• USD ($)
  • English
Qena provides visitors to modern-day Egypt with a glimpse into the far-distant past. The ancient city was formerly known as Cainepolis, and also boasts many famous Islamic buildings. Today, Qena is best known as the closest town to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Our trip to Luxor was great, the pick up time was as stated and the whole day was made very interesting and enjoyable by your staff and guide, who was excellent. There was a downside, which was the meal at the restaurant, this was bland (but so is all Egyptian food). We would suggest to stay a bit longer in Luxor next time as we didnt see the temples.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This trip was phenomenal. I had my own private guide and private driver. When I got to Luxor, I had my own private Egyptologist. All were very professional and knowledgeable, and went out of their way to make it a wonderful trip. I would do it again in a flash!

Keith T
United Arab Emirates

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Our driver, Iman, made the whole trip enjoyable. Our guide was knowledgeable. A long day but the areas of Egypt we saw along the way made it worth it.

Kimberley P
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2010

Although overall the day was intersting and I'm glad we went-there was one big issue that caused considerable tension. Despite the fact we had our booking form etc, we were asked by the operator to pretend we were a family from Switzerland staying at another resort, a different hotel, with a different surname. This was explained as something to do with the internet booking system clashing with Egyptian rules. As we had to go through several militray checkouts and had two young children with us, this was extremely stressful. In addition the felucca ride wasn't a felucca, it was an ordinary boat, again this was disappointing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This was a great private tour for my boyfriend and I. We were extremely pleased to pay the extra cost of touring independently of a large group as all of the sites we visited were highly populated with large tour groups. Those groups looked extremely un-appealing and we were able to move around at our leisure with our own private guide who also gave us time to explore on our own. We had the luxury of spreading out to sleep in our air-conditioned van as the drive is a good 4 hours from Hurghada. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and accommodating. We also enjoyed the Sheraton that night, great hotel located on the banks of the Nile as well as the sound and light show that evening at Luxor Temple. Our lunch the first day was on a great little restaurant/boat on the Nile river and we were free to dinner that evening in the hotel part of the package. Was one of the highlights of our vacation! The only suggestion we would make for all Viator tours, as it was a problem on each one, is to have the tour guide holding a sign at the hotel with either the traveler's name on it or Viator Luxor tour, etc. listed on it. Otherwise you have to complete strangers randomly trying to find each other in a hotel lobby.

Doing what: Private Tour: 2-Day Luxor Tour from Hurghada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Had an excellent time in Luxor. The hotel was great, our tour guide and driver were excellent. They made sure we got to see the city beyond what was included in the package.

Doing what: Private Tour: 2-Day Luxor Tour from Hurghada

Graham P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

This was to be the highlight of the whole tour of Egypt, the valley of the Kings and Hatsheput temple were awesome, nice felucca ride, but when we asked about Karnak temple we were told it was not on the itinerary. This was the reason for going to Luxor and we were made to pay an extra 100 for the 4 of us to see Karnak. We were not impressed!!! We felt ripped off.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

Our driver was rude, and we did not like to be draged to visit alabaster workshop, where as usual in egypt you where almost pushed to buy something. If we wanted to go on shopping tour we would ask for it.

Doing what: Private Tour: 2-Day Luxor Tour from Hurghada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

We really enjoyed our tour of Luxor. We saw everything we wanted to see, and the pace of the tour was just right. The ride there and back was nice and our tour guide was one of the best we have ever had. Honestly, this was one of the best tours we have ever taken.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Fantastic day out. Gave us an opportunity to explore the real Egypt. Rare opportunity to see some of the world's most remarkable sites. The River Nile is beautiful and having the opportunity to cross it, exciting. We enjoyed the horse and carriage ride. The guided tour by the Egyptologist could have been more exciting and informative.

Gregory H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Long time to travel but great hosts. Watch out in the Valley of the Kings, no video.

James T
Russian Federation

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

The trip itself was very worthwhile, but our guide had set up requisite stops at two shops along the way a perfumeries and alabaster shop, which seemed to him at least as important as the sightseeing at Karnak, the Valley of the Kings, and the Temple of Queen Hachepsut. Due to this, we arrived at the last destination virtually as it was closing. He was only a so-so guide.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message