Lantau Island is twice the size of Hong Kong Island, but only a fraction of the population live here, leaving its beaches, hills and national parks to visitors to enjoy. The highlight is the Po Lin monastery and temple, reached by the Ngong ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 195 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip was everything that we expected. The guide was very knowledgeable and personable. The activities were great and we had ample time to enjoy them...especially the fishing village. This is a full day of activities capped off with a cable car ride that gave a complete overview of Lantau...well done

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip was everything that we expected. The guide was very knowledgeable and personable. The activities were great and we had ample time to enjoy them...especially the fishing village. This is a full day of activities capped off with a cable car ride that gave a complete overview of Lantau...well done

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Really great day out picked up from hotel and taken on ferry driven round Lantau island then cable car ride. Biggest surprise was the Vegetarian lunch at the monstery was expecting maybe a bowl of noodles got a banquet!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Really great day out picked up from hotel and taken on ferry driven round Lantau island then cable car ride. Biggest surprise was the Vegetarian lunch at the monstery was expecting maybe a bowl of noodles got a banquet!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Really great day out picked up from hotel and taken on ferry driven round Lantau island then cable car ride. Biggest surprise was the Vegetarian lunch at the monstery was expecting maybe a bowl of noodles got a banquet!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Really great day out picked up from hotel and taken on ferry driven round Lantau island then cable car ride. Biggest surprise was the Vegetarian lunch at the monstery was expecting maybe a bowl of noodles got a banquet!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Really great day out picked up from hotel and taken on ferry driven round Lantau island then cable car ride. Biggest surprise was the Vegetarian lunch at the monstery was expecting maybe a bowl of noodles got a banquet!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Really great day out picked up from hotel and taken on ferry driven round Lantau island then cable car ride. Biggest surprise was the Vegetarian lunch at the monstery was expecting maybe a bowl of noodles got a banquet!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Throughly enjoyed the day out. The coach collected us from our hotel on time. We were taken to Hong Kong Island where we got the ferry to Lantau Island. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very good English skills.
Very interesting looking inside the Gaint Buddha and viewing the statues in the surrounding area. Then we went for a vegetarian meal made by the monks. Lovely food.
Then it was off to the cable car for a 25 min trip. A very smooth ride.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide for this trip was a very experienced mature individual who shared his experiences in a realistic way. The Buddha was very impressive as was the monastery however the fishing village on stilts was very impressive. Plenty of time was given to explore this village and the shopping buys were great. .The final part of the trip was a tram way ride of about one half hour that was very enjoyable and offered spectacular views of the Island

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our tour guide to the fishing village, monastery and the Giant Buddha. It's a great package for all 3 and purchasing your ticket through this tour allows you to skip the LONG QUEUE lines, well worth it! The crystal cabin floor wasn't anything special that you can't see outside your window.

Make sure that once you book your tour, to call the touring company to reserve your spot in your desired tour time. It did not state that on the voucher and we were lucky enough that the lady inside the MTR office where we picked up our tour tickets allowed us to use their phone to contact the company to set our tour time for the same day. I wished someone told us that.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If anybody wanna see the Big Budhago to Lantau Island....perfect

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Lantau Island Sunset Tour Plus Airport Express and MTR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Our day started with a bit of chaos as the bus scheduled to pick us up at our hotel couldn't make it because of the protesters in Hong Kong. So, they called the hotel and told us we had 45 minutes to get ourselves to the ferry dock. We jumped in a cab, but quickly got stuck in traffic. We paid the cab and jumped out, running across the stopped traffic and down the road to the dock. We made it in time for our boat. The day starts with a ferry ride to Lantau Island. From there, you take a bus to the beach. The beach is uneventful and the best I can tell, it's only included because it's a convenient bathroom stop. Otherwise, there's nothing to see or do. Back on the bus and up to the fishing village. Excellent. We walked through the village and even got a ride in a boat to see the houses on stilts in the area. This was a fun stop. Back on the bus and up to the Giant Buddha. When we arrived, we were driven to the top. We got off and got a tour in and around the Buddha. Then we had time on our own before gathering down below for lunch at the monastery. The vegetarian lunch was actually quite good. Then we had time for shopping as we made the walk to the cable cars. Finally, the cable car ride down to the other side of the island was fantastic. I suggest doing the car with the clear floor. It's a few dollars more, but worth it. The day ended with a rather lengthy bus ride through rush hour traffic back to our HK hotels. Long day, but excellent tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day out,the Buddha is huge and beautiful.Loved the chairlift,great views.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, everything we thought it would be, and this was helped by the tour guide we had who was born and bred on Lantau. The vegetarian meal was delicious.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message