A decade ago, Lantau Island housed little more than a few sleepy fishing villages and the Hong Kong airport. With the addition of an MRT station and the establishment of Hong Kong Disneyland, the island made its first real bit for a spot on the Hong ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well, it was a surprise to have such a professional and knowledgeable guide, explanation of the tour wet your senses for what was to follow.
The fishing village was a memory I will keep for a long time, followed by the monastery and lunch. What a treat to behold.
The history and beliefs behind this icon of Lantau Island are simply wonderful.
We were thrilled to take the cable car ride back over the mountains and then to come down by the airport,views that took your breath away.
Thank you for the experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, very interesting itinerary, with the highlight being the fantastic cable car. The guide was very knowledgeable and experienced. We had a great time.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide and very interesting tour. Highlight was the Giant Buddha, meal at the monastery and cable car trip down.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip! The fishing village and the Buddha were the best. Mr. Pen, our tour guide, was fantastic. We could have skipped the beach - it wasn't particularly pretty and there was nothing to do or see. Be sure to shop at the cluster of nicer stores on the way to the cable cars, and don't spend your limited time (I would have liked more time) at the first big souvenir shop. This was really interesting - the ferry ride over, the tour guide's comments, the tour and boat ride in the fishing exhibit.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour. The tour of Lantau island was interesting. The cable car ride had good views of the island and seeing the Big Buddha was worth the trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an amazing trip. Ferry from Hong Kong to Lantau. Coach in the rain. Boat ride at Tai O village. Up the mountain to see the big Buddha before the thick cloud rolled in. Vegetarian lunch was excellent at the Po Lin Monastery. Then back down the mountain in the cable car in the clouds. Great day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour! we were taken by boat across to Lantau Island then in a very nice air conditioned comfortable bus to see the HUGE Buddha - we also visited the Po Lin Monastery and had a vegetarian lunch there included in the tour - went to the Pass Tai O fishing village and saw traditional houses on stilts - we loved the 25-minute sky rail cable car to Tung Chung town- one of the highlights of the trip - awesome view so high up! In all a really good tour
•Enjoy a vegetarian lunch at the monastery

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour was fantastic. Very interesting and enjoyable. Tour guide was fantastic. Lunch was lovely and I'm a super fussy eater! I upgraded to the glass bottom cable car and it was amazing!! Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting HK! I also went to the Peak, but preferred this tour, and it was a foggy day at the Peak and I couldn't see anything!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing. I highly recommend the tour. They were in our hotel on time to pick us up. The bus was great and comfortable. We truly enjoyed the tour guide. She was very professional and knowledgeable of the area and gave us a great deal of information. The big buddha is really impressive. The lunch at the Monastery was delicious. The cable car drive back was beautiful. This is a great tour and we were very impressed with Viator. all the tours we took were great. I highly recommend Viator. Thank you for doing such a good job.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Queendy was wonderful. Very good teacher of pertinent facts - history, stats, cult you're, sites we saw, etc . The visit to the fib each thrn fish market including the fun and fascinating boat ride, the cable car ride - and most important - the visit to the Big Anuradhapura was one of the best experiences of my 17-datpy Asia trip. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was well run. After hotel pickups we had to transfer to another bus which was late arriving but no big deal. We enjoyed the ferry ride to the island. Our guide was very knowledgable. My only criticism of thr day is that we had to rush a couple of times, for example at the fishing village and viewing the Big Buddha. That said, we were on a fairly tight schedule to fit everything in. Our escort on the final bus back from the cable car (which by the way was excellent,) to our hotel showed us how to use the underground. This was very helpful as we became very proficient at using public transport following her instructions. Would definitely recommend the tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great experience. Island is so very different to Hong Kong yet right next door! Our guide lived on Lantau and he had great pride in his community. Everyone was picked up at their hotels in Kowloon and put on one bus. You cross over to the Hong Kong side and take a nice short ferry ride over to Lantau. Once you arrive you get on a smaller bus. The highlight of the trip was stopping at the small fishing village to see and understand how people still live a simple life like their ancestors. The trip to the Big Buddha was outstanding. The Chinese government has made a beautiful shrine and grounds for locals and visitors alike. The vegetarian meal was fresh and acceptable. Those who didn't want to eat it were directed to a couple of fast foods available - Subway and Starbucks. The grand finale on the cable car back to Hong Kong had an amazing view. Even though we had a foggy overcast day it was an experience! You really see how big the new airport is and get a great view descending into Hong Kong. The whole trip was not exerting and was very relaxing and informative. NOTE: there is NO shopping unless you want to buy dried fish!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour of island, the monastery and Buddha , nice mix of by land and by sea , our guide very knowledgable and genuine and warm- and cable car ride perfect end with great views and a thrilling ride- highly recommend

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Richard C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Everything went like clockwork.from beginning to end great tour.only downside was cable car ride,heavy mist came down couldn't see a thing .just unlucky on the day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic trip. The whole day was brilliant. The Giant Budda is a must, and the amazing cable car ride at the end was very exciting.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message