Hong Kong ATTRACTIONS See all

Ngong Ping Cable Car

It used to be that visitors landing in Hong Kong’s airport quickly hopped on the metro or hailed a taxi to Kowloon or Hong Kong Island, completely skipping Lantau Island. Thanks to a massive development project, Lantau is now home to some of Hong ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 201 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jan M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had no idea what to expect other than seeing a gigantic Buddha. Lantau is very diverse and lush with vegetation, the vegetarian lunch at the Monastery was one of the best I had in Hong Kong, and the cable car ride -- 3.5 miles -- was spectacular! Our guide was funny and lived on the island so could answer all questions.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Keith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour with lots of interesting places to visit. Giant Buddha was the highlight followed by the cable car ride. Great tour guide who knew lots of interesting facts and was extremely friendly. Would recommend this tour to friends.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

So many different things to see.... The cable car ride alone is worth it! Our guide didn and #39;t speak clear English is my only complaint.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Maria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this Tour: From our Hotel pick up until our drop off everything ran smoothly. This is a must do tour while in Hong Kong. It started with the smooth ferry crossing across Victoria Harbour to Lantau where we met our Tour Guide Quendy who spoke excellent English and was very friendly, she gave us heaps of facts on what we were seeing and clear directions on our meeting times and locations so organised. So, surprised to see so many Aussie Trees growing on Lantau Island it felt like I was back at home. Quendy did explain the reason why they were planted there. Intermittent rain did hamper the day a little. However, we still got to see and do everything on the tour.
We visited the fishing village of Tai O where we saw the traditional silted homes and learnt a little about daily local life this place smells a little from the drying of the fish etc. Visited the Giant Buddha unbelievable just how big it really is - and the Po Lin Monastery what a beautiful place and so peaceful with such wonderful gardens it was truly moving hearing the Buddhist Monks at prayer chanting. Our vegetarian lunch was so delicious we never missed not having meat. This fantastic day ended with a 20 minute trip down the mountain on the Ngong Ping 260 sky rail cable car. The spectacular natural views and those of the Hong Kong airport are not to be missed. A thoroughly enjoyable day!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

dlayton1015

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Beautifully organized and coordinated trip to the Island and the Giant Buddha. Guide was very knowledgable, humorous, and ensured excursion success always. The vegetarian lunch at the monastery was extremely good -- I could hardly tell there wasn't any meat/poultry/fish products at all. Choose your visitation dates carefully if you can my day did not include the cable car ride, which was unknown at date of sign up. You may be able to enjoy that scenic addition then.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sandra O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip is a must. Our guide actually lives on the island and obviously loves it. First step was an old fishing village which is unchanged despite the modern buildings growing up around it. The huge Buddha was mind blowing. We then went on to the monastry and had lunch in a restaurant close by. The meal was our very first full vegan meal. We didn't know quite what to expect but have to say it was one of the best meals we have had on this trip, and that is quite something for two very committed meat eaters. We finished up with cable car ride and the views from there were amazing. A must do trip for any visitor to HK.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

tjgworld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

For a day tour, this was the best in value! There were many people involved to get us to each destination. It was seamless and not rushed. Pickup by coach from my hotel was easy. Amie was our main guide once at the ferry docks. She was exceptional in giving facts and directions for each meeting place. Crossing Victoria Harbor in a ferry was a fun experience. On another coach we traveled Lantau. Visiting Tai O was as close to a mainland China small fishing village Ive ever been and was in awe of its heritage and way of life. The Big Buddha and the grounds of the Po Lin Monastery was beautiful and humbling. As a non Buddhist, it was a peaceful exploration surrounded by true buddhist worshipping. It was wonderful watching them in practice of traditions. As if the modes of transportation so far wasnt enough, our group all met at the Ngong Ping 360 entrance. The Skyrail cable car was a joy to ride down the mountain. Heights and sights were exhilarating! Once down we were on a coach again to our perspective hotels. Could not image trying to cover all this on our own. Even though you can, but it would take more time just to get to the sites, buying you own tickets for transport and waiting in lines to visit. Greatest paid tour ever. Special thanks to Amie for making this a fun experience.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

gerryc Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was excellent as the sights and views were amazing. The lunch was very good especially since there was no meat in any of the lunch items. Nigel was an informative and entertaining guide. A special thanks to Nigel for waiting on me at the cable car ride.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was an amazing surprise! The starting point is pretty far from Hong Kong central area, but easy to reach by rail. When you arrive at the cable car, don't worry about the lines because you will get to go right to the head of the line via the special tour line. The cable car ride is amazing----majestic views. When you reach the top, you will find a little tourist type village but it is well done and there are visitors from all over. The monastery is nearby and it has a lot of wow factor for a Buddhist temple---very ornate and huge. The giant Buddha is impressive with manageable stairs that rise to its base. The next part was best for us. We were taken by bus to a very old Chinese fishing village which was the most authentic part of the trip. The houses on stilts were lived in by the fisherman and family members selling dried and fresh fish in the stalls along the streets of the market. There are also other things to purchase including shells and Chinese souvenirs. Then, a boat ride out into the South Chinese Sea to watch many dolphins jumping out of the water and it almost seemed like a show at Sea World! Finally, a stop for dinner, arriving by boat at the pavilion which led to a wonderful Inn that used to be a British police station. Beautiful dining on a hill overlooking the sea. The food was excellent. We took four tours while visiting Hong Kong and this was definitely our favorite. The tour guide was top notch and made the trip both interesting and fun! Don't miss this one!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Lantau Island Sunset Tour Plus Airport Express and MTR

Timothy P United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is an excellent trip lasting approximately 8 hours in total from hotel pick up to hotel drop off. The trip was exactly as advertised by Viator. The transfers were fine the guide excellent the vegetarian meal excellent. The cable car journey at the end was an experience. This was our favourite Hong Hong trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Arif S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour of Lantau island, very recommended.
Started with a coach transfer to the ferry port, with a travel guide, was then ferried from Hong Kong island to Lantau island where another mini bus took us all around, the guide was very knowledgable who pointed out the features of island, then when to small villages, with the tour leading up to the Monestry where lunch was served and a visit to view Big Buddha, with the final ending to the Sky cable car, viewing the whole island and the Airport, and then a coach transfer home. Very much enjoyed the whole day out with good local knowledge and history.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Terrea v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A MUST SEE if you visit Hong Kong! The viator day tour picks you up at your hotel 8:00 AM, took the ferry across to Lantau and boarded a bus through a scenic drive to Pui O Beach. After this we drove to Tai O Fishing Village, loved walking through open street Markets and seeing Kwan Tai Temple from 1488 AD followed by a small sampan boat seeing the stilt houses. Took the bus to the Big Buddha. We had perfect weather and could see the Buddah, but if there is bad weather, I heard from others sometimes he's in the clouds...and he is BIG. A beautiful sight! Then we went to Po Lin Monastery Vegetarian Restaurant for a just ok Lunch I wasn't expecting much. Walked through Ngong Ping Village very Disney-esque to the Ngong Ping 360 Skyrail Cable Car...amazing views on the way back. This was a great tour! One of my highlights!

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g294217-d447109-r329399199-Lantau_Island-Hong_Kong.html

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous tour, especially enjoyed the bus trip to Tai O fishing village, monestry and the fact that you are able to skip the long lines for the cable car.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Maryam P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour. There's a loooong queue that you can skip with this tour. Our tour guide Laurence was very nice and funny. We took the cable cars, there we got on the bus and went to a fishing village called Tai O and had a short boat tour and a tour of a temple of Taoism. Then we had some free time to go around in the village and eat fresh scallop! After that we took the bus back and went to see another temple called ten thousand buddhas. Then we walked up the 260 staris to see the main attraction big buddha.
I highly recommend this tour since the guided tour gives you as lot of historical information.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Christine V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour guide who provided us with the rich history of Lantau Island. The stops provided us with a comprehensive experience taking us from beach, to fishing village, mountain top to experience Big Buddah, lunch in the monestary, shopping and cable car ride down. I would have never been able to experience this without the tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Neville William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A fantastic tour with an excellent guide, the cable car ride was amazing

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Colin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We found this tour to one of the best in the area. Not only the Giant Buddha but the cable car ride was an event not to be missed. The tour guide was informative and looked after the group very well.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kamaljit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An amazing day! A brilliant tour guide. Great fun along the way. The Big Buddha and cable car was the highlight of the trip. The lunch at the monastery was lovely.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Elizabeth S Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a must do -- a totally different part of Hong Kong and very beautiful. A combination of cultural tour and natural beauty. The cable car ride from the top of the mountain going down with views of the city was the highlight of our trip to Hong Kong!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

D P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent tour very informative and fun despite the poor weather conditions the tour operators modified the tour so we can still travel on the cable cars.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Katie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Brilliant trip! You really get a feel for Hong Kong and more importantly, Lantau Island by doing this trip. Such an interesting place, we enjoyed the Buddha and had a very tasty vegetarian lunch at the monastery but what we enjoyed the most was seeing the amazing fishing village where the houses are on stilts and the incredible views form the cable car. I'd highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Cindy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an amazing time on this tour, even though the cable car ride was down, ou tour guide Andy made it a very memorable trip! I would recommend this to anyone that loves cultural experiences!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Elissa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great value for money. Pickup from our hotel and coach ride to the ferry stop. Informative tour on Lantau Island and a small brief stop off at Tai O fishing village. Not enough time to walk around for a bite to eat there, enough to walk around take photos, take a boat tour of the houses on stilts in the water and walk through the market. Very picturesque. Loved the Buddha what an amazing view from the top. Vegetarian lunch at Po Lin was okay. You could buy some more snacks from a vegetarian takeaway just outside the monastery quite cheaply. Toilets at the monastery were revolting, doors falling off, rusting and filthy amenities. Cable car ride from the village was a lot of fun although a little scary at times if you are not a fan of heights! Shops at Ngong Ping 360 village was very over the top and touristy. Coach car back to the hotel door. A long day but a lot of fun!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jayenne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide Ben was very knowledgeable and Lantau and it's history. The rest of my group and I found the pace of the tour great and really enjoyed the variety of activities. The ferry ride was a great way to see the harbour. Visiting the fishing village and the Taoist temple was really interesting. The big Buddha was amazing and Ben was very knowledgeable about it's history and religious significance. The cable car ride as just amazing and showcased the beautiful scenery in the area. I will definitely be recommending this tour to friends visiting Hong Kong.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Christine R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great day! Tai O fishing village was fascinating, giant budda and temples great and cable car was amazing. Andy was a grat guide, very knowledgeable and a sense of humour. Would do this again, no hesitation, well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message