A decade ago, Lantau Island housed little more than a few sleepy fishing villages and the Hong Kong airport. With the addition of an MRT station and the establishment of Hong Kong Disneyland, the island made its first real bit for a spot on the Hong ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 305 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was an amazing surprise! The starting point is pretty far from Hong Kong central area, but easy to reach by rail. When you arrive at the cable car, don't worry about the lines because you will get to go right to the head of the line via the special tour line. The cable car ride is amazing----majestic views. When you reach the top, you will find a little tourist type village but it is well done and there are visitors from all over. The monastery is nearby and it has a lot of wow factor for a Buddhist temple---very ornate and huge. The giant Buddha is impressive with manageable stairs that rise to its base. The next part was best for us. We were taken by bus to a very old Chinese fishing village which was the most authentic part of the trip. The houses on stilts were lived in by the fisherman and family members selling dried and fresh fish in the stalls along the streets of the market. There are also other things to purchase including shells and Chinese souvenirs. Then, a boat ride out into the South Chinese Sea to watch many dolphins jumping out of the water and it almost seemed like a show at Sea World! Finally, a stop for dinner, arriving by boat at the pavilion which led to a wonderful Inn that used to be a British police station. Beautiful dining on a hill overlooking the sea. The food was excellent. We took four tours while visiting Hong Kong and this was definitely our favorite. The tour guide was top notch and made the trip both interesting and fun! Don't miss this one!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Lantau Island Sunset Tour Plus Airport Express and MTR

Little Mo United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A really enjoyable day. Lantau Island is a nice, quiet island away from all the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong Island. The Big Buddha statue was amazing to see. The vegetarian lunch was really good. They gave us a selection of dishes to try. I'm vegetarian but the rest of the group weren't and they all enjoyed the food.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

qwil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was well organized. First stop was at the Tai O Fishing Village. Then headed to the Tian Tian Buddha Giant Buddha. You will have plenty of time to walk around and take many pictures. The group had lunch at the Po Lin Monastery. They served vegetarian lunch. It's was pretty good.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Alan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great day. Tour Guide was extremely knowledgeable. Highly recommend this tour. The skyway was fun, the history of Buddha was very interesting and the vegetarian lunch was very tasty.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Timothy P United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is an excellent trip lasting approximately 8 hours in total from hotel pick up to hotel drop off. The trip was exactly as advertised by Viator. The transfers were fine the guide excellent the vegetarian meal excellent. The cable car journey at the end was an experience. This was our favourite Hong Hong trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lisbeth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

we were at Lantau island 30 yrs ago we saw the drawrings of the Buddha and the steps to come back and see it now was unbelivebale the only way to the island back then was by ferry now you can drive ,çable car or by ferry

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Arif S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour of Lantau island, very recommended.
Started with a coach transfer to the ferry port, with a travel guide, was then ferried from Hong Kong island to Lantau island where another mini bus took us all around, the guide was very knowledgable who pointed out the features of island, then when to small villages, with the tour leading up to the Monestry where lunch was served and a visit to view Big Buddha, with the final ending to the Sky cable car, viewing the whole island and the Airport, and then a coach transfer home. Very much enjoyed the whole day out with good local knowledge and history.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Terrea v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A MUST SEE if you visit Hong Kong! The viator day tour picks you up at your hotel 8:00 AM, took the ferry across to Lantau and boarded a bus through a scenic drive to Pui O Beach. After this we drove to Tai O Fishing Village, loved walking through open street Markets and seeing Kwan Tai Temple from 1488 AD followed by a small sampan boat seeing the stilt houses. Took the bus to the Big Buddha. We had perfect weather and could see the Buddah, but if there is bad weather, I heard from others sometimes he's in the clouds...and he is BIG. A beautiful sight! Then we went to Po Lin Monastery Vegetarian Restaurant for a just ok Lunch I wasn't expecting much. Walked through Ngong Ping Village very Disney-esque to the Ngong Ping 360 Skyrail Cable Car...amazing views on the way back. This was a great tour! One of my highlights!

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g294217-d447109-r329399199-Lantau_Island-Hong_Kong.html

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous tour, especially enjoyed the bus trip to Tai O fishing village, monestry and the fact that you are able to skip the long lines for the cable car.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Maryam P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour. There's a loooong queue that you can skip with this tour. Our tour guide Laurence was very nice and funny. We took the cable cars, there we got on the bus and went to a fishing village called Tai O and had a short boat tour and a tour of a temple of Taoism. Then we had some free time to go around in the village and eat fresh scallop! After that we took the bus back and went to see another temple called ten thousand buddhas. Then we walked up the 260 staris to see the main attraction big buddha.
I highly recommend this tour since the guided tour gives you as lot of historical information.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Christine V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour guide who provided us with the rich history of Lantau Island. The stops provided us with a comprehensive experience taking us from beach, to fishing village, mountain top to experience Big Buddah, lunch in the monestary, shopping and cable car ride down. I would have never been able to experience this without the tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Neville William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A fantastic tour with an excellent guide, the cable car ride was amazing

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kevin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed this tour. The tour guide was a local and enjoyed showing us around his home and explaining its history. The big Buddha was worth a visit. The island is scenic and the trip home on the gondola was spectacular

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Colin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We found this tour to one of the best in the area. Not only the Giant Buddha but the cable car ride was an event not to be missed. The tour guide was informative and looked after the group very well.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great value for the money mtr and express cable car fantastic no queueing going up as we had the ticket from you long queue coming back down but all well worth it

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass: MTR and Airport Express Tickets

Shirley G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was a native of Lantau Island and he knew his island well. The visit to the Giant Buddha was very interesting. The ride on the tram was so picturesque. A fantastic ride!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour! The Giant Buddha and other giant statutes at the base were very impressionable. The Temple was magnificient!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kamaljit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An amazing day! A brilliant tour guide. Great fun along the way. The Big Buddha and cable car was the highlight of the trip. The lunch at the monastery was lovely.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

fantastic tour, highly recommend to anyone wanting to see the buddha. Hotel buses picking up and drop can take some time as you may jump on and off buses depending where your located. Overall a great experience.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

elizabeth123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a must do -- a totally different part of Hong Kong and very beautiful. A combination of cultural tour and natural beauty. The cable car ride from the top of the mountain going down with views of the city was the highlight of our trip to Hong Kong!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful tour and worth every penny. Our tour guide was excellent, very knowledgeable, and we saw all of the main places on Lantau Island in one day. The coach ride to the top of the big Buddha was a definite plus in the heat. Great fun for us too, as a family boys aged 12 and 9.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

D P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent tour very informative and fun despite the poor weather conditions the tour operators modified the tour so we can still travel on the cable cars.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Judith H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent value and remember to get 50 Hong Kong dollars back at the airport when you return the card.
Easy to check bags in at Central Station for the airport express. Our hotel wasn't on the shuttle route but was only 10 Australian to get to our hotel. Trip to Pnong Ping to see the big Buddha was excellent and easy to access via the MTR and you could jump the queue and save 30 mins by prepurcasing the gondola ride.
Also they had shopping outlets there at the train station so Nike, Adidas and other brands were much cheaper than in the city

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass: MTR and Airport Express Tickets

Katie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Brilliant trip! You really get a feel for Hong Kong and more importantly, Lantau Island by doing this trip. Such an interesting place, we enjoyed the Buddha and had a very tasty vegetarian lunch at the monastery but what we enjoyed the most was seeing the amazing fishing village where the houses are on stilts and the incredible views form the cable car. I'd highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

vicki b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved the fishing village, big Buddha, and the Gondolas. What a sight. Lunch at the monastery was also very good.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message