Hong Kong ATTRACTIONS See all

Ngong Ping Cable Car

It used to be that visitors landing in Hong Kong’s airport quickly hopped on the metro or hailed a taxi to Kowloon or Hong Kong Island, completely skipping Lantau Island. Thanks to a massive development project, Lantau is now home to some of Hong ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Timothy P United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is an excellent trip lasting approximately 8 hours in total from hotel pick up to hotel drop off. The trip was exactly as advertised by Viator. The transfers were fine the guide excellent the vegetarian meal excellent. The cable car journey at the end was an experience. This was our favourite Hong Hong trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Arif S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour of Lantau island, very recommended.
Started with a coach transfer to the ferry port, with a travel guide, was then ferried from Hong Kong island to Lantau island where another mini bus took us all around, the guide was very knowledgable who pointed out the features of island, then when to small villages, with the tour leading up to the Monestry where lunch was served and a visit to view Big Buddha, with the final ending to the Sky cable car, viewing the whole island and the Airport, and then a coach transfer home. Very much enjoyed the whole day out with good local knowledge and history.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Terrea v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A MUST SEE if you visit Hong Kong! The viator day tour picks you up at your hotel 8:00 AM, took the ferry across to Lantau and boarded a bus through a scenic drive to Pui O Beach. After this we drove to Tai O Fishing Village, loved walking through open street Markets and seeing Kwan Tai Temple from 1488 AD followed by a small sampan boat seeing the stilt houses. Took the bus to the Big Buddha. We had perfect weather and could see the Buddah, but if there is bad weather, I heard from others sometimes he's in the clouds...and he is BIG. A beautiful sight! Then we went to Po Lin Monastery Vegetarian Restaurant for a just ok Lunch I wasn't expecting much. Walked through Ngong Ping Village very Disney-esque to the Ngong Ping 360 Skyrail Cable Car...amazing views on the way back. This was a great tour! One of my highlights!

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g294217-d447109-r329399199-Lantau_Island-Hong_Kong.html

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous tour, especially enjoyed the bus trip to Tai O fishing village, monestry and the fact that you are able to skip the long lines for the cable car.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Maryam P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour. There's a loooong queue that you can skip with this tour. Our tour guide Laurence was very nice and funny. We took the cable cars, there we got on the bus and went to a fishing village called Tai O and had a short boat tour and a tour of a temple of Taoism. Then we had some free time to go around in the village and eat fresh scallop! After that we took the bus back and went to see another temple called ten thousand buddhas. Then we walked up the 260 staris to see the main attraction big buddha.
I highly recommend this tour since the guided tour gives you as lot of historical information.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Christine V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour guide who provided us with the rich history of Lantau Island. The stops provided us with a comprehensive experience taking us from beach, to fishing village, mountain top to experience Big Buddah, lunch in the monestary, shopping and cable car ride down. I would have never been able to experience this without the tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Neville William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A fantastic tour with an excellent guide, the cable car ride was amazing

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Colin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We found this tour to one of the best in the area. Not only the Giant Buddha but the cable car ride was an event not to be missed. The tour guide was informative and looked after the group very well.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kamaljit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An amazing day! A brilliant tour guide. Great fun along the way. The Big Buddha and cable car was the highlight of the trip. The lunch at the monastery was lovely.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

elizabeth123

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a must do -- a totally different part of Hong Kong and very beautiful. A combination of cultural tour and natural beauty. The cable car ride from the top of the mountain going down with views of the city was the highlight of our trip to Hong Kong!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

D P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent tour very informative and fun despite the poor weather conditions the tour operators modified the tour so we can still travel on the cable cars.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Katie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Brilliant trip! You really get a feel for Hong Kong and more importantly, Lantau Island by doing this trip. Such an interesting place, we enjoyed the Buddha and had a very tasty vegetarian lunch at the monastery but what we enjoyed the most was seeing the amazing fishing village where the houses are on stilts and the incredible views form the cable car. I'd highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Cindy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an amazing time on this tour, even though the cable car ride was down, ou tour guide Andy made it a very memorable trip! I would recommend this to anyone that loves cultural experiences!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Elissa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great value for money. Pickup from our hotel and coach ride to the ferry stop. Informative tour on Lantau Island and a small brief stop off at Tai O fishing village. Not enough time to walk around for a bite to eat there, enough to walk around take photos, take a boat tour of the houses on stilts in the water and walk through the market. Very picturesque. Loved the Buddha what an amazing view from the top. Vegetarian lunch at Po Lin was okay. You could buy some more snacks from a vegetarian takeaway just outside the monastery quite cheaply. Toilets at the monastery were revolting, doors falling off, rusting and filthy amenities. Cable car ride from the village was a lot of fun although a little scary at times if you are not a fan of heights! Shops at Ngong Ping 360 village was very over the top and touristy. Coach car back to the hotel door. A long day but a lot of fun!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jayenne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide Ben was very knowledgeable and Lantau and it's history. The rest of my group and I found the pace of the tour great and really enjoyed the variety of activities. The ferry ride was a great way to see the harbour. Visiting the fishing village and the Taoist temple was really interesting. The big Buddha was amazing and Ben was very knowledgeable about it's history and religious significance. The cable car ride as just amazing and showcased the beautiful scenery in the area. I will definitely be recommending this tour to friends visiting Hong Kong.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Christine R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great day! Tai O fishing village was fascinating, giant budda and temples great and cable car was amazing. Andy was a grat guide, very knowledgeable and a sense of humour. Would do this again, no hesitation, well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Miriam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour took us by ferry to Lantau Island where we visited a beach, a fishing village (houses built on stilts) and then onto the big Buddha and souvenier village then the cable car. The guide was very informative about everything and accommodated someone in the group who was having difficulty walking. Lunch in the restaurant beside the temple was included in the tour price and it was absolutely delicious. We got great photos and found the whole tour to be very enjoyable.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Obehi O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Totally worth my trip, our tour guide Queen was fantastic! The bus ride, visit to the fishing village, the beach, big Buddha and finally the cable car back to town.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Alexandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Prompt meet and greet service from Rebecca who I cant commend highly enough for her excellent guiding skills throughout the day. Lantau Island is a must to see, a real change to the hustle and bustle of Kowloon and Hong Kong Island. The beaches are lovely and while we went on a grey day, you can imagine how in summer they are beautiful. The Big Buddah is a must see for anyone travelling to Hong Kong. The temples are very atmospheric, the fishing village tour and boat trip are great fun. All in all a great day and good value for money. The cable car journey on the way back was truly breath taking.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jennifer E South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a great day tour, very well organized and with an experienced English speaking guide.
Lunch was included, being the Vegitarian lunch at the Monastery. This lunch was one of the best we had on our whole trip. Highlights were the historic 600-year-old Fishing Village and the return Cable Car ride, which is the longest experienced so far anywhere. A big advantage of this tour was to escape the crowds of Hong Kong, a very peaceful and tranquil setting. This tour did not feel at all pressurized, as there was ample time to take everything in. One can ignore the merchandising at the Village on the return leg if one chooses. All in all highly recommended............

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

rickgraham00

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip was everything that we expected. The guide was very knowledgeable and personable. The activities were great and we had ample time to enjoy them...especially the fishing village. This is a full day of activities capped off with a cable car ride that gave a complete overview of Lantau...well done

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Really great day out picked up from hotel and taken on ferry driven round Lantau island then cable car ride. Biggest surprise was the Vegetarian lunch at the monstery was expecting maybe a bowl of noodles got a banquet!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

janissymes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Throughly enjoyed the day out. The coach collected us from our hotel on time. We were taken to Hong Kong Island where we got the ferry to Lantau Island. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very good English skills.
Very interesting looking inside the Gaint Buddha and viewing the statues in the surrounding area. Then we went for a vegetarian meal made by the monks. Lovely food.
Then it was off to the cable car for a 25 min trip. A very smooth ride.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

smicky.evans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide and enjoyable itinerary. A full day with lunch and varied route culminating in amazing cable car ride down to ground level near to impressive airport built on re-claimed land

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Andrew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Our day started with a bit of chaos as the bus scheduled to pick us up at our hotel couldn't make it because of the protesters in Hong Kong. So, they called the hotel and told us we had 45 minutes to get ourselves to the ferry dock. We jumped in a cab, but quickly got stuck in traffic. We paid the cab and jumped out, running across the stopped traffic and down the road to the dock. We made it in time for our boat. The day starts with a ferry ride to Lantau Island. From there, you take a bus to the beach. The beach is uneventful and the best I can tell, it's only included because it's a convenient bathroom stop. Otherwise, there's nothing to see or do. Back on the bus and up to the fishing village. Excellent. We walked through the village and even got a ride in a boat to see the houses on stilts in the area. This was a fun stop. Back on the bus and up to the Giant Buddha. When we arrived, we were driven to the top. We got off and got a tour in and around the Buddha. Then we had time on our own before gathering down below for lunch at the monastery. The vegetarian lunch was actually quite good. Then we had time for shopping as we made the walk to the cable cars. Finally, the cable car ride down to the other side of the island was fantastic. I suggest doing the car with the clear floor. It's a few dollars more, but worth it. The day ended with a rather lengthy bus ride through rush hour traffic back to our HK hotels. Long day, but excellent tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message