Inverness ATTRACTIONS See all

St. Andrews Cathedral

With its imposing Gothic facade presiding over the west bank of the Ness River, St Andrew’s Cathedral is one of the most striking of Inverness’ many churches. Constructed in the 19th-century to a design by local architect Alexander Toss, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The sites we visited alone would make this tour a must-see, but our guide Gill made the trip truly special. She found a way to work in several interesting little side stops that were not included on the itinerary giving me the chance to see a side of Fife I wouldn't have found on my own.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a wonderful time! We had just over 2 hrs to explore St. Andrews. Plenty of time to visit the castle, cathedral (free unless you want to walk up tower), and the golf course. Had a quick bite to eat so we could spend most of the time sight seeing. Great trip and stop in the small village.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful 8 hour day trip away from the city to a lovely part of the Scottish coastline. Beautiful town and castle/cathedral ruins made the trip a very picturesque and relaxing setting for a day trip. Very much enjoyed working with the Highland Explorer Tours company.

Doing what: St Andrews Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a first class tour. The bus was very comfortable. The driver was superb, skillful and knowledgeable. The stops along the way to and from were timely and scenic.

Being on your own in St. Andrews, which was just what we wanted.

This trip is very much a worth it.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful time. Weather co-operated and we were able to walk around the golf course as well as the town. Lovely place and Gillian was a wonderful guide. She was very informative and interesting to listen to. He was friendly and helpful and we enjoyed every minute. We had 2 hours in St. Andrews and could have spent more time there, but all in all a very good experience.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The day was fantastic even though it rained and high winds all day. Our tour guide made up for it with a great history lesson. I learned more about Mary Queen of Scotts and the Scottish lore on our van trip than any history class in school/college. We were always anxious to get back in the van to hear more. Master storyteller! Your business can't control the weather, but you have made a great choice in employing this man!!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour made possible by our guide, Mike and driver, Sandy. Their knowledge and manner were outstanding. The whole experience are most more than we expected. Would highly recommend this company. Best we have ever had over many years and many miles of traveling. Thanks!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was so great! Wet loved our guide Mike so much!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable--with plenty of time at each stop and knowledgeable guide

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Mike was awesome, tour was great, lots of really nice scenic stops. Plenty of time to see everything in St. Andrew's.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Mike was a great tour guide, can't believe how much information he has in his head! Very accommodating too!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was a great trip! The scenery was great and you can't beat seeing St. Andrews and the golf course!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a great tour. It was a cold and rainy day but it was worth the soaking wet shoes. I would highly recommend this tour to anybody.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour! We actually ended up with a personalized tour since no one else signed up. Our guide was informative and customized the tour for us. It was also a beautiful, sunny day. Can't recommend this tour company enough.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Small group, perfect weather and we had enough time for all activities!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent day with a fantastic young guide. The castle at St. Andrews was very interesting, particularly the underground tunnel.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great tour guide!

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Really enjoyed this tour. We actually flew up from London just for the day to do this tour. Our fingers were crossed that there would be no delays as we only had a very short timeframe to commence the tour in Edinburugh from landing at the airport. Little village of Fife just gorgeous only a short time spent there, but most of the day spent at St Andrews and wandering and admiring the golf course on our own. Husband was very happy we got to St Andrews, had lunch at the golf course and it was a fantastic busy long day and we would do it again.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Abbey G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great day tour, and plenty of time in St Andrews to see the Castle, Cathedral and Old Course.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent day out, shellby our guide made it fun and interesting.
I would highly recommend viator and would book another trip on my next visit to Scotland.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful day trip. Well worth your time and money. A comfortable mini van ride and a very knowledgable guide.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed our St Andrews with Rabbies so much that we booked another day trip while we were in Glasgow (Highlands and Whiskey tour). The tour guide was very knowledgeable and had entertaining stories throughout the trip. The highlight for us was the Old Course and we spent most of our time in St Andrews at the golf course. It was a Sunday so we could wonder all over the course and even take pictures in the bunkers.

Doing what: St Andrews and Fife Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message