Inverness ATTRACTIONS See all

Culloden Battlefield

Just 5 miles from Iverness, the historic Culloden Battlefield is one of Scotland’s most significant battle sites, commemorated by the Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre and protected by the Scottish National Trust. It was here, on the Culloden ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 66 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gabriella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Andrew is definitely the best guide ever! Charming, knowledgeable, kind as so very funny. He made this trip just wonderful. When Andrew spoke he made Scottish history come alive. Can't say enough good things about this tour and Andrew! By the way, the sites were interesting and the accommodations were very nice as well.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

Patricia B. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was wonderful! Great tour guide Barney, great companions, great weather, beautiful scenery, and fascinating stops. Orkney's sites were awesome Maes Howe, Skara Brae, Stennis, etc.. Guide made great suggestions for restaurants. B and Bs were lovely and friendly. Not enough time in Inverness, but then there never is. We saw a lot more of the Highlands than I expected on this trip. Culloden battlefield visitor center exhibit was new to me, and well worth the stop.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

fsterlingrn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was spectacular. Our guide, Joe, was a true Highlander. He took us to some great places and told some wonderful stories. I would definitely do this tour again. The only thing I could do without was LochNess. It was a bit of a tourist trap but still fun. LOVE LOVE LOVE Skye. Our weather was amazing. I am ready to back.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

brian b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely amazing trip. Loved the tour and our tour director was fantastic. Definitely go on this tour!!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Anthony H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent programme and guide . All I could have hoped for , with excellent choice of hotels .

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Mrs G M W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A wonderful trip: outstanding scenery, outstanding guide thanks Andy:-, fascinating history and great company. Would go again tomorrow if we could!!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Manjusri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We went with Hghland tours 5HEX from September 7th-11th. It was most wonderful vacation we ever had.Our tour guide Jamiewas superb. He was so energetic and courteous and great story teller that he kept us entertained all day every day. I wish we could get more time in Oban to stay.Thnx. Manjusri Majumdar.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Bradley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great journey...Nick, our guide, was very informative, full of stories about each area. The accommodations were excellent. Not having to drive...a blessing! The train ride is a train ride...not a big deal, but getting to Portree, Oban, Inverness, Loch Ness, Culloden...all amazing. We all enjoyed it tremendously!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Cathy Hammond United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Before purchasing this make sure you'll be in an area where you can put it to good use. I'd recommend it, even though it wasn't useful to me in Inverness. If I'd been in Glasgow or Edinburgh there would have been many more places accessible to me to see and things to do.

Doing what: National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass

Bradley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great! Had a wonderful time and Nick took great care of us all!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Kelvin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour formed part of a birthday present from my family and I could not have wished for a better present. My daughter accompanied me on the tour and we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The weather performed admirably. We had hot sunny weather for the entire 5 days apparently a rarity in Scotland! and this made the experience that much more enjoyable.
The tour arrangements were excellent. We drove through areas of magnificent scenery. At the various point of interest stops ample time was allowed for people to explore and take in the sights.
The accommodation arranged for the overnight stops was of a high standard. We selected the B and B option and were very happy with the comfort and quality of the food. The B and Bs were also conveniently located close to the town/village centers.
Andy our guide was tremendous. His joking banter kept us amused and his knowledge of the areas we travelled through and points of interest we stopped at was extensive. This together with his history lessons coloured with bits and pieces of folklore added to the enjoyment of the experience.
Andy had the ability to take a busload of strangers and convert them into friends. He also managed to find some degree of personal connection to Scotland for members of the tour party. These actions greatly enhanced the tour for us.
The highlight of the tour for us was our attendance at the Skipinnish Ceilidh during our overnight stop in Oban. Although this was an evening activity and not part of the official tour itinerary our attendance was based on a recommendation from Andy. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening and got quite caught up in the spirit of things. We did not realize there was so much Gallic blood in us!
We would highly recommend this tour to anyone considering visiting the Highlands of Scotland.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

UKTour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Powerful, emotive. The museum was so well done and the walking tour provided headphones and a clear walking path. The 360 movie brought us right in the middle of the battle in real time.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

kimberlee P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Culloden is a very moving place. To experience it really puts you in a somber mood. Normally, this would not be a good thing, but here, it is expected.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

racheldwyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely fantastic!! Very knowledgeable guide who played commentator on aspects of history and folk lore. He was quite happy to answer all our questions, flexible as needed. Bus was very comfortable. Accommodation organised was wonderful - all hosts were extremely friendly and rooms were pleasant and well appointed. Would happily go again!!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

aribuppa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was really great and truly showed the beauty of Scotland. Our driver Andy was incredibly funny and knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure we saw everything we possibly could so we wouldn't miss out. The b and b in Oban was just lovely and all had very nice breakfast.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

John A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

5 day tour from Edinburgh through the Highlands in early June. We normally steer clear of organised tours but this was a small group and the experience was nothing short of fantastic. Accommodation was in B and Bs organised by the Tour Co and was very acceptable. The route chosen Edinburgh, Oban, Isle of Man, Inverness and back to Edinburgh was close to spot on for the time available with plenty of free time to do our own thing. The tour guide Heather was just wonderful. A bright and bubbly Scott with a great personality, incredible knowledge of history and the locals and wonderfully passionate and clear delivery. 10 out of 10 :
Highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Tiff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the absolute highlight in what was an amazing 4 weeks in the UK. If history is your thing this is unmissable. Our B and B accommodation was excellent. Our guide/bus driver, Gus was an absolute star and a great story teller. It was a small tour which made it all the better.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Addy P. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

All our Scotland trips through Viator/ Rabbies were Awesome!! Very Professional friendly Team!! We would defintely Highly Recommend!!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

daria s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The country was absolutely beautiful and the itinery was well planned out, but the best part about the trip by far, was our tour guide, HEATHER, who was a wonderful historian that brought the whole country to life with her animated stories which were always accompanied by thoughtfully chosen music! We were so fortunate to have been on her tour!!! We would highly recommend this to everyone as alterations were made to accommodate everyone young and old, fit and less physically able.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

pmhosking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Really enjoyed this. Fun, knowledgeable guide with considerate microphone announcements (she began every announcement quietly so we didn't feel attacked). Playing the music of the areas was a nice touch. It was particularly good having a guide and a driver.Thoughtful planning of the route to include lots of interesting stops. Enough time in most places, though I would have liked more time on Orkney. The drive through the wildness of Scotland after we left Orkney was awesome. Loved seeing the red deer. The trip to Culloden was fascinating - the tourist centre there is terrific. Could have spent another hour walking around. The group was small and sociable. Have recommended the tour company to my friends.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was well organised with a smaller group. A great tour guide. Andy did a wonderful job of giving us all a true Scottish experience with interesting narrative throughout the tour. The places we went to were spectacular.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Susan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very enjoyable 5 day trip. Comfortable bus and places to stay. Our driver/guide was knowledgable and entertaining. A great itinerary.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

finkel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a wonderful tour with a great guide. The company that offers it is Rabbie's. So I assume that Viator is just a middleman and that I wasted money by dealing with your company rather than directly with Rabbie's. So I won't thank you.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

David W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Angela was our tour driver and guide. She was very relaxed, professional and told the most wonderful stories with gusto and vigour. We once more believe in fairies. Angela was brilliant - the best guide we have ever had. Every day was filled with the most amazing scenery as well as interesting and varied activities. We loved everything about this tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message