Reminiscent of urban landscapes from cyberpunk novels, Hong Kong is eclectic, fast paced and modern, with enough towering skyscrapers, electric streetscapes, commercial fervor and cultural idiosyncrasies to utterly swamp the senses of a visitor. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 981 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent day. Lots of fun for the whole family.

Doing what: Hong Kong Disneyland Admission with Transport

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very good trip, the fishing village was fascinating and well looked after by the tour staff. Lunch in the monestary was simple but very tasty. Unfortunately the weather (a force 3 typhoon!) meant that the cable car was cancelled which was disappointing.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The cruise in the Hong Kong Harbor was very nice, I think the actual light show wasn't as good as I expected but most enjoyable

Doing what: Symphony of Lights Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommend this tour and I have just complete the London big bus and really enjoyed both, best way to get an overview of any city

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour and great guide in Queendy. The Big Buddha and Tai O fishing village were highlights. The vegetarian meal was very good. All transfers were completed as promised. The tram was just OK.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great day trip away from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great price for the amount of sights, stops, and admission fees included. Very well run with several english speakers to assisst.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour, and it was one of the best things I did on my short visit to Hong Kong. There's no way I would've been able to see as much of Lantau Island if I'd tried to do this on my own, especially with all the different forms of transportation needed. The tour was very well organized, and the tour-guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she kept everything on schedule. It was nice to see the rural aspects of life on Lantau Island, including the stop at 'long sand' beach, the drive by the pretty reservoir and a couple prisons, and the lovely drive up and over the lush mountains to the Tai O fishing village. The village itself was an interesting look into traditional culture, even though it did smell quite bad (imagine the heat mixed with drying fish parts). I was very happy that our tour bus drove to the top of the Giant Buddha, sparing us the 268-step climb in the horrid heat/humidity :) The tour also included entry into the special exhibit area inside the Buddha, which wasn't much help without commentary (I had no clue what I was looking at), but I enjoyed the air conditioning anyway! The walk through the Po Lin monastery was interesting, and the vegetarian lunch wasn't that bad. We didn't have as much time as I would've liked to wander the shops in Ngong Ping village before boarding the cablecar, but that's okay. The cablecar ride was amazing - the views over Lantau Island and the south China sea were beautiful. Be sure to look back for views of the Big Buddha. Then topping the ridge, you get views of the Hong Kong airport - which was also very cool, as the airport sits on a man-made island. Overall, this was a very good all-day tour, with the highlights being the Big Buddha and the cablecar ride. I'd definitely recommend this tour, and I recommend you bring a small backpack with a few bottles of water, sunscreen, and an umbrella for small rainshowers, or to keep the very hot sun off you (do as the locals do!).

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip! The fishing village and the Buddha were the best. Mr. Pen, our tour guide, was fantastic. We could have skipped the beach - it wasn't particularly pretty and there was nothing to do or see. Be sure to shop at the cluster of nicer stores on the way to the cable cars, and don't spend your limited time (I would have liked more time) at the first big souvenir shop. This was really interesting - the ferry ride over, the tour guide's comments, the tour and boat ride in the fishing exhibit.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great way to orient oneself to the various markets and how they have evolved. Our tour guide was laid back, yet knew a lot.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour: Old vs New Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide and very interesting tour. Highlight was the Giant Buddha, meal at the monastery and cable car trip down.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

beautiful and majestic. Island is relatively untouched so lovely contrast to hectic city life of Hong Kong. Wonderful cultural experience.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Bing
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a view! I have a fetish of visiting skyscrapers around the world and I have to say that this was one of the most impressive experiences to date. The Windows are from floor to ceiling and you can walk 360` around for an panoramic view of Hong Kong from every angle. Come at night and it's breathtaking! We booked with Viator to skip the long line at the ticket office. It's well worth every penny!

Doing what: Sky100 Hong Kong Observation Deck Admission Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message