Hong Kong ATTRACTIONS See all

Jumbo Floating Restaurant

Anchored just off the Aberdeen waterfront in Aberdeen Harbour sits Hong Kong’s most famous restaurant. Aptly named Jumbo Floating Restaurant, a giant floating seafood restaurant that has been in operation since 1976 and claims to be the largest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rick W
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very well organised tour. The harbour cruise went on for a lot longer that I expected, giving us a chance to view the impressive skylines of both Hong Kong and Kowloon at night. Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant was excellent.

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

My favorite part of our Hong Kong trip was this sunset cruise around the harbor seeing the city at night with all of the lights. The dinner at Jumbo Floating Restaurant was delicious and the place itself is gorgeous and such a great experience!! Loved it!!

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

The Floating Jumbo was a great experience for our family. The tour guide, Ivy, and tour was involved and thorough and a night vista from the road of the Peak was totally unexpected. The food not only fresh and but also abundant. The restaurant was beautifully presented,clean and professional.

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The cruise was really lovely, with snacks and drinks. The Jumbo Floating Restaurant is quite famous and something I've always wanted to do, and it was stunning...really beautiful, our tour guide was awesome, very friendly and informative. Really great night.
Laisarini Taylor

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great trip, the floating restaurant was an excellent experience, the food was good, but it tasted like most of the Chinese restaurants in Southern California, the portions were somewhat small. Our tour guide was wonderful. She kept us very well entertained on the bus ride home. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The harbour cruise was great, made more so with the Christmas lights show. A good meal at the famous Jumbo floating restaurant made the evening perfect. Transport to from the tour much appreaciated. A good night out.

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Now that we are back, anyone that has been to Hong Kong has asked if we saw this HUGE floating restuarant, now we can say we did! A wonderful end to a great day!

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

GLEN M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A great evening starting with a cruise departing from the public pier at Kowloon then transfer to a bus to take us to the Jumbo floating restaurant for dinner (food was grea!t) then to a lookout in Hong Kong to look at the City lights before being returned to the hotel in Kowloon by bus.

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

Herbert F
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

What a wonderful way to start our Hong Kong stay, a lovely cruise on Victoria Harbour with the city lights ablaze. A drive through Aberdeen with fantastic views of Hong Kong, Kowloon and a wonderful dinner at the Jumbo floating restaurant. Great food, good service and a terrific guide. WELL DONE!!

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

Bruce W
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Not clear from the tour description that the sunset cruise is a standard trip up and down the Victoria harbour and the Jumbo trip is a bus trip from the Hong Kong Central pier - I had imagined us sailing round to Aberdeen. The Jumbo itself is just a couple of minutes ferry through a standard yacht marina - there is no real sensation of "floating" and the old image of a sampan filled exotic harbour no longer exists. The restaurant itself is spectacularly kitsch and worth seeing and the food was good for such a touristy place. Worth doing but probably better value done privately.

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2011

The food was a let down and very basic. I was also expecting the floating restaurent to move but it just stays stationary. The cruise is pretty fun though. Most locals recommend to just go for lunch (dim sum) at the Jumbo. Dinner was not special ...

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

A great evening. Taking it all in on a river boat down the river with all the city lights was a more beautiful view than in New York.
I was disappointed in the dinner. Only three dishes were good, the rest was not ok due to too much grease. and was Not authentic food. It was obvious the owner of this floating restaurant is only interested in money. Everyone on our table felt the same way. They charge for every thing extra. Even a lemon wedge. CRAZY
We did feel deceived as to the description of the evening. All you can drink is only on the short river boat to the restaurant. We had to pay for water at dinner. We felt like cattle on a dinner, it was not romantic and relaxing. We did meet some great people on this tour.

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

the tour guide excellent professional helpful and knowledgeable.
the harbour cruise bordering on passable difficult to hear the commentary.
The Jumbo Floating restaurant very poor indeed.
1) the exterior from a distance looks impressive.Up closer we see the wear and tear that neen a great deal of work.
2) moving to the top floor it needs a lot more of repair.
3)the meal : *we were put at tables with very little rapport
*the wine red or white very poor
* the food . Supposed to be seafood. A very small amount of seafood and poor selection'
The standard of food was pathetic.My wife and I have had far superior from
a suburbia chinese restaurant in the outskirts of Sydney.
They seemed to want us out quickly.
Would never recommend this restaurant to any friends only enemies.
4) the trip to Middle Victoria Peak was excellent. The views of Hong Kong at night are breath taking.

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

We enjoyed the cruise prior the dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant. Unfortunately the dinner is a big disappointment for the price we paid. It is really low quality of food for a big and famous restaurant like this. It is better to eat somewhere else after taking the cruise. The cruise itself was really nice. Stay away from the Jumbo Floating Restaurant.

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

This was about the biggest rip off I've ever experienced in my 30+ years of traveling abroad. The description absolutely misrepresents what is delivered, starting with the photo to the left. The "cruise" was a standard junket boat, the "open bar" consisted of as much cheap beer you could drink in one hour plus a bag of barequed chips. The Jumbo Floating has seen better days-it is in desperate need of renovation, and a new chef. I am a huge fan of asian food, and this was inedible. The only saving grace is that we were paired with a fun couple from London, and we had a lot of laughs and a good cocktail after we escaped our disastrous "tour". Take it from me, do not, do not sign up for this "sunset cruise"

Doing what: Hong Kong Sunset Cruise plus Dinner at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message