Whether you’re making a pit stop in the Highlands’ capital before heading out on a hiking expedition or spending a leisurely weekend in the UK’s northernmost city, Inverness is the perfect gateway to the Scottish Highlands. Here are a few ideas for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 28 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an experience that will stay in my memory for as long as I live. Hauntingly beautiful vista's and magnificent mountains and lochs. Beaches that would grace the finest postcards and crystal blue seas.

Doing what: 3-Day Hebrides Tour from Inverness: Isles of Lewis and Harris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Short and sweet. Excellent way to see the city and get your bearings!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Another fantastic tour, which I would definitely recommend. Malcolm was an excellent tour guide, with a wonderful mix of humour, history, and information about the region, in a relaxed and approachable manner. He made lots of stops, which was great, as the scenery was amazing and everyone wanted to take lots of photos. The tour group was a nice size - about 12 people - with a good mix of people. I really enjoyed this day.

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Powerful, emotive. The museum was so well done and the walking tour provided headphones and a clear walking path. The 360 movie brought us right in the middle of the battle in real time.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Culloden is a very moving place. To experience it really puts you in a somber mood. Normally, this would not be a good thing, but here, it is expected.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Culloden is a very moving place. To experience it really puts you in a somber mood. Normally, this would not be a good thing, but here, it is expected.

Doing what: Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent. Jane, our guide, was very knowledgeable about the sites we visited and considerate of her passengers' abilities to maneuver them. She is also an excellent driver.

Doing what: 3-Day Hebrides Tour from Inverness: Isles of Lewis and Harris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and took this tour and can recommend it to everyone. There were thirteen of us, all got along together and Dave the driver and guide was super. His knowledge made the trip interesting and exciting. We booked three star hotels and were most pleased with the accommodation. There was,in fact,nothing we could fault with the tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Hebrides Tour from Inverness: Isles of Lewis and Harris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great for highlights

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Applecross tour is not to be missed! The scenery is amazing and someone else does the driving!

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a small tour, but well worth doing to get your bearings and views you might have otherwise missed

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

was most informative and value for money.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

If you have only one day to see landscapes of western Scotland you should consider taking this tour over the Skye trip. Skye needs more time, but you can cover a lot of Applecross in a day and the scenary is fantastic! There are no castles on this trip but the wet desert landscape more than makes up for it. Here one really has a chance to experience the desolation of the Scottish Highlands. The mountains are rugged and the terrain is generally steep - here the vistas overwhelm even the most wide angle of lenses.
Our guide, Skye, really knew her geology and plants, which was a bit of a treat as most trips are culturally based.

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great overview of a surprisingly interesting city. I got the impression that this was a place where most use as a base for touring the Scottish Highlands, but Inverness was very interesting and attractive in its own right. The Hop-on-Hop tour allows you to experience this for yourself. Our tour driver was a spunky friendly lady and the recorded commentary was great. The bus also gave a very interesting and comprehensive overview of what there is to see in the city. Great value for the money to boot and highly recommend doing it as it allows us to get to discover a lot of great things about this city in a short time.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

My wife and I and her brother went on a British Isle cruise on Princess Cruise line.
We pre-ordered the hop-on hop-off tour bus for all the ports that were available;
Dublin, Liverpool, Belfast, Glasgow, Inverness, Edinburgh and London after the end of the cruise.
We also purchased “Skip the Line” at Guinness storehouse,
which was good because of the long line to purchase tickets.
We walked right up to the pre-buy line person and walked in.
All the hop-off hop-on buses were very good, clean and all workers were courteous and helpful.
I don’t think they see the Viator online print off tickets very often,
but there was no problem using the computer print off tickets.
I would definitely recommend the hop-on hop-off tour buses every where you go.
Pre buying did not save a lot, but you did not have to worry about having local cash to buy them.
I normally do not conduct a rating but everything worked out well, so I will in this case.
Gary, Renton, Washington

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Fyffee
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

If you have never been to a city before then I would recommend one of these tours for sitting on the whole way round, just to get an idea of where things are. It is also good for if you have a bit of time to kill, or want to see stuff but are too tired or lazy to actually move - I would be the latter.

I generally think these are good for first day of a trip for finding your bearings, this one in particular because a fair bit of the route is easily walkable. Once I shook my laziness off my son and I enjoyed a pleasant walk along the river Ness and back, stopping at Whin Park at the half way mark, via Ness Islands. I wouldn't have had the confidence to walk it if I hadn't already seen the route via the bus.

The driver was also very friendly.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Scenery was breathtaking. Morning stop for tea/scones not good. They were not prepared for a bus of about 20 people. Tour guide bonded too much with one passenger and forgot to detail what we were seeing.

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good way to explore the city

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip! We had some fog that day but we still saw some great scenery!

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We were only there for a short time, so enabled us to see the city hassle free.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Inverness was a quaint little city and I thoroughly enjoyed this little city tour; in fact I took it twice :) I recommend this tour to anyone who visits Inverness.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Unfortunately I ran out of time and was not able to participate in this hop-on hop-off tour, but I am sure that those who did participate had a great time doing so.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Guide was very experienced with the rd to Applecross. Two things can be improved though- less time could be spent lounging at cafes and more time taking pictures or stopping at good spots for photography. Guide also needs to control the things he say as he tends to be abit careless with his words.

Doing what: Applecross Peninsula Day Trip from Inverness

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

It was raining on the first round, the second wasn't too bad. There isn't a lot to see but it was worth doing.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Quite disappointing really. The Voice Over was not in sync with the location of the bus. Therefore we had difficulty working out what the narration was relating too.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Inverness Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message