Hong Kong ATTRACTIONS See all

Po Lin (Precious Lotus) Monastery

If you ask around Hong Kong about the best attractions, chances are you’ll hear mention of the Big Buddha (Tian Tan Buddha) on Lantau Island. What you probably won’t hear mentioned is Po Lin (Precious Lotus) Monastery, yet this once remote monastery ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was an amazing surprise! The starting point is pretty far from Hong Kong central area, but easy to reach by rail. When you arrive at the cable car, don't worry about the lines because you will get to go right to the head of the line via the special tour line. The cable car ride is amazing----majestic views. When you reach the top, you will find a little tourist type village but it is well done and there are visitors from all over. The monastery is nearby and it has a lot of wow factor for a Buddhist temple---very ornate and huge. The giant Buddha is impressive with manageable stairs that rise to its base. The next part was best for us. We were taken by bus to a very old Chinese fishing village which was the most authentic part of the trip. The houses on stilts were lived in by the fisherman and family members selling dried and fresh fish in the stalls along the streets of the market. There are also other things to purchase including shells and Chinese souvenirs. Then, a boat ride out into the South Chinese Sea to watch many dolphins jumping out of the water and it almost seemed like a show at Sea World! Finally, a stop for dinner, arriving by boat at the pavilion which led to a wonderful Inn that used to be a British police station. Beautiful dining on a hill overlooking the sea. The food was excellent. We took four tours while visiting Hong Kong and this was definitely our favorite. The tour guide was top notch and made the trip both interesting and fun! Don't miss this one!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Lantau Island Sunset Tour Plus Airport Express and MTR

Vera V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is a great sight and should not be missed. Viator did a great job organizing this wonderful tour, including the monastery temple which is magnificent and the best I ever saw. The gondola ride
that was almost cancelled due to excessive ice because of an unexpected cold spell was a real treat.
I highly recommend this tour. It was excellent and I would like to take it again, if I should get to Honk Kong again some day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

qwil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was well organized. First stop was at the Tai O Fishing Village. Then headed to the Tian Tian Buddha Giant Buddha. You will have plenty of time to walk around and take many pictures. The group had lunch at the Po Lin Monastery. They served vegetarian lunch. It's was pretty good.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Terrea v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A MUST SEE if you visit Hong Kong! The viator day tour picks you up at your hotel 8:00 AM, took the ferry across to Lantau and boarded a bus through a scenic drive to Pui O Beach. After this we drove to Tai O Fishing Village, loved walking through open street Markets and seeing Kwan Tai Temple from 1488 AD followed by a small sampan boat seeing the stilt houses. Took the bus to the Big Buddha. We had perfect weather and could see the Buddah, but if there is bad weather, I heard from others sometimes he's in the clouds...and he is BIG. A beautiful sight! Then we went to Po Lin Monastery Vegetarian Restaurant for a just ok Lunch I wasn't expecting much. Walked through Ngong Ping Village very Disney-esque to the Ngong Ping 360 Skyrail Cable Car...amazing views on the way back. This was a great tour! One of my highlights!

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g294217-d447109-r329399199-Lantau_Island-Hong_Kong.html

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Kamaljit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

An amazing day! A brilliant tour guide. Great fun along the way. The Big Buddha and cable car was the highlight of the trip. The lunch at the monastery was lovely.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Sue.cromie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour with an excellent guide. Unfortunately it was raining most of the day but we still managed to see everything and our guide ensured that everything ran smoothly. Lovely lunch at the monastery. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Katie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Brilliant trip! You really get a feel for Hong Kong and more importantly, Lantau Island by doing this trip. Such an interesting place, we enjoyed the Buddha and had a very tasty vegetarian lunch at the monastery but what we enjoyed the most was seeing the amazing fishing village where the houses are on stilts and the incredible views form the cable car. I'd highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

vicki b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved the fishing village, big Buddha, and the Gondolas. What a sight. Lunch at the monastery was also very good.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Heather R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

An great day. The guide was extremely well informed and exploring the monastery complex and lunch were outstanding.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Elissa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great value for money. Pickup from our hotel and coach ride to the ferry stop. Informative tour on Lantau Island and a small brief stop off at Tai O fishing village. Not enough time to walk around for a bite to eat there, enough to walk around take photos, take a boat tour of the houses on stilts in the water and walk through the market. Very picturesque. Loved the Buddha what an amazing view from the top. Vegetarian lunch at Po Lin was okay. You could buy some more snacks from a vegetarian takeaway just outside the monastery quite cheaply. Toilets at the monastery were revolting, doors falling off, rusting and filthy amenities. Cable car ride from the village was a lot of fun although a little scary at times if you are not a fan of heights! Shops at Ngong Ping 360 village was very over the top and touristy. Coach car back to the hotel door. A long day but a lot of fun!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

babie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

lantau tour was very nice, we enjoyed it very much,we had a very knowledgeable tour guide,his name was Ryan,he was funny too.the highlight of that trip was the vegetarian lunch at the monastery. their foods was so delicious.it was ended a pleasure to see lantau island and the giant buddha tour,it is a must see tour,you will not regret it.thanks viators.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jennifer E South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a great day tour, very well organized and with an experienced English speaking guide.
Lunch was included, being the Vegitarian lunch at the Monastery. This lunch was one of the best we had on our whole trip. Highlights were the historic 600-year-old Fishing Village and the return Cable Car ride, which is the longest experienced so far anywhere. A big advantage of this tour was to escape the crowds of Hong Kong, a very peaceful and tranquil setting. This tour did not feel at all pressurized, as there was ample time to take everything in. One can ignore the merchandising at the Village on the return leg if one chooses. All in all highly recommended............

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

rickgraham00

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide for this trip was a very experienced mature individual who shared his experiences in a realistic way. The Buddha was very impressive as was the monastery however the fishing village on stilts was very impressive. Plenty of time was given to explore this village and the shopping buys were great. .The final part of the trip was a tram way ride of about one half hour that was very enjoyable and offered spectacular views of the Island

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

lan.t.tran

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our tour guide to the fishing village, monastery and the Giant Buddha. It's a great package for all 3 and purchasing your ticket through this tour allows you to skip the LONG QUEUE lines, well worth it! The crystal cabin floor wasn't anything special that you can't see outside your window.

Make sure that once you book your tour, to call the touring company to reserve your spot in your desired tour time. It did not state that on the voucher and we were lucky enough that the lady inside the MTR office where we picked up our tour tickets allowed us to use their phone to contact the company to set our tour time for the same day. I wished someone told us that.

Doing what: Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour

Mags

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A wonderful day and our guide Ryan was both funny and very informative which made the trip even more enjoyable. A great mix of people from all four corners on the tour which made for good conversation over lunch. The vegetarian meal at the monastery was delicious. I can't choose what the highlight of the day was as every minute of it was enjoyable. Thank you Viator for making the trip so easy and enjoyable.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Andrew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Our day started with a bit of chaos as the bus scheduled to pick us up at our hotel couldn't make it because of the protesters in Hong Kong. So, they called the hotel and told us we had 45 minutes to get ourselves to the ferry dock. We jumped in a cab, but quickly got stuck in traffic. We paid the cab and jumped out, running across the stopped traffic and down the road to the dock. We made it in time for our boat. The day starts with a ferry ride to Lantau Island. From there, you take a bus to the beach. The beach is uneventful and the best I can tell, it's only included because it's a convenient bathroom stop. Otherwise, there's nothing to see or do. Back on the bus and up to the fishing village. Excellent. We walked through the village and even got a ride in a boat to see the houses on stilts in the area. This was a fun stop. Back on the bus and up to the Giant Buddha. When we arrived, we were driven to the top. We got off and got a tour in and around the Buddha. Then we had time on our own before gathering down below for lunch at the monastery. The vegetarian lunch was actually quite good. Then we had time for shopping as we made the walk to the cable cars. Finally, the cable car ride down to the other side of the island was fantastic. I suggest doing the car with the clear floor. It's a few dollars more, but worth it. The day ended with a rather lengthy bus ride through rush hour traffic back to our HK hotels. Long day, but excellent tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Rick W South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour, very well organised and the duration of the trip was spot on. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. The Giant Buddah is very impressive, the food at the Monastery was excellent and the curio shops in the area are packed with good quality local merchandise. The trip back down the mountain in the cable car was simply spectacular.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great day and found this to be a very worthwhile day-trip to explore places near Hong Kong that we would otherwise not have been able to see.
DATE: Sunday 7th September 2014.
GUIDE: Our guide, Andy, was absolutely fantastic throughout the day - helpful, informative, friendly - and taught us so much more about Hong Kong and the surrounds than we would have imagined.
FOOD: Being vegetarian we found the vegetarian banquet lunch to be perfect ;) seriously, plenty of food to go around, good, basic flavours, easy on those with sensitive G.I.s.
HIGHLIGHTS: Giant Buddha was fun of course, and the Po Lin Monastery was nice, while the 5km cable car ride over mountains offered some wonderful views.
SURPRISES: The Tai O fishing village was quite the eye-opener and definitely worth the visit - for both good and . . . "interesting" reasons!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Murray S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well, it was a surprise to have such a professional and knowledgeable guide, explanation of the tour wet your senses for what was to follow.
The fishing village was a memory I will keep for a long time, followed by the monastery and lunch. What a treat to behold.
The history and beliefs behind this icon of Lantau Island are simply wonderful.
We were thrilled to take the cable car ride back over the mountains and then to come down by the airport,views that took your breath away.
Thank you for the experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Virginia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide and very interesting tour. Highlight was the Giant Buddha, meal at the monastery and cable car trip down.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

BethanieKay USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour, and it was one of the best things I did on my short visit to Hong Kong. There's no way I would've been able to see as much of Lantau Island if I'd tried to do this on my own, especially with all the different forms of transportation needed. The tour was very well organized, and the tour-guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she kept everything on schedule. It was nice to see the rural aspects of life on Lantau Island, including the stop at 'long sand' beach, the drive by the pretty reservoir and a couple prisons, and the lovely drive up and over the lush mountains to the Tai O fishing village. The village itself was an interesting look into traditional culture, even though it did smell quite bad (imagine the heat mixed with drying fish parts). I was very happy that our tour bus drove to the top of the Giant Buddha, sparing us the 268-step climb in the horrid heat/humidity :) The tour also included entry into the special exhibit area inside the Buddha, which wasn't much help without commentary (I had no clue what I was looking at), but I enjoyed the air conditioning anyway! The walk through the Po Lin monastery was interesting, and the vegetarian lunch wasn't that bad. We didn't have as much time as I would've liked to wander the shops in Ngong Ping village before boarding the cablecar, but that's okay. The cablecar ride was amazing - the views over Lantau Island and the south China sea were beautiful. Be sure to look back for views of the Big Buddha. Then topping the ridge, you get views of the Hong Kong airport - which was also very cool, as the airport sits on a man-made island. Overall, this was a very good all-day tour, with the highlights being the Big Buddha and the cablecar ride. I'd definitely recommend this tour, and I recommend you bring a small backpack with a few bottles of water, sunscreen, and an umbrella for small rainshowers, or to keep the very hot sun off you (do as the locals do!).

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Peter W W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an amazing trip. Ferry from Hong Kong to Lantau. Coach in the rain. Boat ride at Tai O village. Up the mountain to see the big Buddha before the thick cloud rolled in. Vegetarian lunch was excellent at the Po Lin Monastery. Then back down the mountain in the cable car in the clouds. Great day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Lilliane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour! we were taken by boat across to Lantau Island then in a very nice air conditioned comfortable bus to see the HUGE Buddha - we also visited the Po Lin Monastery and had a vegetarian lunch there included in the tour - went to the Pass Tai O fishing village and saw traditional houses on stilts - we loved the 25-minute sky rail cable car to Tung Chung town- one of the highlights of the trip - awesome view so high up! In all a really good tour
•Enjoy a vegetarian lunch at the monastery

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

maricarmen22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing. I highly recommend the tour. They were in our hotel on time to pick us up. The bus was great and comfortable. We truly enjoyed the tour guide. She was very professional and knowledgeable of the area and gave us a great deal of information. The big buddha is really impressive. The lunch at the Monastery was delicious. The cable car drive back was beautiful. This is a great tour and we were very impressed with Viator. all the tours we took were great. I highly recommend Viator. Thank you for doing such a good job.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour of island, the monastery and Buddha , nice mix of by land and by sea , our guide very knowledgable and genuine and warm- and cable car ride perfect end with great views and a thrilling ride- highly recommend

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message