Inverness ATTRACTIONS See all

Culloden Battlefield

Just 5 miles from Iverness, the historic Culloden Battlefield is one of Scotland’s most significant battle sites, commemorated by the Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre and protected by the Scottish National Trust. It was here, on the Culloden ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Danielle O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must see for any history buff.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

Stephen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip
Andrew was amazing and a wonderful host ,guide and raconteur
A few suggestions
1We arrived in Glasgow and took a bus to Edinburgh to join the trip only to find out we could have started in Glasgow .i reviewed the site and there was not mention of starting from Glasgow
2 the extra trips and sites were not mentioned in the itinerary and when we tried to pay by Visa we were told cash only .this should have been mentioned beforehand so we would have the correct amount
3 we thought a small group tour would have been 7--14 people but we were 26
4 we would have appreciated a brief itinerary printed for us so we would be prepared for the days activity
5 a mesh carryall on the back of the seat in front would have been helpful for storing papers and daily items
Accommodations were stellar ,meals were great
Definitely worth the money

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The multi-day passes are a fantastic value for families touring Scotland.

Doing what: National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass

Franklin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour
Audrey was a great guide and gifted story teller
She often would stop often in places not on the tour
but on the way to show us things relating to Scottish history and/ or lifestyle
The variety of scenery and historical features was amazing
The guesthouses were all welcoming and comfy

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Tristan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour! The tour is with Rabbie's and is very well planned. The mini coach is comfortable - only eight people on this tour so was plenty of room in the coach. The guide Heather was fantastic, very knowledgable, great customer service skills, good sense of humour and great story teller! The accommodation arranged was very suitable, stay at the Hildeval in Kirkwall, very friendly hosts and comfortable rooms. I will definitely travel with Rabbie's again when I'm next in Scotland.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Leslie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fabulous! Our driver Tom was a wonderful person who knew so much about Scotland and was so proud of his Scottish history. He took the time to walk each person into their accommodations and ensure that they were in proper order and everyone was happy. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone looking to get a true taste of Scotland.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

Kelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Don't hesitate AT ALL when it comes to booking a tour with Rabbie's. They are extremely professional and organized and their drivers are very skilled, well versed and respectful of all passengers. I did two of the 5-day trips with them, this one to Orkney and another to Skye and they were fabulous. Both trips only had 8-10 passengers, but even if the van was full 16 clients max it would be very comfortable. There are plenty of stops and bathroom breaks throughout the day, so that is not a concern. The hotels/B and B's varied, but all were very clean, friendly and convenient to the main locale. You cover a large amount of ground on this tour, heading up the east coast of the Highlands to John O'Groats and taking the ferry beautiful 1-hour ride over to the AMAZING Orkney Isles. Rugged, stark windswept beauty...gorgeous, two nights in this ancient and magical place! And then back to the mainland and another stunning day exploring the west coast of the Highlands down to the lovely village of Ullapool. The last day's drive back to Edinburgh is filled with more beauty and history with a moving stop at the battlefield of Culloden. Seriously, having been on 2 of the 5-day tours with Rabbie's, I will absolutely tour with them again! I should mention that I am a single woman in my 50's, solo traveler and these tours made it a very easy and stress free not having to drive alone way to get out of town and see the Highlands and Isles. Made some new friends along the way as well. Thanks for the marvelous memories Rabbie's and I'll be back to lovely Scotland soon!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Gina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Bloody BRILLIANT!
The commentary was so enlightening, informative, entertaining and engaging. The scenery was magnificent and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Mark the tour guide was THE BEST. We will definitely be back and we highly recommend this trip as well as the tour company.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

Miranda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This pass is a good way to save money if you are going to many of the big tourist attractions in Scotland!

Doing what: National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass

Gabriella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Andrew is definitely the best guide ever! Charming, knowledgeable, kind as so very funny. He made this trip just wonderful. When Andrew spoke he made Scottish history come alive. Can't say enough good things about this tour and Andrew! By the way, the sites were interesting and the accommodations were very nice as well.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Scotland Experience from Edinburgh

Patricia B. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was wonderful! Great tour guide Barney, great companions, great weather, beautiful scenery, and fascinating stops. Orkney's sites were awesome Maes Howe, Skara Brae, Stennis, etc.. Guide made great suggestions for restaurants. B and Bs were lovely and friendly. Not enough time in Inverness, but then there never is. We saw a lot more of the Highlands than I expected on this trip. Culloden battlefield visitor center exhibit was new to me, and well worth the stop.

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

fsterlingrn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was spectacular. Our guide, Joe, was a true Highlander. He took us to some great places and told some wonderful stories. I would definitely do this tour again. The only thing I could do without was LochNess. It was a bit of a tourist trap but still fun. LOVE LOVE LOVE Skye. Our weather was amazing. I am ready to back.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

brian b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Absolutely amazing trip. Loved the tour and our tour director was fantastic. Definitely go on this tour!!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Anthony H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent programme and guide . All I could have hoped for , with excellent choice of hotels .

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

Mrs G M W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A wonderful trip: outstanding scenery, outstanding guide thanks Andy:-, fascinating history and great company. Would go again tomorrow if we could!!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Manjusri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We went with Hghland tours 5HEX from September 7th-11th. It was most wonderful vacation we ever had.Our tour guide Jamiewas superb. He was so energetic and courteous and great story teller that he kept us entertained all day every day. I wish we could get more time in Oban to stay.Thnx. Manjusri Majumdar.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Bradley D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great journey...Nick, our guide, was very informative, full of stories about each area. The accommodations were excellent. Not having to drive...a blessing! The train ride is a train ride...not a big deal, but getting to Portree, Oban, Inverness, Loch Ness, Culloden...all amazing. We all enjoyed it tremendously!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Cathy Hammond United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Before purchasing this make sure you'll be in an area where you can put it to good use. I'd recommend it, even though it wasn't useful to me in Inverness. If I'd been in Glasgow or Edinburgh there would have been many more places accessible to me to see and things to do.

Doing what: National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass

Bradley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great! Had a wonderful time and Nick took great care of us all!

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Kelvin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour formed part of a birthday present from my family and I could not have wished for a better present. My daughter accompanied me on the tour and we both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The weather performed admirably. We had hot sunny weather for the entire 5 days apparently a rarity in Scotland! and this made the experience that much more enjoyable.
The tour arrangements were excellent. We drove through areas of magnificent scenery. At the various point of interest stops ample time was allowed for people to explore and take in the sights.
The accommodation arranged for the overnight stops was of a high standard. We selected the B and B option and were very happy with the comfort and quality of the food. The B and Bs were also conveniently located close to the town/village centers.
Andy our guide was tremendous. His joking banter kept us amused and his knowledge of the areas we travelled through and points of interest we stopped at was extensive. This together with his history lessons coloured with bits and pieces of folklore added to the enjoyment of the experience.
Andy had the ability to take a busload of strangers and convert them into friends. He also managed to find some degree of personal connection to Scotland for members of the tour party. These actions greatly enhanced the tour for us.
The highlight of the tour for us was our attendance at the Skipinnish Ceilidh during our overnight stop in Oban. Although this was an evening activity and not part of the official tour itinerary our attendance was based on a recommendation from Andy. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening and got quite caught up in the spirit of things. We did not realize there was so much Gallic blood in us!
We would highly recommend this tour to anyone considering visiting the Highlands of Scotland.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

UKTour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Powerful, emotive. The museum was so well done and the walking tour provided headphones and a clear walking path. The 360 movie brought us right in the middle of the battle in real time.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

kimberlee P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Culloden is a very moving place. To experience it really puts you in a somber mood. Normally, this would not be a good thing, but here, it is expected.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

racheldwyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely fantastic!! Very knowledgeable guide who played commentator on aspects of history and folk lore. He was quite happy to answer all our questions, flexible as needed. Bus was very comfortable. Accommodation organised was wonderful - all hosts were extremely friendly and rooms were pleasant and well appointed. Would happily go again!!

Doing what: 5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands

aribuppa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was really great and truly showed the beauty of Scotland. Our driver Andy was incredibly funny and knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure we saw everything we possibly could so we wouldn't miss out. The b and b in Oban was just lovely and all had very nice breakfast.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

John A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

5 day tour from Edinburgh through the Highlands in early June. We normally steer clear of organised tours but this was a small group and the experience was nothing short of fantastic. Accommodation was in B and Bs organised by the Tour Co and was very acceptable. The route chosen Edinburgh, Oban, Isle of Man, Inverness and back to Edinburgh was close to spot on for the time available with plenty of free time to do our own thing. The tour guide Heather was just wonderful. A bright and bubbly Scott with a great personality, incredible knowledge of history and the locals and wonderfully passionate and clear delivery. 10 out of 10 :
Highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message