Reminiscent of urban landscapes from cyberpunk novels, Hong Kong is eclectic, fast paced and modern, with enough towering skyscrapers, electric streetscapes, commercial fervor and cultural idiosyncrasies to utterly swamp the senses of a visitor. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1264 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was an amazing surprise! The starting point is pretty far from Hong Kong central area, but easy to reach by rail. When you arrive at the cable car, don't worry about the lines because you will get to go right to the head of the line via the special tour line. The cable car ride is amazing----majestic views. When you reach the top, you will find a little tourist type village but it is well done and there are visitors from all over. The monastery is nearby and it has a lot of wow factor for a Buddhist temple---very ornate and huge. The giant Buddha is impressive with manageable stairs that rise to its base. The next part was best for us. We were taken by bus to a very old Chinese fishing village which was the most authentic part of the trip. The houses on stilts were lived in by the fisherman and family members selling dried and fresh fish in the stalls along the streets of the market. There are also other things to purchase including shells and Chinese souvenirs. Then, a boat ride out into the South Chinese Sea to watch many dolphins jumping out of the water and it almost seemed like a show at Sea World! Finally, a stop for dinner, arriving by boat at the pavilion which led to a wonderful Inn that used to be a British police station. Beautiful dining on a hill overlooking the sea. The food was excellent. We took four tours while visiting Hong Kong and this was definitely our favorite. The tour guide was top notch and made the trip both interesting and fun! Don't miss this one!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Lantau Island Sunset Tour Plus Airport Express and MTR

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Need a taxi to get there but worth the effort. Stunning views of Kowloon and HK. If you have got a spare couple of hours one evening this is a good event.

Doing what: Sky100 Hong Kong Observation Deck Admission Ticket

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Easy way to see a lot of both HK and Kowloon. The Kowloon trip includes the Peak Tram which is excellent. Interesting on board narration to explain some of the history of HK and Kowloon. Not to be missed

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Steven R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour and very good tour guide.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Mrs M K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great tour for seeing around, well organised by the company guides who were on hand to advise which bus to get for your tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jessica M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

It took ages to get to the meeting destination via the transport provided. Our tour guide was friendly and informative. We made a few stops on our way to the Giant Buddha including a small fishing village which smelt terrible but was really cool to see. Our tour guide gave an informative walking tour when we arrived at the Buddha before we ate a vegan lunch at the monastery. The cable cars gave an amazing view as we rode them back towards the city. Overall, a good but expensive tour.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Maureen U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing tour, I cant imagine going to Hong Kong and not taking this tour. Quendy spelling? was a geat tour guide. She had lots of history but at the same time was entertaining and funny. She was so helpful giving advise on the best way to get around and what we should do and see.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

F M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was a young lady and knew the subject well. I enjoyed the tour imensely, espeially seeing the market place

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Wan Peng L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great hiking tour in Tai Mo Shan with Rory. He's a easy going and cheerful guide who led us to the peak of Tai Mo Shan upon our request despite the cold, windy and foggy weather. It was quite a struggle for some of us trying to scale the steep elevation with the wind blowing against us but we persevered and were elated to be able to reach the top. The descend was rewarded with the beautiful waterfalls that Rory led us to. Overall, it was a tiring but enjoyable hike. Thanks to Rory!

Doing what: Hong Kong Hiking Tour in Tai Mo Shan with Waterfall Adventure

Noraliza O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was absolutely fantastic.
We enjoyed it immensely

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

qwil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was well organized. First stop was at the Tai O Fishing Village. Then headed to the Tian Tian Buddha Giant Buddha. You will have plenty of time to walk around and take many pictures. The group had lunch at the Po Lin Monastery. They served vegetarian lunch. It's was pretty good.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Vera V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This is a great sight and should not be missed. Viator did a great job organizing this wonderful tour, including the monastery temple which is magnificent and the best I ever saw. The gondola ride
that was almost cancelled due to excessive ice because of an unexpected cold spell was a real treat.
I highly recommend this tour. It was excellent and I would like to take it again, if I should get to Honk Kong again some day.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Little Mo United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A really enjoyable day. Lantau Island is a nice, quiet island away from all the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong Island. The Big Buddha statue was amazing to see. The vegetarian lunch was really good. They gave us a selection of dishes to try. I'm vegetarian but the rest of the group weren't and they all enjoyed the food.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

evr.eng

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The highlight of this tour was visiting the Giant Buddha and riding the cable car. Lantau is a beautiful island with beautiful coastline views. Even though it was a cloudy day, the views were still breathtaking!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Maureen C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very well organized, great sites to see, but the tour guide was not the best at giving us lots of information.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Paul Martin H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Fortunately we had a clear night and ocean was relatively calm. Hong Kong always interesting. Tours well conducted.

Doing what: Symphony of Lights Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise

davelou

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Was a good layout. Allowed us to see most important places easily.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Margherita S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour was great! A really gentle local guide who told us about the history of hong kong na dlantaum really enjoyed the fisherman village and the big Buddha. Lunch was ok but nothing special. Cable car ride was nice too. I would suggest it

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

clinton l

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We were only in HK for one full day, so this worked perfectly for us. Got to see most of the City. The drivers and ground staff were very friendly and attentive and made it easy to find where to go/which bus to get on. Would definitely recommend this to people on a quick stopover.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jillian B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was a pleasant cruise in which I had plenty of time to admire the amazing Hong Kong skyline.The Symphony of Lights show itself was a little disappointing but just being able to enjoy the skyline more than made up for it.

There was plenty of space on the boat and the bar never got busy, so managed to have a few drinks.

Doing what: Symphony of Lights Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise

whiterhino

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Good tour - disappointed that fog made seeing buddha difficult, but excellent lunch and guide was very informative and helpful

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Colin E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Excellent trip, marred only by poor weather closing in later in the afternoon. Cable car ride was a white-out.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Colin E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Excellent trip, marred only by poor weather closing in later in the afternoon. Cable car ride was a white-out.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Barbara W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

different perspective from the bustle of Hong Kong

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Colin E

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Blue and red routes were informative. Green route to Stanley was spoiled by a ludicrous timetable which resulted in a wild and uncomfortable, with no possibility of photographic opportunities identified by the commentary and therefore failing one of the reasons for the tour. This schedule needs revisiting.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message