• USD ($)
  • English
The scenic capital of the Highlands is the perfect base from which to explore the northern wilderness, but there’s no reason to limit yourself to the mainland — many of Scotland’s islands are also reachable from Inverness. Head to John O’Groats, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour, did so many things in a day. Tour guide at Highland Experience called Alison was fantastic.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time on this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and informative, the coach was comfortable, stops were well timed. We will definitely book more tours with Viator when the occasion arises.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip was wonderful. We had a wide variety of experiences that were uniquely Scottish -- photo ops of Loch Ness with the ruins of Urquhart Castle in the foreground and of Loch Carron, a chance to tour Eilean Donan Castle, a visit to the tiny fishing village of El Gol on a beautiful stretch of Atlantic coast on the Isle of Skye, opportunities to walk through sheep meadows by a sheep fold and to see highland cattle up close and personal, a walk to the Thomas Telford Bridge at Invermoriston, and a stop at the ruins of a historic church surrounded by a quaint, lovely graveyard. The day was somewhat different than outlined by Viator's website. For example, we passed through Broadford without stopping for lunch, because we took extra time at Eilean Donan so that those who wanted to tour the castle -- which was most of the group -- could do so. The castle was worth a visit, and I was glad to exchange that for lunch in Broadford. Those who were hungry could grab a quick bite to eat at the castle visitor center. The highland scenery was beautiful throughout the day, and although it was mostly cloudy, we escaped rain and were able to see the islands of Rum, Eigg and Muck from the Isle of Skye.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent. Could have left fifteen minutes later from Inverness, making it a less early start.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our driver was great and learned a great deal. Our weather was poor so we missed seeing the highland cows but that is no ones fault. The food for lunch was fantastic and a highlight. Loved, loved Eileen Donan castle. One of my favourites now. I would recommend this to anyone new to the highlands.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Really good trip, excellent guide!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Had a brilliant day, our driver/guide was very informative I would definately do another trip if I was in Inverness again.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was an excellent trip from beginning to end, thanks to the efforts of our guide, Fiona. Even though the weather was poor, we had a memorable journey - an unforgettable day....

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The Day Trip was very well organised and very informative.Would recommended the trip to fellow travellers

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A fabulous day out from start to finish. Well informed guides, comfortable travel and stunning sights and scenery. Fully intend to revisit Orkney because of this taster trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip very informative and Hooghly organised I would tell anyone to go great value for money and Orkney is a gorgeous island lots to see and friendly locals Brian the tour guide was brilliant and very funny don't miss out

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. Our bus driver on Okney, Claire, was very informative and each stop gave us just about the right amount of time to soak it all in. Just know it's a long day through a beautiful country on the bus-ferry-bus-ferry-bus and for our tour- bus and bus. The bus back to Inverness broke down and it took a relay of 2 more buses to get us back to Inverness about 11pm instead of 9. Because of the delay, we struck up conversations with our fellow passengers and shared travel stories and tips. One lady had come all the way from Australia! It made the time pass faster and more enjoyably. Unfortunately, the people who didn't pre-order sandwiches on the ride to the John O'Groats ferry in the morning were very hungry on the way back. A word to the wise: pre-order sandwiches or bring your own.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Ci è stato fatto vedere il massimo che è possibile vedere in un giorno e, ad essere sincero, ho visto proprio tutto quello che volevo vedere di quelle bellissime isole...è stata una giornata pesante, ma se ci si trova a Inverness secondo me la visita alle isole Orcadi deve essere una tappa obbligatoria.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Bec J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A great day out and I couldn't imagine a better way to see the Scottish highlands. Our tour guide Fiona was so lovely and really went above and beyond to make the day extra special. The scenery was breathtaking and there were lots of photo opportunities along the way. Really enjoyed this tour!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The scenary was absolutely fantastic!
Our guide was brilliant!
We had a good time! thank you all

Vicky, Carme, Ángels and Maite from Barcelona, Spain!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message