Hong Kong ATTRACTIONS See all

Ngong Ping Cable Car

It used to be that visitors landing in Hong Kong’s airport quickly hopped on the metro or hailed a taxi to Kowloon or Hong Kong Island, completely skipping Lantau Island. Thanks to a massive development project, Lantau is now home to some of Hong ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 605 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nice and relaxing. I greatly appreciated the lunch

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A good trip. A good guide. A good day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

judy.wilson
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

good tour, nice lunch

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend for first timers to HK.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved the fishing village, big Buddha, and the Gondolas. What a sight. Lunch at the monastery was also very good.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

u get to see a different side of Hong Kong! Tour guide was great too.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An great day. The guide was extremely well informed and exploring the monastery complex and lunch were outstanding.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth it! Our tour guide was very informative and I learned more than I could've imagined. A nice day trip away from the craziness of central Hong Kong. Would recommend to anyone visiting.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great way to see the island if your limited for time. Sadly, it was foggy on the day we went up but still felt very serene and peaceful. Tour guide was very informative.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an amazing time on this tour, even though the cable car ride was down, ou tour guide Andy made it a very memorable trip! I would recommend this to anyone that loves cultural experiences!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was fantastic. The modes of transportation, the tour guide, the lunch, the information about Hong Kong...it was fantastic. We arrived in Hong Kong on Friday night. Taking this tour on Saturday was perfect. Not a lot of walking and everything was perfectly timed. I'd recommend this tour, especially after just arriving after a 16 hour plane ride the previous day!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful island, and sculpture is gorgeous. Local guide was very knowledgeable, and added much to the journey.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was terrific. Becky was a great tour guide and such a trooper! We had monsoon rains but she still carried out the tour in every detail. I'd say don't let rainy weather scare you from this one. The fishing village had a very misty cool ambience because of it and my photos were wonderful.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide was informative, friendly, and caring. Enjoyed all aspects except for the meal which was served haphazardly and poor quality choices.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour from beginning to end. Guide was also excellent. Organisation of pick up and various forms of transport couldn't be faulted. Visit to the fishing village exceeded expectation as did the trip on the Skyrail. Would highly recommend this trip and this company.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great activity. Great lunch. Discover the undisturbed live of the Lantau islanders.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Theresa J
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed the day, the tour guide was very knowledgeable as well as witty, offering up many humorous comments to keep the day light. The Buddha is amazing to see and the gondola ride at the end is breathtaking. Lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great value for money. Pickup from our hotel and coach ride to the ferry stop. Informative tour on Lantau Island and a small brief stop off at Tai O fishing village. Not enough time to walk around for a bite to eat there, enough to walk around take photos, take a boat tour of the houses on stilts in the water and walk through the market. Very picturesque. Loved the Buddha what an amazing view from the top. Vegetarian lunch at Po Lin was okay. You could buy some more snacks from a vegetarian takeaway just outside the monastery quite cheaply. Toilets at the monastery were revolting, doors falling off, rusting and filthy amenities. Cable car ride from the village was a lot of fun although a little scary at times if you are not a fan of heights! Shops at Ngong Ping 360 village was very over the top and touristy. Coach car back to the hotel door. A long day but a lot of fun!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide Ben was very knowledgeable and Lantau and it's history. The rest of my group and I found the pace of the tour great and really enjoyed the variety of activities. The ferry ride was a great way to see the harbour. Visiting the fishing village and the Taoist temple was really interesting. The big Buddha was amazing and Ben was very knowledgeable about it's history and religious significance. The cable car ride as just amazing and showcased the beautiful scenery in the area. I will definitely be recommending this tour to friends visiting Hong Kong.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An enjoyable trip. There were a few stops where I would have liked to spend a few more minutes 5 -10 than the allotted time, but overall, it was quite well done.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message