Visitors to New York can feel the city’s electric energy and powerful vibe at any time of year. But when the holiday season kicks off, the Big Apple definitely turns its spirit up a notch. From the holiday windows and the Christmas trees to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a long tour but a great one. We visited Thingvellir national park, Gulfoss, the geysirs, and two other smaller sights and saw some fantastic scenery as we drove to all of these locations. Tour guide was great and it was alot of fun. A great day, indeed.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a fantastic way to spend the afternoon while visiting the island of Iceland. Not only to see the Gulfoss Waterfall, but the Geysir and Thingvellir National Park all in the same day, was an exhilarating experience. I would definitely book this trip if you have only a short time in Iceland. You see an awful lot in a relatively short period of time. Our guide, John, was humorous but not over the top funny and extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Gulfoss and Geysir Express Half-Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thought this was a very organised and pleasurable way to see the sights. Our coach was full, but we didn't feel crowded or herded at all.
The 'Golden Circle' is amazing, especially Thingvellir. Yes, it's where all the tourists go- but with good reason!
We'd certainly recommend this as good value for money.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Can't fault this trip really, especially for the price. This is an all day excursion, and you see plenty in that time. Gulfoss, Geysir and Thingvellir are all must-sees in Iceland. The driver and guide were both good. What more do you want?

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

What a wonderful day! The organization was perfect, our guide was funny and well prepared. We first had a very nice horse ride crossing small rivers and enjoying the landscape. Just one note on the ride, they could have divided the group in 2 smaller groups, one for beginners and one for advanced. While we waited for the bus at the farm, we ate a good soup and had a chat with the locals. The tour continued to Thingvellir, Gullfoss and Geysir, amazing places and nice weather. We could have had a longer break in Gullfoss. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a terrific guide, Arachna, who told us all about the culture and history of Iceland. Thingvellir was awesome. The stop at gullfoss was very good because there was lamb soup. The geyser was nice (faithfull). The geothermal field not that interesting. Would like to have seen something Viking.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Michael B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a return trip to Iceland after 6 years because it was so fantastic and so we had some idea of what to expect. Iceland is an amazing place but it appears to have been discovered and the bus tours seem to run similar schedules so key points, such as Thingvellir, were very crowded. Had we turned up even half-an-hour later it would have been virtually empty. Other spots, like Gullfoss, have more room to move so don't feel quite as crowded. My wife and I really rate Iceland and it gives us a terrific feeeling of aliveness so we plan a third trip when our budget permits, but next time we'll travel independently or with an operator who uses mini-buses rather than a fullsize coach.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

This was a great trip and the guide - Thora- was very knowledgeable. The Thingvellir Park, Gulfoss and Geysir are well worth a visit.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Great tour! You cannot miss the golden circle classic tour. It shows you all of the wonderful things nature-wise that makes Iceland unique. The first stop was views of the rock formations and geothermal pipes that are the energy source of this lovely country. Next we were unroute to the Thingvellur and tectonic plates of north america and europe. You actually walk between the plates, which they call "no mans land" and its amazing and what a view! At Thingvellir, theres a charming church and buildings and were off to the Gullfoss, which is huge and beautifully powerful. Were off to the geysirs and hot pools which is pretty neat and the smell of sulfur(smells like faint rotten eggs) lingers in the air which is something you get used to, trust me youll understand when you arrive here. We proceeded to another church which was lovely and a crater and to a geothermal power plant/museum, but we decided not to go in, we took in the scenery outside. Overall nice tour but there were many stops and the tour had too many people and this made it difficult to hear our tour guide who tried hard to educate us on her country but again, when theres so many people, its hard to hear over everyones voices. I would recommend a smaller tour and also the elderly people i feel held up the tour many times. There was a small amount of hiking and lots of walking and climbing in a steep bus and i feel they should have attended a tour with a slower pace with less strenous activities.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

This was a nice and easy trip for evening. However, we took on August 20th which was the last night of the season it was being offerred. As such it was really too dark by the time we got to the Geysir (final stop). While we did get to see the geysir blow several times, it was disappointing that it was so dark and we didn't get any good pix. Thingvellir was great and Gullfoss was spectacular. If doing late summer, skip the evening trip and do during the day.

Doing what: Golden Circle Evening Trip from Reykjavik

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The Gulfoss and Geysir express worked well, because we saw Thingvellir as part of our snorkelling tour. If you book the horseback riding, know that it's quite a long trek. My friend thoroughly loved it, but as an inexperienced rider I would have been much happier with just an hour's ride.

Doing what: Viking Horse-Riding and Gulfoss and Geysir Express Tour from Reykjavik

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Loved the Blue Lagoon - such a unique setting, and we loved swimming around in the hot water. Gulfoss is impressive. We saw Niagara a few years ago, and it's hard to top that! And the thermal area around Geysir is fascinating. Geysir itself only erupts once or twice a day, so we weren't lucky enough to see that, but Strokkur erupts every five minutes or so, and is impressive enough by itself. The trip also takes in the Thingvellir national park and lake, and shows you the join between the European and American tectonic plates - not something you see every day! The guide gave us lots of commentary on what we saw and the history of Iceland in general, and if his English wasn't totally fluent it was still a lot better than my Icelandic or any other European language.

Doing what: Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip Transport plus Gulfoss and Geysir Half-Day Tour

Sandra I
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2008

Great trip which included all the usual haunts such as Thingvellir, Gullfoss Falls and the Geysirs and Hvergaerdi. Our trip also included a quick visit to the Faxi waterfall, beautiful and no other tour buses there and a volcanic crater. Unfortunately we didn't visit Skalholt Church, despite it being on the trip itinerary. Don't know why this was, but I'm sure they had their reasons. The guide was very knowledgeable, very entertaining and well worth the money.

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Great places but very crowded. Thingvellir was great and Gullfoss impressive. Disappointed in commentary as had much better in other trips, Not sure of point of visiting geothermal power station when you had to pay extra to see the exhnition

Doing what: Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from Reykjavik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message