Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

South of Portugal, 320 mi (515 km) off the coast of North Africa, lies one of the jewels of the Portuguese Islands – Madeira. Famous for its wine, it also has year-round mild temperatures and spectacular volcanic landscapes. Take your walking shoes, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gareth J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good tour. Excellent driver and guide. A long day but worth it.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Monique K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We booked the tour in advance to be part of our cruise. On arrival we went to the pick up point at the advised time but the coach did not arrive. I called the operator and within 15 minutes a Mercedes and driver turned up and we had a private tour instead of a coach tour. This was very much appreciated by us and made the day despite the earlier mistake. This would normally be 5 star but for the booking mistake and we had good customer service and a good time.

Doing what: Half Day Traditions and Enchanting Valleys - Eira do Serrado, Curral das Freiras, Monte, Madeira Wine Tasting

Davied P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Really great tour guide, very informative and spoke perfect French and English. The only down side was the lunch as pretty dreadful - I and #39;d rather had paid more for better food. All in all it was a day well spent.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Susan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent comprehensive tour of the East of Madeira. Very knowledgeable driver who took us to the important sites, told us about the areas and gave us time to explore on our own. We were picked up from our hotel and returned there. As we were only staying in Madeira for a few days this was an ideal way to get an insight into an important part of the island. Definitely would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Peter B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very enjoyable night out. Good transport and food, fascinating entertainment, and very pleasant company.

Doing what: Madeira Nights Tour - Dinner and Show

Brian R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Guide was excellent. Picked up exactly on time at our hotel. There were only 4 of us for the trip and we travelled in a luxury people carrier. He was extremely informative and we really felt like we learned a lot about the Madeiran way of life. Unfortunately, at the point where we should have been able to see views of both the north and south of the island, the weather was misty and wet so the only views we got were of the side of the road !! We liked that the time we spent in each of the stops was enough to see each place but not too long that we felt we were struggling to find things to do. Lunch was very nice and relaxing. We would highly recommend this trip to anyone visiting Madeira for the first time. Couldn't fault the arrangements.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

JOAN M R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very pleasant and well organized!

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Gerdi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Full day trip round Madeira.Great to get your bearings and for things to see and do during your stay.Guide very informative and knowledgeable re flowers and trees etc., also Madeira's history.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

PAULINE G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Exelelent tour only spoilt by rain

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Ceri J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was great value for money including a very nice lunch. our driver was Pedro who made the day interesting. the view from Pico do Ariero was superb. I have been on this trip twice now and highly recumbent it.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

PETER M W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Driver, punctuality and all - excellent.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Elaine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good trip. Driver was informative and helpful.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Andreas Cyprus

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This tour provides lot of sight seen things and great views. Especially for the Santana and the Porto Moniz. Unfortunately for us we had a driver in a very rush mood, he was driving like crazy and i felt dizzy in all the way and my wife sick. Too bad! The provided lunch was very good and complete as lunch.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Jane C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great tour. We were picked up earlier, which was fine as we were ready. It was a mini bus transport and when we got on I said did we have to pick up other people and he said no we were the only ones. We had a really VIP tour, with no waiting around for other people stopping and looking at what we wanted.
I would recommend this tour to see just a bit of Maderia, which you can then extend another time to see more.

Doing what: Half Day Traditions and Enchanting Valleys - Eira do Serrado, Curral das Freiras, Monte, Madeira Wine Tasting

BIBI D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide , great tour , great restaurant and food
Totally worth taking the tour. Real value of the money.
Fantastic.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

paul a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

absolutely perfect!!!!magnificent!!! loved it!!!! lunch and wine was just fab.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

linda

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Tour involved picking up other people ! So I think that should be removed from the itinerary
Food and drink, dancing and singing very good.
We didnt want the meat on skewers and they arranged for us to have fish instead.

Doing what: Madeira Nights Tour - Dinner and Show

Alison Y

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a lovely tour, there were only 4 of us in a small mini bus, and we literally went all around the island which a lot of other tours dont do, lunch was good too. the only down side was that our driver was great but very softly spoken so we couldnt hear all the information he was giving us as we were sat in the back of the bus.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Kamaladevi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour would totally recommend, extremely good value for money. Maurizzio, our driver, was very informative and provided a tailored experience, he was very good. Be prepared for a very long day, although our driver did not rush us. A must if you want to visit the whole island. Excellent!

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Garda K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

We loved Madeira and enjoyed seeing the variety of topography of the eastern side. We were in the back of the van and could barely hear the guide (no mike) which was too bad though we drove a lot without him talking at all.

I have taken several local tours like this and always object to the hour long stops to shop. That is not our purpose for tavelling and the prices are always much higher than near where we are staying.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

martin g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

we had an excellent guide for just us two, very personal. the trip was smooth, the scenery stunning, some of the roads can be scary but our driver was super.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Joseph M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

This is very much a cultural tour rather than a sightseeing trip and if it's a cloudy day, as it was for me, the drive up to the viewing peaks may be cancelled. For the large part this trip is about seeing basket makers in action, fish farms, whisky factories, walking around town centres and viewing triangle house shaped shops. There was also a view from the far end of the island - which is spectacular, but clearly this sight seeing isn't the focus of the trip as we spent far less time at viewing points than in the factories etc. It's also very difficult to find something to do on the small hill that houses the restaurant if you don't select the lunch option. This tour is best suited to people who don't want to see the sights and who enjoy wandering around tourist factories, artisan shops and sleepy town centres.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

ketunpoppa Finland

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Nice relaxing trip. Driver was ok, but overpriced. Normal price is only 20 Euros if you book through all travel agencies in Madeira !

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Rose R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

It was a very cloudy day and we could not see the views. The stops were just OK. Tour director was not the best.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message