Whether you’re making a pit stop in the Highlands’ capital before heading out on a hiking expedition or spending a leisurely weekend in the UK’s northernmost city, Inverness is the perfect gateway to the Scottish Highlands. Here are a few ideas for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and took this tour and can recommend it to everyone. There were thirteen of us, all got along together and Dave the driver and guide was super. His knowledge made the trip interesting and exciting. We booked three star hotels and were most pleased with the accommodation. There was,in fact,nothing we could fault with the tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Hebrides Tour from Inverness: Isles of Lewis and Harris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great for highlights

Doing what: Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Applecross tour is not to be missed! The scenery is amazing and someone else does the driving!

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a small tour, but well worth doing to get your bearings and views you might have otherwise missed

Doing what: Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

was most informative and value for money.

Doing what: Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

If you have only one day to see landscapes of western Scotland you should consider taking this tour over the Skye trip. Skye needs more time, but you can cover a lot of Applecross in a day and the scenary is fantastic! There are no castles on this trip but the wet desert landscape more than makes up for it. Here one really has a chance to experience the desolation of the Scottish Highlands. The mountains are rugged and the terrain is generally steep - here the vistas overwhelm even the most wide angle of lenses.
Our guide, Skye, really knew her geology and plants, which was a bit of a treat as most trips are culturally based.

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great overview of a surprisingly interesting city. I got the impression that this was a place where most use as a base for touring the Scottish Highlands, but Inverness was very interesting and attractive in its own right. The Hop-on-Hop tour allows you to experience this for yourself. Our tour driver was a spunky friendly lady and the recorded commentary was great. The bus also gave a very interesting and comprehensive overview of what there is to see in the city. Great value for the money to boot and highly recommend doing it as it allows us to get to discover a lot of great things about this city in a short time.

Doing what: Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My wife and I and her brother went on a British Isle cruise on Princess Cruise line.
We pre-ordered the hop-on hop-off tour bus for all the ports that were available;
Dublin, Liverpool, Belfast, Glasgow, Inverness, Edinburgh and London after the end of the cruise.
We also purchased “Skip the Line” at Guinness storehouse,
which was good because of the long line to purchase tickets.
We walked right up to the pre-buy line person and walked in.
All the hop-off hop-on buses were very good, clean and all workers were courteous and helpful.
I don’t think they see the Viator online print off tickets very often,
but there was no problem using the computer print off tickets.
I would definitely recommend the hop-on hop-off tour buses every where you go.
Pre buying did not save a lot, but you did not have to worry about having local cash to buy them.
I normally do not conduct a rating but everything worked out well, so I will in this case.
Gary, Renton, Washington

Doing what: Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip! We had some fog that day but we still saw some great scenery!

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We were only there for a short time, so enabled us to see the city hassle free.

Doing what: Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Inverness was a quaint little city and I thoroughly enjoyed this little city tour; in fact I took it twice :) I recommend this tour to anyone who visits Inverness.

Doing what: Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Unfortunately I ran out of time and was not able to participate in this hop-on hop-off tour, but I am sure that those who did participate had a great time doing so.

Doing what: Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

It was raining on the first round, the second wasn't too bad. There isn't a lot to see but it was worth doing.

Doing what: Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Quite disappointing really. The Voice Over was not in sync with the location of the bus. Therefore we had difficulty working out what the narration was relating too.

Doing what: Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message