The scenic capital of the Highlands is the perfect base from which to explore the northern wilderness, but there’s no reason to limit yourself to the mainland — many of Scotland’s islands are also reachable from Inverness. Head to John O’Groats, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 198 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Once we reached the boat that carried us across to the islands, the trip was first rate. Our guide on the island was very good, and the places we stopped and rhe amount of time we had to look and learn were adequate.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The Orkneys are beautiful and fascinating. It would have been great to have more time at each stop, but the day was as packed as a 1 day trip can be. The guide/bus driver in Orkney was fantastic, with great stories and local history. The bus ride between Inverness and John O'Groats was fairly long 3 hours each way, so be prepared, but the scenery is beautiful, and there's really no getting around having to cover that distance! Next time, I'd spend a couple of days in the Orkneys.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a fantastic day trip! The Highlands have a beauty like nothing else I've ever seen. The bus was nice, clean, and roomy. The guide, Allison, went the extra mile to have us get the most of the experience! In never would have been able to see and learn that much on my own! Thank you, Allison!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

weather was not great but that did not spoil a wonderful trip. amazing that we got enough time at each place and saw it all in one day. our tour guide was great - very knowledgeable. thought it would be a long day 7.15am till 8.30pm but it wasn't really. i really liked the italian chapel. we took food - so saved wasting time in cafe's at kirkwall or skara brae. parking at rose street inverness is 6 for 18 hours and right next to bus station. june 15 prices. scenery was beautiful and the light nights in june helped.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Rick
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A whistle stop tour that was well organised and punctual. Everything was covered by our guide including local information, humour and tour information. A great day out at a great price. I would recommend this trip to anyone thinking of doing the same. Well done.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Timeless! Guide was extremely knowledgeable and very entertaining. Sights were unbelievable and more than we hoped for#

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I really enjoyed this day trip. We were very fortunate to have a beautiful, sunny day for most of the tour. Absolutely breathtaking scenery! The highlight of my day, was getting to feed the Scottish Highland Cows. I'm an avid animal lover, and being up close with these very hairy beasties was a thrill for me. We saw lots of wildlife throughout the day, which was another plus for me.
Our guide, Allison is very knowledgeable about her native Scotland. She definitely kept us entertained!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Susan Y
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide,Allison was both knowledgeable and entertaining. Used props and audience participation. She was excellent!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent. Jane, our guide, was very knowledgeable about the sites we visited and considerate of her passengers' abilities to maneuver them. She is also an excellent driver.

Doing what: 3-Day Hebrides Tour from Inverness: Isles of Lewis and Harris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent tour. I have always wanted to visit the Isle of Skye since I sang the Skye Boat Song in the choir at primary school - 60 years ago!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The weather was very wet and very windy throughout the day, but I admired the way the driver changed his schedule to make the most of the conditions.

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful day trip arose the Scottish Highlands and onto the Isle of Skye. We did not spend long on the Isle though, so I would recommend thinking of this as a highlands trip that ends on Skye. The tour guide Allison was fun and full of facts and laughter! Overall I was very glad to have made this trip.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well apart from the travel time to and from Inverness (which was expected), this tour was great! We had enough time in each place to have a look around and get plenty of photos/ lunch etc. my favourite is still the Italian Chapel, it is awesome what the Italian POW's created from virtually nothing. Skara Brae and the Standing Stones of Steness are fantastic as well.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I visited the Orkney Islands on the 31st August, it was one of the best days we had in the UK. We were picked up from Inverness station on time and the two hour trip to John of Groats we had a tour guide giving us some info on the country side along the way. Once we got across to the Islands on the ferry, which was very relaxing, we were picked up by a bus whose driver was also the guide for the day. She was very informative and entertaining. The sites were excellent and even tho friends told us it would be freezing the weather was just perfect.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Long day but worth the effort

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was extraordinary, with beautiful scenery and educational narration by our guide, Alison. Alison was wonderful as she kept everyone informed of the history of the Scots and the geographic features that we saw. She kept everyone involved in the process in a playful way. I would highly recommend this tour with her.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous..we saw exceptional sights and learned so much scottish history...there was never a boring minute..a must for all tourists..can't wait to bring more family back.Allison is an excellent tour guide. She really made everyone feel welcome and had us all laughing, singing, and dancing, feeding hairy cows. It was one of the most memorable things that we enjoyed on our family trip to Scotland. ..thanks

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent way to get over to Orkney and to visit several of the major sites. The tour was well orchestrated and we had wonderful weather ... awesome combination.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was just wonderful, nine of us on the mini van. Mark the guide was most knowledgeable and helpful. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Orkneys. We elected to stay at a hotel and it was good, very clean and wonderful food.

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Knowledgeable and fun guide, comfortable bus, great itinerary. So many things learned and great photos taken. I recommend this tour!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Nice and enjoyable tour. Thanks to our tour guide Allison.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message