The scenic capital of the Highlands is the perfect base from which to explore the northern wilderness, but there’s no reason to limit yourself to the mainland — many of Scotland’s islands are also reachable from Inverness. Head to John O’Groats, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 174 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan Y
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide,Allison was both knowledgeable and entertaining. Used props and audience participation. She was excellent!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was excellent. Jane, our guide, was very knowledgeable about the sites we visited and considerate of her passengers' abilities to maneuver them. She is also an excellent driver.

Doing what: 3-Day Hebrides Tour from Inverness: Isles of Lewis and Harris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An excellent tour. I have always wanted to visit the Isle of Skye since I sang the Skye Boat Song in the choir at primary school - 60 years ago!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The weather was very wet and very windy throughout the day, but I admired the way the driver changed his schedule to make the most of the conditions.

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful day trip arose the Scottish Highlands and onto the Isle of Skye. We did not spend long on the Isle though, so I would recommend thinking of this as a highlands trip that ends on Skye. The tour guide Allison was fun and full of facts and laughter! Overall I was very glad to have made this trip.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well apart from the travel time to and from Inverness (which was expected), this tour was great! We had enough time in each place to have a look around and get plenty of photos/ lunch etc. my favourite is still the Italian Chapel, it is awesome what the Italian POW's created from virtually nothing. Skara Brae and the Standing Stones of Steness are fantastic as well.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I visited the Orkney Islands on the 31st August, it was one of the best days we had in the UK. We were picked up from Inverness station on time and the two hour trip to John of Groats we had a tour guide giving us some info on the country side along the way. Once we got across to the Islands on the ferry, which was very relaxing, we were picked up by a bus whose driver was also the guide for the day. She was very informative and entertaining. The sites were excellent and even tho friends told us it would be freezing the weather was just perfect.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Long day but worth the effort

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was extraordinary, with beautiful scenery and educational narration by our guide, Alison. Alison was wonderful as she kept everyone informed of the history of the Scots and the geographic features that we saw. She kept everyone involved in the process in a playful way. I would highly recommend this tour with her.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous..we saw exceptional sights and learned so much scottish history...there was never a boring minute..a must for all tourists..can't wait to bring more family back.Allison is an excellent tour guide. She really made everyone feel welcome and had us all laughing, singing, and dancing, feeding hairy cows. It was one of the most memorable things that we enjoyed on our family trip to Scotland. ..thanks

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an excellent way to get over to Orkney and to visit several of the major sites. The tour was well orchestrated and we had wonderful weather ... awesome combination.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was just wonderful, nine of us on the mini van. Mark the guide was most knowledgeable and helpful. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to visit the Orkneys. We elected to stay at a hotel and it was good, very clean and wonderful food.

Doing what: 3-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Knowledgeable and fun guide, comfortable bus, great itinerary. So many things learned and great photos taken. I recommend this tour!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Nice and enjoyable tour. Thanks to our tour guide Allison.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My husband and took this tour and can recommend it to everyone. There were thirteen of us, all got along together and Dave the driver and guide was super. His knowledge made the trip interesting and exciting. We booked three star hotels and were most pleased with the accommodation. There was,in fact,nothing we could fault with the tour.

Doing what: 3-Day Hebrides Tour from Inverness: Isles of Lewis and Harris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I can't review this trip as we were sent back to Inverness because of a truck accident which blocked the road On the coach the tour guide I can rate she was very informative and kept us up to speed what was happening. Cheers Tom Balshaw

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour has been really beautiful, the palaces and the environment are amazing

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide, Allison, made this tour AMAZING!! She was energetic and super knowledgable and FUNNY!! Highly recommend this tour. No better way to see the highland countryside. Super highlight was feeding the "Harry coos"!! Highland cattle, so gentle, sweet, and cute!! Mind the horns!!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I took my mum(aged 86 yrs young) on this trip as she had always wanted to go to Orkney, especially to see The Italian Chapel. The trip was excellent, very comfortable and our driver ,Alister McRoberts, was incredibly informative and funny too! The highlight for my mum though was the Italian Chapel and as I had forgotten to bring a camera with me, Alister very kindly took some pictures of my mum and me and e-mailed them to me. We now have a lasting reminder of our day out in Orkney. I have no hesitation in recommending this trip. Thank you all, especially Alister.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was excellent. Guides were very helpful. It was thoroughly enjoyable. I will go again next year.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip. We hit all the highlights and the bus drivers were super. We got great pictures and had adequate time to take them. I highly recommend the fresh scones at John O'Groats while you wait for the ferry.
Only suggestion is to make sure customers realize that entry to Skara Brae is extra. Fortunately we had purchased a Historic Scotland Pass at Stirling Castle.
Well Done!!!!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were delighted with the organisation, the comfort of the buses, the places of interest we visited on Orkney. the drivers and couriers on the buses to and from Inverness and the information we received then and the excellent driver/guide on Orkney-Alister.
We had friends from Iceland with us and we all thoroughly enjoyed the day.
We have talked a lot about it.
Thank you

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide, named Allison, was excellent. At no time was I bored on the trip. She gave fantastic commentary through the whole tour. I enjoyed the many memorable locations and views I saw on this tour. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who was interested in Scotland.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

First day of tour season, and everything was lovely, except I lost my e-tablet on the bus. We looked everywhere and could not find it, but miraculously I got an email a month later that it had been found on a bus and was at the station, so I got it back. The tour was great, the driver knowledgeable, the sights unending and outstanding. Would like to go back and stay a month.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

great trip, well organised, loved Orkney and all the places we visited, would recommend trip

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message