Lantau Island is twice the size of Hong Kong Island, but only a fraction of the population live here, leaving its beaches, hills and national parks to visitors to enjoy. The highlight is the Po Lin monastery and temple, reached by the Ngong ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 179 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Our day started with a bit of chaos as the bus scheduled to pick us up at our hotel couldn't make it because of the protesters in Hong Kong. So, they called the hotel and told us we had 45 minutes to get ourselves to the ferry dock. We jumped in a cab, but quickly got stuck in traffic. We paid the cab and jumped out, running across the stopped traffic and down the road to the dock. We made it in time for our boat. The day starts with a ferry ride to Lantau Island. From there, you take a bus to the beach. The beach is uneventful and the best I can tell, it's only included because it's a convenient bathroom stop. Otherwise, there's nothing to see or do. Back on the bus and up to the fishing village. Excellent. We walked through the village and even got a ride in a boat to see the houses on stilts in the area. This was a fun stop. Back on the bus and up to the Giant Buddha. When we arrived, we were driven to the top. We got off and got a tour in and around the Buddha. Then we had time on our own before gathering down below for lunch at the monastery. The vegetarian lunch was actually quite good. Then we had time for shopping as we made the walk to the cable cars. Finally, the cable car ride down to the other side of the island was fantastic. I suggest doing the car with the clear floor. It's a few dollars more, but worth it. The day ended with a rather lengthy bus ride through rush hour traffic back to our HK hotels. Long day, but excellent tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day out,the Buddha is huge and beautiful.Loved the chairlift,great views.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, everything we thought it would be, and this was helped by the tour guide we had who was born and bred on Lantau. The vegetarian meal was delicious.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great day and found this to be a very worthwhile day-trip to explore places near Hong Kong that we would otherwise not have been able to see.
DATE: Sunday 7th September 2014.
GUIDE: Our guide, Andy, was absolutely fantastic throughout the day - helpful, informative, friendly - and taught us so much more about Hong Kong and the surrounds than we would have imagined.
FOOD: Being vegetarian we found the vegetarian banquet lunch to be perfect ;) seriously, plenty of food to go around, good, basic flavours, easy on those with sensitive G.I.s.
HIGHLIGHTS: Giant Buddha was fun of course, and the Po Lin Monastery was nice, while the 5km cable car ride over mountains offered some wonderful views.
SURPRISES: The Tai O fishing village was quite the eye-opener and definitely worth the visit - for both good and . . . "interesting" reasons!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well, it was a surprise to have such a professional and knowledgeable guide, explanation of the tour wet your senses for what was to follow.
The fishing village was a memory I will keep for a long time, followed by the monastery and lunch. What a treat to behold.
The history and beliefs behind this icon of Lantau Island are simply wonderful.
We were thrilled to take the cable car ride back over the mountains and then to come down by the airport,views that took your breath away.
Thank you for the experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were a group of Canadian and British teachers from Mainland China spending a few days in Hong Kong. Our highly positive experience with Viator made our Hong Kong stay ten times better than what it would have been normally. This tour allowed us to truly connect to the spiritual roots and the daily life of the Lantau island inhabitants. We think the idea of the tour itself was a fantastic one. The guide was very interesting and had a deep attachment to the island, therefore the tour became very authentic and genuine. His sense of humor was quite unique. The guide's English was excellent. The duration of the tour was just perfect. The itinerary was perfect. The food was excellent. The Gondola ride was breathtaking. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were a group of Canadian and British teachers from Mainland China spending a few days in Hong Kong. Our highly positive experience with Viator made our Hong Kong stay ten times better than what it would have been normally. This tour allowed us to truly connect to the spiritual roots and the daily life of the Lantau island inhabitants. We think the idea of the tour itself was a fantastic one. The guide was very interesting and had a deep attachment to the island, therefore the tour became very authentic and genuine. His sense of humor was quite unique. The guide's English was excellent. The duration of the tour was just perfect. The itinerary was perfect. The food was excellent. The Gondola ride was breathtaking. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide and very interesting tour. Highlight was the Giant Buddha, meal at the monastery and cable car trip down.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Bing
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

All worked out as smooth as it could possibly be! I like the flexibility it provides and it covers the most important attractions Big Buddha and Ngong Ping cable car all in one. Love it and highly recommended!

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip! The fishing village and the Buddha were the best. Mr. Pen, our tour guide, was fantastic. We could have skipped the beach - it wasn't particularly pretty and there was nothing to do or see. Be sure to shop at the cluster of nicer stores on the way to the cable cars, and don't spend your limited time (I would have liked more time) at the first big souvenir shop. This was really interesting - the ferry ride over, the tour guide's comments, the tour and boat ride in the fishing exhibit.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour, and it was one of the best things I did on my short visit to Hong Kong. There's no way I would've been able to see as much of Lantau Island if I'd tried to do this on my own, especially with all the different forms of transportation needed. The tour was very well organized, and the tour-guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she kept everything on schedule. It was nice to see the rural aspects of life on Lantau Island, including the stop at 'long sand' beach, the drive by the pretty reservoir and a couple prisons, and the lovely drive up and over the lush mountains to the Tai O fishing village. The village itself was an interesting look into traditional culture, even though it did smell quite bad (imagine the heat mixed with drying fish parts). I was very happy that our tour bus drove to the top of the Giant Buddha, sparing us the 268-step climb in the horrid heat/humidity :) The tour also included entry into the special exhibit area inside the Buddha, which wasn't much help without commentary (I had no clue what I was looking at), but I enjoyed the air conditioning anyway! The walk through the Po Lin monastery was interesting, and the vegetarian lunch wasn't that bad. We didn't have as much time as I would've liked to wander the shops in Ngong Ping village before boarding the cablecar, but that's okay. The cablecar ride was amazing - the views over Lantau Island and the south China sea were beautiful. Be sure to look back for views of the Big Buddha. Then topping the ridge, you get views of the Hong Kong airport - which was also very cool, as the airport sits on a man-made island. Overall, this was a very good all-day tour, with the highlights being the Big Buddha and the cablecar ride. I'd definitely recommend this tour, and I recommend you bring a small backpack with a few bottles of water, sunscreen, and an umbrella for small rainshowers, or to keep the very hot sun off you (do as the locals do!).

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour. The tour of Lantau island was interesting. The cable car ride had good views of the island and seeing the Big Buddha was worth the trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A great way to experience the highlights of Lantau Island. Our guide was very informative and kept everything to time (even with it being a rainy day). The mist coming and going around the Buddha, added to the experience.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was brilliant. We were a little aprehensive before the trip but it was interesting and the things we saw were amazing. The meal was quite good though the noise was intense with about fifteen tables and what seemed like two hundred people inside the 'restaurant'. It was worth it though. The Buddha from any angle is so imposing.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an amazing trip. Ferry from Hong Kong to Lantau. Coach in the rain. Boat ride at Tai O village. Up the mountain to see the big Buddha before the thick cloud rolled in. Vegetarian lunch was excellent at the Po Lin Monastery. Then back down the mountain in the cable car in the clouds. Great day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message