A decade ago, Lantau Island housed little more than a few sleepy fishing villages and the Hong Kong airport. With the addition of an MRT station and the establishment of Hong Kong Disneyland, the island made its first real bit for a spot on the Hong ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Brilliant trip! You really get a feel for Hong Kong and more importantly, Lantau Island by doing this trip. Such an interesting place, we enjoyed the Buddha and had a very tasty vegetarian lunch at the monastery but what we enjoyed the most was seeing the amazing fishing village where the houses are on stilts and the incredible views form the cable car. I'd highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an amazing time on this tour, even though the cable car ride was down, ou tour guide Andy made it a very memorable trip! I would recommend this to anyone that loves cultural experiences!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great value for money. Pickup from our hotel and coach ride to the ferry stop. Informative tour on Lantau Island and a small brief stop off at Tai O fishing village. Not enough time to walk around for a bite to eat there, enough to walk around take photos, take a boat tour of the houses on stilts in the water and walk through the market. Very picturesque. Loved the Buddha what an amazing view from the top. Vegetarian lunch at Po Lin was okay. You could buy some more snacks from a vegetarian takeaway just outside the monastery quite cheaply. Toilets at the monastery were revolting, doors falling off, rusting and filthy amenities. Cable car ride from the village was a lot of fun although a little scary at times if you are not a fan of heights! Shops at Ngong Ping 360 village was very over the top and touristy. Coach car back to the hotel door. A long day but a lot of fun!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide Ben was very knowledgeable and Lantau and it's history. The rest of my group and I found the pace of the tour great and really enjoyed the variety of activities. The ferry ride was a great way to see the harbour. Visiting the fishing village and the Taoist temple was really interesting. The big Buddha was amazing and Ben was very knowledgeable about it's history and religious significance. The cable car ride as just amazing and showcased the beautiful scenery in the area. I will definitely be recommending this tour to friends visiting Hong Kong.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great day! Tai O fishing village was fascinating, giant budda and temples great and cable car was amazing. Andy was a grat guide, very knowledgeable and a sense of humour. Would do this again, no hesitation, well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour took us by ferry to Lantau Island where we visited a beach, a fishing village (houses built on stilts) and then onto the big Buddha and souvenier village then the cable car. The guide was very informative about everything and accommodated someone in the group who was having difficulty walking. Lunch in the restaurant beside the temple was included in the tour price and it was absolutely delicious. We got great photos and found the whole tour to be very enjoyable.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Totally worth my trip, our tour guide Queen was fantastic! The bus ride, visit to the fishing village, the beach, big Buddha and finally the cable car back to town.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Prompt meet and greet service from Rebecca who I cant commend highly enough for her excellent guiding skills throughout the day. Lantau Island is a must to see, a real change to the hustle and bustle of Kowloon and Hong Kong Island. The beaches are lovely and while we went on a grey day, you can imagine how in summer they are beautiful. The Big Buddah is a must see for anyone travelling to Hong Kong. The temples are very atmospheric, the fishing village tour and boat trip are great fun. All in all a great day and good value for money. The cable car journey on the way back was truly breath taking.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jennifer E
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a great day tour, very well organized and with an experienced English speaking guide.
Lunch was included, being the Vegitarian lunch at the Monastery. This lunch was one of the best we had on our whole trip. Highlights were the historic 600-year-old Fishing Village and the return Cable Car ride, which is the longest experienced so far anywhere. A big advantage of this tour was to escape the crowds of Hong Kong, a very peaceful and tranquil setting. This tour did not feel at all pressurized, as there was ample time to take everything in. One can ignore the merchandising at the Village on the return leg if one chooses. All in all highly recommended............

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip was everything that we expected. The guide was very knowledgeable and personable. The activities were great and we had ample time to enjoy them...especially the fishing village. This is a full day of activities capped off with a cable car ride that gave a complete overview of Lantau...well done

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Really great day out picked up from hotel and taken on ferry driven round Lantau island then cable car ride. Biggest surprise was the Vegetarian lunch at the monstery was expecting maybe a bowl of noodles got a banquet!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Throughly enjoyed the day out. The coach collected us from our hotel on time. We were taken to Hong Kong Island where we got the ferry to Lantau Island. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very good English skills.
Very interesting looking inside the Gaint Buddha and viewing the statues in the surrounding area. Then we went for a vegetarian meal made by the monks. Lovely food.
Then it was off to the cable car for a 25 min trip. A very smooth ride.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide and enjoyable itinerary. A full day with lunch and varied route culminating in amazing cable car ride down to ground level near to impressive airport built on re-claimed land

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Our day started with a bit of chaos as the bus scheduled to pick us up at our hotel couldn't make it because of the protesters in Hong Kong. So, they called the hotel and told us we had 45 minutes to get ourselves to the ferry dock. We jumped in a cab, but quickly got stuck in traffic. We paid the cab and jumped out, running across the stopped traffic and down the road to the dock. We made it in time for our boat. The day starts with a ferry ride to Lantau Island. From there, you take a bus to the beach. The beach is uneventful and the best I can tell, it's only included because it's a convenient bathroom stop. Otherwise, there's nothing to see or do. Back on the bus and up to the fishing village. Excellent. We walked through the village and even got a ride in a boat to see the houses on stilts in the area. This was a fun stop. Back on the bus and up to the Giant Buddha. When we arrived, we were driven to the top. We got off and got a tour in and around the Buddha. Then we had time on our own before gathering down below for lunch at the monastery. The vegetarian lunch was actually quite good. Then we had time for shopping as we made the walk to the cable cars. Finally, the cable car ride down to the other side of the island was fantastic. I suggest doing the car with the clear floor. It's a few dollars more, but worth it. The day ended with a rather lengthy bus ride through rush hour traffic back to our HK hotels. Long day, but excellent tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Rick W
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour, very well organised and the duration of the trip was spot on. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. The Giant Buddah is very impressive, the food at the Monastery was excellent and the curio shops in the area are packed with good quality local merchandise. The trip back down the mountain in the cable car was simply spectacular.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great day and found this to be a very worthwhile day-trip to explore places near Hong Kong that we would otherwise not have been able to see.
DATE: Sunday 7th September 2014.
GUIDE: Our guide, Andy, was absolutely fantastic throughout the day - helpful, informative, friendly - and taught us so much more about Hong Kong and the surrounds than we would have imagined.
FOOD: Being vegetarian we found the vegetarian banquet lunch to be perfect ;) seriously, plenty of food to go around, good, basic flavours, easy on those with sensitive G.I.s.
HIGHLIGHTS: Giant Buddha was fun of course, and the Po Lin Monastery was nice, while the 5km cable car ride over mountains offered some wonderful views.
SURPRISES: The Tai O fishing village was quite the eye-opener and definitely worth the visit - for both good and . . . "interesting" reasons!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well, it was a surprise to have such a professional and knowledgeable guide, explanation of the tour wet your senses for what was to follow.
The fishing village was a memory I will keep for a long time, followed by the monastery and lunch. What a treat to behold.
The history and beliefs behind this icon of Lantau Island are simply wonderful.
We were thrilled to take the cable car ride back over the mountains and then to come down by the airport,views that took your breath away.
Thank you for the experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, very interesting itinerary, with the highlight being the fantastic cable car. The guide was very knowledgeable and experienced. We had a great time.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide and very interesting tour. Highlight was the Giant Buddha, meal at the monastery and cable car trip down.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip! The fishing village and the Buddha were the best. Mr. Pen, our tour guide, was fantastic. We could have skipped the beach - it wasn't particularly pretty and there was nothing to do or see. Be sure to shop at the cluster of nicer stores on the way to the cable cars, and don't spend your limited time (I would have liked more time) at the first big souvenir shop. This was really interesting - the ferry ride over, the tour guide's comments, the tour and boat ride in the fishing exhibit.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour. The tour of Lantau island was interesting. The cable car ride had good views of the island and seeing the Big Buddha was worth the trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an amazing trip. Ferry from Hong Kong to Lantau. Coach in the rain. Boat ride at Tai O village. Up the mountain to see the big Buddha before the thick cloud rolled in. Vegetarian lunch was excellent at the Po Lin Monastery. Then back down the mountain in the cable car in the clouds. Great day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour! we were taken by boat across to Lantau Island then in a very nice air conditioned comfortable bus to see the HUGE Buddha - we also visited the Po Lin Monastery and had a vegetarian lunch there included in the tour - went to the Pass Tai O fishing village and saw traditional houses on stilts - we loved the 25-minute sky rail cable car to Tung Chung town- one of the highlights of the trip - awesome view so high up! In all a really good tour
•Enjoy a vegetarian lunch at the monastery

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour was fantastic. Very interesting and enjoyable. Tour guide was fantastic. Lunch was lovely and I'm a super fussy eater! I upgraded to the glass bottom cable car and it was amazing!! Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting HK! I also went to the Peak, but preferred this tour, and it was a foggy day at the Peak and I couldn't see anything!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing. I highly recommend the tour. They were in our hotel on time to pick us up. The bus was great and comfortable. We truly enjoyed the tour guide. She was very professional and knowledgeable of the area and gave us a great deal of information. The big buddha is really impressive. The lunch at the Monastery was delicious. The cable car drive back was beautiful. This is a great tour and we were very impressed with Viator. all the tours we took were great. I highly recommend Viator. Thank you for doing such a good job.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message