The scenic capital of the Highlands is the perfect base from which to explore the northern wilderness, but there’s no reason to limit yourself to the mainland — many of Scotland’s islands are also reachable from Inverness. Head to John O’Groats, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 150 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I can't review this trip as we were sent back to Inverness because of a truck accident which blocked the road On the coach the tour guide I can rate she was very informative and kept us up to speed what was happening. Cheers Tom Balshaw

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I can't review this trip as we were sent back to Inverness because of a truck accident which blocked the road On the coach the tour guide I can rate she was very informative and kept us up to speed what was happening. Cheers Tom Balshaw

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour has been really beautiful, the palaces and the environment are amazing

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide, Allison, made this tour AMAZING!! She was energetic and super knowledgable and FUNNY!! Highly recommend this tour. No better way to see the highland countryside. Super highlight was feeding the "Harry coos"!! Highland cattle, so gentle, sweet, and cute!! Mind the horns!!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I took my mum(aged 86 yrs young) on this trip as she had always wanted to go to Orkney, especially to see The Italian Chapel. The trip was excellent, very comfortable and our driver ,Alister McRoberts, was incredibly informative and funny too! The highlight for my mum though was the Italian Chapel and as I had forgotten to bring a camera with me, Alister very kindly took some pictures of my mum and me and e-mailed them to me. We now have a lasting reminder of our day out in Orkney. I have no hesitation in recommending this trip. Thank you all, especially Alister.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was excellent. Guides were very helpful. It was thoroughly enjoyable. I will go again next year.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip. We hit all the highlights and the bus drivers were super. We got great pictures and had adequate time to take them. I highly recommend the fresh scones at John O'Groats while you wait for the ferry.
Only suggestion is to make sure customers realize that entry to Skara Brae is extra. Fortunately we had purchased a Historic Scotland Pass at Stirling Castle.
Well Done!!!!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were delighted with the organisation, the comfort of the buses, the places of interest we visited on Orkney. the drivers and couriers on the buses to and from Inverness and the information we received then and the excellent driver/guide on Orkney-Alister.
We had friends from Iceland with us and we all thoroughly enjoyed the day.
We have talked a lot about it.
Thank you

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide, named Allison, was excellent. At no time was I bored on the trip. She gave fantastic commentary through the whole tour. I enjoyed the many memorable locations and views I saw on this tour. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who was interested in Scotland.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

First day of tour season, and everything was lovely, except I lost my e-tablet on the bus. We looked everywhere and could not find it, but miraculously I got an email a month later that it had been found on a bus and was at the station, so I got it back. The tour was great, the driver knowledgeable, the sights unending and outstanding. Would like to go back and stay a month.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

great trip, well organised, loved Orkney and all the places we visited, would recommend trip

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an excellent tour. I had thought it might be rushed and rather tiring but it wasn't. There was plenty of time to see the main places of interest and the guide was very informative. We were blessed with a lovely sunny day. Refreshments on the bus were welcome.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip to Orkney. Tour guides especially the Orkney guide was excellent.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Good balance between visits and travelling. The Eilean Donan Castle was wonderful and the Skye Island a pure beauty. Our driver was very friendly and made us very happy with a practice of a scottish dance!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic value for money. Was a great day out. All guides on the bus trips were very informative. A wonderful place to visit and highly recommended. We were very lucky in that we had great weather for the day.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message