Peru’s famed “Gateway to the Amazon” was once just a humble Jesuit outpost in the jungle, until the Industrial Age. With that revolution—particularly after the widespread adoption of the automobile—international demand for rubber exploded. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Fraser W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was absolutely fantastic. Heleconia lodge was amazing. Our tour guide spoke English clearly and fluently.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

BRENDA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Well organised and a great Amazon experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Franchesca V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a wonderful way to complete my South America vacation. This lodge was extremely clean especially considering that you are in the jungle. This is apparently a resort for the upper class Peruvians, especially those with children. I was the only non Peruvian when I arrived but everyone was so kind. I was traveling alone but I never felt lonely. A few more guests from the US arrived the second day. I was assigned an English speaking guide. He was my guide the entire weekend. All transportation, food and excursions are included. The food was AMAZING!! You are served in a new dining room. Everything is fresh and delicious. I was so impressed with the lack of processed foods especially desserts. The excursions were better than expected. The trip to the village was eye opening. The indigenous people were wonderful and you will fall in love with the children. Be sure to take a large bag of candy to share with them. I highly recommend this to be added to any trip you make to Peru.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Margaret L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a nicely plan great tour. The tour guide Neal was born and raised there so very knowledgable. They plan all activities 1 1/2 to 2 hours long and then give us 2 hours of rest time so it was nicely planned. The food from lodge was exceptional, the best we had since Peru. Just be aware that there's no hair dryer and only has electricity from 5:30pm till midnight. The dining area and pool was very comfortable.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

arjunpachory

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

An absolutely amazing experience! The entire tour is perfectly managed, with airport pick-ups and drop-offs, and transport to every point of the entire experience.
At the lodge, our guide Daniel was incredible, and made sure that there was not a single boring moment for the three days. He went out of his way to show us animals and plants in the forest, and impressed us all with his amazing knowledge of the local flora and fauna.

The tour includes fishing and dolphin-watching, as well as night-time boat rides and jungle treks, each a memory for life in itself.
The food at the lodge is phenomenal too.

I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Iquitos, and would definitely do it again at some point.

Note: The lodge has no mobile signal, but the activities are so well managed that this is not an issue in the slightest. In fact, it is quite refreshing!

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Phil C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This relatively short trip felt like it was much longer than it was. It gave me a satisfying taste of what I'd hoped to experience - the wildlife, vegetation, culture. It was comfortable without feeling unrealistically luxurious.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

bill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

very educational about the forest and how to protect the forest.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Angie United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is one of the most amazing things we have ever done. Huge thanks to Nixon, our guide, and the Heliconia Amazon River Lodge. Their staff are just the best, so welcoming and the food is top notch. Piranha fishing is an experience everyone should have in their lifetime, the competition to catch one gets fierce!!.
The itinerary is very broad and is very interesting. Don't forget your bug spray and camera. We were very sad to leave.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Ashley N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth every dime! The best food I've had in Peru Teddy, the chef is really nice as well. The people were welcoming and informative at the lodge and in the surrounding villages. My guide was supposed to be in English but he was still learning some words so we went back and forth from Spanish to English. The Lodge was spacious and safe however, there is no hot water for showering which I didn't mind. If you want to go by yourself..do it! I went to the lodge alone and I am a Black female but there was a Caucasian female there as well as families, and couples.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

STEPHANIE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing experience with our 2 children ages 7 and 8. We had a wonderful guide, loved all the scheduled daily activities, and enjoyed the food. This place is remote and rustic. You will only have about 3 hours of electricity a day, no hot running water sometimes no running water at all!, no cold refrigerator full of drinks, no cell service, and no walls or ceiling - just mosquito netting and a thatched roof. But all of these cons are part of what makes the experience amazing. You're not at a posh Hawaiian Island resort - you're in the jungle, so just embrace your sweat and deet-covered self and have some fun! Swim with the piranhas. Seriously, do it.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Mercedes S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a beautiful Lodge. I stated at the Heliconia Lodge Thursday-Saturday. I was picked up at my hotel: Casa Monrey where I was introduced by my Guide-Daniel. I was taken to the port where I already had packed by small luggage with everything I would need for three days for my Amazon Jungle Adventure. Daniel and the boat captain where very nice. Daniel the tour guide pointed out where the grey and pink dolphins where half way to the lodge and I was able to take great pictures. When I arrived at the Heliconia Lodge I was greeted by Marina the main hostess and person in charge with a drink AND a brief introduction then I had time to go to my beautiful room that was just across the pool. I really thought the lodge was like a four or five star hotel clean, well taken care of and well kept. They keep you busy with all the inclusive tours and activities. The food is freshly made and they take into consideration your likes and wishes. Actually, it needs to be said they seem to go out of their way to make you feel at home and comfortable. Only thing to keep in mind is the hours the lights are on which really your are so busy either enjoying the tours and activities and the pool and the lodge surroundings that is almost like you don't even give it a second thought. Also taking a warm/hot shower is not a problem the only thing you have to learn to regulate the water: first turn on the cold water knob next after a minute turn on the hot water knob and then next after a minute or so you regulate the two knobs to your taste. I want to say thank you to Viator which is the website that I used to booked the Heliconia Lodge amazing Lodge. Also to all the staff at the Heliconia Lodge and the waiter I think his name was Febursun , Marina the main person in charge and DANIEL the guide you all where so respectful accommodating sweet and just a jewel in the Amazon, Gracias! I had a wonderful stayed I just wish it would have last longer.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Igor Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The Heliconia Lodge was flooded so we were upgraded to another lodge Samiria Eco Lodge which was pretty far away from Iquitos and it wasn't that great. The rooms were pretty dirty and the electricity and hot water were available only for couple hours each day. Our guide at the lodge was pretty good and only thanks to him we had an OK overall experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Nicole T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I tried to call many times to let them know that my flight was delayed. Unfortunately every time I called, the local provider only spoke Spanish and would attempt to transfer and then disconnect me. Being that I had limited access to service overseas after about 8 times I gave up. I arrived in Iquitos late due to my airline delay and there was no one waiting for me. I never got to go on the trip and this was not cheap. I came home and tried to call and had the same problem so I had to pay 300 something dollars to never go on this trip. I wouldn't use this local company again. Although Viator usually does a good job.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

New K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Sinchicuy jungle tour gave me one of the best experiences. 3 days with variety of activities made me enjoy Amazons very much. The service was great. Our guide and hotel staff is super friendly. Food was extremely delicious. Only one comment that rains was dripping on my bed during heavy rain.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Katherine W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour guide, Neil was great. The only issue is that on the 2nd or 3rd day both my friend and I came down with what my Dr thinks is Scabies. It could have been one of the villages we visited. Since we did not come back to the USA until yesterday so we were both suffering from terrible itching for 3 weeks. Yesterday I went directly from the plane to the Dr for treatment. Hopefully it is Scabies because some of the other parasites are very nasty!

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Brenda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If u only have short Time to See the Amazonthis is the trip to take. Our guide Oscar was excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Ronald W A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

very well organised, interesting, informative and well executed activities with knowledgable bi-lingual guide, excellent Heliconia lodge, facilities, food, caring welcoming staff... an unforgettable experience in a geographically unique environment.. would highly recommend to others.. Thankyou!

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Cristina M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing! Highly recommended.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Rastislav B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our stay at Heliconia Lodge was simply amazing! Thank you so much for everything!

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Lucia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Do not come to Peru without experiencing the Amazon. Heliconia Lodge was amaizing - surpassed all my expectations. Our tour guide was Freddy Romaina - he was excellent, ask for him if you can, he would ensure your safety and make your tours enjoyable. The lodge itself was Five-star - excellent room service, location, and food. Be prepared to be without your cell phone annd internet! Choose Heliconia Lodge.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

mirco

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very nice Lodge with fantastic meals for lunch and dinner (breakfast was standart but really okay). The tour itself had only one weak point: The visit at the indigo tribe which was very unnutural as you could see that the people there only behaved like this for tourist's entertainment. Also the children there begged for money when I took the hand on my purse. Especially the night tour and the park for animals caught up by customs were really great and make the tour really recommendable. Also the guide was a great person.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Sourav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was great. Amazing experience. And our tour guide Francisco was really good and helpful. If you want jungle adventure in Amazon, this is one you should definitely try. Good lodge and food as well, and everything else was well taken care of. All the other support staff was also very good.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Sourav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was great. Amazing experience. And our tour guide Francisco was really good and helpful. If you want jungle adventure in Amazon, this is one you should definitely try. Good lodge and food as well, and everything else was well taken care of. All the other support staff was also very good.

Doing what: 3-Day Amazon Jungle Tour at Sinchicuy Lodge

Gary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I have to say that this was everything I hoped it would be. Our guide, Antonio, was intelligent, knowledgeable, and efficient, plus a wonderful person. The food at Heliconia was excellent, the staff friendly and courteous. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for an enjoyable Amazon experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great experience! We were happy with the packed days filled with nature and culture. There were four of us and they gave us a nice upgrade to two three-bed rooms so we had ample space. The lodge also had nice hammocks which was good for the evenings. This was an unforgettable adventure!

Doing what: 3-Day Iquitos Amazon Jungle Adventure at Heliconia Lodge

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message