To discover another aspect to multifaceted China, take a day trip to Macau. The former Portuguese colony mixes crumbling fortresses with glitzy casinos, baroque churches with cobbled backstreets, and spicy Macanese seafood with classic dim sum. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 309 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Najaden Sweden

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a lovely day in Macau! Cisco was the perfect guide, very knowledgeable in his field, with a lovely sense of humor, dedicated and sympathetic. The lunch buffet included was also very good and varied. But watch out for the first souvenir shop we visited trying to rip off with over priced products. Shop instead in the little souvenir shop just in front of the ruins of St Paul. The same range but the prices are just a fraction compared with the first store.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

carolbilton67

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very experienced guide who was most helpful to 2 oldies using walking sticks. Learnt much about Macau, saw a variety of places all of them interesting, very good balance of sightseeing and opportunities to shop, only down side quality of food for included lunch.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Vlasta J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip, I was in Macau 30 yrs ago, it was a small village....now, WOW...
Our tour guide Mario was great, gave us a lots of information about new and old Macao.
Trip is well worth it. We had a great day in Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michael M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide Sisco was fantastic and a lot of fun! Not only was he very knowledgable about the history of Macau, he had a great sense of humour and kept everything interesting. Would definitely recommend this tour if you only have one day to spend in Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Janice H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations. Our guide, Mario, was very knowledgeable and gave us a good overview of Macau. The only negative was lunch which was just OK.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

donnieg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic day out made all the better by the very knowledgeable and entertaining CISCO. He made the tour pass very quickly and the stop at the Venetian was awesome. To our limited knowledge of Macau which we thought was a small historic island could not be farther from the truth, with all the casinos and wealth on show it made our jaws drop. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic day. Our guide in Macau was an entertaining and knowledgeable person who gave us all the information we needed and answered all question put to him. We had to alter the tour as it was the 16th anniversary or the hand over to China and so we had to do St Paul's first and have an early lunch. The lunch was in a restaurant overlooking Macau and was a buffet which catered to all culinary tastes. The afternoon was spent touring parts of Macau and going up the Macau Tower ending at a casino giving us time to go into the gambling rooms or take a walk around the area and do some shopping. The ferry trips were comfortable and it was about an hour each way and I was back at the hotel at 1930,12 hours after being picked up.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Gary M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Nice way to see the city of Macau with no shopping involved. It was nice to walk through the city and see the shops and signts before going to lunch.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Terrea v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Viator Macau Day Trip was fantastic! The boat takes about an hour from Kowloon to Macau. Our guide was Portuguese and had lived in Macau for 33 years. I think his name was Robert. He was excellent and quite the character! He was very good at detailing the history of Macau. We saw many sites including a few casinos which didn't interest us much because I'm from California and we've been to Las Vegas many times. For example: The Venetian Macau looks much like The Venetian Las Vegas....cocktails are not around every corner as in Las Vegas though. The waitresses served water and tea. Just a little strange to see all these people drinking tea while gambling! The Macau Tower which we were optionally charged extra to go up to the top had beautiful views of Mainland China and we saw people jumping from the highest bungee jump in the world here. It was worth it. So fun! We saw the feminine Buddha statue and the A-Ma temple. Went to a bakery where they made tasty almond cookies and delicious Egg Tarts! The lunch was just so-so, we didn't really have any expectations. The ruins of St Paul and Macau Spanish steps were beautiful, then a walking tour of the central area of Macau, then an hour back on the boat to Kowloon. It was a full day. 8 am to about 7 pm. If you have time, I recommend this day tour. Well worth it!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

robert g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip to Macau was great. The tour guide was fantastic. Very informative and well spoken. A must for tourists.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Tania Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour provided a great overview of Macau and definitely made me want to go back and explore a little longer and deeper at another time. This place is much more than just the casinos.
We had Mario as our guide and he was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.
If Macau, outside of the casino scene interests you at all, then this is the tour to do.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Darlene R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had been thinking of going to Macau on our own but decided to go with a tour. We made the right choice. Our guide was great and really showed us Macau and not just the casino area but the old Portuguese area. He explain the history and really help us understand it. Everything went smoothly including getting on the ferry to come back to Hong Kong.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Macau Day Trip was an excellent tour with Cisco as our tour guide. We had the unfortunate circumstance of having the tour on the back end of Typhoon Mujigae but that didn't stop our small group from enjoying our time in the city and in the brief stops between rain showers. We still hit up most of the major spots and had very good discussions about past and present life in Macau including an extended walking tour of the old town. I would go on a tour with the local tour operator again anytime.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Renee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Highly recommend! I took three tours during my weekend in Hong Kong, and this was by far the best. Tour guide was Mario - great sense of humor, good overview of history. While I couldn't see spending a night in Macau, it was well worth a day trip.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Macau is like another Vegas. Great tour and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Timothy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide in Hong Kong picked us up from the hotel ten minutes early. In Macau the tour guide was excellent and we were taken around as promised. A great tour experience.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Nicola B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Mario was our guide in Macau entertaining, knowledgeable and professional. Was an excellent day. Very busy, squeezed in the main sites. Casino and old town. There is no way I would have fitted it all in on my own. Lunch was excellent- good variety of food. Thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Stephanie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Tour! Very knowledgable and entertaining guide. Was a really day trip that showed an incredibly varied Macau!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Adam W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour to Macau. We had Cisco as our guide and he really made the trip memorable. Definitely left wanting to come back.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jill P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was excellent and the guide in Macau most entertaining and knowledgab Mario. The day is very full on and it gives you a good overview of the city/ country. lunch was very good the only thing that would have been beneficial was if water was provided especially with the humid weather and the walking which was great all down hill but very thirst inducing.
Thanks for a great trip

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Vivek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice guide and tour plan.. Was able to get a flavor or Macau city : Enjoyed !!

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

rob-anne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Macau tour was great. Our tour guide, Cisco was just fabulous. He was very knowledgeable and kept us entertain the whole day with little tidbits about Macau as well as the main points of the town. We had a very nice lunch and the walk through the markets was great. We had some free time before returning to the bus then boat for the trip back to Hong Kong. I would recommend this tour and if your lucky you will get Cisco as your tour guide in Macau.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

HERVE B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful. We had a great guide named Sisko. He has a lot of funny stories to tell about Macau and he is definitely not paid by any casino to bring to you to their tables... The organisation of the tour was just perfect and Macau was the best part of our holiday in Hong Kong.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kim L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very enjoyable day trip. Our guide, Mario, was extremely knowledgeable of Macau and helped negotiate our shopping and sights. No waiting lines. A must-do trip.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour! Our guide was fantastic and I really enjoying learning about the culture of Macau. This is a highlights only tour so even though I did really enjoy it I wished I spent more time in Macau. Quite a bit of the day was spent going through customs and waiting in line, I think it would be better to go to Macau overnight if possible to see all the sights.

Doing what: Macau Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message