Lantau Island is twice the size of Hong Kong Island, but only a fraction of the population live here, leaving its beaches, hills and national parks to visitors to enjoy. The highlight is the Po Lin monastery and temple, reached by the Ngong ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 204 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great value for money. Pickup from our hotel and coach ride to the ferry stop. Informative tour on Lantau Island and a small brief stop off at Tai O fishing village. Not enough time to walk around for a bite to eat there, enough to walk around take photos, take a boat tour of the houses on stilts in the water and walk through the market. Very picturesque. Loved the Buddha what an amazing view from the top. Vegetarian lunch at Po Lin was okay. You could buy some more snacks from a vegetarian takeaway just outside the monastery quite cheaply. Toilets at the monastery were revolting, doors falling off, rusting and filthy amenities. Cable car ride from the village was a lot of fun although a little scary at times if you are not a fan of heights! Shops at Ngong Ping 360 village was very over the top and touristy. Coach car back to the hotel door. A long day but a lot of fun!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide Ben was very knowledgeable and Lantau and it's history. The rest of my group and I found the pace of the tour great and really enjoyed the variety of activities. The ferry ride was a great way to see the harbour. Visiting the fishing village and the Taoist temple was really interesting. The big Buddha was amazing and Ben was very knowledgeable about it's history and religious significance. The cable car ride as just amazing and showcased the beautiful scenery in the area. I will definitely be recommending this tour to friends visiting Hong Kong.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a wonderful tour. The day couldn't have been more beautiful. Our guide was knowledgeable and
Articulate. Lunch was delicious, the temples breathtaking, the Buddha awe inspiring and the island captivating. I would recommend this tour highly to everyone.
Cheers,
Kristen

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We have been on this trip a couple of times now and it is always wonderful. The Giant Buddha is amazing to see.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide excellent, loved the content, the Buddha village, the tram, the beach, enjoyed it all.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour took us by ferry to Lantau Island where we visited a beach, a fishing village (houses built on stilts) and then onto the big Buddha and souvenier village then the cable car. The guide was very informative about everything and accommodated someone in the group who was having difficulty walking. Lunch in the restaurant beside the temple was included in the tour price and it was absolutely delicious. We got great photos and found the whole tour to be very enjoyable.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very interesting trip and great view, astonishing Buddha and breathtaking picturesque island!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Totally worth my trip, our tour guide Queen was fantastic! The bus ride, visit to the fishing village, the beach, big Buddha and finally the cable car back to town.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

lantau tour was very nice, we enjoyed it very much,we had a very knowledgeable tour guide,his name was Ryan,he was funny too.the highlight of that trip was the vegetarian lunch at the monastery. their foods was so delicious.it was ended a pleasure to see lantau island and the giant buddha tour,it is a must see tour,you will not regret it.thanks viators.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Prompt meet and greet service from Rebecca who I cant commend highly enough for her excellent guiding skills throughout the day. Lantau Island is a must to see, a real change to the hustle and bustle of Kowloon and Hong Kong Island. The beaches are lovely and while we went on a grey day, you can imagine how in summer they are beautiful. The Big Buddah is a must see for anyone travelling to Hong Kong. The temples are very atmospheric, the fishing village tour and boat trip are great fun. All in all a great day and good value for money. The cable car journey on the way back was truly breath taking.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was great. We chose the 3 day MTR pass and were glad we did. The MTR was easy to use and the Big Buddha Tour was great.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip was everything that we expected. The guide was very knowledgeable and personable. The activities were great and we had ample time to enjoy them...especially the fishing village. This is a full day of activities capped off with a cable car ride that gave a complete overview of Lantau...well done

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Really great day out picked up from hotel and taken on ferry driven round Lantau island then cable car ride. Biggest surprise was the Vegetarian lunch at the monstery was expecting maybe a bowl of noodles got a banquet!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Throughly enjoyed the day out. The coach collected us from our hotel on time. We were taken to Hong Kong Island where we got the ferry to Lantau Island. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very good English skills.
Very interesting looking inside the Gaint Buddha and viewing the statues in the surrounding area. Then we went for a vegetarian meal made by the monks. Lovely food.
Then it was off to the cable car for a 25 min trip. A very smooth ride.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide for this trip was a very experienced mature individual who shared his experiences in a realistic way. The Buddha was very impressive as was the monastery however the fishing village on stilts was very impressive. Plenty of time was given to explore this village and the shopping buys were great. .The final part of the trip was a tram way ride of about one half hour that was very enjoyable and offered spectacular views of the Island

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message