For over 100 years, the Victoria Peak Tram has been inclining its way up Victoria Peak on Hong Kong Island. Taking a ride on the steeply angled tram is an essential Hong Kong experience. The service began as a coal-fired tramway in 1888, and was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great way to get an overview of Hong Kong. Saw verious parts of Hong Kong and Kowloon, Sampan tour of Aberdeen Harbor and the "boat people". The only part we disliked was a stop at a diamond factory where I assume the guide gets a kickback of any purchases made. I was actually offended by that. Riding up to Victoria Peak was magnificent. The views were spectacular and the tram ride back down was cool.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a great tour conducted by Wendy. We had a very informative tour scattered with stories of real life of both modern day and past Hong Kong. The tour took in all the main sights Victoria Peak and tram, Repulse Bay, Stanley Market, Aberdeen harbour and Junk ride ( An extra but worth it) even the jewellery stop was interesting. Wendy made the tour a pleasure and the coach was clean and comfortable with a good driver. We have used viator previously in other countries and would definatley use them again. Many thanks Mel and Wendy x

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Very good BUT:
Activated pass at the Airport OK but had to be a detective to find a 10th floor office in a tower block near the harbour to get the tickets for the Harbour Tour;
Advance pass to tram enabled us to miss most of the queue.

Doing what: Hong Kong and Macau Attractions Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Extremely enjoyable - loved Stanley Market. I thought the tram down Victoria Peak was also amazing. A good overview of Hong Kong I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was a great tour, the tram is wickedly steep, the peak is great, and the location of Madame Tussards, (if you have time definately do that) the Stanley Street Markets are awesome, and I bought some great oil paintings, excellent for creative buys..our tour guide was really friendly and informative. don't miss out on this one.
Laisarini Taylor

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A great day! Very engaging guide and an opportunity to see parts of the island not easily reached by public transportation. We even beat the huge lines for the Peak Tram! Well worth the price!

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

evewal
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was a really great tour to familiarize yourself with the city. Comfortable bus and informative commentary from our guide WendyYip! Relaxing morning with time for a coffee at a cafe near Stanley Markets - time for shopping as well! Up to the peak and down by tram. An enjoyable activity!

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

This is a must attraction for anyone travelling to Hong Kong. The views are fantastic and really give you a sense of location, there are several shops and dinning outlets at the top of the peak. Would suggest that you choose the time you take the Tram carefully to avoid large groups and long queuing for tickets/tram seats. Every taxi driver knows exactly where to drop you off, taxi's are not expensive and are very safe. Whilst in Hong Kong we took the journey up and back twice as the first day the skies were very overcast and the view impaired however was still worth it but just wanted to see what it was like when the sun was shinning as well!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was called ricky and he was great! We visited aberdeen harbour and went on a little fishing boat extra but not much, then stanley market for an hours shopping. We then went up victoria peak on the bus and the ride back down was on the tram. ...The only drawback - factory tour - waste of time but I did enjoy the trip!

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

A very concise, thrilling, entertaining and fantastic experience, and cost effective. Especially the spectacular view from the top of the hill. Returning from such a high altitude by a tram driven by steel rope was most memorable.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Janice N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

We had a great day; our tour guide was so informative. Victoria Peak is a must, spectacular views and an experience coming down on tram. Did not enjoy the jewel factory.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This tour was very good to give an overview for first timers to Hong Kong. It was made even more so by the excellent commentary of our tour host Wendy who worked tirelessly for the whole time. A bit disappointed that no partial refund was offered when the Peak Tram was unable to be utilised but overall would recommend as a worthwhile tour to take.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour opened my eyes to what Hong Kong is all about. Our tour guide offered us an insight on the way of life in Hong Kong. I expected more during our visit to Victoria Peak. It was just a tram ride on the way up and back. It's still worth doing.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We enjoyed our half day tour but felt less time at the jewelery factory and more time at the peak tram would have been better.

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a really great half-day overview of Hong Kong Island, and especially worth it if you have limited time. The tour was very well organized, and the tour guide was informative and funny. I found it to be a great value because the tour takes you to various places around HK island, which saves you from trying to navigate all of those places on your own with the various types of transportation you'd need. It was very smart of the tour-guide to run this tour 'backwards' (so, ending at The Peak vs. starting there), so we didn't have to wait in long lines for the Peak tram. Overall highlights of the tour were the view from the top of Victoria Peak, and the beautiful drive to Stanley on the south side (sit on the right side of the bus to get the best views). The low point of the tour was the jewelry factory "tour", which isn't a tour at all - it's a ploy to get you to buy jewelry at a local jewelry maker's showroom, which is pretty annoying, but oh well. Considering how inexpensive this tour is, I felt it was okay to suffer through 30 minutes inside an air conditioned jewelry showroom with complimentary refreshments. The 'tour' of Aberdeen harbor also includes an optional sampan boat tour, which I'd recommend doing because it's cheap and fun to ride in the boat, and get a view of the harbor while you're at it. It was just a little disappointing that the sampan captain (who is NOT part of the tour - just a local merchant), didn't give any real commentary about what we were seeing around the harbor. Again, oh well. All in all, this was a great quick overview of HK island, and I'm glad I did it!

Doing what: Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message