• USD ($)
  • English
Reminiscent of urban landscapes from cyberpunk novels, Hong Kong is eclectic, fast paced and modern, with enough towering skyscrapers, electric streetscapes, commercial fervor and cultural idiosyncrasies to utterly swamp the senses of a visitor. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 967 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great price for the amount of sights, stops, and admission fees included. Very well run with several english speakers to assisst.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour, and it was one of the best things I did on my short visit to Hong Kong. There's no way I would've been able to see as much of Lantau Island if I'd tried to do this on my own, especially with all the different forms of transportation needed. The tour was very well organized, and the tour-guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she kept everything on schedule. It was nice to see the rural aspects of life on Lantau Island, including the stop at 'long sand' beach, the drive by the pretty reservoir and a couple prisons, and the lovely drive up and over the lush mountains to the Tai O fishing village. The village itself was an interesting look into traditional culture, even though it did smell quite bad (imagine the heat mixed with drying fish parts). I was very happy that our tour bus drove to the top of the Giant Buddha, sparing us the 268-step climb in the horrid heat/humidity :) The tour also included entry into the special exhibit area inside the Buddha, which wasn't much help without commentary (I had no clue what I was looking at), but I enjoyed the air conditioning anyway! The walk through the Po Lin monastery was interesting, and the vegetarian lunch wasn't that bad. We didn't have as much time as I would've liked to wander the shops in Ngong Ping village before boarding the cablecar, but that's okay. The cablecar ride was amazing - the views over Lantau Island and the south China sea were beautiful. Be sure to look back for views of the Big Buddha. Then topping the ridge, you get views of the Hong Kong airport - which was also very cool, as the airport sits on a man-made island. Overall, this was a very good all-day tour, with the highlights being the Big Buddha and the cablecar ride. I'd definitely recommend this tour, and I recommend you bring a small backpack with a few bottles of water, sunscreen, and an umbrella for small rainshowers, or to keep the very hot sun off you (do as the locals do!).

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip! The fishing village and the Buddha were the best. Mr. Pen, our tour guide, was fantastic. We could have skipped the beach - it wasn't particularly pretty and there was nothing to do or see. Be sure to shop at the cluster of nicer stores on the way to the cable cars, and don't spend your limited time (I would have liked more time) at the first big souvenir shop. This was really interesting - the ferry ride over, the tour guide's comments, the tour and boat ride in the fishing exhibit.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great way to orient oneself to the various markets and how they have evolved. Our tour guide was laid back, yet knew a lot.

Doing what: Small-Group Walking Tour: Old vs New Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide and very interesting tour. Highlight was the Giant Buddha, meal at the monastery and cable car trip down.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

beautiful and majestic. Island is relatively untouched so lovely contrast to hectic city life of Hong Kong. Wonderful cultural experience.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Petra J
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Good way to see Island and sights in a short time, guide was good too

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

I was picked up in a "mini van" and not the coach bus as advertised. The driver did not give good instructions on train ride back (I attempted to ask questions). I did make it back but it wasn't due to his help. It's NOT worth the fee- I suggest taking public transportation both ways!

Doing what: Hong Kong Disneyland Admission with Transport

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Ok could have been more laser show

Doing what: Symphony of Lights Hong Kong Harbor Night Cruise

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This trip was well worth doing when visiting Hong Kong as it so far removed from the hustle and bustle of HK life and gives one a chance to relax and reflect. The Buddha monument was also breathtaking!

Only drawback was the early start which is difficult to do when on holiday!

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Staff were fantastic but locations of bus stops not advertised clearly enough.

Doing what: Big Bus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

GINA U
Canada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Tour guide is good and patient, however the Sheung Wan .district tour is not worth seeing. It's just a waste of time.

Doing what: Hong Kong Super Saver: Hong Kong Island Tour plus Sheung Wan District Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

From the beginning this tour seemed to be badly organised following pick up we went around the block 3 times without explanation. When we finally met our tour guide on Lantau Island the tour guide although informative on the bus when we stopped to get off the bus and look at something seemed in a hurry to move onto the next stop. On returning from Lantau Island our drop off was also done by other staff who also didn't inform us of what was going on and on return to our hotel the organiser got off at some point without a goodbye just leaving myself and 2 fellow customers with the driver.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour. The tour of Lantau island was interesting. The cable car ride had good views of the island and seeing the Big Buddha was worth the trip.

Doing what: Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message