Reminiscent of urban landscapes from cyberpunk novels, Hong Kong is eclectic, fast paced and modern, with enough towering skyscrapers, electric streetscapes, commercial fervor and cultural idiosyncrasies to utterly swamp the senses of a visitor. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 957 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great price for the amount of sights, stops, and admission fees included. Very well run with several english speakers to assisst.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour, and it was one of the best things I did on my short visit to Hong Kong. There's no way I would've been able to see as much of Lantau Island if I'd tried to do this on my own, especially with all the different forms of transportation needed. The tour was very well organized, and the tour-guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she kept everything on schedule. It was nice to see the rural aspects of life on Lantau Island, including the stop at 'long sand' beach, the drive by the pretty reservoir and a couple prisons, and the lovely drive up and over the lush mountains to the Tai O fishing village. The village itself was an interesting look into traditional culture, even though it did smell quite bad (imagine the heat mixed with drying fish parts). I was very happy that our tour bus drove to the top of the Giant Buddha, sparing us the 268-step climb in the horrid heat/humidity :) The tour also included entry into the special exhibit area inside the Buddha, which wasn't much help without commentary (I had no clue what I was looking at), but I enjoyed the air conditioning anyway! The walk through the Po Lin monastery was interesting, and the vegetarian lunch wasn't that bad. We didn't have as much time as I would've liked to wander the shops in Ngong Ping village before boarding the cablecar, but that's okay. The cablecar ride was amazing - the views over Lantau Island and the south China sea were beautiful. Be sure to look back for views of the Big Buddha. Then topping the ridge, you get views of the Hong Kong airport - which was also very cool, as the airport sits on a man-made island. Overall, this was a very good all-day tour, with the highlights being the Big Buddha and the cablecar ride. I'd definitely recommend this tour, and I recommend you bring a small backpack with a few bottles of water, sunscreen, and an umbrella for small rainshowers, or to keep the very hot sun off you (do as the locals do!).

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

GINA U
Canada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Tour guide is good and patient, however the Sheung Wan .district tour is not worth seeing. It's just a waste of time.

Doing what: Hong Kong Super Saver: Hong Kong Island Tour plus Sheung Wan District Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour. The tour of Lantau island was interesting. The cable car ride had good views of the island and seeing the Big Buddha was worth the trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide and an interesting journey to places we would never have seen by ourselves!

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour: Old vs New Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The only way to see Hong Kong. The three routes make the cost worth while. We took a 48 hour ticket and got to see everything.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Overall this was a great and interesting tour, what I didn't know was a few items: 1- I was required to transport myself to hotel to be picked up by the tour company even though I was the only person staying on Hong Kong Island, 2) we were shuffled between tour buses to meet up with another tour so we were one big tour, overall it was really good, the tour guide knew, English really well and was able to answer question and showcase Lantau Island. the Buddha is AMAZING, and the cable car ride to the bottom was great also it felt like a never ending ski lift. I just wish there was a little bit more time to shop in some of the areas.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Always a great outing although the food this time was not as good as the last. Cannot thank our tour guide Shu enough she goes way beyond to make your outing the best it can be, hope we get her next time we're here.

Doing what: Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great way to see Hong Kong if you have limited time. Not well sign posted due to government legislation, but easy to find. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Tour was great, definitely the best way to visit this amazing city! The only problem I experienced was with the Night Tour. In addition to the basic tour, I pre-purchased the additional Night Tour, but when we arrived at the location to take the tour, the Red Shirt staff member said that it was not part of my package and would not allow us on the bus (the Red Shirt staff member who printed my ticket/coupons when I arrived in Hong Kong did not print this particular coupon even though it was shown on my printed receipt). Fortunately, I was able to pull up my email confirmation on my phone to prove that I had indeed purchased the the Night Tour, after that we were allowed on the bus.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Interesting and enjoyable tours particularly the beautiful scenery on the way to and from Stanley Markets, and also gave a good sense of Hong Kong Island. We also booked the night tour but spent a lot of time in traffic. Very good value.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Needed the two day trip to take in everything with great commentary of pints of interest.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Good way to learn about Hong Kong and get most of the city. The routes offered were good. The time between buses was much longer than listed. One decision we made actually turned out better than expected. We opted to get to the Peak Tram on our own and earlier than when the buses started (around 8am). We ended up paying for the tickets ourselves (which meant that we did not use the ones that came with this tour) but we had no line for the Tram and almost no other folks at the top of the Peak. This meant a quick ride up, great unobstructed views at the top on a beautiful clear day, and a quick ride down by ourselves. When we were leaving at around 9:20 AM the line at the bottom was already about 100 people deep. Two ours later when we got back from the tour the line snaked all the way out the the street and back around. Could have been two hundred or more at that time.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Good tour. Also included the evening your - it would have been great to fe told that the evening tour finished on the other island and we had to take the Star Ferry back, there were a lot of bemused passengers!!!!

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message