The scenic capital of the Highlands is the perfect base from which to explore the northern wilderness, but there’s no reason to limit yourself to the mainland — many of Scotland’s islands are also reachable from Inverness. Head to John O’Groats, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

long day, but all sites seen and good history and background to islands given by driver/guide on coach

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an experience that will stay in my memory for as long as I live. Hauntingly beautiful vista's and magnificent mountains and lochs. Beaches that would grace the finest postcards and crystal blue seas.

Doing what: 3-Day Hebrides Tour from Inverness: Isles of Lewis and Harris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Whole trip ran like clockwork. Guide on way to John O Groats helpful and organised sandwiches for return journey. Smooth crossing to and from Orkney Islands and superb driver around Islands. Full of interesting facts and credit to the company.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting and enjoyed the drivers commentary. Bonus had blue skies and sunshine.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Michael was very professional. Apart from good time management, he gave good explanation as we drove along to different locations, which was good particularly not all of us are familiar with Scottish Highland. Magnificent views, we were very lucky as it was sunny when we were at Elgol, the view of Black Cuillins was just awesome! Highly recommended, especially those with limited time to see the Highlands.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

comments from guide really interesting. A long day but worth the trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Long way to John a Groats, but nice comentary on the way. Nice to have the opportunity for a coffee/tea on the coach.
Driver on Orkney was amazing, so full of local knowledge, made it a very interesting day.
I would like to go back some time and spend a few days there.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant, all on time, very good guides, well recommended

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is a must see! It is great how the manage to squeeze so much in a day! All the guides were really knowledgeable and fun. Overall it was very well planned. I also like how they ordered food for us ahead of time from the bus at places so we didn't have to worry about anything. Great trip!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this trip was excellent value for money tour guides were very knowledgeable and helpful

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour! We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a great tour. I enjoyed very much. The travel was comfortable. A unique experience that I recommend everybody.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great trip, the driver is very kind and was telling us great stories about the area.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way to get a highlights view of Northern Scotland and the Orkney Islands, but be prepared for a very long, 14-hour, day of bus and ferry rides, but the scenery is spectacular as you travel up the coast of Scotland to John O'Groats, the northernmost point in the UK. From there you take a ferry across the Pentland Firth where the Atlantic Ocean and North Sea come together. Once you arrive at Orkney, another bus awaits your arrival and you travel to Kirkwall for an hour walk-around, and quick lunch on your own. Then it's on to amazing stops at Skara Brae, Ring of Brodgar, and the Italian Chapel. The scenery in the Orkneys is fantastic. All-in-all, if you are thinking of doing this trip, do it, it's a once in a lifetime experience!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic tour. Malcolm was an excellent tour guide, with a wonderful mix of humour, history, and information about the region, in a relaxed and approachable manner. The tour group was a nice size - about 12 people - with a good mix of people. We were reasonably lucky with the weather too though it was very chilly, even in June!. Duncansby Head was spectacular and it was great to have a photo by the John O'Groats sign!

Doing what: Best John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well organized and well worth the long day. Excellent guides and adequate time to see the major spots. Even the weather cooperated, and the ferry ride was smooth. a highlight of our week in Scotland

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great way to see some of the highlights of the Orkney Islands. While I had a rent car in Inverness, it was a good decision to let them do the driving as it was a long day.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A long but thoroughly interesting day. Great scenery, places of interest and knowledgeable guides. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Once we reached the boat that carried us across to the islands, the trip was first rate. Our guide on the island was very good, and the places we stopped and rhe amount of time we had to look and learn were adequate.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The Orkneys are beautiful and fascinating. It would have been great to have more time at each stop, but the day was as packed as a 1 day trip can be. The guide/bus driver in Orkney was fantastic, with great stories and local history. The bus ride between Inverness and John O'Groats was fairly long 3 hours each way, so be prepared, but the scenery is beautiful, and there's really no getting around having to cover that distance! Next time, I'd spend a couple of days in the Orkneys.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a fantastic day trip! The Highlands have a beauty like nothing else I've ever seen. The bus was nice, clean, and roomy. The guide, Allison, went the extra mile to have us get the most of the experience! In never would have been able to see and learn that much on my own! Thank you, Allison!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

weather was not great but that did not spoil a wonderful trip. amazing that we got enough time at each place and saw it all in one day. our tour guide was great - very knowledgeable. thought it would be a long day 7.15am till 8.30pm but it wasn't really. i really liked the italian chapel. we took food - so saved wasting time in cafe's at kirkwall or skara brae. parking at rose street inverness is 6 for 18 hours and right next to bus station. june 15 prices. scenery was beautiful and the light nights in june helped.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message