Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

South of Portugal, 320 mi (515 km) off the coast of North Africa, lies one of the jewels of the Portuguese Islands – Madeira. Famous for its wine, it also has year-round mild temperatures and spectacular volcanic landscapes. Take your walking shoes, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jane C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great tour. We were picked up earlier, which was fine as we were ready. It was a mini bus transport and when we got on I said did we have to pick up other people and he said no we were the only ones. We had a really VIP tour, with no waiting around for other people stopping and looking at what we wanted.
I would recommend this tour to see just a bit of Maderia, which you can then extend another time to see more.

Doing what: Half Day Traditions and Enchanting Valleys - Eira do Serrado, Curral das Freiras, Monte, Madeira Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide , great tour , great restaurant and food
Totally worth taking the tour. Real value of the money.
Fantastic.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

absolutely perfect!!!!magnificent!!! loved it!!!! lunch and wine was just fab.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Tour involved picking up other people ! So I think that should be removed from the itinerary
Food and drink, dancing and singing very good.
We didnt want the meat on skewers and they arranged for us to have fish instead.

Doing what: Madeira Nights Tour - Dinner and Show

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a lovely tour, there were only 4 of us in a small mini bus, and we literally went all around the island which a lot of other tours dont do, lunch was good too. the only down side was that our driver was great but very softly spoken so we couldnt hear all the information he was giving us as we were sat in the back of the bus.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour would totally recommend, extremely good value for money. Maurizzio, our driver, was very informative and provided a tailored experience, he was very good. Be prepared for a very long day, although our driver did not rush us. A must if you want to visit the whole island. Excellent!

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

We loved Madeira and enjoyed seeing the variety of topography of the eastern side. We were in the back of the van and could barely hear the guide (no mike) which was too bad though we drove a lot without him talking at all.

I have taken several local tours like this and always object to the hour long stops to shop. That is not our purpose for tavelling and the prices are always much higher than near where we are staying.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

we had an excellent guide for just us two, very personal. the trip was smooth, the scenery stunning, some of the roads can be scary but our driver was super.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

This is very much a cultural tour rather than a sightseeing trip and if it's a cloudy day, as it was for me, the drive up to the viewing peaks may be cancelled. For the large part this trip is about seeing basket makers in action, fish farms, whisky factories, walking around town centres and viewing triangle house shaped shops. There was also a view from the far end of the island - which is spectacular, but clearly this sight seeing isn't the focus of the trip as we spent far less time at viewing points than in the factories etc. It's also very difficult to find something to do on the small hill that houses the restaurant if you don't select the lunch option. This tour is best suited to people who don't want to see the sights and who enjoy wandering around tourist factories, artisan shops and sleepy town centres.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Nice relaxing trip. Driver was ok, but overpriced. Normal price is only 20 Euros if you book through all travel agencies in Madeira !

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

It was a very cloudy day and we could not see the views. The stops were just OK. Tour director was not the best.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Richard H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had a very short break in Madeira and wanted to sample some of the beutiful scenary. I've have used Viator several times before and was happy to book another tour with them. It was excellent, out hotel pick up was on time. The driver courteous and knowledegable giving us a commentary of facts and sights as we proceeded. Madeira has such a pleasant climate. Camacha, perched on the hillside with breathtaking views and flowers everywhere was followed by the drive up through the clouds to the mountain top.The views were stunning, looking down on the clouds and through the gaps down into Funchal and the harbour. It would have been nice to have seen to the island of Porto Santo, but the cloud did not break in that direction. The valley of Ribeiro Frio was wonderful, so green fresh with flowers everywhere. We had booked lunch and tucked into a feast of local produce with wine too. The traditional houses of Santana are so colourful and photogenic. The views on from the clifftops from Ponta do Rosto near the eastern tip of the island were beautiful. only spoiled by the fact we were nearing the ends of the day and making our way to Machico, the original landing place of the original settlers. A small but beautiful beach of golden sands topped it off. Alltogether an excellent day whcih I'd happily do again on any future visit.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Barbara N
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Very good multi-cultural trip. Guests from Brazil, Belgium, Korea, Portugal and UK. Mini bus which enabled us to visit places a large coach could not. Driver excellent, knowledgeable, funny and very accommodating. Lunch was excellent. Very good value for the money. Would recommend.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

John S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Excellent trip lead by Manuel who drove us around the eastern part of the island and was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about everywhere we went. However, we would prefer not to have spent 3 hours in a Theme Park, although the history of the island pavilion was very impressive and informative. This is a good way to see quite a lot of the island if you're not on the island for very long.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

John W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This trip started off as a disaster. The bus turned up about 10 minutes early and the guide did not check paperwork so a couple called Williams; who had booked a different trip took our place by mistake. At around 14:15 i went to check with the very friendly and helpful "Guest relations" lady, who phoned the tour company and they eventually sent another minibus to do the tour. Due to go at 14:00 went at 15:00. We did the trip in reverse with the wine tasting first. Nice visit , very olde world cellar and interesting tasting the 4 types of madeiran wine. Then off to the top of the nuns valley. No wonder the Madeiran drivers are good as the bad are all dead, going off the steep, narrow roads. Great views from the top, cafe, shop etc. well worth the trip. Then off to the Monte suburb. The gardens are splendid with a great variety of plants, trees etc. Did we want to do the sldge run? 25 euros a couple, and goes downhill for about 2 kilometers down toward Funchal town, pulled by two energetic men. We passed as my wife had done the run 20 years ago and it's no fun on your own. Well worth the money trip.

Doing what: Half Day Traditions and Enchanting Valleys - Eira do Serrado, Curral das Freiras, Monte, Madeira Wine Tasting

Denise C
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

It was ok, but meal was only average, and meat was tough. Mass meals are never a success generally. Wouldn't particularly recommend it.

Doing what: Madeira Nights Tour - Dinner and Show

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2011

We arrived at the pick up stop at 6:30pm. My confirmation said that the bus would pick up at 7:00pm. Unfortunately, it didn't pick us up until 8:00pm. We were just about to leave when it arrived. The tour itself was nice, but not worth the cost.

Doing what: Madeira Nights Tour - Dinner and Show

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2011

The Two stars are for the extremely pleasant woman driving the mini bus. However, the rest of the experience left "a little to be desired" (I am being kind): The meal was not great (aside from the Espatada Meat) and included reheated 'frozen veg' and limp looking salads. The wine was below average (and I drink cheap wine normally so certainly wasnt expecting 'great') and unless you are in the centre of the (large) room, you can't see the singing and dancing so have to shuffle about to stand and watch whilst trying not to block the view of the folks who *are* seated centrally. At least half the dancers looked bored (borderline miserable) and I felt sorry for them. It certainly wasnt a great experience of 'authentic' madeiran culture/cuisine - we got that from Madeira itself & restaurants in Funchal Old town the following nights. As for the 'view from a belvedere'...suffice to say you can easily get this view by walking westwards out of town at night or get on the open top bus after dark - does the same thing. I wouldnt recommend this to a friend and would not go again. Indeed it felt like a somewhat 'wasted' evening. Just head instead to one of the many good Old Town Restaurants that do Fado and you will be much better served - in all respects. (However, if you want a cheap way to get drunk - the 'drink all the wine you want' part of the deal might appeal - as it apparently did for many of my fellow diners that night...which again detracted from any remote possibility of 'traditional medeiran' ambience!) I feel slightly embarrassed by this review because true as it is, the mini bus driver was a real delight - so she gets 5 stars.

Doing what: Madeira Nights Tour - Dinner and Show

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2010

This is not a tour, even though it is billed as such. It is a dinner show that is basically a advertised as a tour to scam tourists into coming to a particular restaurant way up in the hills in a suburban neighbourhood. Basically, you are picked up in a van from your hotel, driven around the city to pick up other tourists at their hotels, then taken to the restaurant. There is no commentary ot sightseeing. At the restaurant you are fed a mediocre "traditional" Portugese meal of salad, soup, steak and ice cream for dessert. It is similar to a Brazilian steakhouse where it is all you can eat, but only 1 type of steak roasted on a spit. While you eat lcoals perform a traditional Portugese dance with live music. When you have finished with the meal, the driver takes you back to the hotel and makes a quick stop on the way down the mountainside so you can take pics of the city and shore from above. I guess this would be the tour. This was clearly a well oiled operation to just fill this mediocre restaurant with tourists every night. If you want to go eat, take this "tour" but don't expect to see the island.

Doing what: Madeira Nights Tour - Dinner and Show

Denis B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

Lovely trip with fine views. The wine tasting was a little disappointing, that was my only critique.

Doing what: Half Day Traditions and Enchanting Valleys - Eira do Serrado, Curral das Freiras, Monte, Madeira Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The tour to East Madeira was breathtaking - a must see. The island is beautiful! The coordination of the tour was perfectly implemented and our tour guide was outstanding!

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Denis B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Very enjoyable, good traditional meal and unique entertainment. Good value.

Doing what: Madeira Nights Tour - Dinner and Show

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour was a wonderful orientation to an incredible island. Our tour guide was a very friendly Madeiran man who spoke English quite fluently. He delighted in answering our many questions, and that gave us a real insider's view of Madeiran life and culture. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message