Hong Kong Island. They also picked us up on time at the Kowloon Hotel in Tsim Sha Tsui. Being on time is always good! :) The view at The Peak isn't as great, though, as it was really foggy when we were up there (I think it was a rainy season when we visited Hong Kong). The tour was really fun, laidback and educational. We learned a lot about Hong Kong Island in just a few hours. I would recommend this to all those who would like to learn about its history and culture and if you want to know where to shop. :)

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Danny Fung was a great guide. Showed us older portions of Hong Kong island and the new sites.

Doing what: Small-Group Historical Walking Tour of Hong Kong

Andrew M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Very good tour of Hong Kong Island. Our tour guide Steven gave us lots of info on the trip. Stanley market was definitely a good place to visit

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Geoffrey H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was an excellent trip giving a good insight to the Hong Kong Island.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Great overview of Hong Kong Island. The guide was excellent and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Laura H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Good way to see the highlights of Hong Kong island and note where to go back to later when you have more time.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The Hong Kong Island tour was very interesting and provided a variety of things to do. Our tour guide was very informative and gave us lots of good advice about what to do and where to go in Hong Kong.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very enjoyable trip around Hong Kong Island. Funny and entertaining guide.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a really great half-day overview of Hong Kong Island, and especially worth it if you have limited time. The tour was very well organized, and the tour guide was informative and funny. I found it to be a great value because the tour takes you to various places around HK island, which saves you from trying to navigate all of those places on your own with the various types of transportation you'd need. It was very smart of the tour-guide to run this tour 'backwards' (so, ending at The Peak vs. starting there), so we didn't have to wait in long lines for the Peak tram. Overall highlights of the tour were the view from the top of Victoria Peak, and the beautiful drive to Stanley on the south side (sit on the right side of the bus to get the best views). The low point of the tour was the jewelry factory "tour", which isn't a tour at all - it's a ploy to get you to buy jewelry at a local jewelry maker's showroom, which is pretty annoying, but oh well. Considering how inexpensive this tour is, I felt it was okay to suffer through 30 minutes inside an air conditioned jewelry showroom with complimentary refreshments. The 'tour' of Aberdeen harbor also includes an optional sampan boat tour, which I'd recommend doing because it's cheap and fun to ride in the boat, and get a view of the harbor while you're at it. It was just a little disappointing that the sampan captain (who is NOT part of the tour - just a local merchant), didn't give any real commentary about what we were seeing around the harbor. Again, oh well. All in all, this was a great quick overview of HK island, and I'm glad I did it!

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Steve was a good guide whose English was pretty good. He had an excellent knowledge of local issues and cultural norms which is always helpful. The bus and driver were excellent. The stop at the jewelry factory was as usual a pain but a necessary money maker to keep the tour costs down. Hong Kong is a really diverse and complicated place that a single tour stretches to get it all in. This tour gave a good view of Hong Kong Island including the spectacular views from the peak. It included the back side of the Island (Aberdeen and Stanley) which are interesting and important to grasp the wealth and wealth disparity of the city.
All in all I believe the tour was a good introduction to many aspects of Hong Kong but in no way a comprehensive look at this fascinating place.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

A lovely way to see part of hong Kong island, tour guide was lovely and very informative

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

It was a great way to see get around and see Hong Kong Island and Victoria Peak.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

A well organised tour of Hong Kong island. Good value for money.

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

It was a great way to get introduced to Hong Kong Island our guide was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

This was a good way to see Hong Kong island in one go, especially as i had a flight to catch later that day. The best was saved til the last by going to Victoria Peak then coming down the tram. That was really fun! Thank you

Doing what: Best Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message