Hong Kong ATTRACTIONS See all

Star Ferry Pier

The Star Ferry Pier in Hong Kong serves as the launching spot for the Star Ferry on the Hong Kong Island side of Victoria Harbour. Located in Central, the current Star Ferry Pier is actually the fourth to bear the name since the Star Ferry first ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really good trip. Price also included Star Ferry, Maritime Museum, Sampan Ride. we also chose the Night Bus around Kowloon. Excellent value for money. Following our experience we also booked the same company in Shanghai.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Paul F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Making the tour time and location arrangements was very straightforward and went smoothly.
Undoubtedly the best way to get a great overview of Kowloon and Hong Kong island so you know where you want to explore further. The ferry trip and peak rail tickets a great bonus.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Louisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the BEST way to see all the sights in Hong Kong. You'll be transported to all the sights in Hong Kong in the comfort of the Big Red Bus while you listen to the very informative commentary. Hop off and on as often as you like knowing that the next bus will be along in 30 minutes. Choose from 3 different routes or do them all we did!. So many things are included in your Big Bus ticket - harbour cruise, entry to the maritime museum, star ferry transfers, the Peak tram.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Wesley E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Good commentary with lots of extras including harbour cruise, ferry tickets as many as you wanted and the Peak Tram

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Nicvee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were only in Hong Kong for a couple of days so this really suited us as we got to get out and see lots of areas very easily. If it hadn't been for this tour then we wouldn't have gone out to places like Aberdeen on the green route. We wish we would have had more time to get off and explore the areas on this route. My favourite thing was the Sampan ride. Great to do something that felt slightly cultural in a very modern city.

Also very handy that the Star Ferry journey was included in our ticket and the Victoria Peak ticket. We were really happy with this as having everything included made our short amount of time in Hong Kong much easier to get around and see the things we wanted to.

I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Hong Kong but I do have one piece of advice - unlike London and other open top bus tours I have been on, the bus stops are not clearly labelled. The map that is provided with the tour gives you good notes on where to find the bus stops but it took us a long time to find the stop nearest to our hotel in Kowloon because we were expecting to see the Big Bus logo on the bus stop. It wasn't an issue once we had a map but I just thought this may help others doing this tour in the future.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

suebishop2514

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This ticket is such good value for money! You can do three separate tours and see most of Hong Kong over a 48-hour period. The ticket includes the ferry, a river cruise and the tram to the Peak, as well as entrance to the Maritime Museum. There are people at all the major places to guide you to attractions or route changes, and they couldn't be more pleasant and helpful. Highly recommend the 48-hour Big Bus Tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Neil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was great! Very worth the money and the buses were always brilliantly on time, even during rush hour. We felt we got a lot for our money and saw many areas of Hong Kong whilst listening to the interesting commentary. The extras were great- boat trips and ferry tickets and the sky 100. I would highly recommend this trip, especially if you only have 2 or 3 days to explore HK

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

sfengland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Frantic city but good tour. Peak Tram and Star Ferry included and both excellent. Don't skip either...

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sarah m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I truly enjoyed the whole 48 hours! As a solo traveler, I really wasn't sure what to see and do in HK, but hte Big Bus Tour helped me explore many regions of HK and really taste what HK has to offer. I did all three tours Green, Red, Blue, as well as the one-hour ferry cruise, and the tour of the Maritime Museum. It was fabulous. Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Bruce B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were in Hong Kong for 48 hours and we took full advantage of all that the ticket offered. The ferry rides and harbor cruise were bonuses. Well worth the money. Oh yeah, the tram to the viewing platform overlooking Hong Kong was included and truly amazing...not to be missed.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Vohie Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An outstanding value packed activity over the two days. The ability to get a feel for HK and being able to hop on hop off on the three routes was excellent. The extras - ferry rides, peak tram ride, san pan ride were great inclusions and the night tour.
The staff were obvious and very helpful all around the different routes and gave insightful hints as well
Great value

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A brilliant way to see Hong Kong. We did the 48 hour trip so we had two days to explore. The tickets included the Star Ferry and the train to The Peak. Would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant - filled 2 days with 3 tours during the day - an evening tour of Kowloon, a sampan ride and trips on the Star ferry

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, we took all 3 options and the added trip on the star ferry was great as was the Sampan trip and the Victoria Peak Tram ride. Could not have been better for 48 hours, it allowed us to see all of Hong Kong.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Lorraine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic service and value for money. The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable and the commentary was very informative. With the ferry tickets included, it is the very best way to see Hong Kong.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

kerry d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

First of all I would recommend this tour and high marks for the staff. The Hop-on Hop-off tour employees were great. They were very welcoming and helpful and most of them spoke English. I had booked a two day tour and it took two full days to see everything that was listed on the tour. The extra items like the Victoria peak tram and the 30 minute boat ride were great. The Sampan ride was also interesting. Your ticket also includes four trips across the harbour from Kowloon to Hong Kong Island on the Star Ferry. You get a great view of the harbour. Its only about 10 minutes to cross the harbour but very nice. There is more to see on the Hong Kong Island side. I would suggest seeing this side first. The first stop on the Hong Kong Island side is Victoria Peak Tram. Get off first thing in the morning and this way you will miss the crowds. There is a fantastic view of the city from the Peak and there are also a lot of shops. You will need at least one hour or more to see everything at the top of the mountain. You have priority boarding going up, but not coming down. After leaving the peak take the bus that goes to Stanley and Aberdeen. After you go through a 2 mile tunnel you come out to the ocean and you look down on sandy beaches and secluded beaches. Its hard to believe you just came from a crowded city. Get off at the end of the Bay Area and take the Sampan tour. Its short but it gives you and idea what its like to live on a Sampan. Towards the end of the day go back across the bay to the Kowloon side to take the boat trip in the harbour. Well worth it. There are lots of spots to get off and sample the restaurant areas etc. There is also a ticket for the Marine Museum. I did everything listed for the tour and I had a great time.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Rosita E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

for the price, definitely worth it (especially with all the things inclusive of the tour such as the 3 tour lines, ferry tickets between islands, star ferry harbor tour, ticket to victoria peak). locations for the stops are in the perfect location. VERY worth it and if you want a way to see all of hong kong, this is the way to do it.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great value with 48 hour pass - bus, unlimited ferry crossings between Kowloon and Hong Kong island, harbour boat trip, tram to The Peak and sampan. Excellent way to get around and see the sights.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Willis Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a 2 day pass that was absolute value for money. Although the weather was very hazy it did not spoil going round two of the circuits. We were lucky that the haze cleared when we visited Victoria Peak and the sun came out. With the ferry tickets and sampan ride included it was value for money. The guides selling tickets were very informative and helpful. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Amy-Claire Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome value for money, and a great way to see the most part of Hong Kong if you are running on a tight schedule. We booked the 48hr ticket and managed to do all 3 loops, including the return Star Ferry, The Peak Tram, Times Square/SOGO Shopping, Man Mo Temple, Avenue of Stars, the Mid-Level Escalators, the Sampan ride at Aberdeen and the Stanley Markets. We also used the Big Buses as transport to get from one location to another when we had finished for the day. One of the best timed hop on hop off commentaries! It all matches up perfectly with what you are looking at :) Do HK justice - book the HOHO Big Bus through Viator!!

TIP:
* To validate your ticket take your voucher to the Big Bus office at Central Pier (down past Subway and a Bakery) or Tsim Sha Tsui, and they give you all of your tickets etc and an AWESOME map.
* Staff are located all over Hong Kong streets in big red jackets if you need assistance - so great!
* Sit upstairs, at the front for the best photos...and a bit of a wind break ;)

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Philip John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great value for money. We used it to the full and particularly enjoyed the Star Ferry crossings. One of the best ways to get to know your way around Hong Kong.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Julia N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Bib Bus Tour saved my continuous-rain-and-cold trip to Hong Kong! The contact people were very friendly, spoke good English, and gave me lots of good advise! The bus was my haven in the rain and a great way to navigate the area. Included in the two-day ticket were ferry tickets between Kowloon and Hong Kong as well as tickets for The Peak Tram, a sanpan ride, and a tour of Victoria Harbor. The Peak Tram and ferry tickets really fit the bill, however, the weather kept me from using the others.

I tend to get lost in big cities, so the Big Bus map came in handy getting directly to points of interest. I got to visit the villages of Stanley and Aberdeen as well as the Ladies Market for some shopping.

Although I was traveling as a retired (old) single female, the Big Bus would be great for families with young kids because there's lots of room on top and room inside for strollers and carts. Hong Kong really would be easy for a family to visit, if they had the advantage of the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus.

In sum, the Hop-on-Hop-off City Tour was everything I had hoped it to be.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Susanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was our first trip to Hong Kong. We often use the Hop-On Hop-Off tours in new cities to help in getting our bearings. We found the Hong Kong tour to be very helpful in that and also to be very good value. Our tour included access to three lines, cable car ride to Victoria Peak, a harbour cruise and unlimited access to the ferry services to cross the harbour as we needed. We would certainly recommend the tour to anyone looking for an easy way to familiarise themselves with Hong Kong.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Patricia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was such a good tour. So much was included and everything ran like clockwork. Bus tours, ferry trips, train ride up the peak and a sampan trip.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Darren B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is the best way to see the sites if you have only a few days
Easy to use and the staff at the star ferry terminal are very helpful, they provided plenty of tips

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message