Hong Kong ATTRACTIONS See all

Ngong Ping Cable Car

It used to be that visitors landing in Hong Kong’s airport quickly hopped on the metro or hailed a taxi to Kowloon or Hong Kong Island, completely skipping Lantau Island. Thanks to a massive development project, Lantau is now home to some of Hong ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 572 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Theresa J
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed the day, the tour guide was very knowledgeable as well as witty, offering up many humorous comments to keep the day light. The Buddha is amazing to see and the gondola ride at the end is breathtaking. Lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great value for money. Pickup from our hotel and coach ride to the ferry stop. Informative tour on Lantau Island and a small brief stop off at Tai O fishing village. Not enough time to walk around for a bite to eat there, enough to walk around take photos, take a boat tour of the houses on stilts in the water and walk through the market. Very picturesque. Loved the Buddha what an amazing view from the top. Vegetarian lunch at Po Lin was okay. You could buy some more snacks from a vegetarian takeaway just outside the monastery quite cheaply. Toilets at the monastery were revolting, doors falling off, rusting and filthy amenities. Cable car ride from the village was a lot of fun although a little scary at times if you are not a fan of heights! Shops at Ngong Ping 360 village was very over the top and touristy. Coach car back to the hotel door. A long day but a lot of fun!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour guide Ben was very knowledgeable and Lantau and it's history. The rest of my group and I found the pace of the tour great and really enjoyed the variety of activities. The ferry ride was a great way to see the harbour. Visiting the fishing village and the Taoist temple was really interesting. The big Buddha was amazing and Ben was very knowledgeable about it's history and religious significance. The cable car ride as just amazing and showcased the beautiful scenery in the area. I will definitely be recommending this tour to friends visiting Hong Kong.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An enjoyable trip. There were a few stops where I would have liked to spend a few more minutes 5 -10 than the allotted time, but overall, it was quite well done.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was fantastic. The tour guide was very informative and spoke perfect English. There was a lot included in this tour (boat ride at the fishing village, beach view stop, great lunch). I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Anna H
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great tour and I enjoyed it immensely. I would recommend this tour to my friends and family. However, our tour guide, did very little talking about the history and culture of this tour. She talked about MONEY the entire tour. I believe MONEY was mentioned at least three times in one sentence. Also, she would not stop talking. When we were getting ready to go to the Stanley Market, the man in front of me said, I'm buying a pair of ear plugs. She was very nice, but she needs more tour guide training.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a wonderful tour. The day couldn't have been more beautiful. Our guide was knowledgeable and
Articulate. Lunch was delicious, the temples breathtaking, the Buddha awe inspiring and the island captivating. I would recommend this tour highly to everyone.
Cheers,
Kristen

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Superb tour! Very well organised. Our guide, Andy , was informative and funny. The food was delicious ( didn't miss meat at all). Overall a brilliant experience which I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

One of the best guided tours that I have done . Guide was very knowledgable and did not try to push us along the path. He gave us the right amount of time to be by ourselves and helped us understand the cities which was perfect. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great trip! Thoroughly enjoyed the multiple sites visited. The tour guide was well versed in the area and local culture. If you do one trip while in HK, this is it.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We have been on this trip a couple of times now and it is always wonderful. The Giant Buddha is amazing to see.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide excellent, loved the content, the Buddha village, the tram, the beach, enjoyed it all.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great day! Tai O fishing village was fascinating, giant budda and temples great and cable car was amazing. Andy was a grat guide, very knowledgeable and a sense of humour. Would do this again, no hesitation, well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The fishing village trip was the best part!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message