The scenic capital of the Highlands is the perfect base from which to explore the northern wilderness, but there’s no reason to limit yourself to the mainland — many of Scotland’s islands are also reachable from Inverness. Head to John O’Groats, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 265 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Arun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent tour. Fantastic scenery and gorgeous views!
Sadly it rained when we were in Skye but still the tour itself was well thought of and showed us a stunning part of Scotland that we had never seen before.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Cory D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The weather on the day we took the trip was rainy/snowy, however that did not ruin our trip, in fact it gave us some spectacular waterfalls. We saw some Red Deer and enjoyed all of the views I would think you normally would enjoy, the castles were grand however the best part of this tour was our guide. She was very knowledgeable about Scottish history and actually told us the history from beginning to end, very fascinating. The history was tied in with the locations we visited and drove by. This was one of my favorite trips.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Nancy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Just the right amount of time to see everything on a well planned tour. The bus driver was delightful and informative. More than met expectations. And, of course, the scenery was spectacular!!!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good tour. You don't get to see all of the Isle of Skye but what you see is well worth going for. Very knowledgeable guide Duncan. Came back to Inverness via the 'high road' and saw some fantastic scenery and wild life.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Keith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Lovely day trip with an excellent guide Gary. Well worth the experience of going there.

Doing what: John o’Groats and Duncansby Head Day Trip from Inverness

Vaibhav D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well planned trip. Go for it and hope rain doesn't spoil the day.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Abdullah Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a great trip and was a highlight of my trip. We got to see so much of the Highlands condensed in one day. Our driver was capable and knowledgeable and he gave us so much information about the places we have visited. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Vaughn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great way to see the Highlands without the bother of driving. Our guide was very knowledgeable and we were able to see some amazing vistas. The tour started in downtown Inverness and it would have been nice if we could have received some instructions on where to park our car for the day. It was a bit of a scramble finding parking.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Joseph Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see the true country of the Scottish Highlands. Our coach driver was the greatest. He was very informative on the history and was very thoughtful and accommodating to everyone. Would recommend this tour to anyone. Very long day but worth every hour of it. Five Star tour and driver was great with resteraunt recommends.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Winnett C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Even though the day was gloomy. We had a great time and saw quite a bit of the island.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Brian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great Time! Perfect combination of activities. Great tour director.

Doing what: 3-Day Hebrides Tour from Inverness: Isles of Lewis and Harris

Jason P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour, tour guide was entertaining and informative!

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Aneta I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful trip, excellently and organised to a tiny little detail. The guide on the Orkney islands was especially charismatic, with subtle and amusing sense of humour he showed great and varied historical and cultural knowledge of Orkney. Enjoyed it very, very much

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Jenna A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

WONDERFUL tour. Such a fantastic tour guide! LOVED IT.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Dragon United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Sunny day start with very fun and knowledgeable guide, named Allison.She kept us laughing out and back! She's a great sport and the red long haired came readily to her call for us to feed! Danced on the beach on the turn at Skye. Good views that day for miles. Great trip, just needs a play of the Skye boat song to top it off.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Margaret C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

excellent driver who had extensive knowledge. Great value for money.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

dsterl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an amazing trip to Orkney and to Skara Brae. We picked up the Viator coach at the Inverness bus station right on schedule and were met by a lovely man who had personality plus. Our trip was informative and fun and we sat back and enjoyed the view and the ride. We will definitely use Viator again in the future as they are a class act !

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

BRIAN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

One of the best tours I have been on. The visit to Kirkwall, Scara Brae and the Standing Stones of Brodgar and the Italian Chapel were very inspiring. The commentary from Inverness to John O'Groats and the one on the Orkeys were both very informative, unfortunately there was no commentary on the way back, from John O'Groats to Inverness. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend the tour even though it is a very long day.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Kelly T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Awesome, one of my bucket list items. It is a long trip but well worth the time to see Skara Brae, Skaill House, Ring of Brodgar and Italian Chapel. Also a drive-by of the Standing Stones of Stennes, Scalpa Flow. Our tour driver on Orkney was incredibly knowlegeable and entertaining. The bus ride to John O'Groats and back was equally enjoyable. The guides going up and back were very attentive, serving both tea and coffee also pre ordered sandwiches for the way back. More than I ever expected.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Cathy Hammond United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A wonderful time that I will never forget! Worth every moment and penny!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide did an outstanding performance and the information relayed was extremely valuable. It was a well worth trip!!

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Linda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour - I am so glad I went to Orkney. Coach service was excellent with a very knowledgeable driver.
Would recommend this to anyone thinking of doing day tour of Orkney.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Dorcas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Spectacular scenery! This was a phenomenal tour. Out driver/guide, Alison, was wonderful-- passionate about Scottish history and a fund of information about the area. Her whacky sense of humor kept us all entertained. I loved feeding the highland cows. Too bad it was cold and rainy at Egol but fortunately the weather was favorable for the rest of the trip.

Doing what: Isle of Skye Day Trip from Inverness

Dorcas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastically interesting. The Neolithic sites are amazing. Our bus driver/guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Irene M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

long day, but all sites seen and good history and background to islands given by driver/guide on coach

Doing what: Orkney Islands Day Trip from Inverness

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message