• USD ($)
  • English
Insider's Guide to Islands of Portugal

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Famed for its fine red wine, breathtaking coastline, and misty laurisilva cloud forests, the island of Madeira has for centuries been a popular stop between the Portuguese Coast and Canary Islands. Today, this gem of an ilha is a fabulous resort ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

we had an excellent guide for just us two, very personal. the trip was smooth, the scenery stunning, some of the roads can be scary but our driver was super.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

You should update the address,because it is in a totally different town! We waste lots of money because of their fault.When they picked us up,all the guest made us feel they had to wait for us.
We've seen birds and one group of dolphins! :)
Need updates please in the future!!

Doing what: Dolphin, Whale and Seabird Cruise in Madeira

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent very professional tour guide Live time experience Family of 4 with 2 tennenger

Doing what: Private Tour: Dolphin Swim Adventure in Madeira

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great! My flight was delayed a couple of hours and when I arrived my driver was waiting for me, my name clearly written on a sign, couldn't have been easier. Dropped me off at my hotel no problem, very impressed. Thank you!!

Doing what: Madeira Shared Arrival Transfer

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

This is very much a cultural tour rather than a sightseeing trip and if it's a cloudy day, as it was for me, the drive up to the viewing peaks may be cancelled. For the large part this trip is about seeing basket makers in action, fish farms, whisky factories, walking around town centres and viewing triangle house shaped shops. There was also a view from the far end of the island - which is spectacular, but clearly this sight seeing isn't the focus of the trip as we spent far less time at viewing points than in the factories etc. It's also very difficult to find something to do on the small hill that houses the restaurant if you don't select the lunch option. This tour is best suited to people who don't want to see the sights and who enjoy wandering around tourist factories, artisan shops and sleepy town centres.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Nice relaxing trip. Driver was ok, but overpriced. Normal price is only 20 Euros if you book through all travel agencies in Madeira !

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

It was a very cloudy day and we could not see the views. The stops were just OK. Tour director was not the best.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Richard H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had a very short break in Madeira and wanted to sample some of the beutiful scenary. I've have used Viator several times before and was happy to book another tour with them. It was excellent, out hotel pick up was on time. The driver courteous and knowledegable giving us a commentary of facts and sights as we proceeded. Madeira has such a pleasant climate. Camacha, perched on the hillside with breathtaking views and flowers everywhere was followed by the drive up through the clouds to the mountain top.The views were stunning, looking down on the clouds and through the gaps down into Funchal and the harbour. It would have been nice to have seen to the island of Porto Santo, but the cloud did not break in that direction. The valley of Ribeiro Frio was wonderful, so green fresh with flowers everywhere. We had booked lunch and tucked into a feast of local produce with wine too. The traditional houses of Santana are so colourful and photogenic. The views on from the clifftops from Ponta do Rosto near the eastern tip of the island were beautiful. only spoiled by the fact we were nearing the ends of the day and making our way to Machico, the original landing place of the original settlers. A small but beautiful beach of golden sands topped it off. Alltogether an excellent day whcih I'd happily do again on any future visit.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Barbara N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Very good multi-cultural trip. Guests from Brazil, Belgium, Korea, Portugal and UK. Mini bus which enabled us to visit places a large coach could not. Driver excellent, knowledgeable, funny and very accommodating. Lunch was excellent. Very good value for the money. Would recommend.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

John S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Excellent trip lead by Manuel who drove us around the eastern part of the island and was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about everywhere we went. However, we would prefer not to have spent 3 hours in a Theme Park, although the history of the island pavilion was very impressive and informative. This is a good way to see quite a lot of the island if you're not on the island for very long.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

John W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This trip started off as a disaster. The bus turned up about 10 minutes early and the guide did not check paperwork so a couple called Williams; who had booked a different trip took our place by mistake. At around 14:15 i went to check with the very friendly and helpful "Guest relations" lady, who phoned the tour company and they eventually sent another minibus to do the tour. Due to go at 14:00 went at 15:00. We did the trip in reverse with the wine tasting first. Nice visit , very olde world cellar and interesting tasting the 4 types of madeiran wine. Then off to the top of the nuns valley. No wonder the Madeiran drivers are good as the bad are all dead, going off the steep, narrow roads. Great views from the top, cafe, shop etc. well worth the trip. Then off to the Monte suburb. The gardens are splendid with a great variety of plants, trees etc. Did we want to do the sldge run? 25 euros a couple, and goes downhill for about 2 kilometers down toward Funchal town, pulled by two energetic men. We passed as my wife had done the run 20 years ago and it's no fun on your own. Well worth the money trip.

Doing what: Half Day Traditions and Enchanting Valleys - Eira do Serrado, Curral das Freiras, Monte, Madeira Wine Tasting

John W
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

If i had to rate this trip on the number or variety of birds seen it would rate a 1 star, but maybe they knew i was coming and flew away. The guide "wind birds", worked hard taking us from place to place but remained spectacularly unsuccessful. Apart from a wandering wader and a few terns that was it. However the scenery around the island was great, and being only a small group of 5 made it very comfortable. Would i do this trip again? No.

Doing what: Full Day Birdwatching Tour - West Madeira Island

Denise C
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

It was ok, but meal was only average, and meat was tough. Mass meals are never a success generally. Wouldn't particularly recommend it.

Doing what: Madeira Nights Tour - Dinner and Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message