Hong Kong, located on the coast of China at the Pearl River Delta and South China Sea, was originally a fishing village. It became a colony of the British Empire after the First Opium War in the 1800s. Now one of two special administrative regions ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour made for my favourite experience out of our four week honeymoon! Michelle and Richard are stupendous guides who really made the day worthwhile.
The whole thing ran seamlessly. We were picked up from a hotel, given the chance to buy some snacks for the road at the pier, then sped over to China on a catamaran. Entry into the country with our group visa was well organised and quick. The bus through Shenzen was fascinating and far different to what I was expecting. The museum with terracotta warriors, jade and different Chinese teas was a potential low point as we had to deflect the constant sales pitching of souvenirs, jewellery etc. This was nothing to do with the tour company though. The next stop was the safari park where we met two Pandas (AMAZING) and two lion cubs. Great experience but again we had people chasing us putting with snakes and birds trying photos for money. Mildly annoying but worth it to see the pandas and again, not the tour’s fault.
Following this was the drive to Guangzhou which seemingly took no time at all with Richard on the mic sharing his fascinating anecdotes the whole way there. The guy is probably the most hilarious person I’ve ever met, and the best part is that he doesn’t even realise it which just makes everything he says that much funnier. Upon arriving at Guangzhou we enjoyed a delicious lunch of traditional Chinese dim sum. I get the feeling they served a somewhat simplified menu for us Westerners.. suffice it to say I didn’t see any chicken feet on the lazy susan. After lunch we took a brief but magnificent tour of a local food market, a definite highlight. The things I saw in that five or ten minute walk will stay with me forever! After this we visited the historic town hall and the biggest temple in the city. Both very interesting as well. When we finally got off the train back in HK at 11pm we were exhausted from the sheer amount of mental stimuli and energy expelled that day, but my goodness was it worth it!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well organised trip. Knowledgeable tour guides doing their very best to show China in one day!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Susan is just the best tour guide l have had anywhere in the world including Europe, China, Vietnam, USA,Australia, England, she knows her stuff and presents it in a very professional but personal manner. I recommend this tour to everybody that l know that goes to Hong Kong and when back at the hotel l also recommend the tour to people that we met during dinner ect. The Hakka village is an absolute must see and the main reason why l bought my wife to HK with me this time, thanks Susan.

Doing what: New Territories of Hong Kong 'The Land Between' Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great tour. It is a very long day. I was picked up at 7:30am at my hotel and return at 10:45pm. I was tired but the trip was worth it. The tour leader, Michelle, took care of everything regarding transportation and lunch. The tour guide took us all over Canton, talked for hours about China, past and present.
For anyone who wants a taste of mainland China, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a fabulous day trip to china from Hong Kong. Three of us travelled, including my 80 year old mum. The day was extremely well organised. Alex, our guide for the whole day was just brilliant. He looked after us so well, kept us very well informed and he was very entertaining. Every part of the day was great. A really good taster of china. It is a very long day but it passed very quickly. We saw some amazing sights, has a lovely meal and travelled by boat, coach and train ... All very confortable.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great day although long. Michelle our tour guide was with us all day and a great laugh. The highlight for us was Guangzhou and lunch in an authentic dim sum restaurant. There is a lot of ground covered in the day - bus, ferry, bus, train but a great way to see a very small part of China. The Chinese tour guide, Albert, was very knowledgable and provided great insight. If you have a spare day in Hong Kong try this out.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We feel like this trip was a very good introduction to China. We got to see some highlights of the cities and experience life in the country.
We appreciate our guide's flexibility when we wanted to change our itinerary (as in ending the bike ride due to traffic, and skipping Reed Flute Cave for hiking.) As a private tour, we had a choice of what we wanted to see and do with the expertise of our guide's, Bin's, knowledge of the area.
The food was delicious. We like that we ate in nice restaurants as well as local places and that we got to go to the local markets and cook a meal in a class. The hotels were comfortable (3 and 4 stars). We enjoyed the quiet scenic private boat rides, both along the Pearl River and the Li River. We liked being away from the touristy areas, so our hike from Dazhai to Ping’An was very special. Waking up in Ping’An was beautiful with mountains all around us.

We especially want to thank our guide, Bin, for taking care of our daughter's other travel arrangements and accommodations. We enjoyed good conversations with Bin.

We wish you many good travels and good health to Bin and the rest of Viator.

Doing what: 6-Day Best of Southern China Private Tour: Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Guilin and Yangshuo Including Pearl River

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful. What a terrific, if very long, day. Michelle, our guide for the duration couldn't have been more helpful, informative or fun and Albert, who joined us once we arrived in Shenzhen, was a mine of information. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone, indeed, it has whetted our appetites for a longer trip to China in the near future.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Jim Bris
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a long day, but not too much walking, so overall very good and an interesting introduction to a changing China. We were collected at our hotel (City Garden HK Island) by Michelle at the allotted time (also confirmed prior to collection) and taken by bus to collect others around HKI. We then went through customs and immigration and took a 1 hour ferry ride to Shenzen where we were met by Richard (Michelle stayed with us all day too) and a comfortable coach. We did the Kindy thing first and then to the Cultural Museum. There are four selected "original" terracotta figures here and you get a brief overview of the history behind them. Next into the shop by the terracotta warriors for the "hard sell" aspect where they get you to hopefully buy jewellery mainly, but some miniature terracotta warriors too. The emphasis here is unfortunately not the warriors but more the jewellery - if anything, this was the low point of the trip and in my opinion, unnecessarily drawn out.
Next on to the zoo - which was almost empty when we arrived and the coach drives in up to the panda area - no chance to see anything else at the zoo aside from the pandas, nonetheless, quite interesting.

Long drive (2+ hours depending on traffic) to Guangzhou which was interesting although pretty much built up all the way. Lunch (quite late - so Michelle encourages you to buy snacks before you leave HK and can be eaten on the bus) next in busy Guangzhou - Cantonese and pretty authentic, although a bit rushed. Walk through some markets with interesting and live things for sale (warned of pick-pockets here - so be careful). Off next to a temple and then to the train station for a pleasant train journey back to HK, arriving back around 11.00pm.

They also take photos during the day and offer these for sale at days end - quite nicely presented.

Finally - tips are requested/suggested by Michelle.

A very interesting day for a first trip to China - probably not good for small children.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great experience, Michelle was one of the best group leaders I've ever seen! our Tour guide on the china side was a great guide as well I can't remember his name again unfortunately..... I would HIGHLY recommend this tour on a day trip from Hong Kong.......

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip was fantastic and China was certainly an eye opener. The Tour guides were great and the day whilst long, ran smoothly. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Local HK Tour East company went far beyond our expectations in arranging our trip and sending info to our hotel before our arrival. Alex our tour guide was excellent and Albert, who joined us in China continued the informative commentary throughout our day. Ben, the bus driver did an outstanding job in some very congested traffic. A very good, value for money first tour into China. Thank you!

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

An excellent snapshot of modern China. Very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful guides. Interesting and varied itinerary. Plenty of tasty food for lunch. Comfortable travel. Would thoroughly recommend.

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a very pleasant boat ride to shenzen with interesting sights. The coach ride to Guangzhou was a welcome rest for some us as the trip starts early in the morning. The lunch was great and well worth to wait to get it by 3pm only due to the coachtrip. The walk thru the market is impressive and you can still see that Chinese like live animals..... The next points on the program were good too. The train ride back to Hong Kong was another highlight. A very interesting program and worth every single cent. Highly recommended trip. If you want to avoid a disappointment..... then don't eat at the train station while waiting for the train. The food there is like China was 20 years ago...

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The tour was great! The tour guide who stayed with us the whole trip was very good- helped with tips like "get a snack before we start because it is a very late lunch" and where's the best place to go to the"happy room" (toilet), was very organised and just generally nice. The guy, Richard, who did the spruking during the china portion of the tour, was the "information" guide- he was excellent and had a great sense of humour.
The tour itself was good too, we were a little rushed for time at times but not unpleasantly so. Initially I thought going to a "kindergarten" was a weird thing, but the guides helped that part of the trip give a good insight into life in China.
The people we saw seemed friendly and were - on the most part - good natured with us tourists snapping photos everywhere.
The lunch was fabulous and the walk thru the market too quick for this shutterbug, but great. Some people were disappointed that there were only 3 Terracotta Warriors, but the tour clearly states that - the full collection very much further away.
I wouldn't recommend their "souvenir pack" with map and postcards - a waste f money! it's the worst printing and photography I have ever seen. Another tip, at the little market outside the restaurant they only take Chinese dollars so get some before you go.
The train trip home was very comfortable - shame it was dark and we didn't see much out our windows.
I would heartily recommend the trip as a whole, very well organised (not only the trip but particularly with the visas in and out of china) and a great day.
Some people wished we could stop to shop in shenzhen, If shopping is your thing, get a similar tour without the long trek to "Canton" and a stop in Shenzhen - But that is fairly easily done by yourself from Hong Kong (allow an hour for the visa thing when you're organising it yourself) and its probably better done on your own anyway, to allow you plenty of time to shop .

Doing what: Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message