• USD ($)
  • English

Hong Kong ATTRACTIONS See all

Po Lin (Precious Lotus) Monastery

If you ask around Hong Kong about the best attractions, chances are you’ll hear mention of the Big Buddha (Tian Tan Buddha) on Lantau Island. What you probably won’t hear mentioned is Po Lin (Precious Lotus) Monastery, yet this once remote monastery ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour! we were taken by boat across to Lantau Island then in a very nice air conditioned comfortable bus to see the HUGE Buddha - we also visited the Po Lin Monastery and had a vegetarian lunch there included in the tour - went to the Pass Tai O fishing village and saw traditional houses on stilts - we loved the 25-minute sky rail cable car to Tung Chung town- one of the highlights of the trip - awesome view so high up! In all a really good tour
•Enjoy a vegetarian lunch at the monastery

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing. I highly recommend the tour. They were in our hotel on time to pick us up. The bus was great and comfortable. We truly enjoyed the tour guide. She was very professional and knowledgeable of the area and gave us a great deal of information. The big buddha is really impressive. The lunch at the Monastery was delicious. The cable car drive back was beautiful. This is a great tour and we were very impressed with Viator. all the tours we took were great. I highly recommend Viator. Thank you for doing such a good job.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour of island, the monastery and Buddha , nice mix of by land and by sea , our guide very knowledgable and genuine and warm- and cable car ride perfect end with great views and a thrilling ride- highly recommend

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was one of the best organized and conducted tours that we have had. The guides were personable and knowledgeable and there was adequate time for each planned event. The only drawback was the vegetarian lunch at the monastery. We were basically processed in the crowded restaurant and the food was, with the exception of one dish, simply awful (for our western palates anyway!).

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a superb trip which met and even exceeded our expectations. It offered a great variety of experiences, from the fishing village of Tai O, with its quaint houses on stilts, to the magnificent Giant Buddha and Po Lin monastery. We also enjoyed spectacular views both from the peaks and also from the cable car- the longest such ride we have ever experienced. The trip was enhanced by a knowledgeable local guide (Ben) who brought a personal flavour to the outing. A very memorable outing, well worth the money.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Loved it. Big Buddha was a great sight. Enjoyed the veggie meal at monastery . Cable car was amazing.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Loved this tour, There was a variety of things to experience and our guide, having lived in the fishing village, was able to answer all questions that were posed. A bit disappointed that I was unable to find a pink dolphin for my 2 granddaughters as per their only request, but lots of other goodies to buy instead for them. The lunch at the monastery was very tasty. The ride down in the cable car was exhilarating and enabled us to view the fantastic mountain scenery.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

After a stunning cable car ride (approx 6.5 Km) across Hong Kong harbour and two mountain peaks you arrive at Po Lin monastery and the sight of the second largest outdoor Buddha in the world, standing 34 mtr high and weighing 250 tonnes, surrounded at the base by the Buddist Temple at the mountain top . Please remember this is a religeous shrine and it begs respect and reverence for the numerous pilgrims at this holy shrine. Peace and serenity abound .

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This tour which is run by a local tour company, Lantau Tours, was really excellent. Ryan, our guide, is a Lantau native and has a real passion for his island. The narrative was both informative and, at times hilarious, Ryan really is entertaining and knowledgable. The tour starts with a relaxing ferry trip to one end of Lantau then a bus drive to a beachside pit stop then on to one of the few remaining traditional fishing villages. This stop included a short boat ride through the village, this was particularly poingnant as we passed some of the stilt houses that had burnt down only a couple of nights before. Back on the bus and a very scenic drive over the island to the Giant Buddha. Instead of walking up to the Buddha the bus dropped the group off at the top allowing for a more leisurely walk down to the Ning Ping Monastery for lunch (Ryan even organised for the bus to wait at the top car park to drive one passenger with a baby and another two with mobility problems back down after touring the Buddha, since he considered the walk down too difficult). The vegetarian lunch was delicious and very filling. The final highlight of the tour was the cable car ride down from the Giant Buddha site to North Lantau. This was fantastic, the ride is about 5 kms long up and down over peaks and valleys with a fantastic view of the new Hong Kong airport at the end. This is a great tour, Ryan is a wonderful guide and made the trip a highlight of my Hong Kong holiday.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great tour and very informative guide. Experienced coach driver. Lunch at the Monastery was fantastic.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The organisation was excellent from picking us up from our hotel in the morning to dropping us back again at the end of the trip. Our guide Ryan was very knowledgeable and very proud of his island. We enjoyed the meal in the monastery and felt that the day was well balanced with free and guided time.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Perfect day, great guide, and what a spectacle Buddha was. Just breath-taking. The Monastery was wonderful, and full of atmosphere. A long day, that was full of tradition, information, and warm people. The traditional pole houses of Tai O were also interesting. Just a wonderful day. Thank you.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

A visitor should take this tour to see how rural undeveloped Lantau Island exists next to the major city of Hong Kong. The visit to the fisherman's village is remarkable as is the stroll through the local fisherman's market. The Buddha is HUGE and the lunch at the monastery very nice (its a large operation with hundreds of people eating). The ride back on the cable car is awesome. It goes for miles with breathtaking views of the airport and Hong Kong along the way.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We had a great day on the tour to Lantau. Ben was a good guide. He provided lots of information and helped us enjoy the day. Tai-O fishing village was fascinating. The Big Buddha exceeded expectations and provided some great photo opportunities. The monastery was also very interesting and the vegetarian lunch included was surprisingly good. I'm not a vegetarian fan but I was surprised at the quality and variety provided. The cable car ride down provided some grat views.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour - everything we expected and more. The vegetarian lunch at the Po Lin Monastery was delicious. We had just come off a Main Land China tour where we had a group of vegetarians with us and the food they were getting was pretty awful. The tour to the fishing village was very interesting as well. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message